Gloriously Analogue Reviews on the LomoKino

1

Since we launched our 35mm movie maker, the LomoKino, it has created a lot of buzz from all over the world wide web. Various features and reviews of our first-ever were published online.

Here are the top 5 LomoKino features and reviews we’ve scoured online. Let’s read about what these notable websites think about the analogue awesomeness that is LomoKino:

1. Engadget: LomoKino Super 35 Movie Maker lets you channel your inner Charlie Chaplin for $80

“With this device, amateur filmmakers can manually produce their own frill-free movies on any roll of 35mm film. All you have to do is load your film into the so-called “magic box,” turn the crank and let the LomoKino work its magic."

You may read the full feature here.

2. PCWorld: LomoKino Film Camera Shoots Lo-Fi Movies

“Of course, the camera is still all about being artsy, and with some film development tricks, it can produce effects like a saturated slide film, red scale, color negative, or black and white. It’s also still got those toy camera looks, so expect the usual light leakage, blurring, purple fringing around really bright light, and vignetting corners.”

You may read the full feature here.

3. TheCoolist: LomoKino Super 35 Movie Maker

“Like other Lomography cameras, the LomoKino Super 35 is intended to reproduce the analog beauty that is often lost in digital photography and videography. The point with a camera like this is the happy mistakes, the color saturation, the under/overexposures, the grainy feel– all of these make for a special capture of otherwise fleeting moments.”

You may read the full feature here.

4. UberGizmo: Lomography LomoKino Super 35 Movie Maker Camera creates old school films

“While we have plenty of apps that have filters to give our videos shot on our smartphones an old school, retro feel, there’s nothing quite like shooting movies on authentic vintage equipment. Thanks to Lomography, you won’t have to fork out an exorbitant amount of money on buying a vintage video camera to get the job done. The company has just released the LomoKino Super 35 – a video camera that accepts any kind of 35mm film cartridge.”

You may read the full feature here.

5. Gizmodo: Lomography LomoKino Lightning Review: Lights! Camera! And…Crank the Handle to Film the Action!

“Point the camera, choose the aperture, and wind the handle: it couldn’t be easier to use… Shooting with the LomoKino is really easy, but it’s worth pointing out that you have to turn the handle harder than you think you should. As there’s no microphone for capturing sound (not that 35mm film can record it anyway), you don’t need to worry about yelling out to your friends “Sh*t! Can you do that again?” nor worry too much about keeping the camera upright and steady — any shakes just add to the “homemade” quality of your film.”

You may read the full feature here.

Have you gotten a LomoKino for yourself? What are you waiting for? Head on to our Online Shop and take a look at our wide selection of LomoKino bundles! You may also check out our new accessory for the LomoKino: its all-new Smartphone Holder!

Once you’ve filmed your old school masterpieces in 35mm, why don’t you join our BIG LomoKino Rumble? While you’re at it, feel free to share and submit your Reviews and Tipsters about the LomoKino, too!

written by nyebe on 2012-01-19 in #news #lomokino #reviews

More Interesting Articles

  • LomoAmigos Yougofirst Shoot With The LomoKino In Their New Snowboard Movie

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-09 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigos Yougofirst Shoot With The LomoKino In Their New Snowboard Movie

    Are you ready for an adrenaline rush? A little while ago, we teamed up with the snowboard and film-making collective Yougofirst and gave them a LomoKino and some film rolls to play with. After a season of crazy riding, jumps and tricks, they have finished their latest movie HETEROTOPIA which features footage shot with our 35mm movie-maker. We had the chance to catch up with Vid and Matic from the collective about the new movie and their experiences shooting analogue on the slopes. It's also our pleasure to showcase the movie here!

  • Trippy Double Exposure Portraits Taken with the Konstruktor

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-27 in #lifestyle
    Trippy Double Exposure Portraits Taken with the Konstruktor

    Create unique portraits with the world's first 35mm plastic SLR, the Konstruktor. Have a look at some of the newest double exposure portraits shot by our very own community members!

  • Exclusive: Interview with Dustin Rosemark, Director of First Feature-Length LomoKino Film

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2014-08-14 in #people #lifestyle
    Exclusive: Interview with Dustin Rosemark, Director of First Feature-Length LomoKino Film

    “51 Fragments of a Wandering Mind” is the first ever feature-length film shot with the LomoKino. Created by filmmaker and street photographer Dustin M Rosemark, it is an experimental documentary film that documents, in a photojournalistic manner, a six-month existential journey in 13 countries. In this exclusive interview, Rosemark shares insight about the film, and talks about his LomoKino experience.

