An Analogue Year in Review

5

The year 2011 has been a very significant one for my personal life; a few lows, and a lot of highs. My analogue life has been extremely eventful as well. As the year closes, it’s nice to reflect on the analogue year that was.

This year is probably overwhelming for me in terms of productivity because I get to compare it with 2010. The year before this one, I barely used my cameras. I think I only shot 15 rolls. Aside from the Whilst We Wait Project with basterda and other Filipino lomographers, I had nothing going on.

Now, to recap my analogue achievements of 2011…I don’t know where to begin, really.

I shot 75 rolls of film this year! It probably isn’t a lot compared to lakandula, or mephisto19 shooting rate; but still, 6.5 rolls a month does not seem to be the behavior of an inhibited lomographer. I am almost inseparable with my cameras this year; constantly documenting my life as it unfolds. In fact, as of the moment, 5 of my cameras are simultaneously loaded with film.

Credits: renenob

Being a lomographer is best when shared with others who have the same interest. With Lomomanila being not as active as before, I was lucky to be a part of Shutter Revolution, a local group of analogue photographers and lomographers here in the Philippines. More than just being mere online buddies, I have managed to meet and become friends with some of them.

Credits: renenob

It is only this year that I seriously built my lomohome. Painstakingly, I transferred all my previous shots from my multiply site to my home. Not to mention that I had to enter meta information for the most of the photos. To date, I have more than 3,441 photos, 215 albums, 37 Lomowalls and 207 Friends. I was even lucky that I was awarded with the Lomohome of the Day honors.

I also became more active in the community. I tried joining competitions whenever I can. Whether what is at stake are just 5 piggies, or a premium Lomography product, I tried submitting photos. However, aside from a few entries accepted for lomowall installations, I only won as a runner-up in one competition. How I wish icuresick would rub some of his talent in me.

Credits: renenob

One of the things I got so busy with this year is writing articles for Lomography. Ever since my first article was published last February, I haven’t stopped. Every beginning of the month, I eagerly wait for the requested articles post to check if there are topics that I am knowledgeable enough to write about. To date, I have 35 articles; I plan to top that in 2012.

Credits: renenob

Aside from sharing with other enthusiast, there is another good reason for all of this effort in the community: PIGGIES! How many piggies were awarded to me this year? A lot! More than enough to get myself 2 LC-Wide cameras, which for some reason, I haven’t gotten yet. Maybe next year, I will.

Credits: renenob

There was also a significant improvement in my collection of cameras and my film stash. This year, a got an LC-A+ RL, a Spinner 360, a Diana Mini, and just this month an SLR, a Nikon EM. At one point, I even bought 100 rolls of expired Fujifilm Superia 400.

Credits: renenob

Finally, the culmination of the “Whilst We Wait” project. It began in April of 2010 and ran for an entire year. Some of those who participated are also members of my beloved Shutter Revolution family. The task of a year-long shooting and waiting ended in March 2011, and the culminating exhibit was held this December. This was the every first exhibit I got to be a part of.

Credits: boobert

I have other things in mind, but this article is coming close to being rejected for being too lengthy.

It was indeed a very fruitful analogue year for me, and I can wait for 2012 to just as good, if not better. By the way things are be in January (I just order several
Lomography films, and an Oktomat), I think will be so. Lomo on!

As film photographers, our photos become part of our journey through everyday life. For this year’s series, our Lomographers encapsulate their trials, joys and the various highlights of their lives in 2011. Read more articles on the Year Ender series.

written by renenob on 2011-12-30 in #lifestyle #year-end-series #2011 #review #year #analogue-lifestyle #analogue #year-end #lomography #renenob

5 Comments

  1. janey_mcfly
    janey_mcfly ·

    same here! i get to shoot more rolls of film compared to last year's stash.

  2. grazie
    grazie ·

    nice one Rene! Happy New Year! naks @iceuresick !

  3. grazie
    grazie ·

    hahaha mali pa!@icuresick

  4. skrutt
    skrutt ·

    Nice article! I hope my life get this good this year of 2012! :D Started with lomo 2011, so not many films was taken.

  5. pe
    pe ·

    :) have a joyful new year with a lot of photons captured :)

More Interesting Articles

  • Meet Our LomoGuru: herbert-4

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-02-14 in #people #lifestyle #videos
    Meet Our LomoGuru: herbert-4

    Herbert Morris has been taking photographs for almost 60 years. From being his family's event photographer, he now acts as one of the community's resident guides who's always willing to give advice—photography related or otherwise—to fellow lomographers. In this interview, Herbert shares tidbits about his life as a war veteran and how being a sneaky photographer preserved the memories of his aunt.

    32
  • Jack Lowe: Behind the Scenes on the Lifeboat Station Project

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-11-09 in #people #lomoamigos
    Jack Lowe: Behind the Scenes on the Lifeboat Station Project

    Jack Lowe has been traveling round the UK with the aim to shoot every RNLI post using Wet Plate Collodion photography. The Lifeboat Station Project photography is a five-year photographic mission that makes use of a painstaking process. It is a fascinating, much talked about project that deserves to be documented, not just through words but through images as well.

