Reviews on Rewind: Films for Nighttime Shooting with LC-A Cameras

1

Recently, you've seen some of the film recommendations by our very own lomographers for shooting with LC-A cameras at daytime. But, what if you want to try your hand at shooting dusk and night scenes? Not to worry, we've got another set of recommendations for you!

We’re all about the mighty, iconic LC-A and LC-A+ cameras this week, so the second installment of Reviews on Rewind came in early. We showed you some of the recommended films by our own community members should you decide to shoot with the LC-A or LC-A+ cameras during the day. But, what if you want to take these analogue beauties out on a dusky date or a nighttime stroll? No problem! We’ve put together another set of previously published film reviews for shooting with the LC-A and LC-A+ cameras at night and low-light conditions:

Photo by gateau

Lomography X Tungsten 64 X-Pro: A Rose Just About to Blossom by gateau

Lomography X Tungsten 64 is the first tungsten film that I’ve ever tried. Having it crossed processed, what I get from the lab is a bunch of rose in pink and purple that are just about to blossom!

Photo by gasord

Lomography Color Negative 400: Quite Good in Varied Conditions by gasord

I decided to use the Lomography CN 400 ISO color negative film for the first time with my LC-A. Although I have some problems with my LC-A and some of the photos didn’t make it, I can say that the film proved to be quite versatile, especially at night and in dark conditions.

Credits: guitarleo

Kodak Ultramax 400 and the LC-A+ by guitarleo

Kodak Ultramax 400 is common in the market, and can get easily at any labs or shops. This film is cheap, but it gives amazing result; decent color, good contrast and sharp details.

Credits: kneehigh85

Lomography CN 800: Perfect for Night Photography by kneehigh85

I hadn’t used the Lomography CN 800 ISO (35mm) very much until recently. In Barcelona, I loaded it in my LC-A+ to use it mostly for night shots and long exposures. This turned out to be a great partnership and I was thrilled with the results.

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-01-20 in #reviews #lomography #lc-a #reviews-on-rewind-series #low-light #lc-a-cameras #nighttime #reviews #lc-a #night #reviews-on-rewind

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • The Lomo LC-A-to-Z: K for ‘Kiss’

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-06-23 in #news
    The Lomo LC-A-to-Z: K for ‘Kiss’

    How many songs have you heard with the word ‘kiss’ in the lyrics? How many kissing scenes have you seen in movies and on television? And how many kisses, do you think, have the LC-A and LC-A+ cameras captured on film?

  • Shop News

    Belair X 6-12 City Slicker Back to Back Bundle

    Belair X 6-12 City Slicker Back to Back Bundle

    With your overwhelming support, we have run out of Belair Instant Backs! We'll restock it in April, but don't worry because the Belair Instant Camera is readily available to satisfy your instant cravings!

  • Julian Hand takes the LC-A + on Tour

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-01-12 in #people #lomoamigos
    Julian Hand takes the LC-A + on Tour

    Julian Hand is an experimental filmmaker who embraces analogue photography and methods in his work. He creates visuals for The Oscillation, a UK based psych band and recently went on tour to Spain with the LC-A + camera. Have a look at his shots here.

  • Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-05 in #reviews
    Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    Lubitel for lovers+. You're probably wondering, "Why is there a '+'?" It's to describe and expand a whole new definition of the Lubitel - in this case, this camera is not only for lovers literally, but also for anyone who loves to shoot portraits, street scenes, objects, and the skies. Do you love to take photos of your lover, your dear friend, your lovely family, your pet, or at the streets? This camera can be used in ALL situations. You can shoot everything that you love with it!

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Shop News

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    Enjoy a truly analogue moviemaking experience with Lomography's 35mm movie camera and an accompanying accessory to watch your films with. View your masterpieces in the most analogue way possible with the LomoKinoscope. Get it now 20% off the regular price!

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

  • Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    Get ready to think fast and shoot faster! Today, we are thrilled share with you news of the brand new LC-A 120 Camera. Load it with any 120 film roll and experience the thrill of medium format photography. You’re sure to soak up all the action in every square shot with its fantastic 38mm f/4.5 wide-angle lens (equivalent to a 21mm lens on a 35mm film camera). It's available for Pre-Order: Extremely limited first batch stock of only 500 cameras!

    35
  • 175 Things You'll Never Guess: What Takes 175 Years to Happen and the Mystery Product Unveiling Tomorrow!

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-05-27 in #gear #news
    175 Things You'll Never Guess: What Takes 175 Years to Happen and the Mystery Product Unveiling Tomorrow!

    Have you guessed what we've got in store for you yet? No? Don't worry, the unveiling is happening very, very soon. In the meantime, here are some more teasers and tips to keep you excited!

    15
  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • A Look at Photographs on Auction at Lempertz

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-27 in #world #lifestyle
    A Look at Photographs on Auction at Lempertz

    Two days from now, Lempertz will hold a sale of 195 photographic prints. The lineup is as varied as the history of photography itself. An 1856 print by an anonymous photographer is in the same group as a top-valued Joseph Szabo shot. A deceptively simple shot of a flower vase is joined by the complex textures of Lucien Hervé. Take a look at the fascinating mix.

  • 'In Focus: Animalia' at The J. Paul Getty Museum

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-27 in #world #news
    'In Focus: Animalia' at The J. Paul Getty Museum

    The ongoing show at the California-based institution spans the entire history of photography and features animals as photographic subjects.

  • Charming Portraits of Little Girls in Fairy Costumes

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-27 in #world #lifestyle
    Charming Portraits of Little Girls in Fairy Costumes

    Don't these just remind you of your own childhood?