Lubitel 166B - Staff Review

13

The Lubitel 166B TLR is the medium-format predecessor to the equally iconic LOMO LC-A compact camera, prized for its simplicity and ability to produce professional-looking images.

It was post-WWII when the respected LOMO factory of St. Petersburg started creating a twin-lens reflex camera called “Komosomolets” (meaning “Young Communist.”), which was especially marketed towards amateur photographers. It was a copy of the 1938 German Voightlander “Brilliant” camera, so the design wasn’t really fresh. Come 1949, the original Lubitel (literally meaning “Amateur”) was presented – an enhanced and improved concept of the “Young Communist” cam. With its better features and quality, the Lubitel sales shot to over a million units sold worldwide, and was followed by the equally successful Lubitel-2, raking in two million units from its 1955 launch, to its demise in 1980.

The Lubitel 166B steps in 1980 and lasts until ‘89. Preserving the best features of its predecessor – the 75mm “Triplet 22” lens (which yields very sharp and high-contrast images), and the “ZT-8” shutter with a 1/250 speed, the 166B was crafted in a thermoplastic body, which makes it lightweight and convenient to tote around. Manual aperture and shutter controls provide flexibility in composing images, while the ground glass top-down viewer ensures perfect focusing. For extra resolution detail, a flip-down magnifying glass is available.

A roll of 120 gives you 12 6×6 images. There’s an option to not cock the shutter after making your first shot, should you wish to experiment with overlaps or multiple exposures – thanks to its manual shutter cock and advance.

janisthewanis confessed that he has dropped his Lubitel over a dozen times! “Does this affect the camera in any way? Nope. I really love how lightweight and durable the Lubitel is. I can carry it everywhere with me and not have the camera strap digging into my shoulder. I can throw it into my car or bag and not have to worry about something getting knocked loose because the thing is a tank. I really like looking down into the viewfinder and shooting from my pelvis, it seems to throw people off, they wonder what the hell you are doing.”

Lightweight and easy to use, the Lubitel 166B makes a perfect TLR camera for the beginner, and a fun camera for the professional.

Credits

Photos 1-12 by: janisthewanis

written by shhquiet on 2008-05-25 in #reviews #120 #staff #review #lubitel #tlr

13 Comments

  1. graefin
    graefin ·

    I found my Lubitel 166 (without B) on a fleemarket and immediately fell in love with it!!! It's such a wonderful camera!

  2. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    submitted some shots...

  3. graefin
    graefin ·

    the same for me ;)

  4. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    ...me too...:-)

  5. trabantdeluxe
    trabantdeluxe ·

    I absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my Lubi! It's a 166B I found on eBay from a seller in Ukraine. When he sent the camera, it came with a roll of undeveloped Soviet era Foto 65 B&W film. My local pro lab was able to develop it, but there was only one picture....of a mystery family in an apartment sometime in the 1980's. I've uploaded that photo as well as some others.

    The 166B is a great introduction to the world of TLR cameras. I also have a Seagull, but don;t like it anywhere as much as my Lubitel.

  6. 7samurai
    7samurai ·

    ;)

  7. superlighter
    superlighter ·

    go huntin for one of these box! now!
    beautiful shots submitted!

  8. ipdegirl
    ipdegirl ·

    I love my Luby. It is one of my favorite cameras EVER! I was using it a few days ago and it seemed that the gears weren't meshing on the two lenses. Anyone else have this problem and how do I cure it?

  9. craigas
    craigas ·

    i recently bought a 166B from ebay with no instructions. can anyone help me with how to load and unload a film? its driving me crazy looking at my camera and not being able to use it!!!!

    :(

  10. lovesmesumcake
    lovesmesumcake ·

    I don't get how Lomography sells this camera for $215. :-( My friend just gave me hers for free after she bought it for $20 for someone else who ended up not wanting it. Sure, it's a funky little camera (a great intro into the world of TLR), but not a particularly great one by any means.

  11. magicpocket
    magicpocket ·

    I recently started with the 166B and I think it's a good fun camera which isn't meant to be taken too seriously... This is lomo after all!

  12. danbarry
    danbarry ·

    weapon of choice!

  13. af-capture
    af-capture ·

    Nice review

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • Stacy_mcpommes and her Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166B

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-10-09 in #lifestyle
    Stacy_mcpommes and her Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166B

    Not knowing exactly how to do deal with its odd appearance, Nadica first regarded the Lubitel 166B as a complete monstrosity. She left it untouched on her shelf for months after receiving it as a gift. After using other Lomo cameras and getting familiar with the rules on exposure, she finally had the courage to test it. Find out what made stacy_mcpommes fall in love with the Lubitel 166B in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

    5
  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    written by brettlaw on 2015-04-22 in #gear #reviews
    Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    When I held the Lomo LC-A 120 in my hands for the first time, I immediately noticed its good feel and beautiful design. The LC-A 120 obviously, is truly, related to the queen of all Lomo cameras, the LC-A.

    1
  • How to Switch Between Formats and Adjust Settings of the LC-Wide

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-26 in #lifestyle
    How to Switch Between Formats and Adjust Settings of the LC-Wide

    The Lomo LC-Wide is a compact shooter, yet it packs quite a punch. Learn to navigate your way around this camera with these video tutorials!

  • Mephisto19 and his Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166+

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-29 in #lifestyle
    Mephisto19 and his Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166+

    Stephan has more than 20 cameras in his collection but the Lubitel 166+ remains his favorite because of its versatility as a medium format camera. Read on why Stephan Kaps, aka mephisto19, regards the Lubitel 166+ as the perfect camera for his multiple exposure projects, portraiture, and other personal photography experiments in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • 18 Sensational 6x12 Scenes From The Belair X 6-12

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear
    18 Sensational 6x12 Scenes From The Belair X 6-12

    Think the Belair X 6-12 medium-format camera is only limited to snapping square shots? Nope! It also gives you the option to shoot other photo formats, such as 6x12. We compiled some of the most impressive photos in this format for your inspiration!

    2
  • Shop News

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ and Diana+ 75mm Premium Glass Lens are now ready to give you the best shots with vignetting effects, crisp quality shots together with the signature dreamy appeal of the Diana! Save 15% on the Glass Lens in this Bundle!

  • Pre-Order Your Very Own LC-A 120 - Very Limited Quantities Available!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-09-29 in #news
    Pre-Order Your Very Own LC-A 120 - Very Limited Quantities Available!

    Shoot exceptional medium-format photos whilst enjoying the convenience of the Lomo LC-A camera with the brand new LC-A 120. The first batch is selling out fast, so pre-order now and get yours in time for the holiday season*!

  • SAME*FRAME / DIFFERENT*VIEW Exhibition: Lomography Vienna

    written by efrost on 2014-11-17 in #events
    SAME*FRAME / DIFFERENT*VIEW Exhibition: Lomography Vienna

    An image in a thousand worlds. Eva Staber travels with her medium format Diana F+ camera to different places to capture subjects in their uniqueness and unfamiliarity. Her work finds a home at the Lomography Embassy Store in Vienna for an upcoming exhibit.

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.