Kodak E100S (35mm, 100 iso) User-Review

4

Old and out of date, colours and quality that will blow your mind!

It was with great fortune that when I received my “surprise” package of expired 35mm film that I ordered from the LSI that not one, but two rolls of this little gem should appear. I quickly grabbed my LC-A+ and loaded one of these bad boys. After a few clicks and a frame counter poised at 1 I left the house and wandered. After a good days snapping I emptied my roll of saturated wonder and headed for the lab, being as this now discontinued piece of history is a slide film I requested a loving cross process.

Boy, this film does not disappoint! This fella eats up sunny days and spits it back out at you in haze of greens, yellows and blues, much like a Velvia. Everything is amplified and the touch of grain gives your pictures a gorgeous level of warmth and retro cool when cross processed.

It’s a real shame that this film has been resigned to the ‘discontinued’ pile. If you’re a fan of Fuji’s Velvia range then try a little Kodak E100s and add a little “Shazam!” to your colour pallete. I think i’m gonna develop my final roll in normal E-6 chemistry just to see how this gem shines under a normal process.

written by mattydk on 2009-06-20 in #reviews #x-pro #slide-film #color #lc-a #35mm

4 Comments

  1. lomodirk
    lomodirk ·

    Oh yeah, really a shame, great gallery...

  2. rater
    rater ·

    Great film! And yep, in your photos it has this blue-ish feeling of velvia!

  3. stouf
    stouf ·

    Super !

  4. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Nice shots ! I love number 9 !

More Interesting Articles

  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    written by simonesavo on 2014-12-27 in #reviews
    My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    A bright day requires a film that highlights every color. The Lomography Color Negative 100 has fine grain and crazy tones that give your photos stunning color and exceptional sharpness.

    2
  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Shop News

    Konstruktor Collector’s Gift Bundle

    Konstruktor Collector’s Gift Bundle

    With this bundle you get to shoot with Lomography’s DIY SLR and have the special transparent edition to display at home.

  • The Daily Hex: Mint Green

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-09-16 in #news
    The Daily Hex: Mint Green

    Cleanse your clogged mind and allow that creativity to flow freely with a whiff of these Mint Green lomographs.

  • Review: Take Crazy Shots with Friends with Lomo'Instant + Splitzer!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #reviews
    Review: Take Crazy Shots with Friends with Lomo'Instant + Splitzer!

    Lomo’Instant allows you to shoot limitless multiple exposure instants and our latest accessory Splitzer will just add more fun to it! Just utilize your creativity and some simple skills and you’ll be able to take dozens of crazy and fun pictures. The more you try, the more fun you’ll discover!

    1
  • Press Call Out: Scandinavia, Australia and New Zealand

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-25 in #world #lifestyle #locations
    Press Call Out: Scandinavia, Australia and New Zealand

    Ladies and gentlemen, it's no secret that without you, our website would never be possible. With that in mind, we're calling on all Lomographers (that's you) for a helping hand by giving us your expert opinions. In return, we're passing out Piggy Points to spend in our Online Shop. Kiwis, Aussies and Scandinavians, whether you're residents, dreamers or just big fans of these great places — everybody can contribute and everybody can win!

  • Shop News

    LomoKino Basic Package Services

    LomoKino Basic Package Services

    Process your LomoKino films the right way! Get scans, movie and negatives. This is the easiest way to turn those movie rolls into completed masterpieces! Check this service now!(Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Take a Look at the Five Stylish Years of the Diana Mini

    written by shhquiet on 2014-08-18 in #news
    Take a Look at the Five Stylish Years of the Diana Mini

    The Diana Mini is turning five years old this month! Through the years we have seen this sweet and petite 35mm camera transform from a classic analogue beauty to a blinged-out snapshooter and everything else in between. Remember the Love Letters edition? How about the Premier Cru? To refresh your memory here's a gallery of all the Diana Mini styles we've released in the past five years. Which among these limited edition Clones is your favorite?

    1
  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

    1
  • Lomography x National Portrait Gallery Rumble WINNERS!

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-01-06 in #news
    Lomography x National Portrait Gallery Rumble WINNERS!

    We had a staggering 1110 entries to this rumble. We have picked our way through all of them and were very inspired by the quality of all your photos! It was a real challenge narrowing it down to just 3 winners. Find out who won this great competition.

    1