An Analogue Year in Review

5

The year 2011 has been a very significant one for my personal life; a few lows, and a lot of highs. My analogue life has been extremely eventful as well. As the year closes, it’s nice to reflect on the analogue year that was.

This year is probably overwhelming for me in terms of productivity because I get to compare it with 2010. The year before this one, I barely used my cameras. I think I only shot 15 rolls. Aside from the Whilst We Wait Project with basterda and other Filipino lomographers, I had nothing going on.

Now, to recap my analogue achievements of 2011…I don’t know where to begin, really.

I shot 75 rolls of film this year! It probably isn’t a lot compared to lakandula, or mephisto19 shooting rate; but still, 6.5 rolls a month does not seem to be the behavior of an inhibited lomographer. I am almost inseparable with my cameras this year; constantly documenting my life as it unfolds. In fact, as of the moment, 5 of my cameras are simultaneously loaded with film.

Credits: renenob

Being a lomographer is best when shared with others who have the same interest. With Lomomanila being not as active as before, I was lucky to be a part of Shutter Revolution, a local group of analogue photographers and lomographers here in the Philippines. More than just being mere online buddies, I have managed to meet and become friends with some of them.

Credits: renenob

It is only this year that I seriously built my lomohome. Painstakingly, I transferred all my previous shots from my multiply site to my home. Not to mention that I had to enter meta information for the most of the photos. To date, I have more than 3,441 photos, 215 albums, 37 Lomowalls and 207 Friends. I was even lucky that I was awarded with the Lomohome of the Day honors.

I also became more active in the community. I tried joining competitions whenever I can. Whether what is at stake are just 5 piggies, or a premium Lomography product, I tried submitting photos. However, aside from a few entries accepted for lomowall installations, I only won as a runner-up in one competition. How I wish icuresick would rub some of his talent in me.

Credits: renenob

One of the things I got so busy with this year is writing articles for Lomography. Ever since my first article was published last February, I haven’t stopped. Every beginning of the month, I eagerly wait for the requested articles post to check if there are topics that I am knowledgeable enough to write about. To date, I have 35 articles; I plan to top that in 2012.

Credits: renenob

Aside from sharing with other enthusiast, there is another good reason for all of this effort in the community: PIGGIES! How many piggies were awarded to me this year? A lot! More than enough to get myself 2 LC-Wide cameras, which for some reason, I haven’t gotten yet. Maybe next year, I will.

Credits: renenob

There was also a significant improvement in my collection of cameras and my film stash. This year, a got an LC-A+ RL, a Spinner 360, a Diana Mini, and just this month an SLR, a Nikon EM. At one point, I even bought 100 rolls of expired Fujifilm Superia 400.

Credits: renenob

Finally, the culmination of the “Whilst We Wait” project. It began in April of 2010 and ran for an entire year. Some of those who participated are also members of my beloved Shutter Revolution family. The task of a year-long shooting and waiting ended in March 2011, and the culminating exhibit was held this December. This was the every first exhibit I got to be a part of.

Credits: boobert

I have other things in mind, but this article is coming close to being rejected for being too lengthy.

It was indeed a very fruitful analogue year for me, and I can wait for 2012 to just as good, if not better. By the way things are be in January (I just order several
Lomography films, and an Oktomat), I think will be so. Lomo on!

As film photographers, our photos become part of our journey through everyday life. For this year’s series, our Lomographers encapsulate their trials, joys and the various highlights of their lives in 2011. Read more articles on the Year Ender series.

written by renenob on 2011-12-30 in #lifestyle #renenob #review #lomography #year #2011 #analogue #analogue-lifestyle #year-end #year-end-series

5 Comments

  1. janey_mcfly
    janey_mcfly ·

    same here! i get to shoot more rolls of film compared to last year's stash.

  2. grazie
    grazie ·

    nice one Rene! Happy New Year! naks @iceuresick !

  3. grazie
    grazie ·

    hahaha mali pa!@icuresick

  4. skrutt
    skrutt ·

    Nice article! I hope my life get this good this year of 2012! :D Started with lomo 2011, so not many films was taken.

  5. pe
    pe ·

    :) have a joyful new year with a lot of photons captured :)

More Interesting Articles

  • My Year in Analogue: How Film Photography Changed Me For Life

    written by alexintheskywithdiamonds on 2015-01-05 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: How Film Photography Changed Me For Life

    2014 has been a fulfilling year, in my personal life as well as in analogue photography.

