Fuji Velvia (120, 50 iso) User-Review

9

Expired Film Are Miracle! I loaded with the expired Fujichrome Velvia 120 with ISO50 into my Holga camera and the results came out with unexpected.

I started to love 120 films after seeing some of the great medium-formatted photo from every Lomographers here since the year of 2007. This was my 3rd roll of the Holga-shooting and I have tried to use this crazy expired 2003 film, Fujichrome Velvia Professional RVP120. Usually the results for Fuji Velvia slide film will turns out reddish or magenta in your frame after doing the cross-processed development. But this time, it’s totally different. All of my shots has became bluish. Is not because of the weather, developing chemical and under/over exposed. But is that because of the expiration date itself??

Tell you what, this film has brought me a great surprise! In my mind, I was just keep thinking the outcome for this roll will be red/magenta. Conclusion, an expired film will always giving us & your lovely Lomo camera a magic shows (again)! I just love that!

written by reinertlee on 2009-05-30 in #reviews #ipoh #medium-format #film #x-pro #blue #light-leaks #120 #holga #velvia #expired #fujichrome

9 Comments

  1. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    I like the VW pic. I guess the 35mm 50iso gives off greens when xproed. I've only used the 120 iso100 and gotten reds and pinks. It's cool all the variety you can get in the Velvia family. I think this is the first time I have seen the 120 50iso.

  2. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Reinertlee, your pics kill ! You make me want to try expired velvia !

  3. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    I never tried this Velvia 50 but looking at your shots make me wanna try it out!! :))

  4. larslau
    larslau ·

    I think the blue tone is fantastic!

  5. lomodirk
    lomodirk ·

    Oh man, this bug in shot #1 makes me feel sad...It should recieve a little bit more love...And shot #6 is great :)

  6. reinertlee
    reinertlee ·

    Ahh! Thanks you all!

    @lomodirk // feelin' sad for that too :(

  7. stouf
    stouf ·

    Oh yeah ! N°7 is a huge classic ! I love it !

  8. altprocess
    altprocess ·

    I recently put up an album of the Velvia 50 ISO (120) that I shot through my Pentax 645. My roll had "only" expired in 2005 so the colors were still vibrant. I have more more roll left. I would have been too frightened to put it through the Holga, but maybe you've given me the courage. Nice job!

  9. ripsta
    ripsta ·

    nice pic bro...

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    About two years ago or so, I purchased the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200. I saved just one roll of this film and waited for the right moment to shoot with it. In April this year, I just wasn't able to take it anymore! I loaded this film into my Lubitel 166+, which I realized I hadn't used for maybe about six months. One idea came to mind: taking crazy multiple exposures!

    3
  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    Get ready to think fast and shoot faster! Today, we are thrilled share with you news of the brand new LC-A 120 Camera. Load it with any 120 film roll and experience the thrill of medium format photography. You’re sure to soak up all the action in every square shot with its fantastic 38mm f/4.5 wide-angle lens (equivalent to a 21mm lens on a 35mm film camera). It's available for Pre-Order: Extremely limited first batch stock of only 500 cameras!

    35
  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Fresh from My Darkroom: The First Game of the New Rugby Season

    written by sirio174 on 2014-10-15 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from My Darkroom: The First Game of the New Rugby Season

    Last Sunday, the local rugby team Rugby Como played the first match of the 2014-1025 season. Rugby is my favorite sport to photograph, and for some years I've been documenting almost every home match of this young team. This time I used a 1959 Zorki 5 camera with a vintage 1958 Industar-50 lens loaded with a timeless film, the Ilford HP5+ developed in a century-old developer, the mythical Rodinal. Take a look after the jump!

    1
  • Shinjuku Park in full bloom: A perfect time to use expired films and travel to the past!

    written by umeshu on 2014-04-25 in #lifestyle
    Shinjuku Park in full bloom: A perfect time to use expired films and travel to the past!

    I went to Shinjuku Park in order to celebrate spring and enjoy the Japanese tradition of "hanami," which means the "contemplation of cherry blossoms." I tried to capture the beauty of cherry trees with my Lubitel 166B loaded with an expired roll of Agfa Portrait 160 film. I obtained a sepia effect on my photos, and I felt as if I just traveled through old Japan.

  • Shop News

    LCA-120 Film Bundle

    LCA-120 Film Bundle

    Shoot more with LC-A 120 without breaking your budget! The Phoblographer Editor’s Choice Award Winner now comes with a 120 format film at 15% off!

  • Fresh From The Lab: Let's Go Bowling!

    written by guanatos on 2014-05-16 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From The Lab: Let's Go Bowling!

    I got asked to take some photos during our last meeting outside the office, so I didn't doubt for a second, loaded my camera with a fast film, and had a great time. Want to know more? Check it out after the jump.

  • A Fresh Start with an Old and a New Camera

    written by wesco on 2014-05-02 in #lifestyle
    A Fresh Start with an Old and a New Camera

    In December, two new cameras came into my possession: from the bag of Sinterklaas, the Dutch Santa Claus, came a classic Minolta SRT100 with two lenses and a flash, and I also picked up the Horizon Perfekt that I had won in the "Eliza was here" rumble. By now the first rolls have been shot and developed!

  • Exquisitely Gloomy Black and Whites by Cody Thomas

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-05 in #lifestyle
    Exquisitely Gloomy Black and Whites by Cody Thomas

    Sometimes, experiments and curiosity yield the best results. This is what photographer Cody Thomas discovered when he tried out black and white film photography with his Holga camera. See more of his black and white photos after the jump.

    1