Konica Chrome R-100 (35mm, 100 iso) User-Review

4

A super rare slide film straight out from the '90s!

I found a few rolls of this film in a sale. The R100 was replaced with Konica Centuria Chrome 100, which seems to get favourable reviews – subtle colours, nothing too crazy when cross-processed, and a cool retro grain. Already expired in 2002, I didn’t know what to expect. Eager to try it all out, I finished a roll within just a few hours – a rare occurrence for me.

When developed, the negative was a beautiful deep purple. This led to yep, green photos! And my, what a green they are. Nothing over the top, but it really dominates the photo. In some situations it can be quite subtle, and gives the retro feel mentioned with the newer films.

Oh and the grain. I don’t know what I can say about it. It’s a nice, noticeable, coarse, gritty grain – something you’d usually see on higher ISO photos. Not what you’d expect from a ISO100 film! If you can find some of this mega-rare film you should definitely snap get it for the fantastic results it gives!

written by dazb on 2009-07-31 in #reviews #slide #90-s #rare #xpro #konica #green #cross-processed

4 Comments

  1. dogma
    dogma ·

    Cool film!

  2. dazb
    dazb ·

    I mis-typed something in the article - it should be "The R100 was replaced with Konica Centuria Chrome 100", not the other way round. Sorry about that!

    I like the cool retro results this film gives :)

  3. fookshit
    fookshit ·

    @dazb done! :)

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Very nice ! the 13th is awesome ! The flower is beautiful too.

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Lomopedia: Konica Wai Wai

    written by cheeo on 2014-08-13 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Konica Wai Wai

    Wide-angle shooters will surely like this one. Made to be a disposable camera, the modification-ready Konica Wai Wai has made many film photography enthusiasts swoon with its distinctive wide-angle shooting and remarkable effects. Read on to find out more about this peculiar-looking camera in this installment of Lomopedia.

    2
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    written by simonesavo on 2014-12-27 in #reviews
    My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    A bright day requires a film that highlights every color. The Lomography Color Negative 100 has fine grain and crazy tones that give your photos stunning color and exceptional sharpness.

    2
  • A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    written by Rafaello Palandri on 2015-07-09 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    Where do I begin talking about film cameras on the Lomography Magazine? Yes, you guessed right. I will begin with a LOMO, of course, a very special one: the Lubitel 166 Universal (Lubitel 166U). It’s a camera that has almost everything you might need from a camera. Plus, it’s a LOMO!

  • Stock Up on Rera Pan ISO 100 and Film Spool for 127 Format Cameras

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-02-26 in #gear #news
    Stock Up on Rera Pan ISO 100 and Film Spool for 127 Format Cameras

    Try your hand at 127 format photography with a trusty shooter and the Rera Pan ISO 100 black and white film!

    1
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • Total Eclipse of the Sun Competition

    written by jacobs on 2015-03-20 in #gear #news #competitions
    Total Eclipse of the Sun Competition

    Did you catch the solar eclipse that happened recently? Word on the street is that it even resulted in a total eclipse in some areas of Europe, making it a pretty rare occasion for the folks that got to see it! We're guessing that some of you even had your cameras to catch the whole shebang on film — which is why we're throwing a competition for the best eclipse and sun inspired shots out there. Come on in and check out the details!

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • LomoAmigos: The Ting Tings Go Analogue!

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-09 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigos: The Ting Tings Go Analogue!

    The Ting Tings are a musical duo from Manchester who have more pop hits than you can shake a stick at. They are most famous for their 2008 hit "That's Not My Name" which got even the stiffest of people shaking in their seats. The Ting Tings are back with a brand new album called Super Critical. They are big film fanatics (check out their website for proof) so we gave them a Sprocket Rocket Camera and a bunch of film to document their life in sunny IBIZA.

  • Journey to the Ends of the Earth: From the Arctic to Antarctica

    written by pan_dre on 2015-02-10 in #world #news
    Journey to the Ends of the Earth: From the Arctic to Antarctica

    Very few of even the most intrepid travelers get to set sail to the Arctic and the Antarctic. A lomographer known to the Community as stouf, however, was able to set foot on both polar regions. While the rare opportunity to visit these uncommon destinations came in parcel with his profession, he did not forget to bring along his trusty cameras and favorite film to capture scenes from the expeditions.

    22
  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.