Kiev 4 - Staff Review

8

A direct descendant of the famed Contax series of rangefinder cameras, the Kiev4 RF is highly-regarded for its capability to produce razor-sharp images.

The Kiev story began during post-WWII; the Russians took over the German Zeiss Ikon factories, (makers of the highly-respected Contax II and III cameras) as part of ‘war reparations.’ They shipped the leftover equipment and a group of engineers to the Arsenal factory in Kiev, Ukraine. Under the supervision of Mr. Wolfgang Hahn, an engineer and war survivor, the Contax line was set-up again to produce the rangefinder camera that we now know as the ‘Kiev.’ It was reported that earlier models sported original Zeiss Contax parts (supporting the argument that they’re not ‘Contax clones’ but indeed real Contax cameras), but eventually, everything was manufactured in the Arsenal.

The first batch of Kievs (Kiev II and III), which was produced during the early 1950s, was a luxurious item obtained only by high-ranking Soviets. Back in Zeiss Ikon, the Contax IIa and IIIa were dominating the camera market, prompting the Arsenal to redesign some new Kiev prototypes. After a series of modifications, the Kiev4 was officially produced in 1960.

The Kiev4 has a bayonet mount, making it compatible with the Zeiss Contax lenses. Its Jupiter-8 lens is reputed to be very sharp, but extra care should be considered when handling it – the aluminum lens barrel is somewhat frail and is easily damaged if dropped. The combined viewfinder and rangefinder window makes it easy to focus and frame in only one window – this is something that Leica hadn’t thought of, until 1953 (with the Leica M3).

The Kiev4 is prized for the extra-sharp images that it makes. Precise focusing is easy, with its clear depth-of-field scale coupled with a 9cm-long rangefinder base – this allows accurate focusing and isolation of your subject from the background. This makes a perfect camera for the amateur photographer, since it requires minimal focusing effort. It has also a moderately quiet shutter, which is certainly helpful when you’re sneaking up to shoot candidly!

written by shhquiet on 2008-05-25 in #reviews #rangefinder #kiev #35mm #review #staff

8 Comments

  1. shhquiet
    shhquiet ·

    Any Kiev4 fans out there? Hello? Share with us some photos! :)

  2. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    I just ordered one on the lomoshop! As soon as I have some shots, I'll send them to you or upload them directly here! :)))

  3. laineyrocks
    laineyrocks ·

    i bought a kiev 4AM off of ebay, i've not yet had a chance to take any pics with it but when i do i'll post them.

  4. jimwhiston
    jimwhiston ·

    Hi

    I've just posted the results of the annual excursion of my Kiev 4 in my home. I've had the camera for over 30 years. it takes great pictures and is fun to use, if you don't forget how!

    Jim

  5. fuzzytnth3
    fuzzytnth3 ·

    I've been very happy with my Kiev 4 just recently started using again as I had been on a big Zero Pinhole kick for a while now but shall be posting some Kievs shots soon. I would like to get a couple more lenses but will have to save up some pennies.

  6. fuzzytnth3
    fuzzytnth3 ·

    I've been very happy with my Kiev 4 just recently started using again as I had been on a big Zero Pinhole kick for a while now but shall be posting some Kievs shots soon. I would like to get a couple more lenses but will have to save up some pennies.

  7. nfjd
    nfjd ·

    I just came from Prague, where I bought one. I'm really excited! I don't even know if it works or not... (Will be really disappointed if it doesn't)
    Can't wait to load a film and try... (already found the user manual on the web!)

    Any of you guys can give me tips or advices?

    Cheers!

  8. jt-jones
    jt-jones ·

    does the one sold on the lomography site comes with lens?

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 in #world #news #competitions
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2
  • 30 Gorgeous Black and White Shots With the New Petzval Lens

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-11 in #gear #lifestyle
    30 Gorgeous Black and White Shots With the New Petzval Lens

    The New Petzval Lens is a stunning reinvention of one of the first and greatest lenses of all time. It produces images with extreme sharpness, artful vignetting and absolutely beautiful swirly bokeh backgrounds. Click through to see 30 breathtaking black and white photos after the jump!

