Lomography Fisheye No. 2 - Staff Review

8

The Fisheye No.2 camera offers the same 170-degree field of view as the original Fisheye, but this one's equipped with extra features, such as the Multiple Exposure switch.

In 2005, the Lomographic Society offered a convenient way to enjoy instant ‘fisheye’ shots with the Fisheye camera. Compact and cute, it offered a 170-degree field of view and the capability to shoot sharp, beautiful pictures even up close.

The Fisheye No.2 steps in with a sleeker look, and more enjoyable features. While it retained the built-in flash, a standard flash hotshoe was added, to accomodate any manual hotshoe flash or Colorsplash flash. This was especially exciting for color-crazed Lomographers – now they can bathe their Fisheye shots with an extra punch of color!

A “B” (Bulb) setting was also added for long-time exposures – holding down the shutter button for as long as you like invites all the available light to stream in. Imagine your subject, distorted in a circular print, with lights streaking all over – that’s the magic of the Fisheye 2 + B setting.

Shooting layers of images in one frame was also made possible with the Multiple Exposure Switch (MX) switch. An accessory viewfinder lets you preview your Fisheye subject before hitting the shutter.

The extra treats certainly endeared jmikhail to the Fisheye 2. “Shooting multiple shots per frame does magic during the day. Just be sure to get proper lighting so that you won’t get dark and blurred pictures,” he advised. But of course, you can also use the built-in flash as a fill-flash during daytime!

wilber is obviously a fan of the Fisheye 2 – he’s got some tricks to share with you!

From crazy light streams to frosted dream-scapes this piece of plastic, glass and metal can do it all. Simply decide weather you want blurred deliciousness or a crisp splash of colour by selecting a shutter speed of either 1/100th of a second or crazy endless foreverness. Do you ever get the feeling that the one frame you just took will only fill half your apatite? Want to superimpose your favorite hangout over your mother in law’s face? Or something just as pleasant? Well don’t worry! With the Fisheye 2’s crazy little mix button your problems are over and you can gorge your self on double exposures all day long. So for some of my tips? Get some boogers on your glass! Get your lens in your dogs, sisters, teachers or even your own face. Distort your features till you resemble more of a obese panda than a human. Hold that button, get some light into your life! Hold open the bulb wave your arms around or hold it still for some streaks of gold! – twice fried for extra taste! Although using that brilliant little Mix button is fun and awesome – try shooting the whole roll then rewind and shoot it again! Not only will you get some lush shots but the two circles will not be perfectly over each other!

Credits

Photos 1-8 by: jmikhail

Photos 9-16 by:
wilber

written by shhquiet on 2008-06-01 in #reviews

8 Comments

  1. wilber
    wilber ·

    I love this baby, Nice snaps "jmikhail" especially the double exp upside downything thing! its lush. and those light streams are "gasp" worthy!

    :-)

  2. gabriele_mongardi
    gabriele_mongardi ·

    I think that this one is one of the funniest camera built by lomography, when you're at a party everyone asks you what the hell is that stuff and you start to explain and nobody ever believes that it takes ROUND photos! Plus, when you develop the film and you show the world the results they get captured by the colors and the fact that everything in front of the lens has been captured ("but that's me! When did you take it I wasn't aware of it! I was on the other side of the room!") so you become the party guru and everybody wants you at his/her party or dinner because "oh your shots are so funny I love them!"

  3. makeyuu
    makeyuu ·

    the flash is so strong. id be great if it was just a bit weaker.

  4. wilber
    wilber ·

    I quite like the the excessively white, horribly bright flash. It makes every thing (except the usual black abyss of the lens shadow) look so shiny!

    :-)

  5. graefin
    graefin ·

    The Fish2 is great! The longexposure button is the best thing ever! The MX Button also rocks!

  6. popcornflex
    popcornflex ·

    Fisheye2 is the best toy i have. but i prefere use hotshoe flash (like the diana one).it's a bit sweeter and more regular..less lomo? =)

  7. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    the Fisheye2 was my ticket to lomo love! I made the right decision with this camera as my first weapon of choice =)

  8. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    Always nice to see some fisheye shots - but I will still keep my old wooden Fisheye 1

More Interesting Articles

  • How To Party, Lomo'Instant Style

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-30 in #lifestyle
    How To Party, Lomo'Instant Style

    We had a party recently and used the Lomo'Instant camera to snap spontaneous moments. We had a lot of fun playing with the creative features, such as the Multiple Exposure function!

