Yet Another Kodak Portra 400VC Review

In this review, I just wanted to share with you my experience of using this great film, just couple of shots from life in Moscow. The shots were made in different light and weather conditions, with or without using flash. Hope you enjoy it!

As we know, there was a huge amount of Kodak Portra 400VC reviews. You know how good this film is, how it’s known for it’s colors, saturation, and fineness. Some would say, "Why do you use such a professional film in your plastic cameras? To answer this, I wish those people could see what could be made out of using the LC-A and Kodak Portra 400VC.

It’s all-weather film because of it’s high ISO number, so it’s good for using in some autumn/winter days, at least here in moscow, when you don’t know whether it would be sunny or cloudy.

Also, it’s every-event film that you can use if you going for a walk in the city or to an exhibition, whether you meeting with friends or with a dentist! Don’t forget to use a flash when shooting at night/evening time.

I also wanted to tell an interesting thing. It was always a wonder for me — the neighborhood of Christ Saviour Church and Moscow Philosophy institute — they are located on opposite sides of the road! It was very interesting to listen about some ancient Greek doctrine with looking in a window and see the church golden domes.

So, you can use the Kodak Portra 400VC film and you definitely will be satisfied with results!

Come and visit Russia, and Moscow in particular! Peace!

The Kodak Portra 400 VC 35mm is a true professional`s choice. This portrait film yields great contrast and slamming colours, giving your shots a subtle x-pro look (without the x-pro)! See the whole range of colour negatives in our Shop.

written by in_search_of_answers on 2012-02-29 in #reviews

More Interesting Articles

  • Film Manipulation: Kodak Slides and Bleach

    written by neonlights on 2014-07-30 in #gear #tipster
    Film Manipulation: Kodak Slides and Bleach

    I want to share with you my experience with some slides when I was in Russia. I'm very sorry for them because I messed them up. They're just ruined and they'll never be the same! But hey, I have thousands of them, so I guess it's not a big deal after all.

    4
  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • Petzval LomoAmigo: Singapore's Raymond Phang

    written by edwinchau on 2014-11-24 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval LomoAmigo: Singapore's Raymond Phang

    Raymond Phang is a professional wedding and commercial photographer based in Singapore. He shot with the New Petzval Lens recently and produced quite a few memorable couple photos. In this exclusive interview, he shares tidbits from his Petzval experience.

  • Shop News

    Shoot sharply with Oktomat Bullseye

    Shoot sharply with Oktomat Bullseye

    Shoot sharply without hurting your budget. At 30% off you can now experiment with 8 sequential shots in one 35mm print! Tell stories in 2.5 seconds with 8 scenes in one shot!

  • An Interview with Brazilian Photographer Letícia Godoy

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-04-05 in #people #lomoamigos
    An Interview with  Brazilian Photographer Letícia Godoy

    Letícia Godoy is a photographer based in São Paulo, Brazil. As one of supporters on Kickstarter, she now enjoys using the new Petzval Lens for her work. After sharing some shots that she took with the Petzval lens, she graciously granted our request for an interview, and gladly answered our questions. Read on to learn about Letícia Godoy and her experience with the Lomography x Zenit new Petzval Lens.

  • August 2014 Workshops and Events in Lomography Embassy Singapore

    written by lomographysg on 2014-07-30 in #events
    August 2014 Workshops and Events in Lomography Embassy Singapore

    This August, we bring you back to your roots and explore the wonders of nature! First, we cook up a storm with a film soup experiment. Followed by nature photowalks at beautiful scenic parks in Singapore to unearth the tips & tricks of trouble exposure, as well as the unique methods to perfect our macro shots. To cap off the learning month, we'll gather on a cozy Friday night for a new special sharing series by the Lomography Community -- with Sharing Session #1: Nature.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Shop News

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Fly over to our 30% Discount Section to discover previously unavailable Editions & Clones! Be quick and make one yours before they are all gone again!

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    12
  • Portraits, Lights, Instant Photos, and Weird Faces

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-03-06 in #gear #lifestyle
    Portraits, Lights, Instant Photos, and Weird Faces

    In New York City, winter has been harsh and long, the nights long and cold, and shooting outside is not fun anymore. So when the Lomo'Instant Boston Edition hit the shelves this week and the new Splitzer arrived at the Lomography Gallery Store New York, we decided to do a round of light painting portraits instead of sunny ones.

  • Shop News

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Build vivid hanging LomoCurtains, robust free-standing LomoCastles, and dazzling mounted LomoMosaics! Just click them together with the Lomography Photoclips!

  • Show Us Your Perfect Timing Winners Announcement!

    written by mindofmyra on 2015-03-06 in #world #competitions
    Show Us Your Perfect Timing Winners Announcement!

    There is nothing better than a photo shot at the perfect moment. Henri Cartier-Bresson's principle on "The Decisive Moment" is a principle that we should still follow to this day. A perfectly-timed photo creates impact, whether it's one of a friend jumping into the pool or a couple emerging from the ceremony on their wedding day. For this rumble, we want to see that breathtaking moment, shot at the perfect time. And you showed us what it's like to be on time.

    1
  • The Lomo’Instant Splitzer: the Must-Have Slice and Dice Accessory!

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-06 in #gear #lifestyle
    The Lomo’Instant Splitzer: the Must-Have Slice and Dice Accessory!

    What exactly do I feel while waiting for my Lomo'Instant photos to be developed? I have to say I get a mix of "Surprise me, dear Lomo!" but also some "Did I capture it as I wanted?" kind of thought. No matter the school of thought, with the Splitzer you can add so many cool effects to your photos you'll definitely embrace it!

  • Jonathon Keats to Unveil the Millennium Camera at the Arizona State University Art Museum

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-06 in #world #news
    Jonathon Keats to Unveil the Millennium Camera at the Arizona State University Art Museum

    You might remember experimental philosopher Jonathon Keats for the CenturyCamera, his ambitious project which involved installation of 100 ultra-long-exposure cameras in and around Berlin, Germany "to continuously document 100 years of municipal growth and decay for scrutiny and judgment by future generations" between 2014 and 2114. But today, Keats goes a step further and begins yet another groundbreaking and unprecedented project with the Millennium Camera.