A Fish Called La Sardina (A Review)

2

It's a wonderful romantic comedy. Since adam_g2000 bought me my La Sardina I've been in love with its wide angled wonder-lens!

Credits: nessy

As a new photographer and Lomographer, I sometimes struggle to get to grips with remembering lots of settings and functions. This is one of the reasons why I love La Sardina so much. Not only is it a handsome camera, the design makes me chuckle every time I look at it. Even so, its simplicity allows me to just look at what I want to shoot and just shoot it—that’s really important when taking pics of my kids!

Credits: nessy

This is important to me as I am a compulsive person and don’t want to mess around. I see a shot I want and I take it. I can always do this with the La Sardina.

I recently went to the Santa Parade in Auckland. I needed to get film urgently so I had to get it a full retail as I didn’t have any ISO 100 and it was very sunny. I had to spend a lot for one roll of film, but I didn’t mind as I knew La Sardina would do what I wanted it to.

Credits: nessy

It’s a very simple camera to operate, there is only one setting to worry about, either close up (within a meter) or infinity. So all I have to do is turn the lens and remember to wind on!

If you want to, you can flick a switch to do multiple exposures, or use the B mode to keep the shutter open for as long as you want. This allows for some cool special effects.

My version came with a flash, this is also very cool as you can set it’s strength for several distances. I’ve not really used it for anything other than fill flash, to get rid of shadows on a sunny day. It’s worth having it for that alone, it also has some cool filters for the flash to change the colour of the light, though I like my shots more natural than that; adam_g2000 loves those though!

My lovely La Sardina!

In short, if you want a camera that you can be fast with, gives you all of the coolness of a plastic lensed camera with the absolute simplicity of a point and shoot on 35mm film La Sardina is the one for you!

Get ready to sail the high seas with our new La Sardina collection! These 35mm cameras are equipped with spectacular wide-angle lens, multiple exposure capabilities, and a rewind dial—everything you need for fun-filled and thrill-soaked escapades. Get your own La Sardina camera now!

written by nessy on 2011-12-17 in #reviews #wide-angle #lomography #sardina #user-review #christmas #la-sardina

2 Comments

  1. neanderthalis
    neanderthalis ·

    Great pics and good luck with your new camera :D

  2. kidders
    kidders ·

    I LOVE my La Sardina. It was the 1st lomography camera I bought (I now have 4) and it's actually my favorite! I get very consistent shots I think because of the simplicity of the camera, I'm actually still trying to get to grips with my LC-A focus settings!

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-15 in #reviews
    Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    Exactly seven years ago, I bought this camera from Indonesia's local Lomography community. I remember having some savings in my bank account and just spending it all on this camera. At that time, I browsed the microsite for the Lomography Fisheye No.2 and immediately fell in love with it! Coincidentally, my friend who introduced me to Lomography just bought this same camera for his birthday. My life has changed ever since I had the Fisheye, my first lomographic camera.

    3
  • Pixelstick + Lomo'Instant: Take Light Painting to the Next Level

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-04-20 in #gear #lifestyle
    Pixelstick + Lomo'Instant: Take Light Painting to the Next Level

    Ever since the Pixelstick came out, I've been dying to try it out. This past week, I finally got my chance! With one goal in mind — getting some super cool light-painting shots — I grabbed some friends for an amazing session with my Lomo'Instant and the Pixelstick. Take a moment and have a look at these priceless pics!

    4
  • Far and Wide with the Russar+ Lens

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-10-09 in #lifestyle
    Far and Wide with the Russar+ Lens

    Paired with your camera of choice, the New Russar+ Lens can produce exceptional images wide-angle dreams are made of. Whether you're in the market for stunning landscapes or striking street photos, the Russar+ makes an ideal companion during those photographic expeditions. Dan from Lomography Hong Kong recently shot with the wide-angle wonder, and here are some of the photos from his shoot.

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    written by Wessel de Haas on 2015-02-13 in #gear #reviews
    Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    Some time ago, my parents-in-law gave me an old Polaroid camera that they used during my wife's childhood. After some investigation, I found out that Polaroid had stopped making instant film. But the factory in Enschedé, the Netherlands had been taken over by The Impossible Project, so I bought a package of fresh film and gave it a try!

  • "Tour de France" with the LC-Wide

    written by lomographyfrance on 2015-05-07 in #world #lifestyle #locations
     "Tour de France" with the LC-Wide

    The Lomo LC-Wide has a special place in the hearts of Lomographers and analog photography lovers. With its compact size, it's the best companion on trips or even as part of one's daily routine, and its wide 17mm wide angle lens tickles one's creativity. Recently, the LC-Wide explored France, yielding a photo diary of beautiful French cities and landscapes.

    1
  • Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    written by ichdaschaos on 2014-11-03 in #reviews
    Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    I've always wanted to have an instant camera, but what put me off were the expensive price of the film and the transience of the photos. But then I wasn't able to fight it any longer and bought myself an Instax Wide 210 set. Now, here is a review of the Fuji Instax Wide film.

    1
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • The Wonderful Adventures of the Petzval Lens

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-23 in #people #news
    The Wonderful Adventures of the Petzval Lens

    As all you lomographers will know, since its re-inception we have been following the tracks of the Petzval Lens. Indeed, this bokeh-genius has been traveling far and wide, falling into the hands of many a photographer the world over. We decided to put together this little catalog of talented artists and their most enticing photographs, shot using the Petzval lens, so we can show you what wonders and mischief we have brought upon us. Come take a look at the outcome of the Petzval’s transnational journey.

    4
  • Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2014-11-20 in #reviews
    Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    In April of this year I had the chance to test the Petzval Lens and to write a review on it for the German photography forum Kwerfeldein. The lens excited me from the very beginning, at the time it was introduced on Kickstarter. I was afraid that once I had tested the lens, I would want to have one of my own! Well, that’s what happened; a year later, I finally bought my very own Petzval lens.

    1
  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • My Day in Analogue: Living Between Three Cities - Bandung, Bogor, and Jakarta

    written by adi_totp on 2014-10-15 in #lifestyle
    My Day in Analogue: Living Between Three Cities - Bandung, Bogor, and Jakarta

    For the past three months, I've been living alternately between three cities: Bandung, Bogor, and Jakarta. I'm originally from Bandung. I now work in Bogor, sometimes in Jakarta. I could be in Bogor on a Friday, Bandung on a Saturday, and Jakarta on a Monday. Shuttling between these three cities, I don't forget to document what I see and experience with my LC-Wide.

    4
  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    The New Petzval Lens 85 continues to captivate the hearts of many photographers from its debut a couple of years back. A perfect balance between form and function, this lens closely mimics the look of the legendary Petzval lens of the 19th century and delivers eye-catching images with its signature tack sharp center and swirly bokeh background. Many photographers from both outside and inside the Lomography community have raved about the New Petzval 85. In this recap, we look back at four community-written reviews.