  • LomoAmigo Alison Scarpulla Shoots With The LC-Wide

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-04-28 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo Alison Scarpulla Shoots With The LC-Wide

    Alison Scarpulla is an enormously talented photographer from the USA who utilizes experimental techniques such as multiple exposures and film soaking to create surreal, evocative and emotional shots. After previously featuring some of her work in the Lomography magazine, we were ecstatic that she accepted our offer to shoot with the LC-Wide to create some brand new photos. Read on for our exclusive interview with the woman behind such amazing photos, which you will see after the jump!

    3
  • Summer Fun With the Fisheye Sub

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle
    Summer Fun With the Fisheye Sub

    It's time to take your Fisheye One or Fisheye No.2 Camera out for a swim! But make sure that it's encased in its swimsuit - the Fisheye Submarine Case. This transparent case allows you to take photos 20m (65 ft) beneath the water surface! See the gallery below to see some cool photos taken by your fellow Lomographers!

  • Shop News

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Shooting with the Lubitel 166+ is an experience on it´s own. The waist level finder will help you to compose your frames perfectly.With the possibility to use 120 and 35mm Film It offers unlimited creative possibilities deemed to be an analogue masterpiece. Get your legendary Lubitel 166+ in our Online Shop!

  • How to Load, Rewind, and Unload Film, Batteries with the Fisheye No. 2

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-02 in #lifestyle
    How to Load, Rewind, and Unload Film, Batteries with the Fisheye No. 2

    My, isn't the Fisheye No. 2 quite a unique-looking camera? Despite this, though, this analogue wonder is very easy to operate. Here are a couple of video tutorials to help get you started, featuring the luxurious Fisheye No. 2 Brut!

  • Mephisto19 and his Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166+

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-29 in #lifestyle
    Mephisto19 and his Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166+

    Stephan has more than 20 cameras in his collection but the Lubitel 166+ remains his favorite because of its versatility as a medium format camera. Read on why Stephan Kaps, aka mephisto19, regards the Lubitel 166+ as the perfect camera for his multiple exposure projects, portraiture, and other personal photography experiments in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

  • Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-15 in #reviews
    Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    Exactly seven years ago, I bought this camera from Indonesia's local Lomography community. I remember having some savings in my bank account and just spending it all on this camera. At that time, I browsed the microsite for the Lomography Fisheye No.2 and immediately fell in love with it! Coincidentally, my friend who introduced me to Lomography just bought this same camera for his birthday. My life has changed ever since I had the Fisheye, my first lomographic camera.

    3
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • LomoAmigo: Singer-Songwriter Ryan Star

    written by kylah on 2014-03-24 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo: Singer-Songwriter Ryan Star

    Not only did rocker Ryan Star love taking pictures with the Fisheye No. 2, but last time he played in New York City, we sent two lucky fans to the show with Color Splash cameras. In this interview, Ryan shares his favorite shots and tells us about his experience with the Fisheye No. 2.

    2
  • Skate Photographer Joe Brook Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-02-06 in #people #lomoamigos
    Skate Photographer Joe Brook Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    Joe Brook is one of the most popular photographers in the West Coast skate scene, shooting for magazines like Trasher, Juxtapoz, Rolling Stone, and different outlets such as PDN and Kodak. Having previous experience with an old Petzval lens mounted on a 4x5 camera, it was but natural for him to try the new one. Brook talks about finding himself, his work, and shooting with the Lomograhy Petzval Lens in this exclusive interview.

    3
  • Meet the Innovators: Cat Ong

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-02-28 in #people #lifestyle
    Meet the Innovators: Cat Ong

    Coinciding with the relaunch of the Lomography community website is the debut of one of the Magazine's newest series, Meet the Innovators. Here, we'll be talking to some of the game changers in the field of photography to get a closer look on what they do as well as find out their personal insights. For our opening salvo we proudly introduce Cat Ong, Lomography's very own Head of Optic Product Development who counts the research and development of the LC-A family, Russar and Petzval Art Lenses, Diana F+, and Lomo'Instant, among many others, as some of his projects.

    8
  • Shop News

    Take the Harpy on a ride!

    Take the Harpy on a ride!

    Take your camera on a safe ride with your bike. This sturdy ZKIN leather bag protects your Diana F+ sized cameras and Lens. Remove the loops and you have a stylish shoulder bag!

  • 'Magnum - Contact Sheets' Opens in Istanbul

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-02-28 in #people #events
    'Magnum - Contact Sheets' Opens in Istanbul

    An ongoing exhibit in Istanbul, Turkey sheds light on the creative process behind some of the world's iconic photographs from the prestigious Magnum Photos.

    1
  • Photo of the Day by gaz

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-02-28 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by gaz

    Have you ever dreamed of hugging a sky filled with fluffy clouds? Turn it into reality using double exposure!

  • Community Picks: LC-A Family

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-02-28 in #gear #news
    Community Picks: LC-A Family

    The people have spoken: the royal LC-A family continues to rule the Lomography community!