Easypix 400 (35mm, 400 iso) User-Review

5

An economical film for the budget conscious Lomographer and works great when you want to splash some crazy colours on everything that you snap!

This film can be bought at Shoppers Drug Mart. SDM is a Canadian pharmacy store and they have an in-store photo lab that sells this film called Easypix and it is made in Japan. You can get a roll or a pack of 3 for about 10 dollars and if you’re fortunate enough, sometimes it’s on sale for only 7 or even 5 dollars.

I really like Fuji X-tra for daytime shots, it always gave me great saturated colours while Easypix films don’t have such a nice colour, a bit dull by comparison, but they are much cheaper to play with. So I thought using a colorsplash flash might give it an extra colours it needed and it did worked! Even at night with artificial lights or in any situations where you really don’t mind about what you’re shooting would look like. It’s indeed a film you can experiment without the economical stress.

At Easypix, they will develop and scan the film for $2.99 (with prints, it’s around $7.99). Keep checking for the special offers on this film, they usually happen every after few weeks!

written by fash_on on 2009-07-15 in #reviews #colour-print #negative #colorsplash #400iso #night #easypix #35mm

5 Comments

  1. stouf
    stouf ·

    Well, the results are excellent for such a low price ! Good job !

  2. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    Especially # 10 and 11 are remarkable.....

  3. dogma
    dogma ·

    Wow cool film!

  4. fash_on
    fash_on ·

    thx for the nice comments :D

  5. ennev
    ennev ·

    Was curious of the origin of the film, this article help a bit, putting it in Japan. Will try it in my Diana-M :-)

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Fun Times Trying Out Lomochrome Purple with Color Filters

    written by alienmeatsack on 2014-08-13 in #gear #tipster
    Fun Times Trying Out Lomochrome Purple with Color Filters

    Do you love Lomography's Lomochrome Purple XR 100-400 film? Me too! So let's see what it does when we shoot it through an assortment of color filters. I tried to document everything well enough that others could replicate and experiment on their own. I hope you find it useful.

    10
  • Strange Beauty Show and Lomography Chicago Present: Lima to Chicago: A Lomo Film Swap with peru

    written by lomographychicago on 2014-09-19 in #events
    Strange Beauty Show and Lomography Chicago Present: Lima to Chicago: A Lomo Film Swap with peru

    We've been working all summer on a film swap with Lomography Peru and we want you to join us on Thursday September 25, from 7 to 10 pm at Strange Beauty Show for our gallery opening! It's going to be a great time and we hope to see you there!

    1
  • Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    written by Xiang Cong Tham on 2015-02-22 in #gear #reviews
    Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    A lot of lomographers have experienced using and even writing about the greatness of the Lomography Earl Grey black and white 35mm ISO 100 film. However, no one has written about using an expired Earl Grey film yet. How does it fare when it is used expired? Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • LomoAmigos Yougofirst Shoot With The LomoKino In Their New Snowboard Movie

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-09 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigos Yougofirst Shoot With The LomoKino In Their New Snowboard Movie

    Are you ready for an adrenaline rush? A little while ago, we teamed up with the snowboard and film-making collective Yougofirst and gave them a LomoKino and some film rolls to play with. After a season of crazy riding, jumps and tricks, they have finished their latest movie HETEROTOPIA which features footage shot with our 35mm movie-maker. We had the chance to catch up with Vid and Matic from the collective about the new movie and their experiences shooting analogue on the slopes. It's also our pleasure to showcase the movie here!

  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

    1
  • Newcomer of the Week: kristenwithacamera

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-06-21 in #world #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: kristenwithacamera

    Shooting on film is an integral part of Kristen's identity. She mostly dedicates her work to Upstate New York, specifically the Catskill Mountains, where she grew up. Falling in love with the LomoChrome Purple's charm led her to setting up a LomoHome. In this interview, she talks more about her passion for shooting in purple and her upcoming exhibit featuring some of her LomoChrome Purple photographs that she printed on metal.

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Angela Izzo on Shooting with the Diana Mini, Photographing Musicians, and Then Some

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-29 in #people #lifestyle
    Angela Izzo on Shooting with the Diana Mini, Photographing Musicians, and Then Some

    While many of us can only dream of working with musicians and photographing them, Angela Izzo's job entails exactly that. Apparently, this is a fulfillment of her own dream that she had when she was younger. In this interview, Izzo talks about her beginnings which, of course, included going to as many shows and festivals as she possibly can; some of her most memorable on-the-job-experiences with the likes of The Doors, Lykke Li, Jack White, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, and Chris Robinson Brotherhood; her inspirations and other interests; and her love for film photography and Diana Mini. And to those looking into fulfilling their own dreams of working in the same industry, Izzo also shares helpful advice based on her own experiences.

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Photo Stories: Iskra, Damaged Film, Surviving Photos by herbert-4

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-07-07 in #world #lifestyle
    Photo Stories: Iskra, Damaged Film, Surviving Photos by herbert-4

    Today’s featured member, Herbert, gives the impression that he is interested in people as much as he loves cameras—and he has many vintage treasures. Even a casual snapshot of his has a story that suggests curiosity about the people he photographs.

    1