Holga 135 - Staff Review

8

The Holga 135 is the 35mm version of the iconic "plastic fantastic" Holga camera.

Sometimes 120 film is just so hard to come by, and using 35mm film to take pictures with your Holga means having to modify your medium-format camera. It’s fun to do, but quite time-consuming. The Holga 135 has made things easy – it especially uses 35mm film, but retains the Holga features that you’ve always loved - plastic lens (which gives a soft effect to your images), uncoupled advance and shutter (for easy multiple exposures), variable aperture (with weather icon guide), variable shutter speeds (N for daytime, B for long-exposures), standard hotshoe flash, and tripod and shutter release threads (for unnecessary blurring and shaking).

Put simply, this is the camera for those who like the Holga’s lo-fi appeal, but prefer the convenience of 35mm film! However, if you like sprockets in your Holga 35mm, the DIY modification is still the way to go.

wilber speaks highly of his Holga 135. “This cute unrefined piece of plastic may give the impression of a horrible, fabricated untouchable but deep in its molded flesh lie pure imagination! You may be tempted by his evil twin the 135bc, but don’t be fooled, with some alterations (like using a mask) you can have those deep sensual corners!” Take a look at his photos (1-9) in the gallery!

written by shhquiet on 2008-05-25 in #reviews #staff #35mm #review #holga

8 Comments

  1. xbalboax
    xbalboax ·

    this isnt the worst camera, i shot a few rolls with it and got some mediocre results. used the colorsplash flash with it, and alot of the shots can out really out of focus. if you have to choose, spend the money and get the original holga, you cant beat it. ill give it another shot though. you never know

  2. maddyoulook
    maddyoulook ·

    i love mine :)

  3. anarchy
    anarchy ·

    I've shot 2 rolls with my Black Corner Holga 135 and I am very happy with the result! Just check out my albums "Finland Vs. Spain" and "Tripples"...
    I used the Lomo Xpro Slide 100 film on both albums. The "Tripples" shots were taken on a very bright and sunny day and on the "Finland Vs. Spain" photos I used a flash on most of the shots...For me it was love at first sight!

  4. yoharryo
    yoharryo ·

    I quite like mine, I find it easier to throw in a bag (and half forget about, only for it to reveal itself in that perfect moment) than the LC A was.
    Though, I would quite like to try the 120 Holga, there is something appealing about those lo fi squares of reality.

  5. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    i really love my holga135, too! it is a nice, leightweighing camera and it makes so cool images! really! and it is cheap! and it takes 35mm- film.... JAAAAAAAAAAA

  6. g_ray
    g_ray ·

    The black brick of lomo...feels good to grip in your hands. The great thing is to be able to use just any 35mm film, easily do multiXposures (REALLY EASY), slot in the colorflash and voila!...u have yourself a Colorsplash camera! 3 in 1 tool! - Holga, Colorsplash, a lil bit of lc-a love :) I've neglected mine :( I'm sorry Holga! That Diana seduced me! I promise I shall date you again..soon! with all my heart & soul!

  7. johan34370
    johan34370 ·

    Can't wait to try my new one! :)

  8. wilarbadson
    wilarbadson ·

    My Holga are my only love!! :)

More Interesting Articles

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Workshop: Perfect Square Day!

    written by e_ercolini on 2014-06-05 in #events
    Workshop: Perfect Square Day!

    35mm film is fantastic, but there is more to the world of analogue photography than 35mm. Visit the Lomography Gallery Store NYC to learn all about medium format!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-08-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    Norman Records is an online record store based in Leeds, United Kingdom that offers a diverse selection of music from all around the globe. They sell Indie, Rock, Kosmiche, IDM, EBM, Dancehall, Jazz, Library, Math Rock, Cheesecore and all the other crazy music genres your could ever imagine. We decided to give them an L-CA+ to get a backstage glimpse of life in an online record shop.

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • 36 Magical Shots Taken With The LC-A+

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-02-22 in #gear #lifestyle
    36 Magical Shots Taken With The LC-A+

    Talk about iconic, the LC-A is THE classic camera which began the Lomographic Revolution!

    5
  • Shop News

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ and Diana+ 75mm Premium Glass Lens are now ready to give you the best shots with vignetting effects, crisp quality shots together with the signature dreamy appeal of the Diana! Save 15% on the Glass Lens in this Bundle!

  • Mashable Reviews The Lomo'Instant Camera

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-04 in #gear #reviews
    Mashable Reviews The Lomo'Instant Camera

    Raymond Wong of Mashable got his hands on the Lomo'Instant Camera. He experimented with Light Painting, Filtered Flash, and also dabbled with the lenses. Find out about the verdict after the jump!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Gone Exploring with the Lomography Horizon Perfekt and Kompakt

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-15 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Gone Exploring with the Lomography Horizon Perfekt and Kompakt

    Bask in the sunshine of panoramic shots with the effortless cool of the Horizon Cameras. Be it with the Perfekt or Kompakt, you’ll never be caught off guard with their mechanical swing lens that captures all the action on 35mm film.

  • My Pinolga Camera: A Pinhole Camera Made of Cardboard and Looks Like the Holga

    written by raypg on 2014-07-25 in #lifestyle
    My Pinolga Camera: A Pinhole Camera Made of Cardboard and Looks Like the Holga

    The Pinolga is a pinhole camera made of cardboard and in the likeness of the legendary Holga camera. I hope you'll find this interesting.

    4
  • Shop News

    Sprocket Rocket Flash Bundle

    Sprocket Rocket Flash Bundle

    Sprocket Love: The Sprocket Rocket is the world’s first wide-angle camera dedicated to sprockets. It shoots 18 panoramas on a standard 35mm roll and exposes the whole width of film including sprocket holes. Use its dual winding knobs for easy multiple exposures and generate perfect nighttime shots with the bulb setting.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!