An Analogue Year in Review

5

The year 2011 has been a very significant one for my personal life; a few lows, and a lot of highs. My analogue life has been extremely eventful as well. As the year closes, it’s nice to reflect on the analogue year that was.

This year is probably overwhelming for me in terms of productivity because I get to compare it with 2010. The year before this one, I barely used my cameras. I think I only shot 15 rolls. Aside from the Whilst We Wait Project with basterda and other Filipino lomographers, I had nothing going on.

Now, to recap my analogue achievements of 2011…I don’t know where to begin, really.

I shot 75 rolls of film this year! It probably isn’t a lot compared to lakandula, or mephisto19 shooting rate; but still, 6.5 rolls a month does not seem to be the behavior of an inhibited lomographer. I am almost inseparable with my cameras this year; constantly documenting my life as it unfolds. In fact, as of the moment, 5 of my cameras are simultaneously loaded with film.

Credits: renenob

Being a lomographer is best when shared with others who have the same interest. With Lomomanila being not as active as before, I was lucky to be a part of Shutter Revolution, a local group of analogue photographers and lomographers here in the Philippines. More than just being mere online buddies, I have managed to meet and become friends with some of them.

Credits: renenob

It is only this year that I seriously built my lomohome. Painstakingly, I transferred all my previous shots from my multiply site to my home. Not to mention that I had to enter meta information for the most of the photos. To date, I have more than 3,441 photos, 215 albums, 37 Lomowalls and 207 Friends. I was even lucky that I was awarded with the Lomohome of the Day honors.

I also became more active in the community. I tried joining competitions whenever I can. Whether what is at stake are just 5 piggies, or a premium Lomography product, I tried submitting photos. However, aside from a few entries accepted for lomowall installations, I only won as a runner-up in one competition. How I wish icuresick would rub some of his talent in me.

Credits: renenob

One of the things I got so busy with this year is writing articles for Lomography. Ever since my first article was published last February, I haven’t stopped. Every beginning of the month, I eagerly wait for the requested articles post to check if there are topics that I am knowledgeable enough to write about. To date, I have 35 articles; I plan to top that in 2012.

Credits: renenob

Aside from sharing with other enthusiast, there is another good reason for all of this effort in the community: PIGGIES! How many piggies were awarded to me this year? A lot! More than enough to get myself 2 LC-Wide cameras, which for some reason, I haven’t gotten yet. Maybe next year, I will.

Credits: renenob

There was also a significant improvement in my collection of cameras and my film stash. This year, a got an LC-A+ RL, a Spinner 360, a Diana Mini, and just this month an SLR, a Nikon EM. At one point, I even bought 100 rolls of expired Fujifilm Superia 400.

Credits: renenob

Finally, the culmination of the “Whilst We Wait” project. It began in April of 2010 and ran for an entire year. Some of those who participated are also members of my beloved Shutter Revolution family. The task of a year-long shooting and waiting ended in March 2011, and the culminating exhibit was held this December. This was the every first exhibit I got to be a part of.

Credits: boobert

I have other things in mind, but this article is coming close to being rejected for being too lengthy.

It was indeed a very fruitful analogue year for me, and I can wait for 2012 to just as good, if not better. By the way things are be in January (I just order several
Lomography films, and an Oktomat), I think will be so. Lomo on!

As film photographers, our photos become part of our journey through everyday life. For this year’s series, our Lomographers encapsulate their trials, joys and the various highlights of their lives in 2011. Read more articles on the Year Ender series.

written by renenob on 2011-12-30 in #lifestyle #year-end-series #lomography #2011 #review #analogue-lifestyle #analogue #year-end #renenob #year

5 Comments

  1. janey_mcfly
    janey_mcfly ·

    same here! i get to shoot more rolls of film compared to last year's stash.

  2. grazie
    grazie ·

    nice one Rene! Happy New Year! naks @iceuresick !

  3. grazie
    grazie ·

    hahaha mali pa!@icuresick

  4. skrutt
    skrutt ·

    Nice article! I hope my life get this good this year of 2012! :D Started with lomo 2011, so not many films was taken.

  5. pe
    pe ·

    :) have a joyful new year with a lot of photons captured :)

More Interesting Articles

  • My Year in Analogue: How Film Photography Changed Me For Life

    written by alexintheskywithdiamonds on 2015-01-05 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: How Film Photography Changed Me For Life

    2014 has been a fulfilling year, in my personal life as well as in analogue photography.