    11
  • Eugenia Loli's Surreal Collages

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-10-29 in #people #lifestyle
    Eugenia Loli's Surreal Collages

    In the hands of those capable wielding it, art can be a powerful weapon. With it, for one, creation of fantastical realms far removed from the one we live in is entirely possible. Through collage making, Eugenia Loli builds such worlds that invite the audience not only to marvel at them but also, and most importantly, to see through the hodgepodge of images to find meaning and formulate interpretations.

    1
  • Shop News

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Want to push your limits in the field of photography? Go large format! This camera uses a 4x5” film and can capture all the subjects you want with this pinhole camera in large format!

  • Magical Moments With the Lomo LC-Wide

    written by azinteimoori on 2016-01-13 in #world #news
    Magical Moments With the Lomo LC-Wide

    There are no smoke and mirrors here! The Lomo LC-Wide is capable of producing enchanting photographs on its own! So we decided to have a look through the Lomography Online Community to find some spectacular snaps. Here are some photographs taken with the LC-Wide that captured a little something magical.

  • NYC Artist Lia Bekyan Shoots with the Lomo'Instant

    written by Samantha Norman on 2015-07-14 in #people #reviews #lomoamigos
    NYC Artist Lia Bekyan Shoots with the Lomo'Instant

    Lia Bekyan is one of NYC's finest creative individuals. She took the Lomo'Instant, a seemingly simple camera, and harnessed its capabilities to produce unique, out-of-the-box instant shots.

    1
  • My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-16 in #gear #news #lifestyle #reviews
    My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    The LC-Wide is definitely one of Lomography's must-have cameras. Its Minigon 1 Ultra-Wide-Angle lens adds a different flavor to your shots, on top of the stunning vignettes, intense colors and breathtaking saturation and contrast LC-A cameras are known for. The Lomography Team is no stranger to the LC-Wide's creative potential, and has proven it capable of the most captivating images. First on the list is danika, from the Lomography Headquarters in Vienna.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Petzval Amigo: Jake Cunningham

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-07-24 in #people #lifestyle #lomoamigos
    Petzval Amigo: Jake Cunningham

    Jake Cunningham is the Editor-at-Large for Hungry Eye magazine. He recently took the New Petzval 85 Lens for a spin and produced a series of refreshingly spontaneous images.

    1
  • On the Brink of Fine Art: Emily Soto and the Petzval 58 Lens

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-06-25 in #people #lifestyle
    On the Brink of Fine Art: Emily Soto and the Petzval 58 Lens

    Her photos are distinctly romantic and brimming with artistry. Although Emily Soto is known for her high-fashion portraits and boasts of a portfolio that speaks of her magazine experience, her work, when crafted with the right concept and aptly art directed, tethers on fine art. This series of emotive fashion portraits taken with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Lens is no exception.

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    written by brettlaw on 2015-04-22 in #gear #reviews #videos
    Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    When I held the Lomo LC-A 120 in my hands for the first time, I immediately noticed its good feel and beautiful design. The LC-A 120 obviously, is truly, related to the queen of all Lomo cameras, the LC-A.

    2
  • A Salute to the Masters: Barkers (A Tribute to Jack Delano)

    written by sirio174 on 2015-05-02 in #world #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Barkers (A Tribute to Jack Delano)

    This is tribute to the Farm Security Administration photographer, Jack Delano, and his photographic series dedicated to barkers. For this article, I chose a series of photos I took this year at the traditional Easter Fair in my city, Como, using a classic rangefinder camera loaded with a roll of black and white film.

    2
  • First Impressions of the New Lomography 58 Bokeh Control Lens: Emily Soto

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-08-07 in #people
    First Impressions of the New Lomography 58 Bokeh Control Lens: Emily Soto

    Emily Soto is a New York City-based fashion and fine art photographer. With Canon 5D Mark III and Canon EOS cameras, she took photos with the Lomography 58 Bokeh Control Lens, producing a series of beautiful images that are reminiscent of renaissance portraits. She talks about the experience and the concept behind her photos in this exclusive interview.

    2