A Fish Called La Sardina (A Review)

2

It's a wonderful romantic comedy. Since adam_g2000 bought me my La Sardina I've been in love with its wide angled wonder-lens!

Credits: nessy

As a new photographer and Lomographer, I sometimes struggle to get to grips with remembering lots of settings and functions. This is one of the reasons why I love La Sardina so much. Not only is it a handsome camera, the design makes me chuckle every time I look at it. Even so, its simplicity allows me to just look at what I want to shoot and just shoot it—that’s really important when taking pics of my kids!

Credits: nessy

This is important to me as I am a compulsive person and don’t want to mess around. I see a shot I want and I take it. I can always do this with the La Sardina.

I recently went to the Santa Parade in Auckland. I needed to get film urgently so I had to get it a full retail as I didn’t have any ISO 100 and it was very sunny. I had to spend a lot for one roll of film, but I didn’t mind as I knew La Sardina would do what I wanted it to.

Credits: nessy

It’s a very simple camera to operate, there is only one setting to worry about, either close up (within a meter) or infinity. So all I have to do is turn the lens and remember to wind on!

If you want to, you can flick a switch to do multiple exposures, or use the B mode to keep the shutter open for as long as you want. This allows for some cool special effects.

My version came with a flash, this is also very cool as you can set it’s strength for several distances. I’ve not really used it for anything other than fill flash, to get rid of shadows on a sunny day. It’s worth having it for that alone, it also has some cool filters for the flash to change the colour of the light, though I like my shots more natural than that; adam_g2000 loves those though!

My lovely La Sardina!

In short, if you want a camera that you can be fast with, gives you all of the coolness of a plastic lensed camera with the absolute simplicity of a point and shoot on 35mm film La Sardina is the one for you!

Get ready to sail the high seas with our new La Sardina collection! These 35mm cameras are equipped with spectacular wide-angle lens, multiple exposure capabilities, and a rewind dial—everything you need for fun-filled and thrill-soaked escapades. Get your own La Sardina camera now!

written by nessy on 2011-12-17 in #reviews

2 Comments

  1. neanderthalis
    neanderthalis ·

    Great pics and good luck with your new camera :D

  2. kidders
    kidders ·

    I LOVE my La Sardina. It was the 1st lomography camera I bought (I now have 4) and it's actually my favorite! I get very consistent shots I think because of the simplicity of the camera, I'm actually still trying to get to grips with my LC-A focus settings!

More Interesting Articles

  • LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-21 in #reviews
    LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    I bought the LomoKino years ago, and since then I've been having great times with it. I will continue documenting my daily life with the LomoKino, which is Lomography in motion! You can see the movements and facial expressions of people - it’s priceless! Documenting life in moving pictures, the Lomokino can be used as a camera that not only shoots moving pictures but also works like the multi-frame wonder camera, Supersampler!

  • LC-A+ Goes To: Sevilla, Spain

    written by saidseni on 2014-06-23 in #world #locations
    LC-A+ Goes To: Sevilla, Spain

    Ever since I got my LC-A+, I've always taken it with me whenever I travel. This little wonder works awesome with any film, in every weather and cultural context. In Sevilla, Spain, it was no different.

    2
  • La Sardina Dresses: Your Camera's New Clothes

    written by dopa on 2014-05-27 in #reviews
    La Sardina Dresses: Your Camera's New Clothes

    I love my La Sardina camera and it was my first Lomography camera. But as time goes by, I've seen how often it's been used and how much I've abused it. There is a simple solution for this: the La Sardina Dresses!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Breathtaking Snapshots of Scenic Views Around the World Courtesy of the LC-A+ Wide Angle Lens

    written by chooolss on 2014-03-13 in #lifestyle
    Breathtaking Snapshots of Scenic Views Around the World Courtesy of the LC-A+ Wide Angle Lens

    See the world in a super wide, 120˚ view with the LC-A+ Wide Angle Lens!

    1
  • Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-15 in #reviews
    Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    Exactly seven years ago, I bought this camera from Indonesia's local Lomography community. I remember having some savings in my bank account and just spending it all on this camera. At that time, I browsed the microsite for the Lomography Fisheye No.2 and immediately fell in love with it! Coincidentally, my friend who introduced me to Lomography just bought this same camera for his birthday. My life has changed ever since I had the Fisheye, my first lomographic camera.

    3
  • Using a 20mm lens to take pictures from the top

    written by sirio174 on 2014-05-11 in #gear #tipster
    Using a 20mm lens to take pictures from the top

    While waiting for the new Lomography gem, the wonderful Russar+ lens, I took some photos at a fun fair with my wonderful Mir 20/3.5 super wide angle lens from the big panoramic wheel. Here I'll tell you some tips about the use of this kind of lens. Read more after the jump!

    1
  • Shop News

    Instant Scanning, Instant Sharing

    Instant Scanning, Instant Sharing

    The Smartphone Film Scanner offers Lomographers and analog lovers a quick, easy and portable way to scan 35mm films. Simply turn on the Smartphone Film Scanner back-light, insert your film, take a photo of it using your Smartphone and use your phone's camera or the specially-developed App (iPhone and Android versions available) to edit and share.

  • It's a wide, wide world! Sweeping snaps taken with the Lomo LC-A+ Wide-Angle Lens

    written by cheeo on 2014-05-08 in #lifestyle
    It's a wide, wide world! Sweeping snaps taken with the Lomo LC-A+ Wide-Angle Lens

    Sweep the scene with the fan favorite Lomo LC-A+ and its nifty partner in crime, the LC-A+ Wide-Angle Lens for those snaps that can make you go wide-eyed.

  • Far and Wide with the Russar+ Lens

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-10-09 in #lifestyle
    Far and Wide with the Russar+ Lens

    Paired with your camera of choice, the New Russar+ Lens can produce exceptional images wide-angle dreams are made of. Whether you're in the market for stunning landscapes or striking street photos, the Russar+ makes an ideal companion during those photographic expeditions. Dan from Lomography Hong Kong recently shot with the wide-angle wonder, and here are some of the photos from his shoot.

  • The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-16 in #news
    The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    We're ecstatic to read an in-depth review of the Lomography Petzval Lens, from the cool folks over at The Phoblographer. It's exciting to find out that, like us, they are in-love with the Petzval Lens too, so much that they gave it an impressive 4/5 rating! If you're thinking of getting a Petzval Lens, you'll find this featured review very useful. Check out an excerpt and the link to the full article after the jump!

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    written by ichdaschaos on 2014-11-03 in #reviews
    Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    I've always wanted to have an instant camera, but what put me off were the expensive price of the film and the transience of the photos. But then I wasn't able to fight it any longer and bought myself an Instax Wide 210 set. Now, here is a review of the Fuji Instax Wide film.

  • Simple Color Gels or Filters Holder for the Diana Mini's Flash

    written by grungyjodie on 2014-04-25 in #gear #tipster
    Simple Color Gels or Filters Holder for the Diana Mini's Flash

    I've always been looking for a really simple solution to hold my color gels of my Diana Mini's flash WITH the camera and make them easy to grab when I want to use them. I also wanted something to keep them from getting damaged. Let me show you how I found a simple way to make it.

  • Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2014-11-20 in #reviews
    Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    In April of this year I had the chance to test the Petzval Lens and to write a review on it for the German photography forum Kwerfeldein. The lens excited me from the very beginning, at the time it was introduced on Kickstarter. I was afraid that once I had tested the lens, I would want to have one of my own! Well, that’s what happened; a year later, I finally bought my very own Petzval lens.

    1