Fed 5B - Staff Review

7

The Fed 5 Rangefinder camera produces sharp photos and remarkable qualities as the more expensive Leica.

For a span of over 70 years, the Kharkov, Ukraine-based Fed company was highly-acclaimed for its production of finely-crafted cameras. Their first camera – the Fed 1 – was the Soviet version of the German Leica II, which was very modern at the time. Offering the same exceptional features at a more affordable price, the Fed 1 sales skyrocketed with over 700,000 units produced between 1935-1955.

The success kept the company going – eventually, they came up with the equally competitive Fed 2, Fed 3, and Fed 4, to keep up with the bustling camera industry. At the time, different camera models kept popping up in the market, including half-frame and 3D stereo models. But the hardworking Fed, with its aggressive approach in ensuring quality, was able to catch up with the current Leica screw-mount models at the time.

1977 was the ripest time for the Feds. It was when Fed 5B was introduced – the final refinement of the screw-mount series, enhanced with the best imaging system and the most modern optics. It guaranteed very sharp images and precise exposure control common in more expensive models. While some people think that, physically, the Fed 5B is somewhat “ugly,” it’s important to note that it sports the Industrar 61 lens, known to be one of the most excellent Russian lenses to ever grace the camera world. The lens, which consisted of four interior lens elements, was amber-coated with Lanthanum to enhance sharpness, contrast, and resolution. It was specially constructed to meet the standards of the Zeiss “Tessar” lens series.

Similar Leica features, but at a reasonably lower price – who wouldn’t want that? The Fed 5B makes a great camera for those who want to enjoy a Leica without getting bankrupt!

kylethefrench has shared three things that he likes about the Fed 5B:

  • It has the aperture setting and shutter speed setting which allows you to open the lens all the way, and speed up the shutter speed so that you get these really dusty fields of view for portraits.
  • The B setting is another joy because you just put it on a tripod at a lake at night and hold that down for as long as you like and you never really know how it is going to turn out, and with that in mind -
  • You have feature 3 which is the viewfinder focus ring to make your viewfinder clear. I didn’t know how to adjust this for about a year! I thought I was losing my eyesight but some of the results were these accidentally slightly out of focus blurry beauties that have a good retro feel.

plesaleza also sent in 5 tips:

  • You can use a digital or any camera with a lightmeter to get a semi-accurate exposure.
  • If you’re a non-metric person, and can’t imagine meters in front of you, actually use the rangefinder.
  • Don’t forget to remove the lens cap, you can easily forget that it’s there because you can see through the viewfinder without realizing that you did not remove the lens cap.
  • Keep the back off for a few blank shots to make sure the film is properly loaded.
  • Don’t forget to make sure the back is actually connected and closed, that way it doesn’t fall off when you’re not looking!

Photos 1-11 by kylethefrench

Photos 21-26 by
jaalvarez

Check out the Fed here

written by shhquiet on 2008-05-23 in #reviews

7 Comments

  1. kylethefrench
    kylethefrench ·

    here too... oh what a day for me!

  2. 7samurai
    7samurai ·

    Fed5C Great ;P

  3. jaalvarez
    jaalvarez ·

    I love it !!!

  4. disdis
    disdis ·

    I'm now using the Fed 5... the only problem is to rewind the film.

  5. stickyvinny
    stickyvinny ·

    Wow! Great camera and great review!

  6. jonnyflex
    jonnyflex ·

    nice review, oh do you guys know if the other model (fed 5c "lomo´s ones") has Interchangeable lens? cos at the b model its listed and i thought the c model has it too but rly dunno.

  7. som3on3ls3
    som3on3ls3 ·

    i have to buy one of these soon. nice review

More Interesting Articles

  • Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    written by whimsicalgrid on 2015-01-23 in #reviews
    Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    Before the end of 2014, my girlfriend took the plunge of purchasing a rangefinder camera from eBay as a late Christmas gift for me. Let me present to you: the Fed 5. The Fed 5 has been known as a copy of the Leica M3 rangefinder camera. It is inexpensive compared to Leica models. So what are my experiences of using the Fed 5? Read on to find out more.

