Kiev 4 - Staff Review

8

A direct descendant of the famed Contax series of rangefinder cameras, the Kiev4 RF is highly-regarded for its capability to produce razor-sharp images.

The Kiev story began during post-WWII; the Russians took over the German Zeiss Ikon factories, (makers of the highly-respected Contax II and III cameras) as part of ‘war reparations.’ They shipped the leftover equipment and a group of engineers to the Arsenal factory in Kiev, Ukraine. Under the supervision of Mr. Wolfgang Hahn, an engineer and war survivor, the Contax line was set-up again to produce the rangefinder camera that we now know as the ‘Kiev.’ It was reported that earlier models sported original Zeiss Contax parts (supporting the argument that they’re not ‘Contax clones’ but indeed real Contax cameras), but eventually, everything was manufactured in the Arsenal.

The first batch of Kievs (Kiev II and III), which was produced during the early 1950s, was a luxurious item obtained only by high-ranking Soviets. Back in Zeiss Ikon, the Contax IIa and IIIa were dominating the camera market, prompting the Arsenal to redesign some new Kiev prototypes. After a series of modifications, the Kiev4 was officially produced in 1960.

The Kiev4 has a bayonet mount, making it compatible with the Zeiss Contax lenses. Its Jupiter-8 lens is reputed to be very sharp, but extra care should be considered when handling it – the aluminum lens barrel is somewhat frail and is easily damaged if dropped. The combined viewfinder and rangefinder window makes it easy to focus and frame in only one window – this is something that Leica hadn’t thought of, until 1953 (with the Leica M3).

The Kiev4 is prized for the extra-sharp images that it makes. Precise focusing is easy, with its clear depth-of-field scale coupled with a 9cm-long rangefinder base – this allows accurate focusing and isolation of your subject from the background. This makes a perfect camera for the amateur photographer, since it requires minimal focusing effort. It has also a moderately quiet shutter, which is certainly helpful when you’re sneaking up to shoot candidly!

written by shhquiet on 2008-05-25 in #reviews #kiev #staff #35mm #rangefinder #review

8 Comments

  1. shhquiet
    shhquiet ·

    Any Kiev4 fans out there? Hello? Share with us some photos! :)

  2. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    I just ordered one on the lomoshop! As soon as I have some shots, I'll send them to you or upload them directly here! :)))

  3. laineyrocks
    laineyrocks ·

    i bought a kiev 4AM off of ebay, i've not yet had a chance to take any pics with it but when i do i'll post them.

  4. jimwhiston
    jimwhiston ·

    Hi

    I've just posted the results of the annual excursion of my Kiev 4 in my home. I've had the camera for over 30 years. it takes great pictures and is fun to use, if you don't forget how!

    Jim

  5. fuzzytnth3
    fuzzytnth3 ·

    I've been very happy with my Kiev 4 just recently started using again as I had been on a big Zero Pinhole kick for a while now but shall be posting some Kievs shots soon. I would like to get a couple more lenses but will have to save up some pennies.

  6. fuzzytnth3
    fuzzytnth3 ·

    I've been very happy with my Kiev 4 just recently started using again as I had been on a big Zero Pinhole kick for a while now but shall be posting some Kievs shots soon. I would like to get a couple more lenses but will have to save up some pennies.

  7. nfjd
    nfjd ·

    I just came from Prague, where I bought one. I'm really excited! I don't even know if it works or not... (Will be really disappointed if it doesn't)
    Can't wait to load a film and try... (already found the user manual on the web!)

    Any of you guys can give me tips or advices?

    Cheers!

  8. jt-jones
    jt-jones ·

    does the one sold on the lomography site comes with lens?

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomopedia: Vivitar 35ES

    written by cheeo on 2014-10-15 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Vivitar 35ES

    Boasting tack-sharp images and dependability with its mechanical features, it’s no wonder that the Vivitar 35ES has quite a fan following. Learn more about this 35mm rangefinder in this installment of Lomopedia.

    1
  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • 30 Gorgeous Black and White Shots With the New Petzval Lens

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-11 in #gear #lifestyle
    30 Gorgeous Black and White Shots With the New Petzval Lens

    The New Petzval Lens is a stunning reinvention of one of the first and greatest lenses of all time. It produces images with extreme sharpness, artful vignetting and absolutely beautiful swirly bokeh backgrounds. Click through to see 30 breathtaking black and white photos after the jump!

    10
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    written by whimsicalgrid on 2015-01-23 in #reviews
    Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    Before the end of 2014, my girlfriend took the plunge of purchasing a rangefinder camera from eBay as a late Christmas gift for me. Let me present to you: the Fed 5. The Fed 5 has been known as a copy of the Leica M3 rangefinder camera. It is inexpensive compared to Leica models. So what are my experiences of using the Fed 5? Read on to find out more.

    6
  • Sprocket Rocket: An Economical Panoramic Camera

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-02 in #reviews
    Sprocket Rocket: An Economical Panoramic Camera

    The Sprocket Rocket is one of the most popular cameras among Lomographers. The camera is available in 9 beautiful colors and is capable of producing beautiful panoramic photos thanks to the ultra wide lens. Read on to find out more about this panoramic wonder!

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Shop News

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    Start capturing images even in low-light conditions with this bundle you can create your own combination of LC-A camera and Iblazr flash. And save 20% off!

  • On the Brink of Fine Art: Emily Soto and the Petzval 58 Lens

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-06-25 in #people #lifestyle
    On the Brink of Fine Art: Emily Soto and the Petzval 58 Lens

    Her photos are distinctly romantic and brimming with artistry. Although Emily Soto is known for her high-fashion portraits and boasts of a portfolio that speaks of her magazine experience, her work, when crafted with the right concept and aptly art directed, tethers on fine art. This series of emotive fashion portraits taken with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Lens is no exception.

  • Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    written by brettlaw on 2015-04-22 in #gear #reviews
    Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    When I held the Lomo LC-A 120 in my hands for the first time, I immediately noticed its good feel and beautiful design. The LC-A 120 obviously, is truly, related to the queen of all Lomo cameras, the LC-A.

    1
  • A Salute to the Masters: Barkers (A Tribute to Jack Delano)

    written by sirio174 on 2015-05-02 in #world #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Barkers (A Tribute to Jack Delano)

    This is tribute to the Farm Security Administration photographer, Jack Delano, and his photographic series dedicated to barkers. For this article, I chose a series of photos I took this year at the traditional Easter Fair in my city, Como, using a classic rangefinder camera loaded with a roll of black and white film.

    2
  • Shop News

    Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    Panoramic shots are here ready to be processed by our dedicated team experts! Development, prints and scans included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Exhibition: Florian Reischauers - Grüß Gott, A Fairy Tale

    written by efrost on 2015-01-09 in #news
    Exhibition: Florian Reischauers - Grüß Gott, A Fairy Tale

    Florian Reischauer’s LomoHome isn’t the only thing he’s known for in the Lomography community. The photographer is also regarded for his series “Pieces of Berlin,” which started as a popular blog and formed the pages of his own book. His latest series “Grüß Gott- A Fairy Tale” takes its turn center stage and is slated to appear in a solo exhibition at the Deutsches Haus at the University of New York.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Ron Lau

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-13 in #gear #news #reviews
    First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Ron Lau

    Ron Lau from Lomography's Camera and Lens Development team recently tested the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens. With Leica M2 and Voigtlander R2A cameras, he used the lens to capture scenes from his daily grind and beautiful seascapes from a recent trip. He shares the photos and talks of the Minitar and its capabilities in this brief yet informative interview.

    2