Zorki 1 - Staff Review

1

The Zorki 1 35mm rangefinder camera is a redesign based on the Fed series of rangefinders.

The Zorki 1 was the first 35mm rangefinder camera produced by the KMZ (Krasnogorsk Mechanical Factory) in the Soviet Union. Like most Russian cameras at the time, it was a Leica copy. Some engineers from the Fed factory assisted in manufacturing the first Zorkis, making them very similar-looking to the Feds.

Export types have “Zorki” engraved in Cyrillic and Latin. All in all, there are 5 variations of the Zorki 1 – with enhancements ranging from design (types 1a-1d), to newer shutter speeds (type 1e).

The Zorki 1 has a ‘Industar-22’ lens which was copied after the Zeiss Tessar. It’s sharp, yields nice contrast and colors. Since it’s collapsible, the Zorki 1 easily slips into a pocket. Sure, it’s slightly heavier than other point-and-shoot cameras, but it’s not as bulky as an SLR camera!

A Golden Rule that one must remember when handling Russian cameras such as the Zorki – NEVER attempt to change the shutter speed setting without cocking the shutter/advancing the film first, or else you’ll damage the shutter mechanism!

As always, we are on the lookout for any Zorki 1 fans who are willing to share their own personal reviews (w/ gallery) and tips! Drop us a line and win piggy points if your work is published.

written by shhquiet on 2008-05-31 in #reviews #staff #rangefinder #35mm #zorki #review

One Comment

  1. kylewis
    kylewis ·

    I find the Zorki 1 one of those cameras I can have a love hate relationship with, I love the fact its quirky and I have to cater for its unique loading by trimming the leader, I hate the tiny rangefinder but I really love the quality of lens and the images are always such a stark contrast to my other dreamier(blurred) pictures.

More Interesting Articles

  • Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    written by whimsicalgrid on 2015-01-23 in #reviews
    Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    Before the end of 2014, my girlfriend took the plunge of purchasing a rangefinder camera from eBay as a late Christmas gift for me. Let me present to you: the Fed 5. The Fed 5 has been known as a copy of the Leica M3 rangefinder camera. It is inexpensive compared to Leica models. So what are my experiences of using the Fed 5? Read on to find out more.

    6
  • Photo of the Day by zorki

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-03 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by zorki

    With its vivid colors and dramatic lighting, this photograph of a lone deer is definitely one for the books.

    1
  • LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-08-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    Norman Records is an online record store based in Leeds, United Kingdom that offers a diverse selection of music from all around the globe. They sell Indie, Rock, Kosmiche, IDM, EBM, Dancehall, Jazz, Library, Math Rock, Cheesecore and all the other crazy music genres your could ever imagine. We decided to give them an L-CA+ to get a backstage glimpse of life in an online record shop.

    1
  • Shop News

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ and Diana+ 75mm Premium Glass Lens are now ready to give you the best shots with vignetting effects, crisp quality shots together with the signature dreamy appeal of the Diana! Save 15% on the Glass Lens in this Bundle!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • A Salute to the Masters: Barkers (A Tribute to Jack Delano)

    written by sirio174 on 2015-05-02 in #world #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Barkers (A Tribute to Jack Delano)

    This is tribute to the Farm Security Administration photographer, Jack Delano, and his photographic series dedicated to barkers. For this article, I chose a series of photos I took this year at the traditional Easter Fair in my city, Como, using a classic rangefinder camera loaded with a roll of black and white film.

    2
  • Shop News

    110 Experiment Kit

    110 Experiment Kit

    With this bundle, you can choose a camera, film and accessories to spice up your 110 shooting experience!

  • Through the Eyes of Wolf Colony

    written by givesmehell on 2015-04-02 in #people #lomoamigos
    Through the Eyes of Wolf Colony

    LomoAmigo Wolf Colony is an incredibly talented NYC-based anonymous singer-songwriter who has taken Lomography's La Sardina camera out for a spin! Let's take a look at the series of photographs in an exclusive interview with Wolf Colony.

    2
  • First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Tom Bates

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-05 in #gear #news
    First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Tom Bates

    The best thing about working for Lomography is having first access to new products. Imagine everyone's excitement when the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens 2.8/32M was delivered to the headquarters in Vienna, where members of the Lomography team took turns testing this tiny yet powerful optic on various cameras. Meanwhile, Tom Bates from Marketing teased out the idyllic and colorful possibilities of shooting with the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 lens on a trip to the UK countryside.

    3
  • Lomopedia: Zorki 4

    written by cheeo on 2014-11-19 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Zorki 4

    Another Russian camera makes it to the list of cameras to watch out for. Feast your eyes on the Soviet beauty, the Zorki 4.

    2
  • Shop News

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    This beautiful camera features such ability to let users choose and switch between 35mm or 120 formats! Shoot more, save more! Get this Lubitel camera and get 15% discounts with Lomography Films!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Mashable Reviews The Lomo'Instant Camera

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-04 in #gear #reviews
    Mashable Reviews The Lomo'Instant Camera

    Raymond Wong of Mashable got his hands on the Lomo'Instant Camera. He experimented with Light Painting, Filtered Flash, and also dabbled with the lenses. Find out about the verdict after the jump!

  • Fresh from My Darkroom: Cleaning the Statues at the Villa Olmo in Como

    written by sirio174 on 2014-11-17 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from My Darkroom: Cleaning the Statues at the Villa Olmo in Como

    After years of being abandoned, the statues at the Villa Olmo are finally being restored by a group of volunteers from a local Fine Arts academy. With my lovely Zorki 6 rangefinder, I documented one phase of this praiseworthy work. Take a look!