Kodak bw400 CN (120, 400 iso) User-Review

10

This is a medium format 400-speed B&W chromogenic film that produces amazing results!

I only use B&W film on rainy/dark days, but I live in Portugal, so although I love this kind film, I rarely use it, as you can imagine!

A few weeks ago, me and my friend went to an abandoned factory. We were going to shoot mostly indoors and it was a very cloudy day, so I thought it was better to take B&W film along with my trusty Holga. I also used it later to take a couple of shots in a screen-printing workshop (very little light in the room, so I had to use the flash). The pictures came out great, some even better than I expected!

This medium format film is perfect to use in any situation, but it works indoors much better. Another great thing about it is that it’s processed in colour negative chemistry (C-41) and printed on colour negative paper, so it’s very cheap and fast! I also love the grain and the smooth tones, they give a sweet vintage touch.

Some people might say that this film is not B&W (not the “real thing”), but I think the results beg to differ! I loved them and I will definitely use this film again!

written by paper_doll on 2009-04-15 in #reviews #bw #400-iso #c-41 #b-w #holga #120 #medium-format #kodak #bw-400-cn

10 Comments

  1. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    You are right - the results turned out awesome!

  2. paper_doll
    paper_doll ·

    thanks!

  3. stouf
    stouf ·

    Great review and gallery !!!

  4. babo
    babo ·

    Adorei! Tb gosto muito do portra BW, mas ainda so o usei em 35mm

  5. paper_doll
    paper_doll ·

    mas este não é portra! percebeste isso, certo? :) thanks

  6. irbypace
    irbypace ·

    how did you do the slideshow? can you tell me on my home?

  7. zulupt
    zulupt ·

    Grande review e fotos, parabens!!!
    Great review!

  8. afd_lsi
    afd_lsi ·

    Nice review!

  9. altprocess
    altprocess ·

    Good review that should help anyone that wants black and white images but cannot find a place to process them. It is certainly cheaper to get them processed than traditional black and white. However, I still prefer traditional black and white film. I do not like the tonal range of this film and depending where you get it processed the negatives can turn out with a purplish hue and often print that way. Again, the review is well done but this is not a film I'll buy again.

  10. paper_doll
    paper_doll ·

    thanks everyone!

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Photo of the Day by gauthierdumonde

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-25 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by gauthierdumonde

    One of things lomographers love about shooting on film is its unpredictability, an inherent trait of the medium that never fails to produce astonishing results.

    10
  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120) Rumble Winners

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-08-10 in #people
    Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120) Rumble Winners

    Looking for a versatile film that's suitable for all lighting condition? A roll of Lomography CN 400 (120) is all you need!

    6
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Shooting Parades with a Sprocket Rocket and a Bunch of Holgas

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-07-20 in #world #lifestyle
    Shooting Parades with a Sprocket Rocket and a Bunch of Holgas

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form on Amazon.com. In this article, Healy shares two recent photo outings where she used 35mm and medium format films.

  • Sumptuous New Squares: Take a Peek at these Latest LC-A 120 Snaps!

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-09-26 in #lifestyle
    Sumptuous New Squares: Take a Peek at these Latest LC-A 120 Snaps!

    It's been a little while since we've shared the latest shots taken with the brand new LC-A 120 with you. But that just means we have a fantastic collection to show you today! Our testers from around the world have been shooting from the hip and with the heart to capture their daily lives with this medium format master. Skip past the jump to spy into some Lomographic lives!

    1
  • The Analogue Quiz: What B&W Film are you?

    written by andie_sollmer on 2014-10-20 in #news
    The Analogue Quiz: What B&W Film are you?

    Did you ever think about the myth that we actually dream in Black & White? No colors, maybe no truth behind it anyways. But we know for a fact that you can create the most dreamy photographs with an analogue camera. And for that you need the right film. Scroll down and find out which B&W film is the film of your dreams!

    5
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Fresh from the Lab: One Roll of Film and the Lubitel 166U

    written by fadjaradiputra on 2014-11-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: One Roll of Film and the Lubitel 166U

    Adi, Ekeu, and I did a lomowalk around downtown Bandung last Saturday, the beginning of November. We planned to use our Lubitel cameras with only one roll of film each. We were inspired by the One Roll of Film Project by four Tokyo-based photographers with their Hasselblad cameras. This is about the one roll of film I shot with the Lubitel 166U, which made me love shooting in medium format even more.

    8
  • Going Monochrome with the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-06-26 in #gear
    Going Monochrome with the Lomo'Instant

    If you've ever used the Lomo'Instant camera, you know that the Fujifilm Instax Mini film ensures amazing and sharp results with vivid colors and natural skin tones. And although we love it the way it is, we also love to experiment. This time we ventured out with monochrome on our minds and got some pretty crazy results — check it out!

    1
  • LomoChrome Turquoise Film: Transform Ordinary Photos Into Magical Scenes

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-04-07 in #gear #lifestyle
    LomoChrome Turquoise Film: Transform Ordinary Photos Into Magical Scenes

    LomoChrome Turquoise XR 100-400 is a regular color negative film which gives fantastic results. Color tones transform from one color spectrum to the next, and in turn, create wild and wonderful outcomes! Let this colorful gallery inspire you to try out our limited-edition film!