Lomography Actionsampler - Staff Review

5

The Actionsampler is a lightweight, plastic camera that takes a series of four images in one print.

Every picture tells a story, and that holds especially true with the Actionsampler camera.

The Actionsampler has four sets of 26mm single element sequentially operated lenses. Load up a 35mm film, aim the camera at a moving subject, and press the shutter. The four lenses will “sample” four frames of the action in a full circle, and that’s what you get in a print. Of course, you can pick a motionless subject too, but you’ll have to do the moving! It has a shutter speed of 1/100 second, with an exposure interval of 0.22 seconds per frame and 0.66 seconds in total (for four frames in a sequence on each negative).

It’s an uncomplicated camera that requires no thinking at all – no light meters or focus settings to fiddle around with here, because it has fixed focus (from 1.2m to infinity). It just aims to take four sequential shots that you can upload to the Lomography Lab, so that you can animate your prints and watch the four frames in action.

It may be strange or funny-looking, but this camera takes sharp pictures, as long as you’re in very bright lighting conditions – it has no flash, so you’ll have to rely on natural light for excellent pictures. Generally, 100 ASA is good for sunny days, but a higher ASA (400, 800, 1600) will guarantee the best results. Try colored, black & white or slides – the Actionsampler will use any 35mm film.

Any tips & tricks, reviews & galleries? Send them to submit-a-camera-review@lomography.com and get a chance to win some piggies if your tips/reviews get chosen.

Credits

Photos by jaalvarez

written by shhquiet on 2008-06-06 in #reviews #staff #35mm #lomography #review #actionsampler

5 Comments

  1. evev
    evev ·

    2 month ago, i bought ActionSampler Chrome, but now i want ActionSampler Clear !!!

  2. adzfar
    adzfar ·

    Yeah! I love to used Action Sampler. The multi-4-lens are awesome!

  3. adzfar
    adzfar ·

    I love the light leak of Action Sampler! That's amazed!

  4. magicpocket
    magicpocket ·

    Mine didn't even work for more than 5 photos from the first ever roll. I thought there must have been some issue with the film getting jammed or out of sync with the shutter-reset mechanism so gave it another try, and same again, worked for about 5 photos then it starts just only opening 2 of the shutters, then when you wind it on it will automatically take some more photos.. You press the shutter release and can hear it running out of steam and grinding to a halt.

    This is one mass made piece of overpriced junk, the worst camera I have ever known!

  5. mrbunnypants
    mrbunnypants ·

    Mines broken as well.... though I did get through around 4/6 rolls of film. The shutter wheel inside isn't working.

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-08-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    Norman Records is an online record store based in Leeds, United Kingdom that offers a diverse selection of music from all around the globe. They sell Indie, Rock, Kosmiche, IDM, EBM, Dancehall, Jazz, Library, Math Rock, Cheesecore and all the other crazy music genres your could ever imagine. We decided to give them an L-CA+ to get a backstage glimpse of life in an online record shop.

    1
  • Shop News

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    Enjoy a truly analogue moviemaking experience with Lomography's 35mm movie camera and an accompanying accessory to watch your films with. View your masterpieces in the most analogue way possible with the LomoKinoscope. Get it now 20% off the regular price!

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Meet The UK Team: General Manager Liana Joyce

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-19 in #news
    Meet The UK Team: General Manager Liana Joyce

    In this series, we meet all the staff that make up Lomography UK. That's everyone from the Soho shop staff to the guys that hide away in the office! Today we talk to the General Manager Liana Joyce, who is possibly the most prolific film shooter in the world EVER! Say hello the Liana.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • A Day with the LC-A: From the Bus, Como (My Tribute to Robert Frank)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-06 in #lifestyle
    A Day with the LC-A: From the Bus, Como (My Tribute to Robert Frank)

    In 1958 the great photographer Robert Frank took a series of images of New York's street life with a Leica camera from a bus window, as in these series of photos that I took in my city Como with my trusty Lomo LC-A loaded with a Kodak Tri-X film. This is a tribute to a great camera and to a great photographer! Read more after the jump!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • How To Bring Your Images To Life

    written by andie_sollmer on 2014-07-08 in #gear #tipster

    Learn how to make a minimovie out of your favorite picture! It works best with Multi-lensed cameras like the Oktomat or Pop9, where you have many images on one single print.

    2
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Through the Eyes of Wolf Colony

    written by givesmehell on 2015-04-02 in #people #lomoamigos
    Through the Eyes of Wolf Colony

    LomoAmigo Wolf Colony is an incredibly talented NYC-based anonymous singer-songwriter who has taken Lomography's La Sardina camera out for a spin! Let's take a look at the series of photographs in an exclusive interview with Wolf Colony.

    2
  • “The Nocturnes of Day” Exhibition at the Lomography Store Vienna

    written by efrost on 2014-10-27 in #events
    “The Nocturnes of Day” Exhibition at the Lomography Store Vienna

    There couldn’t be a better time for photography enthusiasts than October. In honor of the European Month of Photography, there are fascinating photography exhibitions taking place around the continent, and Vienna is one of those locations. Starting October 29, the series “The Nocturnes of Day” by Andreas J. Hirsch will adorn the walls of the Lomography Embassy Store in Vienna. You're invited!

  • December 4th Advent Offer: Looking for a terrific camera for the holidays? (Online Code: BRIGHTDELIGHT15)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-04 in #news
    December 4th Advent Offer: Looking for a terrific camera for the holidays?  (Online Code: BRIGHTDELIGHT15)

    It's that time again — the Lomography Advent deal of the day! If you're in search of a beautiful gift for creative folks or looking to get into the game yourself, we've got your back. Today's super deal is on our Diana F+ and Diana Mini, as well as a continued discount on our plastic bodied cameras.