    1
  • Shop News

    Lomo Instant Boston

    Lomo Instant Boston

    Here is another way to enjoy analogue experience and capture great memories in an instant! This package includes the best creative lenses for your LomoInstant camera!

  • LomoAmigo Alison Scarpulla Shoots With The LC-Wide

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-04-28 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo Alison Scarpulla Shoots With The LC-Wide

    Alison Scarpulla is an enormously talented photographer from the USA who utilizes experimental techniques such as multiple exposures and film soaking to create surreal, evocative and emotional shots. After previously featuring some of her work in the Lomography magazine, we were ecstatic that she accepted our offer to shoot with the LC-Wide to create some brand new photos. Read on for our exclusive interview with the woman behind such amazing photos, which you will see after the jump!

    4
  • Star Wars Mania 2015: The All-New Trailer

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-17 in #world #lifestyle
    Star Wars Mania 2015: The All-New Trailer

    The second trailer for "Star Wars:Episode VII - The Force Awakens" has the internet abuzz in the last last few hours. To join in on the fun, we scoured our archives and the cyberspace for some Star Wars treasures. Think Princess Leia and her double in that glorious gold costume, plus a photo of the new cast in roundtable discussion.

    1
  • Film Photography Day UK Party Recap!

    written by gise11e on 2015-04-17 in #people #events
    Film Photography Day UK Party Recap!

    It was great to see you all at the Film Photography Day party here at Lomography Soho! We had good fun and gave away some amazing prizes. Here is a recap of what went on.

    1
  • Shop News

    Recognizable Images of Petzval

    Recognizable Images of Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Groovy Vintage Styles Photographed by The Séeberger Brothers

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-17 in #world #lifestyle
    Groovy Vintage Styles Photographed by The Séeberger Brothers

    Before Bill Cunningham and Scott Schuman, street fashion photography had Jules, Louis and Henri Séeberger.

  • Why Film Still Matters in Calgary

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-17 in #world #lifestyle
    Why Film Still Matters in Calgary

    Jesse Yardley went around Calgary, Canada to find out what the slow art of film photography has to offer this mad-paced world. What he found out will have analog enthusiasts nodding.

  • Analog By Nature

    written by Cameron Jean-laing on 2015-04-17 in #world #lifestyle
    Analog By Nature

    It's late October in Copenhagen and summer was well and truly behind us. With the nights drawing in, the chances of going out with one of my cameras was slim. All was not lost at this time of year, however, as it allowed me time to focus on my own personal music projects—I am a professional composer/musician and audio engineer at my own studio by day.

  • Shop News

    Sit, Stash & Fold

    Sit, Stash & Fold

    Get both appealing LomoDices for your home! These cardboard cubes can be used for different things – they make great, stylish seats but you can also stash small items inside and fold them for storing!

  • Daniel Blau Gallery London Presents 'Apollo 8 X 10'

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-17 in #world #news
    Daniel Blau Gallery London Presents 'Apollo 8 X 10'

    A selection of marvelous vintage photographs taken during pioneering NASA explorations in space is currently on view at a gallery in London.

  • Black and White Portraits Shot With The Petzval Art Lens By Hanna Varela

    written by candilsw on 2015-04-17 in #people #lomoamigos
    Black and White Portraits Shot With The Petzval Art Lens By Hanna Varela

    Hanna Varela was one of the photographers who participated in the exhibition jointly organized by Parallel Planets and Lomography Singapore and held last week. She is passionate about film photography and recently took black and white portraits! Here, Hanna talks about her awesome experience with the Petzval Art Lens and her elegantly beautiful masterpieces.

    1
  • Shooting in Soho with the Lomo'Instant Splitzer

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-17 in #gear #tipster
    Shooting in Soho with the Lomo'Instant Splitzer

    A recent lunchtime break turned into a big analog adventure when I took the Lomo'Instant camera out with the Splitzer and captured a gloriously sunny day in the heart of Soho, London. I learned a couple of great tips about shooting with this new accessory. Read on to find out more.