Lomokino Review: Making Home Movies Fun Again

Bringing analogue film into the movies, this little camera fills a gap in your analogue life that you didn't even realize was there. Read more about what I think about the LomoKino after the jump!

First, I have to say that I love this camera! Normally, it takes me a few rolls of film and a couple of months for me to truly love a camera. But this, one I fell for straight away. Not because of its looks, though it looks fine. Not because of its ease of use, as we’ve had few bumps along the way. Rather, because of its results. The LomoKino creates some amazing results.

When you look at this camera as a camera – it’s difficult to see its potential — the resulting photos are grainy and often slightly blurred and the images are thin with mysterious specks. But this little device isn’t built for just photos, it’s built for videos, and that is where it really shines.

So, here’s a quick run down of the pros and cons of the Lomokino:

Pros

1. This camera is fun to use! It’s so fun in fact that I want to make little videos everywhere, I want to capture as much with it as I can and make videos all the time.

2. It is cheap. Compared to an LC-A or Lubitel, this little camera doesn’t break the bank and I think it’s worth every penny.

3. The results are amazing. I know I’ve said this before, but they are — the grain and the speckles come together to form wonderfully nostalgic videos that feel timeless and look great.

Cons

1. It eats film. Sure, you can get 30 seconds from one roll, but who wants just 30 seconds of video?

2. It can be difficult to scan. I take mine to the shop to be developed which results in slightly cropped frames and an uneven images. However, for £3 to get it scanned onto disc, I don’t mind the process of cropping the images and putting it together myself.

3. It’s odd to load. Not difficult as such, once you’ve figured it out, but the film has to go against its natural curve and it’s a bit of a pain to fight with. Watch tutorial videos and look at the instructions carefully!

However, I don’t think these cons should deter you from the LomoKino. The scanning and loading of the camera will get easier with experience and practice and having more film in your life is not necessarily a bad thing.

My favourite pro about this camera that I haven’t listed, is that I now have videos in my life — analogue videos! Analogue home videos! Other than occasionally using my phone camera, I am an exclusively film photographer and before getting this camera I never thought of making films or videos of my life. Now, I have more ways to share it with people, more ways to capture the atmosphere, the light and the feeling of my every day life, and also the new experiences that I have, in a way that I think reflects me best: through film.

This little camera has made sharing my life exciting again. Rather than having to go further a field to take photos of new places, I’m now making videos of places I go everyday, whether its walking to work, or around the nearest tourist attraction. And for that, I think this camera is worth all the negatives, all the effort and definitely all the film.

Check out the videos that I've made with my Lomokino!

Enter a new analogue dimension with the LomoKino. Lomography’s own 35mm analogue movie camera allows you to capture action and immortalize your story on film! Shoot 144 frames on any 35mm film and create your own cinematic masterpieces. Want to watch your movie the old-school way? We also offer the LomoKino and LomoKinoscope package!

written by easilydistracted on 2012-02-02 in #reviews #lomography #requested #lomokino #movies #film #pros #review #cons #user-review #overview

More Interesting Articles

  • LomoAmigos Yougofirst Shoot With The LomoKino In Their New Snowboard Movie

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-09 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigos Yougofirst Shoot With The LomoKino In Their New Snowboard Movie

    Are you ready for an adrenaline rush? A little while ago, we teamed up with the snowboard and film-making collective Yougofirst and gave them a LomoKino and some film rolls to play with. After a season of crazy riding, jumps and tricks, they have finished their latest movie HETEROTOPIA which features footage shot with our 35mm movie-maker. We had the chance to catch up with Vid and Matic from the collective about the new movie and their experiences shooting analogue on the slopes. It's also our pleasure to showcase the movie here!

  • A Salute to the Masters: The Democratic Eye (A Tribute to William Eggleston)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-04-19 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: The Democratic Eye (A Tribute to William Eggleston)

    William Eggleston is one of the most important contemporary master and pioneer of color photography. In this article I write a tribute to his particular democratic way of looking around. For him "Nothing was more important or less important", and everything is worthy of being photographed. Again, he is fond of the dear old film; he said that "I don't think much about the digital world, because I am in the analog world!". Read more after the jump!

