Fuji Superia (110, 200 iso) User-Review

7

Pocket sized fun: The Fuji Superia is a Pocketfilm also known as 110 format and It comes in a plastic cartridge!

Not long ago I thought it would be hard to get my hands on medium format film. After a while I found out that it was not hard but rather expensive. When I got aware of another film type – 110 pocket film and I really wanted a camera for that I found out that this type of film was harder to find.

Pocket or 110 film was introduced by Kodak in 1972 as predecessor for the Instantmatic film from 1963. The negative size is 13 mm x17 mm. The only 110 film I could find was the Fuji Superia 200, so I bought the only two rolls left at Mueller, a local drugstore. Fuji can´t be wrong, I thought. So I loaded the cartridge into my newly acquired Agfa Pocket and started shooting. The results I got a whole week later are okay by any means.

The 110 Superia is like his 35mm brother, a down to earth negative film. The colours are realistic, I find them rather dull since I prefer films like the Agfa Vista. Due to the small format the pictures are rather grainy. What I like about 110 is the nearly square format, the pictures look different and unusual. After all I don´t regret my excursion into the land of the pocket film. I really would like to try out different kinds of 110 film but since they are hard to find I´m willing to take the Superia when I find it.

written by zark on 2009-06-18 in #reviews #110 #superia #fuji #200iso #pocket-film #24-exposures

7 Comments

  1. mattydk
    mattydk ·

    really interesting gallery zark, really like No.4, 11 and 12. Great shots.

  2. sugiyamasatomi
    sugiyamasatomi ·

    they are all nice, but I specially like 5 and 20. I love the number and the arrow. they make the image look like a pop art. great job!

  3. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    My first cam was a Agfa Pocket.....I can always remember the sound when you slide the cam to transport the film! THanks for taking me back to my childhood.....!

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Sweet ! I love 5, 8 and 15 !!! Great review !

  5. rater
    rater ·

    Cool, I like the arrow with the number!

  6. panelomo
    panelomo ·

    i dont get good grades whenever im using superia :(

  7. treehugger419
    treehugger419 ·

    I want some =(

More Interesting Articles

  • How to Load Film Into the Diana Baby 110

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-14 in #lifestyle
    How to Load Film Into the Diana Baby 110

    It may be tiny, but the Diana Baby is just as capable as its bigger sisters Diana F+ and Mini. Take time to watch this short clip to find out how you can load a 110 cartridge into your pocket-sized shooter!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Introducing Ondu Handcrafted Pinhole Cameras - Where Superb Craftsmanship and Creative Photography Meet

    written by shhquiet on 2014-11-25 in #news
    Introducing Ondu Handcrafted Pinhole Cameras - Where Superb Craftsmanship and Creative Photography Meet

    We are incredibly excited to announce that the range of Ondu Pinhole Cameras is now available in the Lomography Online Shop! Right in time for the holiday season, these beautifully handcrafted pinhole cameras come in a wide selection — from pocket size to large format — and are made from premium carpentry quality wood.

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • The Lomo LC-A Goes to Berlin

    written by petit_loir on 2015-03-10 in #world #locations
    The Lomo LC-A Goes to Berlin

    Berlin is the capital and largest city of Germany. With its 3.5 million residents, it is also the second largest city in the European Union. Berlin has a lot to offer when it comes to culture as there are so many people from many different countries living and working together. Of course, Berlin is also home of Lomography Germany!

    9
  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • LomoAmigo LomoKev Tests the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-06-03 in #people #lifestyle #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo LomoKev Tests the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    Kevin Meredith, more popularly known as LomoKev, is a photographer based in Brighton, England who gained notoriety for his use of the Lomo LC-A and his lomographic style of creating images. Aside from a plethora of personal and commercial projects, he has also conducted workshops on photography, written and published photography-related books, and participated in a few exhibits. With his evident passion for photography, it comes as no surprise that he was selected to test a prototype of the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens.

    3
  • Hands-on Experience with the Lomo'Instant

    written by sanamiii on 2014-11-18 in #reviews
    Hands-on Experience with the Lomo'Instant

    What I got is the Lomo'Instant Black Edition. Its texture and finish is quite simple, and could work as creative space for someone who's into DIY and decorations. In terms of form, it is very handy and acceptable in size. I also love the camera strap that makes it easy to carry.

    1
  • Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    Aside from the Magazine, going through the User Blogs is another way to keep tabs on the latest happening in the community. Throughout the year, it was filled with articles on new discoveries, thought-provoking opinions, and exciting exhibits that surely entertained, challenged, and inspired everyone. Let's take a look back at the fruitful year through the most popular user blogs of 2014.

    3
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Exhibition: Florian Reischauers - Grüß Gott, A Fairy Tale

    written by efrost on 2015-01-09 in #news
    Exhibition: Florian Reischauers - Grüß Gott, A Fairy Tale

    Florian Reischauer’s LomoHome isn’t the only thing he’s known for in the Lomography community. The photographer is also regarded for his series “Pieces of Berlin,” which started as a popular blog and formed the pages of his own book. His latest series “Grüß Gott- A Fairy Tale” takes its turn center stage and is slated to appear in a solo exhibition at the Deutsches Haus at the University of New York.

  • Creative Vision, Personified:The Community's Most Creative Lomographers

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-02-03 in #world #lifestyle
    Creative Vision, Personified:The Community's Most Creative Lomographers

    As Steve Jobs puts it, "creativity is just connecting things." It's all about tracing one's experiences and pushing the boundaries of what's already known to establish new things. The Lomography community is no stranger to these instances. In fact, the community is filled with brilliant minds who are always ready to refine existing techniques and look for innovative ways to express their visions and ideas. Here are just a few of the creative lomographers we've come to love over the years.

    9
  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!