    1
  • Object of My Affection: Trees

    written by Hugo Pereira on 2015-04-13 in #world #lifestyle
    Object of My Affection: Trees

    From an early age I got used to being in contact with nature—my parents' house was located very close to a pine forest. It has been my playground for as long as I can remember. It still is.

    5
  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • Camo Takes The Petzval Art Lens To Shoot His Very Personal Series

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-04-06 in #people #lomoamigos
    Camo Takes The Petzval Art Lens To Shoot His Very Personal Series

    Camo is one of the most popular fashion photographers from Colombia. His works have been published in many fashion magazines around the country, and last year he was in charge of shooting Colombia Moda, one of the biggest annual fashion shows in Latin America. But Camo has a very personal series of photos that were shot at his home in Bogotá.

  • Beauty as Seen by Anna Fischer

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-10-07 in #people #lifestyle #lomoamigos
    Beauty as Seen by Anna Fischer

    Anna Fischer calls herself a beauty documentary photographer. Her backstage photos of last year's New York Fashion Week revealed the glitz and glamour of such high fashion events. Her personal work, however, is more intimate, as seen is this series of photos taken with the new Petzvl 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens.

    1
  • Katherine April's Rationale, Reflections on 'Finding Katherine April'

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-12-03 in #people #news #lifestyle
    Katherine April's Rationale, Reflections on 'Finding Katherine April'

    "Finding Katherine April" is an ongoing photographic installation project by Katherine April, which has her dispersing prints of her self-portraits across Cambridge City Center. With a couple of months already passing since the launch, Lomography speaks with the Cambridge and London-based visual artist and writer about the idea behind her project, as well as the public reception and her personal reflections towards it.

    1
  • Shop News

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Never go wrong with amount of light entering your lenses. Perfect for any photo shoots, very handy, lightweight and extremely versatile!

  • Analog By Nature

    written by Cameron Jean-laing on 2015-04-17 in #world #lifestyle #videos
    Analog By Nature

    It's late October in Copenhagen and summer was well and truly behind us. With the nights drawing in, the chances of going out with one of my cameras was slim. All was not lost at this time of year, however, as it allowed me time to focus on my own personal music projects—I am a professional composer/musician and audio engineer at my own studio by day.

    1
  • Jeri Lampert Shoots with the Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-09 in #people #lomoamigos
    Jeri Lampert Shoots with the Lomo'Instant Wide

    Jeri Lampert has made quite a name for herself, having photographed for a number of magazines and well-known brands. Taking a break from the glitz and glamour of the fashion world, she takes the Lomo'Instant Wide and captures scenes that are more personal and altogether different from the highly stylized images she has been known for. Here's a brief but intimate interview with the New York City based photographer.

    1
  • Petzval Artist: The Aesthetics Of Photographer Issa Ng

    written by lomographygallerystorehk on 2015-07-02 in #people #lifestyle #reviews
    Petzval Artist: The Aesthetics Of Photographer Issa Ng

    As a photographer, Issa Ng is known for his expertise in portraiture and fashion photography. Having worked with different international brands as an Art Director, he has developed a great sense for aesthetics and details, which are reflected in his work. For the past three years thePetzval lens has been part of his workflow, and it has helped him create those show-stopping fashion portraits.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • My First Lomo Affair: Jmcedo and his LC-A+

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-09-13 in #world #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Jmcedo and his LC-A+

    Joan Manel Cedó is an avid fan of extreme sports. He has been a rock climber for two decades and has also gained interest in kitesurfing over the years. In both sports, he tries to incorporate his passion for photography. In this instalment of My First Lomo Affair, he talks about how he chance upon the carefree style of shooting with the LC-A+ and all the adventures that followed this discovery.

    2
  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Spirit of Jogja

    written by wil6ka on 2015-11-03 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Spirit of Jogja

    It is the marvel of Java, the cultural center of Indonesia: Yogyakarta, or, as we assimilated locals call it, Jogja! Jogja is full of historic sites and exudes a very adventurous yet welcoming spirit. It is a true multireligious melting pot that has seen kings and sultans come and go, and religions introduced and either went or stayed. Time has been gentle on Jogja. It's one of my most favorite cities in Asia.

    4
  • The Konstruktor Project by David Townsend

    written by Lomography London on 2015-11-18 in #people #lifestyle #lomoamigos
    The Konstruktor Project by David Townsend

    One Christmas, David Townsend was given the Konstruktor by his wife. It sparked an idea in his head, taking inspiration from Jack Lowe's Lifeboat Station project and his love for photography. He built and beautifully customised the Konstruktor and has just embarked on his own long term analogue project, because a camera is for life, not just for Christmas. Learn more about his project in this interview.

    1