Lomokino Review: Making Home Movies Fun Again

Bringing analogue film into the movies, this little camera fills a gap in your analogue life that you didn't even realize was there. Read more about what I think about the LomoKino after the jump!

First, I have to say that I love this camera! Normally, it takes me a few rolls of film and a couple of months for me to truly love a camera. But this, one I fell for straight away. Not because of its looks, though it looks fine. Not because of its ease of use, as we’ve had few bumps along the way. Rather, because of its results. The LomoKino creates some amazing results.

When you look at this camera as a camera – it’s difficult to see its potential — the resulting photos are grainy and often slightly blurred and the images are thin with mysterious specks. But this little device isn’t built for just photos, it’s built for videos, and that is where it really shines.

So, here’s a quick run down of the pros and cons of the Lomokino:

Pros

1. This camera is fun to use! It’s so fun in fact that I want to make little videos everywhere, I want to capture as much with it as I can and make videos all the time.

2. It is cheap. Compared to an LC-A or Lubitel, this little camera doesn’t break the bank and I think it’s worth every penny.

3. The results are amazing. I know I’ve said this before, but they are — the grain and the speckles come together to form wonderfully nostalgic videos that feel timeless and look great.

Cons

1. It eats film. Sure, you can get 30 seconds from one roll, but who wants just 30 seconds of video?

2. It can be difficult to scan. I take mine to the shop to be developed which results in slightly cropped frames and an uneven images. However, for £3 to get it scanned onto disc, I don’t mind the process of cropping the images and putting it together myself.

3. It’s odd to load. Not difficult as such, once you’ve figured it out, but the film has to go against its natural curve and it’s a bit of a pain to fight with. Watch tutorial videos and look at the instructions carefully!

However, I don’t think these cons should deter you from the LomoKino. The scanning and loading of the camera will get easier with experience and practice and having more film in your life is not necessarily a bad thing.

My favourite pro about this camera that I haven’t listed, is that I now have videos in my life — analogue videos! Analogue home videos! Other than occasionally using my phone camera, I am an exclusively film photographer and before getting this camera I never thought of making films or videos of my life. Now, I have more ways to share it with people, more ways to capture the atmosphere, the light and the feeling of my every day life, and also the new experiences that I have, in a way that I think reflects me best: through film.

This little camera has made sharing my life exciting again. Rather than having to go further a field to take photos of new places, I’m now making videos of places I go everyday, whether its walking to work, or around the nearest tourist attraction. And for that, I think this camera is worth all the negatives, all the effort and definitely all the film.

Check out the videos that I've made with my Lomokino!

Enter a new analogue dimension with the LomoKino. Lomography’s own 35mm analogue movie camera allows you to capture action and immortalize your story on film! Shoot 144 frames on any 35mm film and create your own cinematic masterpieces. Want to watch your movie the old-school way? We also offer the LomoKino and LomoKinoscope package!

written by easilydistracted on 2012-02-02 in #reviews #lomokino #film #lomography #requested #review #overview #movies #pros #cons #user-review

More Interesting Articles

  • LomoAmigos Yougofirst Shoot With The LomoKino In Their New Snowboard Movie

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-09 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigos Yougofirst Shoot With The LomoKino In Their New Snowboard Movie

    Are you ready for an adrenaline rush? A little while ago, we teamed up with the snowboard and film-making collective Yougofirst and gave them a LomoKino and some film rolls to play with. After a season of crazy riding, jumps and tricks, they have finished their latest movie HETEROTOPIA which features footage shot with our 35mm movie-maker. We had the chance to catch up with Vid and Matic from the collective about the new movie and their experiences shooting analogue on the slopes. It's also our pleasure to showcase the movie here!

  • In Focus: Lomography x Zenit Petzval Art Lens

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-17 in #lifestyle
    In Focus: Lomography x Zenit Petzval Art Lens

    Revamping the classic design of the Petzval Lens born in Vienna, Lomography has indeed gone beyond what is needed to bring analogue shooters and filmmakers a one-of-a-kind lens in the new Petzval Art Lens. Read on to find out more about this high-quality lens after the jump.

