Lomography Fisheye - Staff Review

10

The classic Fisheye camera is the easy, compact way to shoot sharp pictures in a 170-degree field of view.

The Fisheye camera was introduced by the Lomographic Society in 2005. It was a quick, compact way to shoot ‘fisheye’ photos without having to lug extra lenses.

This 35mm camera gives sharp pictures even up close – the Fisheye sucks up your subject’s face into the lens, while keeping the other parts – ears, arms, shoulders – pulled backwards. The premium glass lens yields bright colors and contrast. From foreground to background, your images are guaranteed sharp and clear, with its wide depth of field.

A built-in flash is available for nighttime use, and as a fill-in flash for daytime shots.

Got any Fisheye tips and tricks? Send them over and if chosen, we’ll give you piggies as a thank-you token!

written by shhquiet on 2008-06-03 in #reviews #35mm #fisheye #lomography #review #staff

10 Comments

  1. wainer118
    wainer118 ·

    This was my first Lomo camera and I was hooked from day one. If you add the underwater case to it you can get some amazing shots that you would never think were possible.

  2. esriggioni
    esriggioni ·

    my first lomo and loving it! i want to learn more tricks! leave comments!

  3. adzfar
    adzfar ·

    I do not have this camera. But, I'm borrow my friend's fisheye! so, I can make some results from that.

  4. eastmoe
    eastmoe ·

    awesome camera..
    long time not use this camera.will started snap2 soon..

  5. magicpocket
    magicpocket ·

    You cannot go wrong with this camera... Foolproof and always amazing results. Close focus rules!

  6. dirklancer
    dirklancer ·

    Use your fisheye in bright sunilght - you'll get some glare and other unexpected reflected light effects around the edges of the picture, instead of the simply black outline around the circular image. Come close to shooting directly into the sun and your images will make you smile!
    Sunny images with the addition of light reflected of off water are even more fun!

  7. tedgoodyn
    tedgoodyn ·

    This is probably a really idiotic question, but, I was wondering how do you upload photos from a film camera onto your computer.. ?

    Especially for this camera.
    I'm getting the Lomo Fisheye in a few days, and from what I know (which isn't much.), film cameras don't have memory cards or USB cords.

    Well, that's pretty much my only question.
    Hope for an answer.<3

  8. tedgoodyn
    tedgoodyn ·

    Oh my gosh. I already knew this, I just haven't used a film camera in ages.
    When you get the film developed, you get it put onto a disk. DUH!

  9. mandashitley
    mandashitley ·

    Doing night shots is so much fun. Colorsplash your photos!!! They come out awesome!

  10. anggie_tarnus
    anggie_tarnus ·

    i haved buy this camera last week. And still waiting for the package. I hope i wil enjoy it. ;)

More Interesting Articles

  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    The New Petzval Lens 85 continues to captivate the hearts of many photographers from its debut a couple of years back. A perfect balance between form and function, this lens closely mimics the look of the legendary Petzval lens of the 19th century and delivers eye-catching images with its signature tack sharp center and swirly bokeh background. Many photographers from both outside and inside the Lomography community have raved about the New Petzval 85. In this recap, we look back at four community-written reviews.

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • 10 Steps to Better Photography with the LC-A+

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-08 in #gear #tipster
    10 Steps to Better Photography with the LC-A+

    With features that allow one to be as creative as possible and a size compact enough to bring it anytime, anywhere, the LC-A+ is indeed an embodiment of our 10 Golden Rules. In this week's feature, we list down some of the ways you could up your photography game with this wonderful camera.

    1
  • 10 Steps to Better Photography with the Lubitel 166+

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-29 in #gear #tipster
    10 Steps to Better Photography with the Lubitel 166+

    The Lubitel 166+ is Lomography's very own feature-packed recreation of the Soviet classic. In this feature, we're listing 10 ways on how you can make the most out of this camera!

    1
  • Make the Most of Your LC-Wide!

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-18 in #world #tipster
    Make the Most of Your LC-Wide!

    The LC-Wide: it's compact, but wide. It’s an amazing little beast that will adapt itself to all weathers, all kinds of film rolls. How to find more (crazy) ways to shoot with it? Here are a few ways!

    1
  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 in #world #news #competitions
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2
  • 18 Brilliant Belair X 6-12 Shots In 6x9 Format

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear
    18 Brilliant Belair X 6-12 Shots In 6x9 Format

    The Belair X 6-12 is not an ordinary medium format camera. Besides classic square shots, it's also capable of shooting outstanding photos in 6x9 format! Have a look at some stunning examples below.

    6
  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Concert Photography Tips: Low ISO Film at Night

    written by sirio174 on 2015-08-10 in #gear #tipster
    Concert Photography Tips: Low ISO Film at Night

    In this article I'll teach you how to take sharp photos in low-light conditions using a simple point-and-shoot camera loaded with slow-speed film.

    5
  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.

  • The Photography of Réka Koti: Lo-Fi Blurs and Foggy Moods

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-09-29 in #people #lifestyle
    The Photography of Réka Koti: Lo-Fi Blurs and Foggy Moods

    Photo travelogues are often sprightly, the forms defined and the colors sharp. Réka Koti has a completely different interpretation. A location is a basis for experiments. Nature is a double-exposure detail or a nebular extension of her model’s frock. Branches and leaves are blurred to look like paint strokes. The outcome is mysterious, and Lomography can’t help asking: What is the alchemy behind these dusky pictures?

    2