Fuji Superia (110, 200 iso) User-Review

7

Pocket sized fun: The Fuji Superia is a Pocketfilm also known as 110 format and It comes in a plastic cartridge!

Not long ago I thought it would be hard to get my hands on medium format film. After a while I found out that it was not hard but rather expensive. When I got aware of another film type – 110 pocket film and I really wanted a camera for that I found out that this type of film was harder to find.

Pocket or 110 film was introduced by Kodak in 1972 as predecessor for the Instantmatic film from 1963. The negative size is 13 mm x17 mm. The only 110 film I could find was the Fuji Superia 200, so I bought the only two rolls left at Mueller, a local drugstore. Fuji can´t be wrong, I thought. So I loaded the cartridge into my newly acquired Agfa Pocket and started shooting. The results I got a whole week later are okay by any means.

The 110 Superia is like his 35mm brother, a down to earth negative film. The colours are realistic, I find them rather dull since I prefer films like the Agfa Vista. Due to the small format the pictures are rather grainy. What I like about 110 is the nearly square format, the pictures look different and unusual. After all I don´t regret my excursion into the land of the pocket film. I really would like to try out different kinds of 110 film but since they are hard to find I´m willing to take the Superia when I find it.

written by zark on 2009-06-18 in #reviews #fuji #superia #110 #pocket-film #200iso #24-exposures

7 Comments

  1. mattydk
    mattydk ·

    really interesting gallery zark, really like No.4, 11 and 12. Great shots.

  2. sugiyamasatomi
    sugiyamasatomi ·

    they are all nice, but I specially like 5 and 20. I love the number and the arrow. they make the image look like a pop art. great job!

  3. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    My first cam was a Agfa Pocket.....I can always remember the sound when you slide the cam to transport the film! THanks for taking me back to my childhood.....!

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Sweet ! I love 5, 8 and 15 !!! Great review !

  5. rater
    rater ·

    Cool, I like the arrow with the number!

  6. panelomo
    panelomo ·

    i dont get good grades whenever im using superia :(

  7. treehugger419
    treehugger419 ·

    I want some =(

More Interesting Articles

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • The Lomo LC-A Goes to Berlin

    written by petit_loir on 2015-03-10 in #world #locations
    The Lomo LC-A Goes to Berlin

    Berlin is the capital and largest city of Germany. With its 3.5 million residents, it is also the second largest city in the European Union. Berlin has a lot to offer when it comes to culture as there are so many people from many different countries living and working together. Of course, Berlin is also home of Lomography Germany!

    9
  • Shop News

    Experience Sleek Medium Format Shots of Belair City Slicker!

    Experience Sleek Medium Format Shots of Belair City Slicker!

    Take high-quality medium format shots, professional grade panoramas and get tons of customizable features yet compact in size! Grab this camera at a discounted price!

  • LomoAmigo LomoKev Tests the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-06-03 in #people #lifestyle #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo LomoKev Tests the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    Kevin Meredith, more popularly known as LomoKev, is a photographer based in Brighton, England who gained notoriety for his use of the Lomo LC-A and his lomographic style of creating images. Aside from a plethora of personal and commercial projects, he has also conducted workshops on photography, written and published photography-related books, and participated in a few exhibits. With his evident passion for photography, it comes as no surprise that he was selected to test a prototype of the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens.

    3
  • A Sunday on Pfaueninsel ("Peacock Island")

    written by petit_loir on 2015-08-15 in #world
    A Sunday on Pfaueninsel ("Peacock Island")

    The Pfaueninsel ("Peacock Island"), also known as "Pearl in the Havel sea," is a world cultural heritage and popular destination for Berliners. Loose peacocks, water buffalos and the magical character of the island were also a reason for me to go and spend one Sunday afternoon there, with my LC-A+ and the LomoChrome Purple film.

  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Shooting Parades with a Sprocket Rocket and a Bunch of Holgas

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-07-20 in #world #lifestyle
    Shooting Parades with a Sprocket Rocket and a Bunch of Holgas

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form on Amazon.com. In this article, Healy shares two recent photo outings where she used 35mm and medium format films.

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • 18 Brilliant Belair X 6-12 Shots In 6x9 Format

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear
    18 Brilliant Belair X 6-12 Shots In 6x9 Format

    The Belair X 6-12 is not an ordinary medium format camera. Besides classic square shots, it's also capable of shooting outstanding photos in 6x9 format! Have a look at some stunning examples below.

    6
  • Shop News

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    The ultra-lightweight, low-maintenance 35mm camera that fits perfectly in your hand for some wild and spontaneous shooting!

  • 18 Sensational 6x12 Scenes From The Belair X 6-12

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear
    18 Sensational 6x12 Scenes From The Belair X 6-12

    Think the Belair X 6-12 medium-format camera is only limited to snapping square shots? Nope! It also gives you the option to shoot other photo formats, such as 6x12. We compiled some of the most impressive photos in this format for your inspiration!

    3
  • 10 Steps to Better Photography with the LC-A+

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-08 in #gear #tipster
    10 Steps to Better Photography with the LC-A+

    With features that allow one to be as creative as possible and a size compact enough to bring it anytime, anywhere, the LC-A+ is indeed an embodiment of our 10 Golden Rules. In this week's feature, we list down some of the ways you could up your photography game with this wonderful camera.

    1
  • Newcomer of the Week: frauhaase

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-04-12 in #world #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: frauhaase

    Kathi Haas, also known in the community as frauhaase, is a graphic designer from Lübeck, Germany. She is passionate about documenting Lübeck’s bicycle scene through photographs. In this interview, our Newcomer of the Week shares more about her project and how one community member inspired her to shoot analog.

    4