Fuji Superia (120, 100 iso) User-Review

7

There's a reason why the Lomographic Society likes to put a roll of this film in most of their camera packages!

You might have thought when you first opened your Holga package or even your Lubitel, how nice it is of the Lomographic Society to include a a fresh (or sometimes expired which excites me too!) roll of film for me to break in my new view on life.

This slice of 120 sexuality at a light sucking 100 ISO is full of vibrant life and colour! It paints huge swathes of light across it’s surface to give you something truly special not just for all you first timers out there but for those who have been loading their cameras with all kinds of precious film under the sun. It eases you in gently, makes room for your mistakes and repays your patience and understanding with pictures that leap out at you.

There are people out there who love this simple, elegant film as much as me and for those who are already curious, I’m telling you now that It’s not going to make your wallet cry out in pain. Affordable beauty that gives you priceless images whether you’re in the mood for either 35mm or 120, this film is really worth snapping with!

written by mattydk on 2009-08-26 in #reviews #negative-film #fuji #lubitel-166-universal #holga-120-cfn #fujifilm

7 Comments

  1. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    Impressive shots. I've got a couple rolls of this I have been saving, but first thing tomorrow a roll of this will be loaded into my Seagull. Can't believe the detail.

  2. ethermoon
    ethermoon ·

    shot 5 is great. lubitel166+ is sharp!!!! nice camera.. nice shots :)

  3. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    Also one of my favorite films

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Love the first one !

  5. mattydk
    mattydk ·

    thanks for the comments, these were from my first rolls that i shot with my Holga and Lubitel 166+.

  6. lornahaddon
    lornahaddon ·

    I love this film

  7. beautifullypure
    beautifullypure ·

    Thanks for this review! I just ordered a roll of this (and some Kodaks) along with my very first Diana camera. I'm so excited to try it out now!

    Both of these images are amazing - the first one really caught my eye. Is that a double exposure? O.o

    ~ Katie
    www.beautifully-pure.com

More Interesting Articles

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Photographers On Why They Shoot Film (Part I)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-11 in #people #lifestyle
    Photographers On Why They Shoot Film (Part I)

    On this day and age when many are incorporating digital gear into their workflows, whether fully or partly, there still are photographers who remain rooted to their analog roots and continue to shoot with film cameras. In commemoration of Film Photography Day happening tomorrow, we have scoured through our past interviews to highlight the reasons these photographers choose to still shoot film.

    3
  • My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-23 in #gear #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    Sonja started her analog adventures during her teenage years. She took her first film photographs when she was 13 and has been in love with the magic of the process since. Her idea of a perfect day involves developing film rolls while listening to jazz and having a cup of tea in between. In this interview, she recalls about her experience with her first Lomography camera, a Holga 120 CFN.

    2
  • Shop News

    Grab Diana F+ Mr. Pink at a Discounted Price!

    Grab Diana F+ Mr. Pink at a Discounted Price!

    As part of the Valentine's Day Deal, you can grab this wonderful fluorescent pink plastic camera at a discounted price! Take seductive, soft-focused shots and pulsating vignettes on 120 film this season!

  • Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    With its surreal, psychedelic results that easily remind one of fairy tale-like wonderlands, the LomoChrome Purple has quickly grown to become one of the most popular emulsions in the community. We're giving you that extra push in the form of more community-penned reviews to finally try this film yourself, if you haven't.

  • Photo Stories: Away With You by lomomowlem

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-06-18 in #world #lifestyle
    Photo Stories: Away With You by lomomowlem

    It is clear from the wild variety of photos in the website that Lomographers will do just about anything to get a good shot. Some swap rolls with friends overseas while others concoct unheard-of film soups. And then there are the masters of operations, the ones who spy and crouch their way to a share-worthy picture. This is one such story.

    1
  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Shop News

    Pixelstick

    Pixelstick

    The most incredible lightpainting tool is here! Consists of 200 full color RGB LEDs in a lightweight aluminium housing will color your analogue world in different way! Create and animate different shades and shapes with the Pixelstick!

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Scenes from Istanbul: Stephen Dowling and the LC-A 120

    written by Lomography London on 2015-12-03 in #world #lomoamigos
    Scenes from Istanbul: Stephen Dowling and the LC-A 120

    Stephen Dowling is no stranger to the LC-A 120 camera; he has brought it on trips to Brighton, Malta and most recently, on a holiday in Istanbul. In this feature, Stephen talks about his experience shooting with this medium format camera around the markets and mosques of one of Turkey's most colourful and vibrant cities.

    1
  • Fresh Lomo LC-A 120 Picks From the Community

    written by lomography on 2015-12-07 in #gear #lifestyle
    Fresh Lomo LC-A 120 Picks From the Community

    A year and a few months since it was introduced, the Lomo LC-A 120 continues its exciting journey around the world—from busy streets to scenic far-flung places and everywhere else in between. Here are just some of the many places and faces encountered by this trusty, compact medium format camera (and their adventurous owners, of course!) in recent months, in photographs.

    3
  • Shop News

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Want to push your limits in the field of photography? Go large format! This camera uses a 4x5” film and can capture all the subjects you want with this pinhole camera in large format!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Concert Photography Tips: Low ISO Film at Night

    written by sirio174 on 2015-08-10 in #gear #tipster
    Concert Photography Tips: Low ISO Film at Night

    In this article I'll teach you how to take sharp photos in low-light conditions using a simple point-and-shoot camera loaded with slow-speed film.

    5