  • Happenings on Film: Trofeo Villa D'Este 2014

    written by sirio174 on 2014-11-10 in #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: Trofeo Villa D'Este 2014

    This autumn, Como hosted a very important sporting event: a 6,000-meter rowing race on the lake. The race was first held in 1893. After 123 years, the Trofeo Villa D'Este has been revived. I documented this event with my trusty Praktica camera and two lenses, a 50mm and 135mm.

  • Meet Our LomoGuru: herbert-4

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-02-14 in #people #lifestyle
    Meet Our LomoGuru: herbert-4

    Herbert Morris has been taking photographs for almost 60 years. From being his family's event photographer, he now acts as one of the community's resident guides who's always willing to give advice—photography related or otherwise—to fellow lomographers. In this interview, Herbert shares tidbits about his life as a war veteran and how being a sneaky photographer preserved the memories of his aunt.

    31
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Object of My Affection: Trees

    written by Hugo Pereira on 2015-04-13 in #world #lifestyle
    Object of My Affection: Trees

    From an early age I got used to being in contact with nature—my parents' house was located very close to a pine forest. It has been my playground for as long as I can remember. It still is.

    5
  • My Year in Analogue: Old Cameras and New Techniques

    written by stratski on 2014-12-17 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: Old Cameras and New Techniques

    2014 has been a good year for me, photographically speaking. I finally realized a few projects I had been dying to try out for a long time and, despite my resolution not to buy new ones, acquired some new cameras.

    6
  • Camo Takes The Petzval Art Lens To Shoot His Very Personal Series

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-04-06 in #people #lomoamigos
    Camo Takes The Petzval Art Lens To Shoot His Very Personal Series

    Camo is one of the most popular fashion photographers from Colombia. His works have been published in many fashion magazines around the country, and last year he was in charge of shooting Colombia Moda, one of the biggest annual fashion shows in Latin America. But Camo has a very personal series of photos that were shot at his home in Bogotá.

  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • My Year in Analogue: My 2014 Through the Letters of the Alphabet

    written by sirio174 on 2015-01-20 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: My 2014 Through the Letters of the Alphabet

    In this article, I'll show you my 2014 in analogue through the letters of the alphabet. All these photos were taken in the streets of my city, Como, or in close proximity (a few kilometers away from it), mainly during public or sporting events, and all in black and white.

    1
  • Analog By Nature

    written by Cameron Jean-laing on 2015-04-17 in #world #lifestyle
    Analog By Nature

    It's late October in Copenhagen and summer was well and truly behind us. With the nights drawing in, the chances of going out with one of my cameras was slim. All was not lost at this time of year, however, as it allowed me time to focus on my own personal music projects—I am a professional composer/musician and audio engineer at my own studio by day.

    1
  • Petzval Artist: The Aesthetics Of Photographer Issa Ng

    written by lomographygallerystorehk on 2015-07-02 in #people #lifestyle #reviews
    Petzval Artist: The Aesthetics Of Photographer Issa Ng

    As a photographer, Issa Ng is known for his expertise in portraiture and fashion photography. Having worked with different international brands as an Art Director, he has developed a great sense for aesthetics and details, which are reflected in his work. For the past three years thePetzval lens has been part of his workflow, and it has helped him create those show-stopping fashion portraits.

  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2014-11-20 in #reviews
    Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    In April of this year I had the chance to test the Petzval Lens and to write a review on it for the German photography forum Kwerfeldein. The lens excited me from the very beginning, at the time it was introduced on Kickstarter. I was afraid that once I had tested the lens, I would want to have one of my own! Well, that’s what happened; a year later, I finally bought my very own Petzval lens.

    1
  • Lomography Official Petzval Launch Party in Hong Kong

    written by lomographygallerystorehk on 2014-08-26 in #events
    Lomography Official Petzval Launch Party in Hong Kong

    After a long wait, the Lomography Petzval lens has finally officially landed on our online shop and in our gallery stores. To celebrate and to get a glimpse of this legendary Petzval Lens, which was first conceived of in 1840 and reinvented by Lomography last year, we gathered media personalities and photography lovers at the Hong Kong Gallery Store for this very special evening.

  • LomoGuru of the Week: trash-gordon-from-outerspace

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-08-17 in #lifestyle
    LomoGuru of the Week: trash-gordon-from-outerspace

    He is a graphic designer from Kassel, Germany who has been a Community member for about a decade. His ten-year stay has been remarkably fruitful. Aside from honing his photography skills, it is in this Community of ours where he met his girlfriend, made a lot of friends, and helped organize a huge weekend meet-up for fellow lomographers. Say hello to Daniel Lauterbach, also known as trash-gordon-from-outer-space, our LomoGuru of the Week!

    12