Agfa Portrait (120, 160 iso) User-Review

5

The Agfa Portrait and Holga, together they are my ideal analogue companions!

When I purchased my Holga, I bought it in a bundle with 20 rolls of Agfa Portrait 160. I wasn’t expecting too much, I just wanted to have a large stock of film so I could get straight down to shooting. However, this film exceeded all my expectations!

Agfa Portrait reliably delivers really punchy colours in all bright light situations and also gives great clarity when used with a flash.I think the secret is in its 160 iso rating. The Holga's plastic lens benefits from the extra little bit of sensitivity over a 100 rated film film, but the negatives are still super smooth and grain free.

Agfa Portrait has turned out to be the ideal companion negative film for my Holga. I would advise people to get hold of some while it’s still available – surely you won’t be disappointed!

written by d_i_hunter on 2009-07-18 in #reviews #negative #120 #color #portrait #colour #agfa

5 Comments

  1. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    Wow, there are some great shots in here! I also like this film a lot and still have several rolls in my fridge....

  2. day3hugger
    day3hugger ·

    nice gallery!

  3. sugiyamasatomi
    sugiyamasatomi ·

    I, too, love this film. this film looks great specially when shooting againt the sky. great gallery!

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    I'm usually avoiding negative film... But you're making me change my mind ! Superb gallery !

  5. dogma
    dogma ·

    Cool film and great pictures!

More Interesting Articles

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Fresh from the Lab: Hari Raya Portraits

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-10 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Hari Raya Portraits

    A couple of weeks ago, my family and I celebrated Hari Raya after a month of fasting during the holy month of Ramadan. Since the first day I laid my hands on the Lubitel 166+, I've always had the thought of taking portraits of my family. So this year, I finally took them. Here they are: Hari Raya Portraits!

    8
  • Far and Wide with the Russar+ Lens

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-10-09 in #lifestyle
    Far and Wide with the Russar+ Lens

    Paired with your camera of choice, the New Russar+ Lens can produce exceptional images wide-angle dreams are made of. Whether you're in the market for stunning landscapes or striking street photos, the Russar+ makes an ideal companion during those photographic expeditions. Dan from Lomography Hong Kong recently shot with the wide-angle wonder, and here are some of the photos from his shoot.

  • Shop News

    LomoKino Basic Package Services

    LomoKino Basic Package Services

    Process your LomoKino films the right way! Get scans, movie and negatives. This is the easiest way to turn those movie rolls into completed masterpieces! Check this service now!(Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    written by brettlaw on 2015-04-22 in #gear #reviews
    Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    When I held the Lomo LC-A 120 in my hands for the first time, I immediately noticed its good feel and beautiful design. The LC-A 120 obviously, is truly, related to the queen of all Lomo cameras, the LC-A.

    1
  • A Fisheye Double Challenge with Natasha Nuttall and Lucy Everett

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-06-20 in #people
    A Fisheye Double Challenge with Natasha Nuttall and Lucy Everett

    Natasha Nuttall and Lucy Everett are two UK bloggers who teamed up for the ultimate analog challenge. They decided to shoot double exposures together using two Fisheye cameras.

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • 10 Reasons Why Diana Cameras are Perfect for the Holidays

    written by chooolss on 2014-12-09 in #lifestyle
    10 Reasons Why Diana Cameras are Perfect for the Holidays

    Looking for the perfect analogue companion during the holidays? Well, look no further as we list down 10 reasons why the Diana F+, Mini, and Baby are perfect for capturing those bright and festive scenes, happy reunions, and exciting trips on film!

  • My Key to Escaping Digital Confinement: The Lomo LC-Wide

    written by nickpage on 2015-01-09 in #lifestyle
    My Key to Escaping Digital Confinement: The Lomo LC-Wide

    I'm Nick Page, a graphic designer based in the UK. After 20 years of working in advertising, I returned to film photography five years ago and found that the analogue life was just what I needed to get away from the "pixel perfect" images I deal with every day in my job.

    4
  • CMJ Music Marathon with PROM and The Bright Light Social Hour

    written by givesmehell on 2015-03-27 in #people #events #lomoamigos
    CMJ Music Marathon with PROM and The Bright Light Social Hour

    Homegrown band PROM and Austin-based band The Bright Light Social Hour made it to New York's CMJ Music Marathon, which took place late last October. They are Lomography's new LomoAmigos who have documented their experience at CMJ with the Pop 9 and the Colorsplash Cameras, respectively. Together with The Orchard, a music distribution firm, let's take a look at how things went at the music marathon!

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Lomography Petzval Lens Photography Tips

    written by gothcupcake on 2014-08-14 in #gear #tipster
    Lomography Petzval Lens Photography Tips

    My boyfriend Scott (@xtharnx) and I are based in Phoenix, Arizona and enjoy experimenting with the Lomography Petzval Lens for its fabulous bokeh effects and dreamy, swirly portraits. Here are a few tips for getting the most out of your Petzval Lens.

  • Portraits of Literary Authors

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-06-14 in #world #lifestyle
    Portraits of Literary Authors

    Because they have faceless conversations with readers, authors are distinguished by their eloquence and imagination. But seeing an inset portrait of a favorite writer can be a delight to a fan: The man or woman whose words seem so immortal is human after all.

  • Lomography Singapore and Parallel Planets Present: 'Façades: Neo-Noir Portraits Exhibition'

    written by edwinchau on 2015-03-25 in #world #events
    Lomography Singapore and Parallel Planets Present: 'Façades: Neo-Noir Portraits Exhibition'

    Lomography Singapore plays host to Parallel Planets’ first exhibition, "Façades: Neo-Noir Portraits Exhibition," featuring all-analog photography: a sea of black and white film portraits. This exhibition serves as a platform where both local and international photographers can express themselves by injecting individual perspectives into their craft. It also encourages viewers to look through the lens of the photographers, to see the subjects as who they are – flawed, alive, and breathing – and to also see beyond the façades we all choose to don.

    5