Lomography Fisheye - Staff Review

10

The classic Fisheye camera is the easy, compact way to shoot sharp pictures in a 170-degree field of view.

The Fisheye camera was introduced by the Lomographic Society in 2005. It was a quick, compact way to shoot ‘fisheye’ photos without having to lug extra lenses.

This 35mm camera gives sharp pictures even up close – the Fisheye sucks up your subject’s face into the lens, while keeping the other parts – ears, arms, shoulders – pulled backwards. The premium glass lens yields bright colors and contrast. From foreground to background, your images are guaranteed sharp and clear, with its wide depth of field.

A built-in flash is available for nighttime use, and as a fill-in flash for daytime shots.

Got any Fisheye tips and tricks? Send them over and if chosen, we’ll give you piggies as a thank-you token!

written by shhquiet on 2008-06-03 in #reviews

10 Comments

  1. wainer118
    wainer118 ·

    This was my first Lomo camera and I was hooked from day one. If you add the underwater case to it you can get some amazing shots that you would never think were possible.

  2. esriggioni
    esriggioni ·

    my first lomo and loving it! i want to learn more tricks! leave comments!

  3. adzfar
    adzfar ·

    I do not have this camera. But, I'm borrow my friend's fisheye! so, I can make some results from that.

  4. eastmoe
    eastmoe ·

    awesome camera..
    long time not use this camera.will started snap2 soon..

  5. magicpocket
    magicpocket ·

    You cannot go wrong with this camera... Foolproof and always amazing results. Close focus rules!

  6. dirklancer
    dirklancer ·

    Use your fisheye in bright sunilght - you'll get some glare and other unexpected reflected light effects around the edges of the picture, instead of the simply black outline around the circular image. Come close to shooting directly into the sun and your images will make you smile!
    Sunny images with the addition of light reflected of off water are even more fun!

  7. tedgoodyn
    tedgoodyn ·

    This is probably a really idiotic question, but, I was wondering how do you upload photos from a film camera onto your computer.. ?

    Especially for this camera.
    I'm getting the Lomo Fisheye in a few days, and from what I know (which isn't much.), film cameras don't have memory cards or USB cords.

    Well, that's pretty much my only question.
    Hope for an answer.

  8. tedgoodyn
    tedgoodyn ·

    Oh my gosh. I already knew this, I just haven't used a film camera in ages.
    When you get the film developed, you get it put onto a disk. DUH!

  9. mandashitley
    mandashitley ·

    Doing night shots is so much fun. Colorsplash your photos!!! They come out awesome!

  10. anggie_tarnus
    anggie_tarnus ·

    i haved buy this camera last week. And still waiting for the package. I hope i wil enjoy it. ;)

More Interesting Articles

  • What to Shoot with the New Russar+ Lens

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-04-12 in #lifestyle
    What to Shoot with the New Russar+ Lens

    As the mother of all modern wide-angle lenses, the New Russar+ Lens shoots sharp wide-angle photos bursting with character. The solid yet compact ultra-wide 20mm lens can be used to photograph practically anything, and is compatible with a variety of film and digital cameras. Certainly this is a lens that delivers, but like anything, you can reap its full potential by choosing ideal subjects and shooting from a creative perspective.

  • Lomopedia: Pentax MX

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-11 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Pentax MX

    One of the compact 35mm SLR cameras introduced by Pentax in the late 1970s, the fully mechanical Pentax MX was marketed as a pro-level workhorse camera that remains a popular classic to this day.

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    A Very Special Portrait Lens

    A Very Special Portrait Lens

    Photos shot with a New Petzval lens are immediately recognizable for their super-sharp focus areas and wonderful swirly bokeh effect. Each New Petzval lens is crafted from brass (just like the original Petzval lens) and features premium glass optics. Together with Lomography, the lenses have been designed and constructed by a team of optics specialists at the Zenit factory in Russia. Zenit are master lens manufacturers and have the skill to build the Petzval lens for use with today’s SLR cameras.

  • LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-08-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    Norman Records is an online record store based in Leeds, United Kingdom that offers a diverse selection of music from all around the globe. They sell Indie, Rock, Kosmiche, IDM, EBM, Dancehall, Jazz, Library, Math Rock, Cheesecore and all the other crazy music genres your could ever imagine. We decided to give them an L-CA+ to get a backstage glimpse of life in an online record shop.

    1
  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Shop News

    Change the View in an Instant

    Change the View in an Instant

    Extend the Borders of Instant Photography with the World’s Most Creative Instant Camera System Packed With Fun Features and say hello to the Lomo'Instant Camera! The Lomo'Instant is the perfectly sized Instant Camera to take wherever you go! It’s the most creative way to shoot fantastic photos which you can share anywhere and with everyone in an instant.

  • Welcome to 365 Days of Lomography!

    written by Derek Woods on 2015-02-05 in #people #lifestyle
    Welcome to 365 Days of Lomography!

    Throughout this project I will be shooting with a variety of Lomography cameras to explore how they render the world in their own unique ways, as well as some tips and tricks I learn along the way.

    2
  • The Horizon Perfekt: A Camera for Perfect Panoramas

    written by wesco on 2014-06-23 in #reviews
    The Horizon Perfekt: A Camera for Perfect Panoramas

    For a lover of panoramic photos, the Horizon Perfekt is one of the most sought after cameras in the market. Through the revolving glass lens, it makes pictures that are sharp right into the corners at an extra wide panorama format. The distortion that can occur gives its pictures a special appearance.

  • How to Switch Between Formats and Adjust Settings of the LC-Wide

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-26 in #lifestyle
    How to Switch Between Formats and Adjust Settings of the LC-Wide

    The Lomo LC-Wide is a compact shooter, yet it packs quite a punch. Learn to navigate your way around this camera with these video tutorials!

  • Shop News

    Still one of the Best - Horizon Kompakt

    Still one of the Best - Horizon Kompakt

    The Horizon Kompakt is a miracle in the shape of a 35mm camera. Just watching its multi-coated swing lens as it sweeps 120° degrees is a wonder to behold. With "Day" and "Night" shooting settings and battery free operation, it's also incredibly simple to use. Capture picture-perfect panoramas and get prints approximately the size of two standard frames. With the Kompakt, you'll see the world from a whole new perspective.

  • Today in History (1999): 'Fight Club' Premieres

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-15 in #lifestyle
    Today in History (1999): 'Fight Club' Premieres

    Fifteen years ago, a modern cult classic was introduced to the viewing public in the form of the David Fincher-helmed film, "Fight Club."

  • Most Popular Photo Last Year: May 23, 2013

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-23 in #news
    Most Popular Photo Last Year: May 23, 2013

    Seeing such a magnificent view of the setting sun is truly a great way to cap off any adventure.

  • Workshop: Spinner 360

    written by lomographynyc on 2014-03-21 in #events
    Workshop: Spinner 360

    The best way to see a city is with eyes wide open and a panoramic camera in hand. The Spinner 360 is a great piece of equipment for anyone who loves to travel or the photographer who appreciates capturing a nice wide view.