Holga 135BC - Staff Review


The Holga 135BC yields a vignette (Black Corner effect) to 35mm images while maintaining that distinct Holga look – lo-fi, dreamy, and saturated.

The Holga 135BC adds more drama with its unique “Black Corner” mask – this creates a mysterious, shadowy vignette to the four corners of your photo. It doesn’t look any different from the other Holgas – it is a bit chunky but lightweight, and sports the same plastic lens that gives the soft-focus look that Holgas are known for.

The latest addition to the Holga family retains the uncoupled advance and shutter, allowing you to shoot layers of images in a single frame. It’s also equipped with the standard tripod & cable release threads to prevent unwanted shaking and blurring during nighttime/long-exposure shooting.

maddyoulook received a Holga 135BC from her Dad as a reward for having straight A’s in her report card (congrats!). Besides the Black Corner effect, she says she loves the convenience of using 35mm film with this Holga, as opposed to 120. Also, “I love the click it makes when you take a photo.” And her tip? “Use black and white film with the BC because it really makes the black corner effect stand out. I used some, and the pics turned out really cool.” Check out her photos (1-8) in the gallery!

written by shhquiet on 2008-05-26 in #reviews #35mm #holga #staff #review


  1. ivanroccon
    ivanroccon ·

    reaaally tasty stuff!
    amazing how someone could improve holga's design!
    i am sure buying this jewel!

  2. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    A light and funny cam. But I prefer the original one : I like square !

  3. anarchy
    anarchy ·

    This cam is my new favourite, it's just PERFECT!

  4. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Hey, thanks for selecting my pics !

    The ones of rodrigomg and anarchy are terrific !

  5. rodrigomg1511
    rodrigomg1511 ·

    Thanks azurblue! yours are great too!
    I just shot 2 rols with my 135BC and i loved the experience. It's really good we can use the filter lens and other accessories of the Hoga 120 in 135BC!!!

  6. artemis-the-phoenix
    artemis-the-phoenix ·

    varied results for me .. don't bother shooting inside or @ night with anything less than 400ISO/ or "B" setting.. even with a flash I was disappointed. Outside in the sunshine however.... whole different story :D she sings!
    what films are we all using ?

  7. laineyrocks
    laineyrocks ·

    i just got one today and was just wanting ask a quick something, when moving the lens to pick what focus you want, the lens on my camera seems to be move really easily, is it meant to be that loose?

  8. adzfar
    adzfar ·

    really tasty ;)

  9. spectral_fire
    spectral_fire ·

    laineyrocks, the lens swilvels round really easily, dont worry.! it will stay in place when you are using the camera.

  10. stinketier
    stinketier ·

    Hey i made a mistake, i submitted some of my pictures here althought i wanted to submit them for the "normal" Holga 135, can somebody delet them?

  11. andyzz
    andyzz ·

    Gonna get one in this week, Looking forward to.. with the monkey logo, because its machanical vignette plate has been improved already.

  12. deertful
    deertful ·

    just got one of these, love it...the only problem is, the rewind crank does usually not turn when i advance the film...when it does, it seems like its really loose, spinning really fast like loosing its grip...something to worry about?

More Interesting Articles

  • Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-19 in #gear #news
    Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    Not all photographs are meant to be seen in vibrant, saturated colors, and neither are they always suitable for in black and white. Lomography welcomes yet another innovation from KONO! The Reanimated Film. Without diminishing the aesthetic value of images, KONO! Donau 35mm Film casts a distinct blue tone to photos. It is ultra-low ISO film that is best used for long exposure shots. Check out this fine selection of uniquely tinted images.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-16 in #gear #news #lifestyle #reviews
    My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    The LC-Wide is definitely one of Lomography's must-have cameras. Its Minigon 1 Ultra-Wide-Angle lens adds a different flavor to your shots, on top of the stunning vignettes, intense colors and breathtaking saturation and contrast LC-A cameras are known for. The Lomography Team is no stranger to the LC-Wide's creative potential, and has proven it capable of the most captivating images. First on the list is danika, from the Lomography Headquarters in Vienna.

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Speakers' Corner: Interview with Photographer Philip Wolmuth

    written by anamartaml on 2015-07-25 in #people
    Speakers' Corner: Interview with Photographer Philip Wolmuth

    Having a respectable career photographing social, political and economical matters, Philip Wolmuth is capable of starting a dialogue with the public via his thought-provoking photographs. Going through the collective of images on his latest work, it seems impossible not to be instantly affected by the rawness of the emotions captured within the images. The passion, the anger, the commotion, the rebellion, the fervor, the shouting, the devotion; his work is inebriating. It's as if the images are screaming at you and, for a short while, you are transported to the Speakers' Corner without actually setting foot on that location.

  • Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-05-02 in #gear #lifestyle
    Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    Some people say instant photos bring about a feeling of nostalgia. Although I often use the Lomo'Instant Camera with different crazy accessories such as the Splitzer and color gels, I have to agree there is something about it — dreamy vignettes maybe? — that always makes me want to go back in time and experience it all over again. In the name of analogue photography and good old memories, we passed by some classic spots in Vienna and took one shot after the other. Take a closer look at our gallery.

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    The New Petzval Lens 85 continues to captivate the hearts of many photographers from its debut a couple of years back. A perfect balance between form and function, this lens closely mimics the look of the legendary Petzval lens of the 19th century and delivers eye-catching images with its signature tack sharp center and swirly bokeh background. Many photographers from both outside and inside the Lomography community have raved about the New Petzval 85. In this recap, we look back at four community-written reviews.

  • Still Life Photography with Lomography Color Negative Film

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-06-05 in #world #lifestyle
    Still Life Photography with Lomography Color Negative Film

    A vacation is a trove of vibrant objects: the countertop of sublime-looking drinks, the mosaic tiles that line an Olympic-sized pool, the nautical stripes of beach chairs. We remember in detail, and photography is our way to anticipate what we will catalog long after the break is over. This Lomography Color Negative gallery celebrates the still life wonders of these dreamy holidays.

  • Lomography X Crispy Wallet Competition Winners

    written by petit_loir on 2015-09-18 in #world #news #competitions
    Lomography X Crispy Wallet Competition Winners

    For this competition, we sought for the best looking photos related to the theme "lightness," from images of something that's light as a feather to pictures that conjure up ideas of dreams and wisps of clouds. The jury has made its decision, and we are proud to present the winners.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Newcomer of the Week: johannb

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-30 in #world #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: johannb

    Graphic designer Johann Bottos caught the community's attention with his striking black and white landscape photographs. Previsualization is central to his photographic style. Before clicking the shutter, he tends to "wait for a particular moment or weather condition" that fits the image he has in mind. In this interview, he shares more about his passion for shooting on film as well as some of his favorite landscape images.

  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 in #world #news #competitions
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

  • Angela Izzo on Shooting with the Diana Mini, Photographing Musicians, and Then Some

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-29 in #people #lifestyle
    Angela Izzo on Shooting with the Diana Mini, Photographing Musicians, and Then Some

    While many of us can only dream of working with musicians and photographing them, Angela Izzo's job entails exactly that. Apparently, this is a fulfillment of her own dream that she had when she was younger. In this interview, Izzo talks about her beginnings which, of course, included going to as many shows and festivals as she possibly can; some of her most memorable on-the-job-experiences with the likes of The Doors, Lykke Li, Jack White, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, and Chris Robinson Brotherhood; her inspirations and other interests; and her love for film photography and Diana Mini. And to those looking into fulfilling their own dreams of working in the same industry, Izzo also shares helpful advice based on her own experiences.