Seagull Twin-Lens Reflex Camera - Staff Review

7

Based on the iconic Rolleiflex Twin-Lens Reflex camera, the Seagull TLR offers excellent quality at an affordable price.

The Seagull Twin-Lens Reflex camera is created by the Shanghai General Camera factory, whose experience with producing twin-lens cameras go way back in 1959. Design-wise, the camera is patterned after the esteemed Rolleiflex TLR cameras by Franke & Heidecke, heralded as the finest series of its kind.

The Seagull enjoyed successful domestic sales, prompting the makers to create an export version called the Seagull-4. Along with its’ successors, the Seagull-4 was widely appreciated by enthusiasts who want to enjoy inexpensive medium photography of excellent quality.

The current Seagull TLR cameras that you see today offer the functionality of the original 1964 Seagull-4 model, while giving you added features such as a PC flash attachment, improved optics, and increased shutter speed.

Shooting with the Seagull is easy and quite tricky. Just flip up the metal hood to reveal the top-down viewer. It is made of ground glass, with an integrated circle focus point, making precise focusing easy. All models boast full manual controls, to allow flexibility in composing your 6×6 shots. To zoom in on extra resolution detail, a flip-down magnifying glass is also included. The multicoated Haiou SA-99 75mm lens prevents unwanted lens flare and amps up the color saturation. And the tricky part? Looking down the top-down viewer gives you a reversed image. This is the same for all TLR cameras – if you swing your camera to the right, your image moves to the left!

Given its affordability (compared to other TLR cameras), ease of use, and competitive quality, the Seagull is a good choice for a newbie!

written by shhquiet on 2008-05-23 in #reviews #120 #staff #review #tlr #seagull

7 Comments

  1. insomniatic_spree
    insomniatic_spree ·

    i'm in love with my seagull!

    if anyone is thinking about buying one- DO IT! its worth every penny.

  2. shhquiet
    shhquiet ·

    @ insomniatic_spree : maybe you'd like to share some tips and tricks with the Seagull? :)
    or perhaps your own review? submit-a-camera-review@lomography.com

    :)

  3. nooknook
    nooknook ·

    I love my Seagull-4 too - but I'm just too scared to use it because it's so old!
    Plus the reversed view-finder makes me feel a bit nauseous. Any tips on how to frame up shots without going mad/blind? I want to make the most of my beautiful camera!!!...

  4. nooknook
    nooknook ·

    In fact, does anyone have a manual for the original Seagull-4 model? Or know where to find one? Mine's in bits. Cheers again!

  5. balzzac
    balzzac ·

    nooknook if you have a segull 4A-109 why dont you just set your aperature and shutter then shoot it as if you were going to shoot a fast moving image (if you still have the manual it can explain it better) and push down the seagull symbol and look threw the range finder.

  6. dogma
    dogma ·

    fantastic gallery!

  7. brett_jurgens
    brett_jurgens ·

    Just picked one up that is completely labeled in Chinese. Looking forward to shooting with it. The lens has a super bright green coating.

More Interesting Articles

  • C.S. Muncy of The Photo Brigade Reviews the LC-A 120

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-10 in #gear #reviews
    C.S. Muncy of The Photo Brigade Reviews the LC-A 120

    Remember C.S. Muncy? He's the New York-based freelance photojournalist who gave the New Petzval Lens a spin. Now he's got his hands on the Lomo LC-A 120 and we stumbled upon his detailed review on The Photo Brigade website. Here's an excerpt!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Useful Guidelines on Shooting with Ultra Wide Lenses

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-04-19 in #gear #tipster
    Useful Guidelines on Shooting with Ultra Wide Lenses

    Wide-angle lens are further divided into sub-classifications: Wide, ultra-wide and ultra-ultra-wide. Based on current standards, wide lenses for 35mm cameras are those with focal lengths ranging from 24 to 35mm. Lenses are considered ultra-wide if they have focal lengths from 17 to 21 mm, and ultra-ultra-wide if from 12 to 16mm. The New Russar+ is a 20mm lens; hence it falls under the ultra-wide classification. If you have an ultra-wide lens or if you intend to get the Russar+, you might as well make the most out of your precious investment. Read on for a few guidelines on shooting with ultra-wide lenses.

