Holga 135BC - Staff Review

12

The Holga 135BC yields a vignette (Black Corner effect) to 35mm images while maintaining that distinct Holga look – lo-fi, dreamy, and saturated.

The Holga 135BC adds more drama with its unique “Black Corner” mask – this creates a mysterious, shadowy vignette to the four corners of your photo. It doesn’t look any different from the other Holgas – it is a bit chunky but lightweight, and sports the same plastic lens that gives the soft-focus look that Holgas are known for.

The latest addition to the Holga family retains the uncoupled advance and shutter, allowing you to shoot layers of images in a single frame. It’s also equipped with the standard tripod & cable release threads to prevent unwanted shaking and blurring during nighttime/long-exposure shooting.

maddyoulook received a Holga 135BC from her Dad as a reward for having straight A’s in her report card (congrats!). Besides the Black Corner effect, she says she loves the convenience of using 35mm film with this Holga, as opposed to 120. Also, “I love the click it makes when you take a photo.” And her tip? “Use black and white film with the BC because it really makes the black corner effect stand out. I used some, and the pics turned out really cool.” Check out her photos (1-8) in the gallery!

written by shhquiet on 2008-05-26 in #reviews #staff #holga #35mm #review

12 Comments

  1. ivanroccon
    ivanroccon ·

    reaaally tasty stuff!
    amazing how someone could improve holga's design!
    i am sure buying this jewel!

  2. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    A light and funny cam. But I prefer the original one : I like square !

  3. anarchy
    anarchy ·

    This cam is my new favourite, it's just PERFECT!

  4. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Hey, thanks for selecting my pics !

    The ones of rodrigomg and anarchy are terrific !

  5. rodrigomg1511
    rodrigomg1511 ·

    Thanks azurblue! yours are great too!
    I just shot 2 rols with my 135BC and i loved the experience. It's really good we can use the filter lens and other accessories of the Hoga 120 in 135BC!!!

  6. artemis-the-phoenix
    artemis-the-phoenix ·

    varied results for me .. don't bother shooting inside or @ night with anything less than 400ISO/ or "B" setting.. even with a flash I was disappointed. Outside in the sunshine however.... whole different story :D she sings!
    what films are we all using ?

  7. laineyrocks
    laineyrocks ·

    i just got one today and was just wanting ask a quick something, when moving the lens to pick what focus you want, the lens on my camera seems to be move really easily, is it meant to be that loose?

  8. adzfar
    adzfar ·

    really tasty ;)

  9. spectral_fire
    spectral_fire ·

    laineyrocks, the lens swilvels round really easily, dont worry.! it will stay in place when you are using the camera.

  10. stinketier
    stinketier ·

    Hey i made a mistake, i submitted some of my pictures here althought i wanted to submit them for the "normal" Holga 135, can somebody delet them?
    Thanks

  11. andyzz
    andyzz ·

    Gonna get one in this week, Looking forward to.. with the monkey logo, because its machanical vignette plate has been improved already.

  12. deertful
    deertful ·

    just got one of these, love it...the only problem is, the rewind crank does usually not turn when i advance the film...when it does, it seems like its really loose, spinning really fast like loosing its grip...something to worry about?

More Interesting Articles

  • Beautiful and Moody Portraits of Women by Andrea Buia

    written by cheeo on 2014-08-14 in #lifestyle
    Beautiful and Moody Portraits of Women by Andrea Buia

    While other photographers strive to produce soft-toned photos for that dreamy, eerie effect, photographer Andrea Buia does it all using his film cameras and a unique aesthetic. (Some images are NSFW.)

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Lomopedia: Konica Wai Wai

    written by cheeo on 2014-08-13 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Konica Wai Wai

    Wide-angle shooters will surely like this one. Made to be a disposable camera, the modification-ready Konica Wai Wai has made many film photography enthusiasts swoon with its distinctive wide-angle shooting and remarkable effects. Read on to find out more about this peculiar-looking camera in this installment of Lomopedia.

    2
  • Shop News

    LC-Wide Elite Kit

    LC-Wide Elite Kit

    The LC-Wide Elite Kit gathers all the accessories you would ever need for your Lomo LC-Wide.

  • Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-05-02 in #gear #lifestyle
    Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    Some people say instant photos bring about a feeling of nostalgia. Although I often use the Lomo'Instant Camera with different crazy accessories such as the Splitzer and color gels, I have to agree there is something about it — dreamy vignettes maybe? — that always makes me want to go back in time and experience it all over again. In the name of analogue photography and good old memories, we passed by some classic spots in Vienna and took one shot after the other. Take a closer look at our gallery.

  • My First Lomo Affair: Smolda and the Diana F+

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-11-27 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Smolda and the Diana F+

    Radka's first photowalk with the Diana F+ went without any fuss. The camera's dainty looks charmed and brought smiles to the people she met that day. Have a look at the dreamy square photographs from Radka's First Lomo Affair!

    4
  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Shop News

    Sprocket Rocket Flash Bundle

    Sprocket Rocket Flash Bundle

    Sprocket Love: The Sprocket Rocket is the world’s first wide-angle camera dedicated to sprockets. It shoots 18 panoramas on a standard 35mm roll and exposes the whole width of film including sprocket holes. Use its dual winding knobs for easy multiple exposures and generate perfect nighttime shots with the bulb setting.

  • Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    The New Petzval Lens 85 continues to captivate the hearts of many photographers from its debut a couple of years back. A perfect balance between form and function, this lens closely mimics the look of the legendary Petzval lens of the 19th century and delivers eye-catching images with its signature tack sharp center and swirly bokeh background. Many photographers from both outside and inside the Lomography community have raved about the New Petzval 85. In this recap, we look back at four community-written reviews.

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Beautiful Embroidered Photographs by Jose Romussi

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-14 in #lifestyle
    Beautiful Embroidered Photographs by Jose Romussi

    Artist Jose Romussi adds a dash of color and brings new life to black and white photographs by stitching colorful threads right on the images themselves. Have a look at his work after the jump!

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • A Salute to the Masters: Sports Through A Plastic Lens (A Tribute to David Burnett)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-21 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Sports Through A Plastic Lens (A Tribute to David Burnett)

    The great American photographer David Burnett is famous for his unusual photos of sports competitions. He uses a tilt-shift lens to create miniature fakes, or a simple Holga camera to shoot in black and white. To write this tribute, I used my Holga to take some pictures of amateur sport activities around my city. Take a look after the jump.

  • Petzval LomoAmigo: Takeshi Suga

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-10-31 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval LomoAmigo: Takeshi Suga

    Takeshi Suga is a photographer from Japan who loves Lomography. He embraces all the elements of film photography and creates images that are soft and dreamy. We couldn't wait to lend him a Petzval lens and the results he came back with are stunning.

    2
  • LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400

    written by simonesavo on 2014-06-17 in #reviews
    LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400

    The LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400 is a color negative film that uses false colors and gives your images an infrared effect. In fact, the greens turn to purple and yellows turn to pink. See how it fares on a photowalk after the jump.

    2