Lubitel 166B - Staff Review

13

The Lubitel 166B TLR is the medium-format predecessor to the equally iconic LOMO LC-A compact camera, prized for its simplicity and ability to produce professional-looking images.

It was post-WWII when the respected LOMO factory of St. Petersburg started creating a twin-lens reflex camera called “Komosomolets” (meaning “Young Communist.”), which was especially marketed towards amateur photographers. It was a copy of the 1938 German Voightlander “Brilliant” camera, so the design wasn’t really fresh. Come 1949, the original Lubitel (literally meaning “Amateur”) was presented – an enhanced and improved concept of the “Young Communist” cam. With its better features and quality, the Lubitel sales shot to over a million units sold worldwide, and was followed by the equally successful Lubitel-2, raking in two million units from its 1955 launch, to its demise in 1980.

The Lubitel 166B steps in 1980 and lasts until ‘89. Preserving the best features of its predecessor – the 75mm “Triplet 22” lens (which yields very sharp and high-contrast images), and the “ZT-8” shutter with a 1/250 speed, the 166B was crafted in a thermoplastic body, which makes it lightweight and convenient to tote around. Manual aperture and shutter controls provide flexibility in composing images, while the ground glass top-down viewer ensures perfect focusing. For extra resolution detail, a flip-down magnifying glass is available.

A roll of 120 gives you 12 6×6 images. There’s an option to not cock the shutter after making your first shot, should you wish to experiment with overlaps or multiple exposures – thanks to its manual shutter cock and advance.

janisthewanis confessed that he has dropped his Lubitel over a dozen times! “Does this affect the camera in any way? Nope. I really love how lightweight and durable the Lubitel is. I can carry it everywhere with me and not have the camera strap digging into my shoulder. I can throw it into my car or bag and not have to worry about something getting knocked loose because the thing is a tank. I really like looking down into the viewfinder and shooting from my pelvis, it seems to throw people off, they wonder what the hell you are doing.”

Lightweight and easy to use, the Lubitel 166B makes a perfect TLR camera for the beginner, and a fun camera for the professional.

Credits

Photos 1-12 by: janisthewanis

written by shhquiet on 2008-05-25 in #reviews #120 #staff #lubitel #tlr #review

13 Comments

  1. graefin
    graefin ·

    I found my Lubitel 166 (without B) on a fleemarket and immediately fell in love with it!!! It's such a wonderful camera!

  2. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    submitted some shots...

  3. graefin
    graefin ·

    the same for me ;)

  4. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    ...me too...:-)

  5. trabantdeluxe
    trabantdeluxe ·

    I absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my Lubi! It's a 166B I found on eBay from a seller in Ukraine. When he sent the camera, it came with a roll of undeveloped Soviet era Foto 65 B&W film. My local pro lab was able to develop it, but there was only one picture....of a mystery family in an apartment sometime in the 1980's. I've uploaded that photo as well as some others.

    The 166B is a great introduction to the world of TLR cameras. I also have a Seagull, but don;t like it anywhere as much as my Lubitel.

  6. 7samurai
    7samurai ·

    ;)

  7. superlighter
    superlighter ·

    go huntin for one of these box! now!
    beautiful shots submitted!

  8. ipdegirl
    ipdegirl ·

    I love my Luby. It is one of my favorite cameras EVER! I was using it a few days ago and it seemed that the gears weren't meshing on the two lenses. Anyone else have this problem and how do I cure it?

  9. craigas
    craigas ·

    i recently bought a 166B from ebay with no instructions. can anyone help me with how to load and unload a film? its driving me crazy looking at my camera and not being able to use it!!!!

    :(

  10. lovesmesumcake
    lovesmesumcake ·

    I don't get how Lomography sells this camera for $215. :-( My friend just gave me hers for free after she bought it for $20 for someone else who ended up not wanting it. Sure, it's a funky little camera (a great intro into the world of TLR), but not a particularly great one by any means.

  11. magicpocket
    magicpocket ·

    I recently started with the 166B and I think it's a good fun camera which isn't meant to be taken too seriously... This is lomo after all!

  12. danbarry
    danbarry ·

    weapon of choice!

  13. af-capture
    af-capture ·

    Nice review

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • Stacy_mcpommes and her Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166B

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-10-09 in #lifestyle
    Stacy_mcpommes and her Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166B

    Not knowing exactly how to do deal with its odd appearance, Nadica first regarded the Lubitel 166B as a complete monstrosity. She left it untouched on her shelf for months after receiving it as a gift. After using other Lomo cameras and getting familiar with the rules on exposure, she finally had the courage to test it. Find out what made stacy_mcpommes fall in love with the Lubitel 166B in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

    5
  • Introducing the New Diana F+ Honeycomb Edition

    written by shhquiet on 2014-05-23 in #news
    Introducing the New Diana F+ Honeycomb Edition

    So what’s the buzz? A swarm of honey bees have made its way to an iconic medium format camera! Say hello to the new Diana F+ Honeycomb Edition, created specially to raise awareness on the plight of the honey bee.

  • Shop News

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    Enjoy a truly analogue moviemaking experience with Lomography's 35mm movie camera and an accompanying accessory to watch your films with. View your masterpieces in the most analogue way possible with the LomoKinoscope. Get it now 20% off the regular price!

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

  • Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    written by brettlaw on 2015-04-22 in #gear #reviews
    Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    When I held the Lomo LC-A 120 in my hands for the first time, I immediately noticed its good feel and beautiful design. The LC-A 120 obviously, is truly, related to the queen of all Lomo cameras, the LC-A.

    1
  • How to Switch Between Formats and Adjust Settings of the LC-Wide

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-26 in #lifestyle
    How to Switch Between Formats and Adjust Settings of the LC-Wide

    The Lomo LC-Wide is a compact shooter, yet it packs quite a punch. Learn to navigate your way around this camera with these video tutorials!

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Mephisto19 and his Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166+

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-29 in #lifestyle
    Mephisto19 and his Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166+

    Stephan has more than 20 cameras in his collection but the Lubitel 166+ remains his favorite because of its versatility as a medium format camera. Read on why Stephan Kaps, aka mephisto19, regards the Lubitel 166+ as the perfect camera for his multiple exposure projects, portraiture, and other personal photography experiments in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

  • Lomopedia: Agat 18/18K

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-21 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Agat 18/18K

    Loved by lofi-fans for its very compact size, the Agat 18/18K is a 35mm half-frame camera produced in Belarus beginning in the late 1980s. Find out more about this curious-looking Soviet compact snaper in this installment of Lomopedia!

    3
  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Milestones of the 110 Film Format

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-30 in #lifestyle
    Milestones of the 110 Film Format

    While the tiny 110 cartridge film has only tickled the fancy of film photographers in the recent years, this format was highly popular during its heydays. For those who have yet to learn about and shoot with 110 film, this timeline looks back at some of the notable milestones of this very compact format!

    1
  • 18 Sensational 6x12 Scenes From The Belair X 6-12

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear
    18 Sensational 6x12 Scenes From The Belair X 6-12

    Think the Belair X 6-12 medium-format camera is only limited to snapping square shots? Nope! It also gives you the option to shoot other photo formats, such as 6x12. We compiled some of the most impressive photos in this format for your inspiration!

    2