  • A Quick Chat with Tamara Lichtenstein (NSFW)

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-02 in #lifestyle
    A Quick Chat with Tamara Lichtenstein (NSFW)

    We were awed by photographer Tamara Lichtenstein's analogue photos focusing on "fashion, femininity, and youth" so much that we contacted her for a quick interview. Read on to find out more about her work and creative process after the jump.

    1
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-05-02 in #gear #lifestyle
    Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    Some people say instant photos bring about a feeling of nostalgia. Although I often use the Lomo'Instant Camera with different crazy accessories such as the Splitzer and color gels, I have to agree there is something about it — dreamy vignettes maybe? — that always makes me want to go back in time and experience it all over again. In the name of analogue photography and good old memories, we passed by some classic spots in Vienna and took one shot after the other. Take a closer look at our gallery.

  • Newcomer of the Week: life_on_acetate

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-06-01 in #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: life_on_acetate

    His best friend and fellow lomographer weleasewoger72 used to make him feel bad about using an IPhone to take pictures. However, after trying out a Diana F+, our Newcomer of the Week, life_on_acetate, decided to ditch the digital territory and try his hand at analogue photography. Read on to find out more about this fascinating story of friendship and film photography!

    2
  • Pushing Boundaries: So I Heard You Like Multiple Exposures

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-11 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: So I Heard You Like Multiple Exposures

    My name is Amber Valentine and I have a confession to make: I’m not really a photographer. I have a website full of photographs, a bookshelf full of cameras, film waiting to be developed, and a wall full of framed pictures I’ve taken. Even so, I don’t really consider myself a photographer per se. I think that Lomography is more about the experimentation and the fun of film than it is about the photography, and that experimentation is part of the reason I have embraced Lomography so.

    2
  • Shop News

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Shoot more with LC-A 120 without breaking your budget! The Phoblographer Editor’s Choice Award Winner now comes in a Bundle with 120 format film at 15% off!

  • Nothing Happens on Color Film: Street Life in Como As Seen From the Bus

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-27 in #lifestyle
    Nothing Happens on Color Film: Street Life in Como As Seen From the Bus

    Some weeks ago, I made a tribute to the great photographer Robert Frank and his 1958 black and white series taken in New York from a bus window. He is the master of the ordinary moments, capturing the essence of daily life in a series of free and random sequence of photos where nothing important happens! And as I've written there I wanted to take a similar experiment with color film, which would change the perception of the environment where people live. Read more after the jump!

  • Top Photo Likers of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Top Photo Likers of May 2015

    Guess who had been bitten hard by the "I like this photo" bug.

    6
  • Top Photo Uploaders of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Top Photo Uploaders of May 2015

    Load, shoot, develop, share. Perhaps, this cycle has already been of second nature to these lomographers.

    5
  • Shop News

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    Start capturing images even in low-light conditions with this bundle you can create your own combination of LC-A camera and Iblazr flash. And save 20% off!

  • R.E.M. X Lomography Photo Contest

    written by givesmehell on 2015-05-29 in #world #competitions
    R.E.M. X Lomography Photo Contest

    Lomography is proud to announce that we are teaming up with acclaimed rock band R.E.M. to host an exclusive one-of-a-kind photo competition! The prizes include a Lomography Diana F+ Special Edition Camera, the acclaimed new ‘R.E.M. By MTV’ DVD, R.E.M. vinyl and more! Read on to see how you can participate in this rumble.

    3
  • Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    Are you new to the community? Or are you looking for a new place to explore aside from the photographs and articles? Head to the shoutbox and meet the friendliest bunch of lomographers!

    4
  • Trending Newcomers of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Trending Newcomers of May 2015

    What's your fondest memory as a newcomer in the community?

    4