Zorki 4 - Staff Review

6

Outlasting equally remarkable cameras such as the Leica M3 in the 1950's, this Russian classic is the most successful in the Zorki family.

Like most Soviet cameras post-WWII, the first batch of Zorkis were copies of – you guessed it – the prestigious Leica screw-mount cameras. They were created by the KMZ – Krasnogorski Mekhanicheskii Zavod – a mechanical factory in Moscow. Interestingly, the Zorki is actually a modified version of the FED camera (which was also patterned after the Leica!); KMZ produced some of the FEDs in 1948 to make up for the slow production of the FED factory. The following year they decided to make a redesign and thus, the Zorki was born.

The Zorki-4 emerged in 1954. With its ‘Leica-like’ finish, it retained the best qualities of the previous models – variable flash sync delay, and shutter speeds in one dial. Among those who battled it out when the Zorki 4 came out were Leica M3, Nikon S2, and Canon VT, and even fellow Zorkis (S and 2S models). But the Zorki 4 survived the race, running a successful production of 17 years – making it the most popular among the Zorki family. It has proven its worth as an inexpensive alternative to the Leica. The shutter makes a somewhat distracting ‘Snap’ sound, which can be inconvenient if you’re shooting candidly. But hey, that’s easy to overlook, considering that it uses the ‘Jupiter-8’ lens, which is famous for the high-contrast, color, and sharpness that it yields!

Does the Zorki 4 deserve its popularity title? Send us your own reviews & gallery, or maybe some tips & tricks too! Drop us a line submit-a-camera-review@lomography.com and if we publish your input, a bunch of piggies will be making their way to you.

written by shhquiet on 2008-05-27 in #reviews #staff #rangefinder #zorki #review

6 Comments

  1. nicksholga
    nicksholga ·

    have it, love it. Great camera. It just feels good in your hands.

  2. oz1gyq
    oz1gyq ·

    Zorki 4 is a fantastic camera. I just found one cheap, but not functioning at all. Taking it apart and repairing it was just as fun as shooting with it. Now it is totally renovated, even the shutter curtains have been repaired, and the surface is covered in sexy red lizard skin.. This baby is so hot!
    I had it with me on the beach today with a Fuji Sensia inside, so I really can't wait to see the results.

  3. abcdefuck
    abcdefuck ·

    the first picture is very impressive.

  4. jonnyflex
    jonnyflex ·

    Do the lomo's one has interchangeable lens?

  5. c-murder70
    c-murder70 ·

    great photos. just ordered one and i can't wait to get out there with it

  6. abhoan
    abhoan ·

    What film was used in those BW pictures?

More Interesting Articles

  • Cinematic Combo with the Lomo LC-A and Cine200 Tungsten Film

    written by cheeo on 2014-07-25 in #lifestyle
    Cinematic Combo with the Lomo LC-A and Cine200 Tungsten Film

    The classic Lomo LC-A is a great camera that deserves equally astounding film. Load a roll of Cine200 Tungsten Film in your LC-A and fall in love with this lovely analogue combo!

  • Lomopedia: Leica AF-C1

    written by cheeo on 2014-07-30 in #reviews

    Leica is known for its ingenuity and craftsmanship as a camera manufacturer. Let's take a closer look at its first autofocus camera, the Leica AF-C1, in this installment of Lomopedia.

  • A Political Rally in Como

    written by sirio174 on 2014-08-18 in #lifestyle
    A Political Rally in Como

    In the week preceding the elections for the European Parliament, several political rallies were held in Como. As with all other public events in my city I documented one of these rallies, this time using a Russian film camera Zorki 6 loaded with a black and white film roll. Take a look!

    1
  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300 & 10x Fuji Instax Wide Film

    Fuji Instax Wide 300 & 10x Fuji Instax Wide Film

    With this bundle you are ready to shoot with the Fuji Instax Wide 300 and dig in to the instax world – on top you save 20% on Fuji Wide film!

  • 18 Sensational 6x12 Scenes From The Belair X 6-12

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear
    18 Sensational 6x12 Scenes From The Belair X 6-12

    Think the Belair X 6-12 medium-format camera is only limited to snapping square shots? Nope! It also gives you the option to shoot other photo formats, such as 6x12. We compiled some of the most impressive photos in this format for your inspiration!

    2
  • Meet The UK Team: General Manager Liana Joyce

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-19 in #news
    Meet The UK Team: General Manager Liana Joyce

    In this series, we meet all the staff that make up Lomography UK. That's everyone from the Soho shop staff to the guys that hide away in the office! Today we talk to the General Manager Liana Joyce, who is possibly the most prolific film shooter in the world EVER! Say hello the Liana.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Three Cheers for the LC-A+!

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-07 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Three Cheers for the LC-A+!

    The LC-A+ is a fan favorite among Lomographers and with good reason! See how the LC-A+ fares along with its other family members in this quick roundup of reviews by our own community members.

  • Shop News

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ and Diana+ 75mm Premium Glass Lens are now ready to give you the best shots with vignetting effects, crisp quality shots together with the signature dreamy appeal of the Diana! Save 15% on the Glass Lens in this Bundle!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Family Photos with the Lomo'Instant

    written by ciscoswank on 2014-12-18 in #people #lomoamigos
    Family Photos with the Lomo'Instant

    Instant cameras are useful during birthday parties, Christmas celebrations, or even just simple family gatherings Mai Masuno, former staff member of Lomography Japan, became a mother nine months ago. She photographed her beautiful baby recently using the Lomo'Instant, and shares the lovely snapshots in this feature.

  • Skate Photographer Joe Brook Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-02-06 in #people #lomoamigos
    Skate Photographer Joe Brook Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    Joe Brook is one of the most popular photographers in the West Coast skate scene, shooting for magazines like Trasher, Juxtapoz, Rolling Stone, and different outlets such as PDN and Kodak. Having previous experience with an old Petzval lens mounted on a 4x5 camera, it was but natural for him to try the new one. Brook talks about finding himself, his work, and shooting with the Lomograhy Petzval Lens in this exclusive interview.

    2
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • My First Lomo Affair: Waggrad00 and the Diana Mini

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-10-02 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Waggrad00 and the Diana Mini

    Who would've thought that a camera as petite as the Diana Mini can make such a big impact on Julia's life? This sweet camera helped rekindle her love for photography and paved the way for her to meet new friends. Read on to know more about waggrad00's first lomo affair with the Diana Mini!

    5
  • A Day with the LC-A: From the Bus, Como (My Tribute to Robert Frank)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-06 in #lifestyle
    A Day with the LC-A: From the Bus, Como (My Tribute to Robert Frank)

    In 1958 the great photographer Robert Frank took a series of images of New York's street life with a Leica camera from a bus window, as in these series of photos that I took in my city Como with my trusty Lomo LC-A loaded with a Kodak Tri-X film. This is a tribute to a great camera and to a great photographer! Read more after the jump!

  • Campfire's Koh Degawa shoots with the Petzval Lens

    written by choko3 on 2014-07-02 in #lifestyle
    Campfire's Koh Degawa shoots with the Petzval Lens

    Lomography Japan has been working with CAMPFIRE, one of the country's largest crowdfunding services. In the past year, we have launched three successful projects such as the campaigns for the Lomography Smartphone Scanner, Petzval Lens and the Lomo’Instant, and Campfire has been helping us reach out to our supporters in Japan. Koh, Campfire's Senior Project Manager, has been involved in all three. Also a lomographer,she is no stranger to our products and has even shot with the new Petzval Lens.