Lomography Actionsampler - Staff Review

5

The Actionsampler is a lightweight, plastic camera that takes a series of four images in one print.

Every picture tells a story, and that holds especially true with the Actionsampler camera.

The Actionsampler has four sets of 26mm single element sequentially operated lenses. Load up a 35mm film, aim the camera at a moving subject, and press the shutter. The four lenses will “sample” four frames of the action in a full circle, and that’s what you get in a print. Of course, you can pick a motionless subject too, but you’ll have to do the moving! It has a shutter speed of 1/100 second, with an exposure interval of 0.22 seconds per frame and 0.66 seconds in total (for four frames in a sequence on each negative).

It’s an uncomplicated camera that requires no thinking at all – no light meters or focus settings to fiddle around with here, because it has fixed focus (from 1.2m to infinity). It just aims to take four sequential shots that you can upload to the Lomography Lab, so that you can animate your prints and watch the four frames in action.

It may be strange or funny-looking, but this camera takes sharp pictures, as long as you’re in very bright lighting conditions – it has no flash, so you’ll have to rely on natural light for excellent pictures. Generally, 100 ASA is good for sunny days, but a higher ASA (400, 800, 1600) will guarantee the best results. Try colored, black & white or slides – the Actionsampler will use any 35mm film.

Any tips & tricks, reviews & galleries? Send them to submit-a-camera-review@lomography.com and get a chance to win some piggies if your tips/reviews get chosen.

Credits

Photos by jaalvarez

written by shhquiet on 2008-06-06 in #reviews

5 Comments

  1. evev
    evev ·

    2 month ago, i bought ActionSampler Chrome, but now i want ActionSampler Clear !!!

  2. adzfar
    adzfar ·

    Yeah! I love to used Action Sampler. The multi-4-lens are awesome!

  3. adzfar
    adzfar ·

    I love the light leak of Action Sampler! That's amazed!

  4. magicpocket
    magicpocket ·

    Mine didn't even work for more than 5 photos from the first ever roll. I thought there must have been some issue with the film getting jammed or out of sync with the shutter-reset mechanism so gave it another try, and same again, worked for about 5 photos then it starts just only opening 2 of the shutters, then when you wind it on it will automatically take some more photos.. You press the shutter release and can hear it running out of steam and grinding to a halt.

    This is one mass made piece of overpriced junk, the worst camera I have ever known!

  5. mrbunnypants
    mrbunnypants ·

    Mines broken as well.... though I did get through around 4/6 rolls of film. The shutter wheel inside isn't working.

More Interesting Articles

  • Worry Less, Shoot More: On Using the Actionsampler

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-04-02 in #reviews
    Worry Less, Shoot More: On Using the Actionsampler

    I got my first Lomography camera, an Actionsampler, during a raffle in one of the photowalks I attended. I was just starting to explore film photography then and having this plastic fantastic camera definitely gave me the perfect overview of what lies ahead the analogue road.

  • LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-08-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    Norman Records is an online record store based in Leeds, United Kingdom that offers a diverse selection of music from all around the globe. They sell Indie, Rock, Kosmiche, IDM, EBM, Dancehall, Jazz, Library, Math Rock, Cheesecore and all the other crazy music genres your could ever imagine. We decided to give them an L-CA+ to get a backstage glimpse of life in an online record shop.

    1
  • Mark Goslingstar in his Film and Toy Camera World

    written by cheeo on 2014-03-10 in #lifestyle
    Mark Goslingstar in his Film and Toy Camera World

    One of the great things about photography is that we can look at the world and preserve that image on print instead of just looking at it again and again in our heads. Also, we can create a world as we’d like it to be – with everything just the way we like them.

    1
  • Shop News

    Get 20% off on the Lomography Experimental Lens Kit

    Get 20% off on the Lomography Experimental Lens Kit

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Meet The UK Team: General Manager Liana Joyce

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-19 in #news
    Meet The UK Team: General Manager Liana Joyce

    In this series, we meet all the staff that make up Lomography UK. That's everyone from the Soho shop staff to the guys that hide away in the office! Today we talk to the General Manager Liana Joyce, who is possibly the most prolific film shooter in the world EVER! Say hello the Liana.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Shop News

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Shooting with the Lubitel 166+ is an experience on it´s own. The waist level finder will help you to compose your frames perfectly.With the possibility to use 120 and 35mm Film It offers unlimited creative possibilities deemed to be an analogue masterpiece. Get your legendary Lubitel 166+ in our Online Shop!

  • Brazilian photographer documents David Bowie tribute concert with the new Petzval Lens

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-03-21 in #news
    Brazilian photographer documents David Bowie tribute concert with the new Petzval Lens

    To complement “David Bowie is,” a touring retrospective exhibit organized by The Victoria and Albert Museum, London that revolves around the prolific career of David Bowie and is currently ongoing at the Museum of Image and Sound (MIS) in São Paulo, Brazil, the MIS as part of its Stereo MIS series of musical projects, held a David Bowie Tribute concert featuring a few of Brazil’s homegrown talents earlier this month. Letícia Godoy, a photographer for the museum and one of our Kickstarter Petzval supporters, documented the highlights of the concert with the help of the Lomography x Zenit Petzval Lens, and here is a gallery of her photos.

  • A Day with the LC-A: From the Bus, Como (My Tribute to Robert Frank)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-06 in #lifestyle
    A Day with the LC-A: From the Bus, Como (My Tribute to Robert Frank)

    In 1958 the great photographer Robert Frank took a series of images of New York's street life with a Leica camera from a bus window, as in these series of photos that I took in my city Como with my trusty Lomo LC-A loaded with a Kodak Tri-X film. This is a tribute to a great camera and to a great photographer! Read more after the jump!

  • Photographer Who Shot Controversial Image in True Detective Opening Credits is a Lomo Community Member (NSFW)

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-02-05 in #people #lifestyle
    Photographer Who Shot Controversial Image in True Detective Opening Credits is a Lomo Community Member (NSFW)

    Last year, news and entertainment portals were abuzz over the rumor that porn-star-turned-DJ Sasha Grey’s image had been used for the opening credits of the hit HBO original series "True Detective." The photographer who took the said photo is Derek Woods, who also happens to be a member of the Lomography community. Woods' ongoing project is "365 Days of Lomography," a year-long initiative that will chronicle the controversial photographer's daily exploits with Lomography cameras.

    2
  • Shop News

    The Perfect Portrait Lens

    The Perfect Portrait Lens

    The New Petzval Lens comes in 2 lens mount variations. You can purchase a New Petzval Lens with Canon EF mount, or one with a Nikon F mount. The lens works with both analogue and digital cameras with this type of lens mount. There also is a range of adapters available in our Online Shop to use your Petzval Lens on various other (d)SLRs or even compact system cameras!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • How To Bring Your Images To Life

    written by andie_sollmer on 2014-07-08 in #gear #tipster

    Learn how to make a minimovie out of your favorite picture! It works best with Multi-lensed cameras like the Oktomat or Pop9, where you have many images on one single print.

    2
  • “The Nocturnes of Day” Exhibition at the Lomography Store Vienna

    written by efrost on 2014-10-27 in #events
    “The Nocturnes of Day” Exhibition at the Lomography Store Vienna

    There couldn’t be a better time for photography enthusiasts than October. In honor of the European Month of Photography, there are fascinating photography exhibitions taking place around the continent, and Vienna is one of those locations. Starting October 29, the series “The Nocturnes of Day” by Andreas J. Hirsch will adorn the walls of the Lomography Embassy Store in Vienna. You're invited!