Agfa Portrait (120, 160 iso) User-Review

5

The Agfa Portrait and Holga, together they are my ideal analogue companions!

When I purchased my Holga, I bought it in a bundle with 20 rolls of Agfa Portrait 160. I wasn’t expecting too much, I just wanted to have a large stock of film so I could get straight down to shooting. However, this film exceeded all my expectations!

Agfa Portrait reliably delivers really punchy colours in all bright light situations and also gives great clarity when used with a flash.I think the secret is in its 160 iso rating. The Holga's plastic lens benefits from the extra little bit of sensitivity over a 100 rated film film, but the negatives are still super smooth and grain free.

Agfa Portrait has turned out to be the ideal companion negative film for my Holga. I would advise people to get hold of some while it’s still available – surely you won’t be disappointed!

written by d_i_hunter on 2009-07-18 in #reviews #120 #color #portrait #agfa #colour #negative

5 Comments

  1. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    Wow, there are some great shots in here! I also like this film a lot and still have several rolls in my fridge....

  2. day3hugger
    day3hugger ·

    nice gallery!

  3. sugiyamasatomi
    sugiyamasatomi ·

    I, too, love this film. this film looks great specially when shooting againt the sky. great gallery!

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    I'm usually avoiding negative film... But you're making me change my mind ! Superb gallery !

  5. dogma
    dogma ·

    Cool film and great pictures!

More Interesting Articles

  • Most Popular Users of April 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-11 in #news
    Most Popular Users of April 2014

    They are the great analogue photography masters in our community and having them in this single post is quite overwhelming!

    15
  • Petzval Lens User Review: An Unexpected Happiness

    written by sanamiii on 2014-06-06 in #reviews
    Petzval Lens User Review: An Unexpected Happiness

    It is my first time to use the New Petzval Lens outside of work and I got some surprising photos!

  • Fresh from the Lab: Hari Raya Portraits

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-10 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Hari Raya Portraits

    A couple of weeks ago, my family and I celebrated Hari Raya after a month of fasting during the holy month of Ramadan. Since the first day I laid my hands on the Lubitel 166+, I've always had the thought of taking portraits of my family. So this year, I finally took them. Here they are: Hari Raya Portraits!

    8
  • Shop News

    Recognizable Images of Petzval

    Recognizable Images of Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Lola 120 Pan: A partly-homemade 6x12 Folding Beauty

    written by stouf on 2014-05-12 in #gear #tipster
    Lola 120 Pan: A partly-homemade 6x12 Folding Beauty

    Here is a guide to building your own 6x12 camera by combining a Lola camera body and a Holga 120 WPC back. Find out how to make these two gorgeous ladies work together for a whole lot of analogue fun.

    11
  • Far and Wide with the Russar+ Lens

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-10-09 in #lifestyle
    Far and Wide with the Russar+ Lens

    Paired with your camera of choice, the New Russar+ Lens can produce exceptional images wide-angle dreams are made of. Whether you're in the market for stunning landscapes or striking street photos, the Russar+ makes an ideal companion during those photographic expeditions. Dan from Lomography Hong Kong recently shot with the wide-angle wonder, and here are some of the photos from his shoot.

  • The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-16 in #news
    The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    We're ecstatic to read an in-depth review of the Lomography Petzval Lens, from the cool folks over at The Phoblographer. It's exciting to find out that, like us, they are in-love with the Petzval Lens too, so much that they gave it an impressive 4/5 rating! If you're thinking of getting a Petzval Lens, you'll find this featured review very useful. Check out an excerpt and the link to the full article after the jump!

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • 10 Reasons Why Diana Cameras are Perfect for the Holidays

    written by chooolss on 2014-12-09 in #lifestyle
    10 Reasons Why Diana Cameras are Perfect for the Holidays

    Looking for the perfect analogue companion during the holidays? Well, look no further as we list down 10 reasons why the Diana F+, Mini, and Baby are perfect for capturing those bright and festive scenes, happy reunions, and exciting trips on film!

  • My Key to Escaping Digital Confinement: The Lomo LC-Wide

    written by nickpage on 2015-01-09 in #lifestyle
    My Key to Escaping Digital Confinement: The Lomo LC-Wide

    I'm Nick Page, a graphic designer based in the UK. After 20 years of working in advertising, I returned to film photography five years ago and found that the analogue life was just what I needed to get away from the "pixel perfect" images I deal with every day in my job.

    4
  • CMJ Music Marathon with PROM and The Bright Light Social Hour

    written by givesmehell on 2015-03-27 in #people #events #lomoamigos
    CMJ Music Marathon with PROM and The Bright Light Social Hour

    Homegrown band PROM and Austin-based band The Bright Light Social Hour made it to New York's CMJ Music Marathon, which took place late last October. They are Lomography's new LomoAmigos who have documented their experience at CMJ with the Pop 9 and the Colorsplash Cameras, respectively. Together with The Orchard, a music distribution firm, let's take a look at how things went at the music marathon!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Lomography Petzval Lens Photography Tips

    written by gothcupcake on 2014-08-14 in #gear #tipster
    Lomography Petzval Lens Photography Tips

    My boyfriend Scott (@xtharnx) and I are based in Phoenix, Arizona and enjoy experimenting with the Lomography Petzval Lens for its fabulous bokeh effects and dreamy, swirly portraits. Here are a few tips for getting the most out of your Petzval Lens.

  • The Search for Analogue Stars Competition: Portraits

    written by hembot on 2014-04-04 in #competitions
    The Search for Analogue Stars Competition: Portraits

    Ready yourself for the biggest analogue photography competition of the year, starting on the biggest analogue photography day of the year! To coincide with Film Photography Day 2014 on April 12th, we are on a mission to discover the best portraits EVER shot on analogue. To be in for a chance to win a Petzval Lens and tons of other big prizes, stay with us after the jump!

    19
  • Lomography Singapore and Parallel Planets Present: 'Façades: Neo-Noir Portraits Exhibition'

    written by edwinchau on 2015-03-25 in #world #events
    Lomography Singapore and Parallel Planets Present: 'Façades: Neo-Noir Portraits Exhibition'

    Lomography Singapore plays host to Parallel Planets’ first exhibition, "Façades: Neo-Noir Portraits Exhibition," featuring all-analog photography: a sea of black and white film portraits. This exhibition serves as a platform where both local and international photographers can express themselves by injecting individual perspectives into their craft. It also encourages viewers to look through the lens of the photographers, to see the subjects as who they are – flawed, alive, and breathing – and to also see beyond the façades we all choose to don.

    5