Kodak E100S (35mm, 100 iso) User-Review

4

Old and out of date, colours and quality that will blow your mind!

It was with great fortune that when I received my “surprise” package of expired 35mm film that I ordered from the LSI that not one, but two rolls of this little gem should appear. I quickly grabbed my LC-A+ and loaded one of these bad boys. After a few clicks and a frame counter poised at 1 I left the house and wandered. After a good days snapping I emptied my roll of saturated wonder and headed for the lab, being as this now discontinued piece of history is a slide film I requested a loving cross process.

Boy, this film does not disappoint! This fella eats up sunny days and spits it back out at you in haze of greens, yellows and blues, much like a Velvia. Everything is amplified and the touch of grain gives your pictures a gorgeous level of warmth and retro cool when cross processed.

It’s a real shame that this film has been resigned to the ‘discontinued’ pile. If you’re a fan of Fuji’s Velvia range then try a little Kodak E100s and add a little “Shazam!” to your colour pallete. I think i’m gonna develop my final roll in normal E-6 chemistry just to see how this gem shines under a normal process.

written by mattydk on 2009-06-20 in #reviews #35mm #color #slide-film #lc-a #x-pro

4 Comments

  1. lomodirk
    lomodirk ·

    Oh yeah, really a shame, great gallery...

  2. rater
    rater ·

    Great film! And yep, in your photos it has this blue-ish feeling of velvia!

  3. stouf
    stouf ·

    Super !

  4. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Nice shots ! I love number 9 !

More Interesting Articles

  • DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask - A User Review

    written by geekteacher on 2014-04-27 in #reviews
    DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask - A User Review

    Ever wondered how to get that cool sprocket look in your photos without resorting to digital trickery? The DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask makes scanning sprockets and panoramas a cinch!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Shoot sharply with Oktomat Bullseye

    Shoot sharply with Oktomat Bullseye

    Shoot sharply without hurting your budget. At 30% off you can now experiment with 8 sequential shots in one 35mm print! Tell stories in 2.5 seconds with 8 scenes in one shot!

  • My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    written by simonesavo on 2014-12-27 in #reviews
    My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    A bright day requires a film that highlights every color. The Lomography Color Negative 100 has fine grain and crazy tones that give your photos stunning color and exceptional sharpness.

    2
  • Playing with grain, shadows, and light with the Lomography B&W Orca 100 ISO 110 film!

    written by cheeo on 2014-04-30 in #lifestyle
    Playing with grain, shadows, and light with the Lomography B&W Orca 100 ISO 110 film!

    110 film photography can be as fun as 35mm and 120 film photography! Need a little more convincing? Take a look at these monochrome shots that play with shadows and light taken with the B&W Orca 110 film!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Shop News

    Special Apertures for Petzval

    Special Apertures for Petzval

    Want to be more creative and level up your bokeh shots? A wide selection of special apertures for Petzval are here to blend with your artistic side and give your Petzval images some analog twists!

  • Horizon Streetscape Story Rumble

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-14 in #competitions
    Horizon Streetscape Story Rumble

    Take your Horizon cameras out for an afternoon walk around the busiest street of your city and show us a sweeping streetscape snapshot that will make us swoon!

    24
  • The Daily Hex: Mint Green

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-09-16 in #news
    The Daily Hex: Mint Green

    Cleanse your clogged mind and allow that creativity to flow freely with a whiff of these Mint Green lomographs.

  • Photo of the Day by earlybird

    written by cheeo on 2014-05-11 in #news
    Photo of the Day by earlybird

    Our community will never run out of ideas when it comes to doubles and film swaps. Case in point, this mind-boggling self-portrait that indeed screams how much he is into film photography. Congratulations to earlybird for having our Photo of the Day!

    1
  • Shop News

    Lomography Diana Mini Double Rainbow

    Lomography Diana Mini Double Rainbow

    An analogue camera inspired by Tara Mcpherson, A highly recommended gear for Lomography beginners and visual art lovers! With this edition see how Tara Mcpherson’s art joins the world of analogue cameras. Get it now for a special price!

  • Press Call Out: Scandinavia, Australia and New Zealand

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-25 in #people #lifestyle #locations
    Press Call Out: Scandinavia, Australia and New Zealand

    Ladies and gentlemen, it's no secret that without you, our website would never be possible. With that in mind, we're calling on all Lomographers (that's you) for a helping hand by giving us your expert opinions. In return, we're passing out Piggy Points to spend in our Online Shop. Kiwis, Aussies and Scandinavians, whether you're residents, dreamers or just big fans of these great places — everybody can contribute and everybody can win!

  • Take a Look at the Five Stylish Years of the Diana Mini

    written by shhquiet on 2014-08-18 in #news
    Take a Look at the Five Stylish Years of the Diana Mini

    The Diana Mini is turning five years old this month! Through the years we have seen this sweet and petite 35mm camera transform from a classic analogue beauty to a blinged-out snapshooter and everything else in between. Remember the Love Letters edition? How about the Premier Cru? To refresh your memory here's a gallery of all the Diana Mini styles we've released in the past five years. Which among these limited edition Clones is your favorite?

    1
  • The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-16 in #news
    The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    We're ecstatic to read an in-depth review of the Lomography Petzval Lens, from the cool folks over at The Phoblographer. It's exciting to find out that, like us, they are in-love with the Petzval Lens too, so much that they gave it an impressive 4/5 rating! If you're thinking of getting a Petzval Lens, you'll find this featured review very useful. Check out an excerpt and the link to the full article after the jump!