Fuji Superia (120, 100 iso) User-Review

7

There's a reason why the Lomographic Society likes to put a roll of this film in most of their camera packages!

You might have thought when you first opened your Holga package or even your Lubitel, how nice it is of the Lomographic Society to include a a fresh (or sometimes expired which excites me too!) roll of film for me to break in my new view on life.

This slice of 120 sexuality at a light sucking 100 ISO is full of vibrant life and colour! It paints huge swathes of light across it’s surface to give you something truly special not just for all you first timers out there but for those who have been loading their cameras with all kinds of precious film under the sun. It eases you in gently, makes room for your mistakes and repays your patience and understanding with pictures that leap out at you.

There are people out there who love this simple, elegant film as much as me and for those who are already curious, I’m telling you now that It’s not going to make your wallet cry out in pain. Affordable beauty that gives you priceless images whether you’re in the mood for either 35mm or 120, this film is really worth snapping with!

written by mattydk on 2009-08-26 in #reviews #holga-120-cfn #fuji #lubitel-166-universal #negative-film #fujifilm

7 Comments

  1. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    Impressive shots. I've got a couple rolls of this I have been saving, but first thing tomorrow a roll of this will be loaded into my Seagull. Can't believe the detail.

  2. ethermoon
    ethermoon ·

    shot 5 is great. lubitel166+ is sharp!!!! nice camera.. nice shots :)

  3. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    Also one of my favorite films

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Love the first one !

  5. mattydk
    mattydk ·

    thanks for the comments, these were from my first rolls that i shot with my Holga and Lubitel 166+.

  6. lornahaddon
    lornahaddon ·

    I love this film

  7. beautifullypure
    beautifullypure ·

    Thanks for this review! I just ordered a roll of this (and some Kodaks) along with my very first Diana camera. I'm so excited to try it out now!

    Both of these images are amazing - the first one really caught my eye. Is that a double exposure? O.o

    ~ Katie
    www.beautifully-pure.com

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Lomopedia: Fuji Klasse S and Fuji Klasse W

    written by cheeo on 2014-09-03 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Fuji Klasse S and Fuji Klasse W

    As far as high end point-and-shoot cameras go, the Fuji Klasse S and W take a coveted spot in many film photographers’ wish lists. Know why in this installment of Lomopedia.

    1
  • Then and Now: Spotting Iconic Photographs in Leica’s 100th Year Ad

    written by cheeo on 2014-10-16 in #lifestyle
    Then and Now: Spotting Iconic Photographs in Leica’s 100th Year Ad

    In commemoration of their company’s 100 years, camera manufacturer Leica pays tribute to some of history’s most iconic film photographs.

    3
  • Top Tips For Krab Underwater Case and Fisheye Submarine Users

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle

    If it's your first time to use the Fisheye Submarine Case (with your Fisheye One/Fisheye No.2 cameras) or the Krab Underwater Housing (with your LC-A+ or LC-Wide cameras), you might still feel a liiiiittle bit anxious about taking your favorite cameras underwater. To help ease your worries I gathered some of the most helpful tips, straight from summer-lovin' Lomographers who braved the waves with their cameras!

  • Shop News

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Shoot more with LC-A 120 without breaking your budget! The Phoblographer Editor’s Choice Award Winner now comes in a Bundle with 120 format film at 15% off!

  • Photographers On Why They Shoot Film (Part I)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-11 in #people #lifestyle
    Photographers On Why They Shoot Film (Part I)

    On this day and age when many are incorporating digital gear into their workflows, whether fully or partly, there still are photographers who remain rooted to their analog roots and continue to shoot with film cameras. In commemoration of Film Photography Day happening tomorrow, we have scoured through our past interviews to highlight the reasons these photographers choose to still shoot film.

    2
  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Three Cheers for the LC-A+!

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-07 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Three Cheers for the LC-A+!

    The LC-A+ is a fan favorite among Lomographers and with good reason! See how the LC-A+ fares along with its other family members in this quick roundup of reviews by our own community members.

  • Shop News

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    Enjoy a truly analogue moviemaking experience with Lomography's 35mm movie camera and an accompanying accessory to watch your films with. View your masterpieces in the most analogue way possible with the LomoKinoscope. Get it now 20% off the regular price!

  • Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    written by ichdaschaos on 2014-11-03 in #reviews
    Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    I've always wanted to have an instant camera, but what put me off were the expensive price of the film and the transience of the photos. But then I wasn't able to fight it any longer and bought myself an Instax Wide 210 set. Now, here is a review of the Fuji Instax Wide film.

    1
  • My First Lomo Affair: Wesco and his La Sardina

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-17 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Wesco and his La Sardina

    It may take a while for some lomographers to figure out the perfect combination of camera, film, and accessory that suit their needs. But, Wessel de Haas, aka wesco, has been extremely lucky to find his early on his journey to Lomography. Find out what film and accessory he likes pairing his La Sardina 8Ball with in this edition of My First Lomo Affair!

    2
  • Most Popular User Blogs of April 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-11 in #news
    Most Popular User Blogs of April 2014

    From a film sale to an update of an ongoing analogue project, these popular blog entries should definitely be included in any lomographer's weekly reading list!

    7