Fuji Superia (110, 200 iso) User-Review

7

Pocket sized fun: The Fuji Superia is a Pocketfilm also known as 110 format and It comes in a plastic cartridge!

Not long ago I thought it would be hard to get my hands on medium format film. After a while I found out that it was not hard but rather expensive. When I got aware of another film type – 110 pocket film and I really wanted a camera for that I found out that this type of film was harder to find.

Pocket or 110 film was introduced by Kodak in 1972 as predecessor for the Instantmatic film from 1963. The negative size is 13 mm x17 mm. The only 110 film I could find was the Fuji Superia 200, so I bought the only two rolls left at Mueller, a local drugstore. Fuji can´t be wrong, I thought. So I loaded the cartridge into my newly acquired Agfa Pocket and started shooting. The results I got a whole week later are okay by any means.

The 110 Superia is like his 35mm brother, a down to earth negative film. The colours are realistic, I find them rather dull since I prefer films like the Agfa Vista. Due to the small format the pictures are rather grainy. What I like about 110 is the nearly square format, the pictures look different and unusual. After all I don´t regret my excursion into the land of the pocket film. I really would like to try out different kinds of 110 film but since they are hard to find I´m willing to take the Superia when I find it.

written by zark on 2009-06-18 in #reviews #pocket-film #superia #fuji #110 #24-exposures #200iso

7 Comments

  1. mattydk
    mattydk ·

    really interesting gallery zark, really like No.4, 11 and 12. Great shots.

  2. sugiyamasatomi
    sugiyamasatomi ·

    they are all nice, but I specially like 5 and 20. I love the number and the arrow. they make the image look like a pop art. great job!

  3. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    My first cam was a Agfa Pocket.....I can always remember the sound when you slide the cam to transport the film! THanks for taking me back to my childhood.....!

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Sweet ! I love 5, 8 and 15 !!! Great review !

  5. rater
    rater ·

    Cool, I like the arrow with the number!

  6. panelomo
    panelomo ·

    i dont get good grades whenever im using superia :(

  7. treehugger419
    treehugger419 ·

    I want some =(

More Interesting Articles

  • How to Load Film Into the Diana Baby 110

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-14 in #lifestyle
    How to Load Film Into the Diana Baby 110

    It may be tiny, but the Diana Baby is just as capable as its bigger sisters Diana F+ and Mini. Take time to watch this short clip to find out how you can load a 110 cartridge into your pocket-sized shooter!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Introducing Ondu Handcrafted Pinhole Cameras - Where Superb Craftsmanship and Creative Photography Meet

    written by shhquiet on 2014-11-25 in #news
    Introducing Ondu Handcrafted Pinhole Cameras - Where Superb Craftsmanship and Creative Photography Meet

    We are incredibly excited to announce that the range of Ondu Pinhole Cameras is now available in the Lomography Online Shop! Right in time for the holiday season, these beautifully handcrafted pinhole cameras come in a wide selection — from pocket size to large format — and are made from premium carpentry quality wood.

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • A Quick Rundown of the Lomography 110 Films

    written by simonesavo on 2014-05-26 in #reviews
    A Quick Rundown of the Lomography 110 Films

    Until a few years ago, using 110 cameras and film cartridges was a difficult thing because the only available films in the market had already been expired for several years. But now everything is easier thanks to Lomography; it has breathed new life into our small 110 cameras. Read on to discover the 110 film family.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • June 2014 Workshops and Events in Lomography Gallery Store Singapore

    written by lomographysg on 2014-06-06 in #events

    Goodness – the LC-A camera is turning 30 in June and it's gonna be a whole lot of fun lined up for you! Come get your analogue fix as we embrace thirty years of creative analogue photography!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • The Lomo LC-A Goes to Berlin

    written by petit_loir on 2015-03-10 in #world #locations
    The Lomo LC-A Goes to Berlin

    Berlin is the capital and largest city of Germany. With its 3.5 million residents, it is also the second largest city in the European Union. Berlin has a lot to offer when it comes to culture as there are so many people from many different countries living and working together. Of course, Berlin is also home of Lomography Germany!

    9
  • Hands-on Experience with the Lomo'Instant

    written by sanamiii on 2014-11-18 in #reviews
    Hands-on Experience with the Lomo'Instant

    What I got is the Lomo'Instant Black Edition. Its texture and finish is quite simple, and could work as creative space for someone who's into DIY and decorations. In terms of form, it is very handy and acceptable in size. I also love the camera strap that makes it easy to carry.

    1
  • Review: Lomography Color Tiger 200 110mm Film Really Roars!

    written by gothcupcake on 2014-07-07 in #reviews
    Review: Lomography Color Tiger 200 110mm Film Really Roars!

    Mary had the opportunity to take a ride in a hot air balloon and thought it was the perfect time to try out some Lomography Color Tiger 200 film!

    1