Agfa Portrait (120, 160 iso) User-Review

5

The Agfa Portrait and Holga, together they are my ideal analogue companions!

When I purchased my Holga, I bought it in a bundle with 20 rolls of Agfa Portrait 160. I wasn’t expecting too much, I just wanted to have a large stock of film so I could get straight down to shooting. However, this film exceeded all my expectations!

Agfa Portrait reliably delivers really punchy colours in all bright light situations and also gives great clarity when used with a flash.I think the secret is in its 160 iso rating. The Holga's plastic lens benefits from the extra little bit of sensitivity over a 100 rated film film, but the negatives are still super smooth and grain free.

Agfa Portrait has turned out to be the ideal companion negative film for my Holga. I would advise people to get hold of some while it’s still available – surely you won’t be disappointed!

written by d_i_hunter on 2009-07-18 in #reviews #120 #color #negative #portrait #agfa #colour

5 Comments

  1. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    Wow, there are some great shots in here! I also like this film a lot and still have several rolls in my fridge....

  2. day3hugger
    day3hugger ·

    nice gallery!

  3. sugiyamasatomi
    sugiyamasatomi ·

    I, too, love this film. this film looks great specially when shooting againt the sky. great gallery!

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    I'm usually avoiding negative film... But you're making me change my mind ! Superb gallery !

  5. dogma
    dogma ·

    Cool film and great pictures!

More Interesting Articles

  • Petzval Lens User Review: An Unexpected Happiness

    written by sanamiii on 2014-06-06 in #reviews
    Petzval Lens User Review: An Unexpected Happiness

    It is my first time to use the New Petzval Lens outside of work and I got some surprising photos!

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #people #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Fresh from the Lab: Hari Raya Portraits

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-10 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Hari Raya Portraits

    A couple of weeks ago, my family and I celebrated Hari Raya after a month of fasting during the holy month of Ramadan. Since the first day I laid my hands on the Lubitel 166+, I've always had the thought of taking portraits of my family. So this year, I finally took them. Here they are: Hari Raya Portraits!

    8
  • Shop News

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    Enjoy a truly analogue moviemaking experience with Lomography's 35mm movie camera and an accompanying accessory to watch your films with. View your masterpieces in the most analogue way possible with the LomoKinoscope. Get it now 20% off the regular price!

  • Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    written by brettlaw on 2015-04-22 in #gear #reviews
    Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    When I held the Lomo LC-A 120 in my hands for the first time, I immediately noticed its good feel and beautiful design. The LC-A 120 obviously, is truly, related to the queen of all Lomo cameras, the LC-A.

    1
  • Far and Wide with the Russar+ Lens

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-10-09 in #lifestyle
    Far and Wide with the Russar+ Lens

    Paired with your camera of choice, the New Russar+ Lens can produce exceptional images wide-angle dreams are made of. Whether you're in the market for stunning landscapes or striking street photos, the Russar+ makes an ideal companion during those photographic expeditions. Dan from Lomography Hong Kong recently shot with the wide-angle wonder, and here are some of the photos from his shoot.

  • The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-16 in #news
    The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    We're ecstatic to read an in-depth review of the Lomography Petzval Lens, from the cool folks over at The Phoblographer. It's exciting to find out that, like us, they are in-love with the Petzval Lens too, so much that they gave it an impressive 4/5 rating! If you're thinking of getting a Petzval Lens, you'll find this featured review very useful. Check out an excerpt and the link to the full article after the jump!

  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300 & 10x Fuji Instax Wide Film

    Fuji Instax Wide 300 & 10x Fuji Instax Wide Film

    With this bundle you are ready to shoot with the Fuji Instax Wide 300 and dig in to the instax world – on top you save 20% on Fuji Wide film!

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • 10 Reasons Why Diana Cameras are Perfect for the Holidays

    written by chooolss on 2014-12-09 in #lifestyle
    10 Reasons Why Diana Cameras are Perfect for the Holidays

    Looking for the perfect analogue companion during the holidays? Well, look no further as we list down 10 reasons why the Diana F+, Mini, and Baby are perfect for capturing those bright and festive scenes, happy reunions, and exciting trips on film!

  • My Key to Escaping Digital Confinement: The Lomo LC-Wide

    written by nickpage on 2015-01-09 in #lifestyle
    My Key to Escaping Digital Confinement: The Lomo LC-Wide

    I'm Nick Page, a graphic designer based in the UK. After 20 years of working in advertising, I returned to film photography five years ago and found that the analogue life was just what I needed to get away from the "pixel perfect" images I deal with every day in my job.

    4
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • CMJ Music Marathon with PROM and The Bright Light Social Hour

    written by givesmehell on 2015-03-27 in #people #events #lomoamigos
    CMJ Music Marathon with PROM and The Bright Light Social Hour

    Homegrown band PROM and Austin-based band The Bright Light Social Hour made it to New York's CMJ Music Marathon, which took place late last October. They are Lomography's new LomoAmigos who have documented their experience at CMJ with the Pop 9 and the Colorsplash Cameras, respectively. Together with The Orchard, a music distribution firm, let's take a look at how things went at the music marathon!

  • Lomography Petzval Lens Photography Tips

    written by gothcupcake on 2014-08-14 in #gear #tipster
    Lomography Petzval Lens Photography Tips

    My boyfriend Scott (@xtharnx) and I are based in Phoenix, Arizona and enjoy experimenting with the Lomography Petzval Lens for its fabulous bokeh effects and dreamy, swirly portraits. Here are a few tips for getting the most out of your Petzval Lens.

  • Lomography Singapore and Parallel Planets Present: 'Façades: Neo-Noir Portraits Exhibition'

    written by edwinchau on 2015-03-25 in #world #events
    Lomography Singapore and Parallel Planets Present: 'Façades: Neo-Noir Portraits Exhibition'

    Lomography Singapore plays host to Parallel Planets’ first exhibition, "Façades: Neo-Noir Portraits Exhibition," featuring all-analog photography: a sea of black and white film portraits. This exhibition serves as a platform where both local and international photographers can express themselves by injecting individual perspectives into their craft. It also encourages viewers to look through the lens of the photographers, to see the subjects as who they are – flawed, alive, and breathing – and to also see beyond the façades we all choose to don.

    5