    2
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Petzval LomoAmigo: Biking with Anton

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-26 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval LomoAmigo: Biking with Anton

    ANTON is an award-winning portrait photographer based in the United Kingdom. He was a semi-finalist for Hasselblad Master in 2010 and was named ‘Photographer of the Year’ in the Southeast by the BIPP in 2012. He is a big fan of Lomography and recently photographed fans with their favourite camera in our Soho Store. We lent him a Petzval lens and crownd him out latest LomoAmigo! Read on for more

  • Markus Andersen Talks 'At the Edge of the Earth'

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-08 in #people #lifestyle
    Markus Andersen Talks 'At the Edge of the Earth'

    "At the edge of the Earth" is an ongoing yearlong project by documentary photographer Markus Andersen in which he captures the coastline of Sydney, Australia on black and white film with the Diana and Lomo LC-A cameras. In this interview, the Sydney-based photographer opens up to Lomography about his latest endeavor as well as on shooting on the streets of his city and the importance of photographing in analog.

    2
  • Julian Hand takes the LC-A + on Tour

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-01-12 in #people #lomoamigos
    Julian Hand takes the LC-A + on Tour

    Julian Hand is an experimental filmmaker who embraces analogue photography and methods in his work. He creates visuals for The Oscillation, a UK based psych band and recently went on tour to Spain with the LC-A + camera. Have a look at his shots here.

  • Shop News

    LCA-120 Film Bundle

    LCA-120 Film Bundle

    Shoot more with LC-A 120 without breaking your budget! The Phoblographer Editor’s Choice Award Winner now comes with a 120 format film at 15% off!

  • Shift School Paris Photo Competition: The Winners

    written by efrost on 2014-11-05 in #competitions
    Shift School Paris Photo Competition: The Winners

    It looks like it’s time to get out the cameras and pack your bags. Together with the Shift School Dresden, we offered amazing prizes, including an insider trip to Paris, where you can take part in photography courses and visit the world-famous Paris Photo Tradeshow. Of course, there’s also a ton of Lomography prizes at stake like cameras, accessories and film so that the winner can capture memories from the trip on film. And now to announce the winners!

  • Skate Spots Around the World: A Skater and his Shadow

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-07 in #world #locations
    Skate Spots Around the World: A Skater and his Shadow

    While walking in Como with my Praktica camera, I found a young skater at a square in my city. After having chosen an elevated position on an overpass, I mounted my 85mm lens and played about with his performance and his shadow. Check it out after the jump!

  • Ekeupratama is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-04-18 in #world #news
    Ekeupratama is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to ekeupratama for winning Home of the Day!

    2
  • Shop News

    Sit, Stash & Fold

    Sit, Stash & Fold

    Get both appealing LomoDices for your home! These cardboard cubes can be used for different things – they make great, stylish seats but you can also stash small items inside and fold them for storing!

  • Photo of the Day by feurstein

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-04-18 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by feurstein

    It was definitely a busy day for this humble stand. A steady stream of people passed by looking for fresh fruits to buy.

  • Color-Kissed Photos of People Clowning Around with Diana F+

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-18 in #gear #lifestyle
    Color-Kissed Photos of People Clowning Around with Diana F+

    Diana F+ lets you frolic without fuss. It is handy, dandy and always ready to party. Just ask these color-happy Lomographers.

  • Quentin Tarantino's Low-Angle Shots

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-18 in #people
    Quentin Tarantino's Low-Angle Shots

    Our grandparents taught us never to stoop down to the level of bad people, but Quentin Tarantino begs to differ. This video shows us how a shot from below can create a strange intimacy with perplexing characters.