Zenit E - Staff Review

10

The Zenit E is the 35mm SLR camera based on the Zorki rangefinder series!

The Zenit 35mm SLR camera (sometimes spelled ‘Zenith’ in English manuals) was produced by the same crew who brought us the Zorki rangefinder camera – Krasnogorski Mekhanicheskii Zavod, a mechanical factory in Moscow. The latter served as an inspiration for the Zenit – they took out the rangefinder, put a ground-glass screen in its place, and adjusted the thread mount to make room for the mirror. Early models resembled the first batches of the Zorki, only that the Zenit is obviously larger, to accommodate SLR features.

By late 1960’s, KMZ had started mass production for the cameras, developing an instantly-returning mirror, leading to the birth of the Zenit-E. It was cast in a one-piece aluminum body, which makes the camera sturdy. The selenium light meter calculates the light and allows you to adjust your aperture and shutter speed – making it easy to nail the perfect exposure.

In its 17 years of production, a lot of variations had emerged – some of them in honor of special happenings, one of which was the 1980 Moscow Olympics. This is typical for cameras during 1979-1980, as a promotion for that event. Some of them sported the official Olympic Tower logo, while commemorative Zenit E’s had “MOSKVA 80” printed on it.

kylethefrench likes the Zenit-E for its’ versatility. “The best thing is that it lets you look at your picture as you take it, like a 1970s digital almost, what you see is what you’re gonna get. It allows you to get the macro distance correct every time for sharp close ups. You can even go ahead and throw on the Holga filters for fun, do what you do, the Zenit-E allows you.”

mantozauras shared a tip – “Using black and white films you can get an old ‘retro’ look, and with slide films and cross-processing you can achieve nice contrast and beautiful colors! You can also easily use the doorspy mounted on the Zenit E camera lens (Helios 44-2) and get a look like a fisheye lens!”

Credits

Photos 1-12, 24-29: mantozauras

Photos 13-23:
kylethefrench

written by shhquiet on 2008-05-28 in #reviews #slr #staff #zenit #review

10 Comments

  1. mantozauras
    mantozauras ·

    It is really great camera, trust me! :))

  2. swieconek
    swieconek ·

    Smoking pictures must be banned from lomography.

  3. layout
    layout ·

    I saw this camera last sunday at a camera fair and it was only $25.

  4. kylethefrench
    kylethefrench ·

    holy cow my pix are on here too!

  5. nachin
    nachin ·

    i recently got this camera borrowed from a friend, and was wondering if someone has more info on how to use the exposure meter correctly as it "reads" only light when you point directly to the source of light, although in this case it might be the camera as no one has taken care of it...
    and another question, some of the pictures shown here and on other camera reviews show very saturated pictures, and i love that. is that caused by the camera or by the film? or both?
    thanks

  6. oldskool_rider
    oldskool_rider ·

    cant wait to get mine

  7. pan_dre
    pan_dre ·

    Just came across this review recently...great portrait shots Mephisto!! Really like those!

  8. ipdegirl
    ipdegirl ·

    Just got one at a flea market this weekend for $15! I'm almost finished running my first roll of film through it and am really excited to post the results soon.

  9. paperplanepilot
    paperplanepilot ·

    im really close to getting a zenith because i love the photographs they can take. i'm just a bit iffy because i heard russian cameras have poor build quality. is this true? i dont want my camera breaking after i buy it.

  10. smoothlyblasted
    smoothlyblasted ·

    paperplanetpipol : the zenit is pretty solid and heavy built, go for it.

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomopedia: Minolta XG-E

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-12 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Minolta XG-E

    Another trusty 35mm SLR camera from the late 1970s, the Minolta XG-E was the first model in the XG series produced by Minolta until the early 1980s. Find out more about this analogue beauty in this installment of Lomopedia!

  • LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-08-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    Norman Records is an online record store based in Leeds, United Kingdom that offers a diverse selection of music from all around the globe. They sell Indie, Rock, Kosmiche, IDM, EBM, Dancehall, Jazz, Library, Math Rock, Cheesecore and all the other crazy music genres your could ever imagine. We decided to give them an L-CA+ to get a backstage glimpse of life in an online record shop.

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Lomopedia: Agfa Optima 1535 Sensor

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-08 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Agfa Optima 1535 Sensor

    Introduced in the late 1970s, the Agfa Optima Sensor 1535 was a popular option for photographers who preferred compact rangefinders. Check out this Lomopedia installment to see if this 35mm rangefinder is to your liking!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Viewing the World of the Canon EOS 88

    written by whimsicalgrid on 2015-01-18 in #reviews
    Viewing the World of the Canon EOS 88

    The Canon EOS 88, also known as EOS 3000, is an analogue 35mm SLR camera introduced in 1999. This is a camera that you would want to pick up. The reasons are described as below.

  • Shop News

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    This beautiful camera features such ability to let users choose and switch between 35mm or 120 formats! Shoot more, save more! Get this Lubitel camera and get 15% discounts with Lomography Films!

  • Lomopedia: Zorki 4

    written by cheeo on 2014-11-19 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Zorki 4

    Another Russian camera makes it to the list of cameras to watch out for. Feast your eyes on the Soviet beauty, the Zorki 4.

    1
  • A Salute to the Masters: Barkers (A Tribute to Jack Delano)

    written by sirio174 on 2015-05-02 in #people #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Barkers (A Tribute to Jack Delano)

    This is tribute to the Farm Security Administration photographer, Jack Delano, and his photographic series dedicated to barkers. For this article, I chose a series of photos I took this year at the traditional Easter Fair in my city, Como, using a classic rangefinder camera loaded with a roll of black and white film.

    2
  • Mashable Reviews The Lomo'Instant Camera

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-04 in #gear #reviews
    Mashable Reviews The Lomo'Instant Camera

    Raymond Wong of Mashable got his hands on the Lomo'Instant Camera. He experimented with Light Painting, Filtered Flash, and also dabbled with the lenses. Find out about the verdict after the jump!

  • Shop News

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    Enjoy a truly analogue moviemaking experience with Lomography's 35mm movie camera and an accompanying accessory to watch your films with. View your masterpieces in the most analogue way possible with the LomoKinoscope. Get it now 20% off the regular price!

  • Lomopedia: Zenit E

    written by cheeo on 2014-11-17 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Zenit E

    Solid and sturdy, the Zenit E camera became one of the most loved SLRs in history for its simplicity and overall utility.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Gone Exploring with the Lomography Horizon Perfekt and Kompakt

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-15 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Gone Exploring with the Lomography Horizon Perfekt and Kompakt

    Bask in the sunshine of panoramic shots with the effortless cool of the Horizon Cameras. Be it with the Perfekt or Kompakt, you’ll never be caught off guard with their mechanical swing lens that captures all the action on 35mm film.

  • Introducing The Konstruktor F: The Flash-Enabled Konstruktor Camera

    written by shhquiet on 2014-08-11 in #news
    Introducing The Konstruktor F: The Flash-Enabled Konstruktor Camera

    From the moment you start building this lovable SLR camera to when you start shooting those dreamy shots, it’s a sensational adventure! We wanted to take this to the next level so we upgraded the Konstruktor to be flash-enabled for endless creative possibilities! Yes, you read it right - the world’s first 35mm Do It Yourself SLR Camera is now flash enabled!

    6