Zorki 1 - Staff Review

1

The Zorki 1 35mm rangefinder camera is a redesign based on the Fed series of rangefinders.

The Zorki 1 was the first 35mm rangefinder camera produced by the KMZ (Krasnogorsk Mechanical Factory) in the Soviet Union. Like most Russian cameras at the time, it was a Leica copy. Some engineers from the Fed factory assisted in manufacturing the first Zorkis, making them very similar-looking to the Feds.

Export types have “Zorki” engraved in Cyrillic and Latin. All in all, there are 5 variations of the Zorki 1 – with enhancements ranging from design (types 1a-1d), to newer shutter speeds (type 1e).

The Zorki 1 has a ‘Industar-22’ lens which was copied after the Zeiss Tessar. It’s sharp, yields nice contrast and colors. Since it’s collapsible, the Zorki 1 easily slips into a pocket. Sure, it’s slightly heavier than other point-and-shoot cameras, but it’s not as bulky as an SLR camera!

A Golden Rule that one must remember when handling Russian cameras such as the Zorki – NEVER attempt to change the shutter speed setting without cocking the shutter/advancing the film first, or else you’ll damage the shutter mechanism!

As always, we are on the lookout for any Zorki 1 fans who are willing to share their own personal reviews (w/ gallery) and tips! Drop us a line and win piggy points if your work is published.

written by shhquiet on 2008-05-31 in #reviews #rangefinder #review #zorki #35mm #staff

One Comment

  1. kylewis
    kylewis ·

    I find the Zorki 1 one of those cameras I can have a love hate relationship with, I love the fact its quirky and I have to cater for its unique loading by trimming the leader, I hate the tiny rangefinder but I really love the quality of lens and the images are always such a stark contrast to my other dreamier(blurred) pictures.

More Interesting Articles

  • Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    written by whimsicalgrid on 2015-01-23 in #reviews
    Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    Before the end of 2014, my girlfriend took the plunge of purchasing a rangefinder camera from eBay as a late Christmas gift for me. Let me present to you: the Fed 5. The Fed 5 has been known as a copy of the Leica M3 rangefinder camera. It is inexpensive compared to Leica models. So what are my experiences of using the Fed 5? Read on to find out more.

    6
  • Photo of the Day by zorki

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-03 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by zorki

    With its vivid colors and dramatic lighting, this photograph of a lone deer is definitely one for the books.

    1
  • LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-08-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    Norman Records is an online record store based in Leeds, United Kingdom that offers a diverse selection of music from all around the globe. They sell Indie, Rock, Kosmiche, IDM, EBM, Dancehall, Jazz, Library, Math Rock, Cheesecore and all the other crazy music genres your could ever imagine. We decided to give them an L-CA+ to get a backstage glimpse of life in an online record shop.

    1
  • Shop News

    Special Apertures for Petzval

    Special Apertures for Petzval

    Want to be more creative and level up your bokeh shots? A wide selection of special apertures for Petzval are here to blend with your artistic side and give your Petzval images some analog twists!

  • Lomopedia: Petri 7s

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-03 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Petri 7s

    Made and introduced in 1962, the Petri 7s is a 35mm rangefinder camera that featured several important improvements from the previous model. Find out more about this analogue beauty from the 1960s in this installment of Lomopedia!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Lomopedia: Voigtlander Bessa R2A

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-15 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Voigtlander Bessa R2A

    Introduced in 2004, the Bessa R2A and R3A are 35mm autoexposure rangefinder cameras that belong to Cosina's line of Voigtlander revival cameras. Find out more about these luxurious-looking analogue rangefinder snappers in this installment of Lomopedia!

    2
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Lomopedia: Voigtlander Bessa-T

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-01 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Voigtlander Bessa-T

    A handsome model from the Voigtlander revival cameras, the Bessa-T was introduced by Cosina in 2001 and supplemented the previous Bessa-L model. Find out more about this interesting 35mm rangefinder camera in this installment of Lomopedia!

  • Lomopedia: Zorki 4

    written by cheeo on 2014-11-19 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Zorki 4

    Another Russian camera makes it to the list of cameras to watch out for. Feast your eyes on the Soviet beauty, the Zorki 4.

    1
  • Lomopedia: Agfa Optima 1535 Sensor

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-08 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Agfa Optima 1535 Sensor

    Introduced in the late 1970s, the Agfa Optima Sensor 1535 was a popular option for photographers who preferred compact rangefinders. Check out this Lomopedia installment to see if this 35mm rangefinder is to your liking!

  • Shop News

    Last Day: Free Camera Deal

    Last Day: Free Camera Deal

    Last day of the free camera deal today! Grab films now worth 99 EUR/USD/GBP and get your free Diana Mini or Diana F+ Love Letters for free!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Lomopedia: Yashica FX-1

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-09 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Yashica FX-1

    A 35mm SLR camera offered by Yashica in the mid-1970s, the FX-1 was considered as a transition camera for sharing some features with earlier models and the FR series launched later. Find out more about this simple yet dependable analogue snapper in this installment of Lomopedia!

    1
  • Mashable Reviews The Lomo'Instant Camera

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-04 in #gear #reviews
    Mashable Reviews The Lomo'Instant Camera

    Raymond Wong of Mashable got his hands on the Lomo'Instant Camera. He experimented with Light Painting, Filtered Flash, and also dabbled with the lenses. Find out about the verdict after the jump!