    6
  • Lomopedia: Zeiss Contax I

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-03-26 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Zeiss Contax I

    The first camera by German camera maker Zeiss Ikon and the first model under the Contax camera brand, the Zeiss Contax I was made to rival the then popular Leica rangefinder cameras. Find out more about this historic snapper in this installment of Lomopedia!

  • My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    written by simonesavo on 2014-12-27 in #reviews
    My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    A bright day requires a film that highlights every color. The Lomography Color Negative 100 has fine grain and crazy tones that give your photos stunning color and exceptional sharpness.

    2
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Lomopedia: Vivitar 35ES

    written by cheeo on 2014-10-15 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Vivitar 35ES

    Boasting tack-sharp images and dependability with its mechanical features, it’s no wonder that the Vivitar 35ES has quite a fan following. Learn more about this 35mm rangefinder in this installment of Lomopedia.

  • Lomopedia: Voigtlander Bessa R2A

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-15 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Voigtlander Bessa R2A

    Introduced in 2004, the Bessa R2A and R3A are 35mm autoexposure rangefinder cameras that belong to Cosina's line of Voigtlander revival cameras. Find out more about these luxurious-looking analogue rangefinder snappers in this installment of Lomopedia!

    2
  • A Day with the LC-A: From the Bus, Como (My Tribute to Robert Frank)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-06 in #lifestyle
    A Day with the LC-A: From the Bus, Como (My Tribute to Robert Frank)

    In 1958 the great photographer Robert Frank took a series of images of New York's street life with a Leica camera from a bus window, as in these series of photos that I took in my city Como with my trusty Lomo LC-A loaded with a Kodak Tri-X film. This is a tribute to a great camera and to a great photographer! Read more after the jump!

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Lomopedia: Contax G series

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-03-21 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Contax G series

    An interesting line from Contax, the G series was comprised of two interchangeable-lens autofocus rangefinder cameras introduced in 1994 and 1996, and produced until the end of 2005.

  • Our Analogue Photo Petzval Shoot At Lomography HQ

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-03-28 in #news
    Our Analogue Photo Petzval Shoot At Lomography HQ

    From its vintage 19th century design to the fantastic, creative and unique photos it produces, the Lomography x Zenit New Petzval Art Lenses just oozes analogue. We set up a mini photo studio at Lomography HQ a few days ago and got snap happy with the New Petzval attached to the Canon EOS 5 film camera. Check out the results after the jump!

  • Lomopedia: Leica AF-C1

    written by cheeo on 2014-07-30 in #reviews

    Leica is known for its ingenuity and craftsmanship as a camera manufacturer. Let's take a closer look at its first autofocus camera, the Leica AF-C1, in this installment of Lomopedia.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Lomopedia: Nikon SP

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-03-14 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Nikon SP

    Touted as Nikon's first professional camera, the Nikon SP was one of the most impressive rangefinder cameras one could ever have back in the days. Still, it remains a wonderfully functional and luxurious rangefinder that works smoother and quieter than today's SLR and DSLR cameras.

  • Lomopedia: Voigtlander Bessa-T

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-01 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Voigtlander Bessa-T

    A handsome model from the Voigtlander revival cameras, the Bessa-T was introduced by Cosina in 2001 and supplemented the previous Bessa-L model. Find out more about this interesting 35mm rangefinder camera in this installment of Lomopedia!

  • Sprocket Rocket: An Economical Panoramic Camera

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-02 in #reviews
    Sprocket Rocket: An Economical Panoramic Camera

    The Sprocket Rocket is one of the most popular cameras among Lomographers. The camera is available in 9 beautiful colors and is capable of producing beautiful panoramic photos thanks to the ultra wide lens. Read on to find out more about this panoramic wonder!