Lucky SDH (120, 100 iso) User-Review

4

We're lucky to have Lucky! The perfect companion to the world of Holga and Diana of the world.

There is just something about Lucky. Something fantastic. Something a bit removed from ordinary. Many people may pick up this cheap Chinese film because of it’s price tag, but they quickly realize that this film is special. Lucky has the magical ability to take a normal scene and transform it into something otherworldly. It’s black and white nature make it ideal for DIY processing and feel free to experiment!

There are lots of black and white 120 films available, especially for those pro photographers but for most people when they pick up their hunky plastic Holga they aren’t thinking about shooting pro, they’re probably not thinking at all, just shooting and when you’re packing the Rollei or the Illford, the expenses add up fast.

Lucky is our friend and we’re all lucky to have it.

written by nicksholga on 2009-06-10 in #reviews #film #holga #b-w #lomo #lucky #diana #chinese #100iso #analog #lomography #medium-format #120

4 Comments

  1. dogma
    dogma ·

    Nice :) need to try out this film ;)

  2. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    I just bought some LUcky in Singapore quiet cheap - now as I see the results, I really have to load it up....

  3. wuxiong
    wuxiong ·

    Haha, I am lucky in China to have experienced this film (lucky brand) black and white for over two dacades. And I always think it a wonderful film::)). By the way, another famous Chinese b/w film is Gong Yuan/ Era. Unfortunately is now stopped producted. Some lomoers may have tried it until a few years ago.::))

  4. smbilgin
    smbilgin ·

    I can offer Lucky SHD 100 35mm film as well. The characteristics is of course the same and the contrast is perfect; easy to develop at home..

More Interesting Articles

  • My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-23 in #gear #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    Sonja started her analog adventures during her teenage years. She took her first film photographs when she was 13 and has been in love with the magic of the process since. Her idea of a perfect day involves developing film rolls while listening to jazz and having a cup of tea in between. In this interview, she recalls about her experience with her first Lomography camera, a Holga 120 CFN.

    2
  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Shop News

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Never go wrong with amount of light entering your lenses. Perfect for any photo shoots, very handy, lightweight and extremely versatile!

  • Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    The New Petzval Lens 85 continues to captivate the hearts of many photographers from its debut a couple of years back. A perfect balance between form and function, this lens closely mimics the look of the legendary Petzval lens of the 19th century and delivers eye-catching images with its signature tack sharp center and swirly bokeh background. Many photographers from both outside and inside the Lomography community have raved about the New Petzval 85. In this recap, we look back at four community-written reviews.

  • Beautiful Sunlit Lomographs Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 100 (120)

    written by lomography on 2015-10-25 in #gear #news
    Beautiful Sunlit Lomographs Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 100 (120)

    Step inside to see our selection of brightly lit, colorful community-taken lomographs courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative for 120 cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own photos be featured on the Online Shop!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Lady Grey 400 (35mm)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-09-27 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Lady Grey 400 (35mm)

    Its stunning tones, smooth grain, and overall elegant monochrome look have inspired fellow lomographers to pen odes of praise—well, reviews, actually. Find out how the Lomography Lady Grey 400 (35mm) fared right here.

  • Shop News

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Snap your happy memories with the medium format Diana F+ Cortina! This special edition camera is a nod to fun winter holidays: snow-capped mountains, skiing and good times with friends and family!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of June 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-06-27 in #world #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of June 2015

    Have something to say? Letting it out on the Shoutbox is one of the best ways to be heard!

    11
  • 4 Easy Ways to Share your Lomo’Instant Wide Photos with the World

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-24 in #world #videos
    4 Easy Ways to Share your Lomo’Instant Wide Photos with the World

    So, you’ve got your brand new Lomo’Instant Wide and have already taken some of the coolest looking pics from your favorite new camera. What now? Share them with the World, of course! We want to see every single fantastic, fascinating and mesmerizing photo you shoot with the Lomo’Instant Wide and we’re here to tell you how it can be done.

    1
  • Word On The Street: A New Mystery Product Will Be Unveiled Soon!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-04-27 in #gear #news
    Word On The Street: A New Mystery Product Will Be Unveiled Soon!

    Pssst, have you heard the latest? We're unveiling a brand new product very soon, and while we can't give you any strong clues right now, we hope that you can still try to guess what it is. In honor of this mystery product, we'd like to reiterate why Lomography's 10 Golden Rules is perfectly applicable to street photography.

    18
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Going Turquoise with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-05-03 in #gear #news #lifestyle
    Going Turquoise with the LC-A 120

    There's nothing better than chromatic blue worlds on vintage square shots! The LC-A 120 and LomoChrome Turquoise XR 100-400 form an unbeatable pair with these brilliant photographs.

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    written by brettlaw on 2015-04-22 in #gear #reviews #videos
    Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    When I held the Lomo LC-A 120 in my hands for the first time, I immediately noticed its good feel and beautiful design. The LC-A 120 obviously, is truly, related to the queen of all Lomo cameras, the LC-A.

    2