Shanghai GP3 (120, 100 iso) User-Review

9

When googled, a few things immediately jump out: It's listed in the "worst film + developer archive" and you come across quotes like "For sure it is amazing, that such a cheap product gives negatives with a picture on it. I still would not bother to waste my time with it." (Georg Kern on photo.net) - this is definitely a film some people love to hate!

Manufactured in China by the SMPIC Photosensitive Materials Factory. At £16.14 for 10 rolls incl. shipping to Europe, this is possibly the cheapest fresh film available.

From the moment you take it out of the faded reddish foil package, this film screams cheap! There are no visible markings on the roll, and it’s held shut with a piece of masking tape.

Be careful when loading the film, as the frame numbers on the backing paper are extremely faint. A clean frame counter window and a light source are necessities. I always manage to forget about this, pop in the film, and wind and wind and wind until eventually I think “hey…”. Of course at that point it’s much too late and I have to find a dark place to pull the film out and rewind it again.

If you like to develop your own film, I’ve got more bad news for you: This film is so curly you won’t believe it, count on at least 5-10 minutes of swearing and mental hair-pulling before successfully loading the reel. It’s also extremely fragile when wet and scratches and chips easily. Another oddity is the complete lack of frame numbers on the developed negative, in fact the only marking of any kind is “SG PFF”.

The final result is an image with grain the size of small moons, but bucket loads of charm. It lends a moody, film noir quality to the subject matter – perfect for shooting pictures of the Eiffel Tower or afternoons of with coffee and cigarettes. An added bonus is the chocolaty sepia tone you get if you scan the negative in colour.

In the end, what I’m trying to say is this: Film is like people, you like it for its positive qualities, but grow to love it for its imperfections.

Sources:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Photographic_film#Companies_that_manufacture_photographic_film
http://photo.net/black-and-white-photo-film-processing-forum/00JzUN
http://www.apug.org/forums/archive/index.php/t-4761.html

written by eggzakly on 2009-06-12 in #reviews #black-and-white #denmark #etyud #nettar #grain #chinese #film-noir #shanghai #zeiss #german #rodinal #russian

9 Comments

  1. dirklancer
    dirklancer ·

    well-written!

  2. lomodirk
    lomodirk ·

    Nice view on that film. Thought of buying some rolls and now I`ll do it :)

  3. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    Funny that even the same object turns out in different colors.....

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Yeah ! Great review ! And it seems a good film for this price !

  5. eggzakly
    eggzakly ·

    Thanks guys! @eyecon: most black and white negatives have some kind of colour tone, but normally you scan the negative on a black and white setting, so the scanner ignores the colour information. I just saved colour versions of all the scans as well as the black and white versions, so I have two sets of pictures. That's how come the same object appears in both black and white and sepia.

  6. falsedigital
    falsedigital ·

    You know I've noticed that the numbers on my GP3 aren't as faint as people have been describing. I think maybe the company read all the complaints and started printing them bolder. I've never had any trouble seeing through through the red window.

  7. eggzakly
    eggzakly ·

    falsedigital I really hope that's the case! :)

  8. aleiakrepi
    aleiakrepi ·

    Interesting results you've got. I love to love this film. The grain is not as fine as Fujifilm Acros but rather slightly more visible. Far from little moons or similar. Sepia tone comes from what? I develop it in Ilford DD-X (1+4) for 14 minutes at 20C when exposed as ISO100. The tone is similar to any B&W film. Scanned on Epson Perfection V500 or Nikon Coolscan 9000. The later gives much more details, of course. Details being registered by Xenotar on Rolleiflex. A lot of film for small money. Been using this film for at least 3 years now and will continue to do so full speed. Just don't forget to carry elastic bands in your camera bag to tie the roll when finished :-) Getting it on the reel doesn't bother me. I guess, after 50 years of reeling all kinds of film in, gives me some edge...

  9. aaronmchidester
    aaronmchidester ·

    i just read this review, and i'm sad to tell you all, this film is what lomography uses for it's black & white film! they repackage it and sell it for more money. not too sure about the new earl grey and lady grey black & white films, but it's a good chance they're repackaged film from somewhere else too. just thought you all should know.

    and by the way, i love this film! i shot a roll in my Holga, one in my Diana F+, and one in my Zenza Bronica (which came out crazy sharp), and the film base cleared completely (and i do mean completely) when i fixed it for ~8-10 minutes.