  • Happenings on Film: Trofeo Villa D'Este 2014

    written by sirio174 on 2014-11-10 in #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: Trofeo Villa D'Este 2014

    This autumn, Como hosted a very important sporting event: a 6,000-meter rowing race on the lake. The race was first held in 1893. After 123 years, the Trofeo Villa D'Este has been revived. I documented this event with my trusty Praktica camera and two lenses, a 50mm and 135mm.

  • Meet Our LomoGuru: herbert-4

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-02-14 in #people #lifestyle
    Meet Our LomoGuru: herbert-4

    Herbert Morris has been taking photographs for almost 60 years. From being his family's event photographer, he now acts as one of the community's resident guides who's always willing to give advice—photography related or otherwise—to fellow lomographers. In this interview, Herbert shares tidbits about his life as a war veteran and how being a sneaky photographer preserved the memories of his aunt.

    30
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Object of My Affection: Trees

    written by Hugo Pereira on 2015-04-13 in #world #lifestyle
    Object of My Affection: Trees

    From an early age I got used to being in contact with nature—my parents' house was located very close to a pine forest. It has been my playground for as long as I can remember. It still is.

    5
  • Stanley Kubrick's Early Photographic Works on Exhibit in Vienna

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-13 in #news
    Stanley Kubrick's Early Photographic Works on Exhibit in Vienna

    Fifteen of Stanley Kubrick's most memorable photo essays from when he was working as a photographer for "Look" magazine are currently on exhibit at Vienna's Bank Austria Kunstforum. Learn the story behind his very first photograph for the publication, taken when he was only 16 years old, as well as a few others after the cut.

  • My Year in Analogue: Old Cameras and New Techniques

    written by stratski on 2014-12-17 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: Old Cameras and New Techniques

    2014 has been a good year for me, photographically speaking. I finally realized a few projects I had been dying to try out for a long time and, despite my resolution not to buy new ones, acquired some new cameras.

    6
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Camo Takes The Petzval Art Lens To Shoot His Very Personal Series

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-04-06 in #people #lomoamigos
    Camo Takes The Petzval Art Lens To Shoot His Very Personal Series

    Camo is one of the most popular fashion photographers from Colombia. His works have been published in many fashion magazines around the country, and last year he was in charge of shooting Colombia Moda, one of the biggest annual fashion shows in Latin America. But Camo has a very personal series of photos that were shot at his home in Bogotá.

  • My Year in Analogue: My 2014 Through the Letters of the Alphabet

    written by sirio174 on 2015-01-20 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: My 2014 Through the Letters of the Alphabet

    In this article, I'll show you my 2014 in analogue through the letters of the alphabet. All these photos were taken in the streets of my city, Como, or in close proximity (a few kilometers away from it), mainly during public or sporting events, and all in black and white.

    1
  • Analog By Nature

    written by Cameron Jean-laing on 2015-04-17 in #world #lifestyle
    Analog By Nature

    It's late October in Copenhagen and summer was well and truly behind us. With the nights drawing in, the chances of going out with one of my cameras was slim. All was not lost at this time of year, however, as it allowed me time to focus on my own personal music projects—I am a professional composer/musician and audio engineer at my own studio by day.

    1
  • Shop News

    LC-Wide Elite Kit

    LC-Wide Elite Kit

    The LC-Wide Elite Kit gathers all the accessories you would ever need for your Lomo LC-Wide.

  • Happenings on Film: My Students Assembling a Konstruktor

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-12 in #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: My Students Assembling a Konstruktor

    My city of Como hosts a series of nice events this season. One of these is Creativity Day, where the upper schools show their project at the main square of the pedestrian area. This year, my students have assembled a Lomography Konstruktor at the main square of the city! Take a look after the jump!

  • A Quick Rundown of the Lomography 110 Films

    written by simonesavo on 2014-05-26 in #reviews
    A Quick Rundown of the Lomography 110 Films

    Until a few years ago, using 110 cameras and film cartridges was a difficult thing because the only available films in the market had already been expired for several years. But now everything is easier thanks to Lomography; it has breathed new life into our small 110 cameras. Read on to discover the 110 film family.

  • Campfire's Koh Degawa shoots with the Petzval Lens

    written by choko3 on 2014-07-02 in #lifestyle
    Campfire's Koh Degawa shoots with the Petzval Lens

    Lomography Japan has been working with CAMPFIRE, one of the country's largest crowdfunding services. In the past year, we have launched three successful projects such as the campaigns for the Lomography Smartphone Scanner, Petzval Lens and the Lomo’Instant, and Campfire has been helping us reach out to our supporters in Japan. Koh, Campfire's Senior Project Manager, has been involved in all three. Also a lomographer,she is no stranger to our products and has even shot with the new Petzval Lens.