Fuji Velvia (35mm, 50 iso) User-Review

16

A testimony why Fuji Velvia 50 became my new favourite film.

I’ve had a box of Fuji Velvia 50 sitting in my cupboard for six months. Being an ISO 50 film, I decided that I wanted to use it on sunny days. Those sunny days finally came and I loaded it into my Lomo LCA. A fairground came to town which helped me finish the film really quickly – a rare occurrence for me!

I didn’t really know what to expect when I cross-processed this film. All I knew was that it should give awesome results and it did. The film itself came out a reddy-purple colour, which meant the photos would have a nice green colour shift to them.

The results were amazing! Blue skies came out an turquoisey-blue-green colour. Greens became even greener. Reds and yellow popped out. I think this is my new favourite film! I recommend that you try some of this film and use it on a sunny day! You’ll be amazed too.

written by dazb on 2009-07-30 in #reviews #fuji #lca #35mm #x-pro #velvia

16 Comments

  1. halfawakehaiku
    halfawakehaiku ·

    truly a great film!nice gallery

  2. halfawakehaiku
    halfawakehaiku ·

    truly a great film!nice gallery

  3. larslau
    larslau ·

    Amazing gallery!!!

  4. abcdefuck
    abcdefuck ·

    woow. =D

  5. kuasimudo
    kuasimudo ·

    love #4 colors!

  6. stouf
    stouf ·

    Excellent ! N°10 is my favourite !

  7. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    I have one of these sitting around too waiting for the right moment. This is motivating me to get it out. Love shot 4, it's so stormy and gloomy and different then all the other shots.

  8. d_i_hunter
    d_i_hunter ·

    Love the fairground shots - I must try this film!

  9. poetpunk
    poetpunk ·

    Is this xpro in c41? I havve never done xpro on anything. I am about to soon.

  10. dazb
    dazb ·

    Thanks for all the nice comments everyone. #4 is definitely my favourite - I was so surprised when I saw it :)

    poetpunk - yes, it is a slide film cross-processed in C41 chemicals :)

  11. moochie_lomo
    moochie_lomo ·

    I gotta get me some of this film! Number 4 is an awesome shot! The clouds seem to move when I'm looking at it. Thanks for the article!

  12. deeseeohecks
    deeseeohecks ·

    #4 is menacing!

  13. graefin
    graefin ·

    I also have some Velvia50 but the films expired years ago. Was yours a fresh Velvia50?
    I like the green/blue pictures a lot! So different to the usually pink Velvia results.

  14. dazb
    dazb ·

    @graefin - I think my Velvia was a few months out of date btu honestly can't remember. Regarding the shifts - based on this and other reviews ISO50 goes to green, and the ISO100 goes to reds/purples/pinks..

  15. ilovemydiana
    ilovemydiana ·

    have you shot any that you didnt cross process? i would like to see how that looks too. i think every slide film looks just a little different!

  16. zezefan
    zezefan ·

    What?? I love 4th one!!!

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Lomopedia: Fuji Klasse S and Fuji Klasse W

    written by cheeo on 2014-09-03 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Fuji Klasse S and Fuji Klasse W

    As far as high end point-and-shoot cameras go, the Fuji Klasse S and W take a coveted spot in many film photographers’ wish lists. Know why in this installment of Lomopedia.

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Konica C35: A Wonderfully Analogue Camera

    written by marioman112 on 2014-09-01 in #reviews
    Konica C35: A Wonderfully Analogue Camera

    They say you can't teach an old dog new tricks, but whoever said that must have never shot with a Konica C35. This 46-year-old beauty can definitely hang with the big boys. Come see why this camera is one of my favorites, and why it should be one of yours, too.

  • New York - The Best City for Testing LomoChrome Turquoise

    written by zonderbar on 2014-11-11 in #reviews
    New York - The Best City for Testing LomoChrome Turquoise

    Two years ago I swore to myself, I'll be coming back soon!" This October my chance finally came and I flew for the second time to New York City to visit my dear colleagues in the Lomography Gallery Store New York. What I didn’t see coming, though, is the opportunity to test a new secret film during my trip.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • The Agfa Clack: Ye Olde Film Eater

    written by dermanu on 2014-08-09 in #reviews
    The Agfa Clack: Ye Olde Film Eater

    My passion for old and analogue cameras hadn't stayed unnoticed among my friends and acquaintances. Which is why I've received cameras as gifts for many times now. My Agfa Clack is an example. It's about 60 years old, fully functional, and a real film eater.

    1
  • Something New: Use 35mm Film in Your LC-A 120

    written by efrost on 2015-02-25 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Something New: Use 35mm Film in Your LC-A 120

    What’s something you have to try right away with a new medium format camera? Exactly - put 35mm film in it and take some awesome shots with sprockets on them!

    9
  • Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-17 in #gear #news #lifestyle #tipster
    Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    Ever since light painting was invented, it inspired artists from all around the globe to magical creations that capture hidden movements and reinvent the world we live in. "Life is a fairy tale, stay wild little child!" is what they want to tell us. Bringing light to life became the next challenge for anyone rigged with a film camera and a creative mind. Now, how can you take your analogue light paintings from the ordinary to the outstanding? After the carriage came the car, so we definitely need some spacy inventions to follow the old school light pen. So here it is, our new best friend: The Pixelstick!

    8
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Happenings on Film: At the Start of the Tour of Lombardy with My Fed 3

    written by sirio174 on 2014-11-03 in #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: At the Start of the Tour of Lombardy with My Fed 3

    This month, after waiting for three years, my city Como hosted the Tour of Lombardy, an important event in the male elite road cycling tour. With my Fed 3 loaded with black and white film and equipped with ultra sharp Industar 50/3.5 lens, I documented the parade of cyclists who went to the starting line after they registered. Take a look after the jump!

  • Fresh from My Darkroom: The First Game of the New Rugby Season

    written by sirio174 on 2014-10-15 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from My Darkroom: The First Game of the New Rugby Season

    Last Sunday, the local rugby team Rugby Como played the first match of the 2014-1025 season. Rugby is my favorite sport to photograph, and for some years I've been documenting almost every home match of this young team. This time I used a 1959 Zorki 5 camera with a vintage 1958 Industar-50 lens loaded with a timeless film, the Ilford HP5+ developed in a century-old developer, the mythical Rodinal. Take a look after the jump!

    2
  • Introducing the New Lomography Cine400 Tungsten 35mm Film - Only 4000 Rolls Available!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-10-13 in #news
    Introducing the New Lomography Cine400 Tungsten 35mm Film - Only 4000 Rolls Available!

    Turn ordinary scenes into cinematic moments with the new Lomography Cine400 Tungsten Film. Made from authentic cine material that we specially treated for use with 35mm cameras, this Color Negative film will produce photos that look like stills from a movie.

    1