More Interesting Articles

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • How We Used to Live – A film By Paul Kelly

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-12-15 in #news
    How We Used to Live – A film By Paul Kelly

    How We Used to Live is a beautiful film by Paul Kelly using archive footage of London from the 1950's right up to the 1980's. It's a fascinating analogue film with a great soundtrack from St Etienne. Read on for more information.

  • Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    written by dopa on 2014-05-25 in #gear #tipster
    Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    Probably each one of you has been annoyed with failed film. This is particularly annoying when you get the developed film back from the lab, but you get blanks because the film was not exposed. It's either the film transport didn't work, or you have not taken the lens cap off, etc. Read on and I'll show you an alternative to just throwing away the film: Simply use it as a color filter for your camera, with the La Sardina for example.

    3
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Finding Humanity in the Streets with Soomin Yim

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-12 in #lifestyle
    Finding Humanity in the Streets with Soomin Yim

    Stop bath is a type of chemical used in the darkroom for processing black and white film, aptly named as such because it halts the development of the images. In this case, stop bath is also part of the title that Korean analogue street photographer <b><a href="http://instagram.com/sooeatsyourstreetforbreakfast">Soomin Yim</a></b> has given her body of work, "Stop Bath the City," to represent the forgotten faces of people in the city amid rapid modernization, captured and immortalized on black and white film.

  • Petzval Artist: James Nader

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-07-16 in #people #lomoamigos

    James Nader is a UK-based Fashion and Editorial photographer. He started his career in photography shooting with film, processing and developing his work by hand. He now works on high end fashion shoots and has photographed the likes of Dita Von Teese and Richard Branson. James still has a passion for film photography and uses it regularly. We lent him a Petzval lens to shoot with and he has kindly given us a full, in depth review of this beautiful portrait lens. Say hello to James Nader.

  • James Wright's So It Goes x Sri Lanka Photo Diary (Part I)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-31 in #world #locations
    James Wright's So It Goes x Sri Lanka Photo Diary (Part I)

    In December last year James Wright, editor and creative director of So It Goes Magazine, went on a two-week trip to Sri Lanka, "a place so long on our bucket list, but up until then, as yet unvisited," he writes on the first of his three-part photo diary. Herein is the first of his series that chronicles his adventures, highlighted by a selection of breathtaking images of the Sri Lankan countryside and the locals, among many other images, captured with his trusty photographic companions: the Leica MP, Lomo LC-A+, and an assortment of films including the LomoChrome Purple.

    2
  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Mawie is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-04-24 in #world #news
    Mawie is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to mawie for winning Home of the Day!

    4
  • Another Petzval Series with Talented Photographer Emily Soto

    written by givesmehell on 2015-04-24 in #people #lomoamigos
    Another Petzval Series with Talented Photographer Emily Soto

    It is always a pleasant experience collaborating with our old friends and LomoAmigos. This time, Emily Soto shot another wonderful series with her Petzval Art Lens. We can't wait to share it with everyone, so here they are!

  • Photo of the Day by isabelpintobasto

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-04-24 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by isabelpintobasto

    Strolling through this lush landscape is even more blissful with someone special by your side.

    3
  • Shop News

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    Enjoy a truly analogue moviemaking experience with Lomography's 35mm movie camera and an accompanying accessory to watch your films with. View your masterpieces in the most analogue way possible with the LomoKinoscope. Get it now 20% off the regular price!

  • Paul Hoi's Otherwordly Polaroids of Iceland

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-24 in #world #lifestyle
    Paul Hoi's Otherwordly Polaroids of Iceland

    Paul Hoi made the Icelandic landscape a canvas for his memories.

    1
  • Awesome Albums: Black and White 2014 by -viv-

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-24 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: Black and White 2014 by -viv-

    For the modern-day photographer, black and white film is a license to slow down. Today's album is a Lomographer's journey from concrete city to tranquil waters.

  • Masterly Examples of Photo Reflections

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-24 in #world #lifestyle
    Masterly Examples of Photo Reflections

    Lomographers love reflections. Peruse the website and you are bound to find water puddles mirroring trees and glass windows duplicating people's motions. What beautiful sights to record indeed! But how else can we approach this doppelgänger effect? Seven ace photographers give us wonderful ideas.