  • In Focus: Lomography x Zenit Petzval Art Lens

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-17 in #lifestyle
    In Focus: Lomography x Zenit Petzval Art Lens

    Revamping the classic design of the Petzval Lens born in Vienna, Lomography has indeed gone beyond what is needed to bring analogue shooters and filmmakers a one-of-a-kind lens in the new Petzval Art Lens. Read on to find out more about this high-quality lens after the jump.

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • A Quick Chat with Tamara Lichtenstein (NSFW)

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-02 in #lifestyle
    A Quick Chat with Tamara Lichtenstein (NSFW)

    We were awed by photographer Tamara Lichtenstein's analogue photos focusing on "fashion, femininity, and youth" so much that we contacted her for a quick interview. Read on to find out more about her work and creative process after the jump.

    1
  • At the Funfair with my Horizon Perfekt

    written by sirio174 on 2014-04-12 in #reviews
    At the Funfair with my Horizon Perfekt

    Every year my city Como hosts, for the Easter period, a great fun fair. This is a great occasion to test a camera, to make experiments with films, to have fun and to photograph people while also having fun! This year, I used my gem, the wonderful Horizon Perfekt (that I bought from the Lomography Online Shop) loaded with a timeless film, a Kodak Tri-X 400 developed, as usually for b/w, by myself. Read more after the jump!

  • Using a 20mm lens to take pictures from the top

    written by sirio174 on 2014-05-11 in #gear #tipster
    Using a 20mm lens to take pictures from the top

    While waiting for the new Lomography gem, the wonderful Russar+ lens, I took some photos at a fun fair with my wonderful Mir 20/3.5 super wide angle lens from the big panoramic wheel. Here I'll tell you some tips about the use of this kind of lens. Read more after the jump!

    1
  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • Today in History (1970): Actor Jason Lee is Born

    written by cheeo on 2014-04-25 in #lifestyle
    Today in History (1970): Actor Jason Lee is Born

    You probably know him as Dave, the stepdad to three livewires in Alvin and the Chipmunks but there is more to Jason Lee than just screaming “Alviiiiin!” at the top of his voice. Read on to find out more about the actor after the jump.

  • Newcomer of the Week: life_on_acetate

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-06-01 in #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: life_on_acetate

    His best friend and fellow lomographer weleasewoger72 used to make him feel bad about using an IPhone to take pictures. However, after trying out a Diana F+, our Newcomer of the Week, life_on_acetate, decided to ditch the digital territory and try his hand at analogue photography. Read on to find out more about this fascinating story of friendship and film photography!

    2
  • A Salute to the Masters: Homes for Italians (A Tribute to Dan Graham)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-03-31 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Homes for Italians (A Tribute to Dan Graham)

    In 1966, American artist Dan Graham published an article about typical one-family homes in ordinary American suburbs built after World War II. He used a cheap Kodak Instamatic camera, with a deliberately amateur approach. In this article, I wrote a tribute to him with a series of photos taken in the suburbs of my city, Como, using my pretty Diana Mini camera. Read more after the jump!

  • Shop News

    Summer Inspired Camera at 20% off

    Summer Inspired Camera at 20% off

    The brazilian summer inspired camera is now at 20% off! You can now celebrate life in full color and treasure every culture in a snap! This summer is no exception; make sure you’re prepared to capture all the sporty action with the Fisheye No.2 Brazilian Summer Camera!

  • Nothing Happens on Color Film: Street Life in Como As Seen From the Bus

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-27 in #lifestyle
    Nothing Happens on Color Film: Street Life in Como As Seen From the Bus

    Some weeks ago, I made a tribute to the great photographer Robert Frank and his 1958 black and white series taken in New York from a bus window. He is the master of the ordinary moments, capturing the essence of daily life in a series of free and random sequence of photos where nothing important happens! And as I've written there I wanted to take a similar experiment with color film, which would change the perception of the environment where people live. Read more after the jump!

  • Vikkki is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-26 in #world #news
    Vikkki is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to vikkki for winning Home of the Day!

    11
  • How to Rethink Narrow Passages in Your Photography

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-03-26 in #world #lifestyle
    How to Rethink Narrow Passages in Your Photography

    Let Yasujirô Ozu move you to alleys and corridors where rich texture awaits.