Kodak bw400 CN (120, 400 iso) User-Review

10

This is a medium format 400-speed B&W chromogenic film that produces amazing results!

I only use B&W film on rainy/dark days, but I live in Portugal, so although I love this kind film, I rarely use it, as you can imagine!

A few weeks ago, me and my friend went to an abandoned factory. We were going to shoot mostly indoors and it was a very cloudy day, so I thought it was better to take B&W film along with my trusty Holga. I also used it later to take a couple of shots in a screen-printing workshop (very little light in the room, so I had to use the flash). The pictures came out great, some even better than I expected!

This medium format film is perfect to use in any situation, but it works indoors much better. Another great thing about it is that it’s processed in colour negative chemistry (C-41) and printed on colour negative paper, so it’s very cheap and fast! I also love the grain and the smooth tones, they give a sweet vintage touch.

Some people might say that this film is not B&W (not the “real thing”), but I think the results beg to differ! I loved them and I will definitely use this film again!

written by paper_doll on 2009-04-15 in #reviews #bw #medium-format #400-iso #kodak #b-w #120 #bw-400-cn #c-41 #holga

10 Comments

  1. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    You are right - the results turned out awesome!

  2. paper_doll
    paper_doll ·

    thanks!

  3. stouf
    stouf ·

    Great review and gallery !!!

  4. babo
    babo ·

    Adorei! Tb gosto muito do portra BW, mas ainda so o usei em 35mm

  5. paper_doll
    paper_doll ·

    mas este não é portra! percebeste isso, certo? :) thanks

  6. irbypace
    irbypace ·

    how did you do the slideshow? can you tell me on my home?

  7. zulupt
    zulupt ·

    Grande review e fotos, parabens!!!
    Great review!

  8. afd_lsi
    afd_lsi ·

    Nice review!

  9. altprocess
    altprocess ·

    Good review that should help anyone that wants black and white images but cannot find a place to process them. It is certainly cheaper to get them processed than traditional black and white. However, I still prefer traditional black and white film. I do not like the tonal range of this film and depending where you get it processed the negatives can turn out with a purplish hue and often print that way. Again, the review is well done but this is not a film I'll buy again.

  10. paper_doll
    paper_doll ·

    thanks everyone!

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • Shop News

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Shoot more with LC-A 120 without breaking your budget! The Phoblographer Editor’s Choice Award Winner now comes in a Bundle with 120 format film at 15% off!

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Sumptuous New Squares: Take a Peek at these Latest LC-A 120 Snaps!

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-09-26 in #lifestyle
    Sumptuous New Squares: Take a Peek at these Latest LC-A 120 Snaps!

    It's been a little while since we've shared the latest shots taken with the brand new LC-A 120 with you. But that just means we have a fantastic collection to show you today! Our testers from around the world have been shooting from the hip and with the heart to capture their daily lives with this medium format master. Skip past the jump to spy into some Lomographic lives!

    1
  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Shoot wider and bigger with this new instax camera that has film format twice the size of the instax mini films!

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • The Analogue Quiz: What B&W Film are you?

    written by andie_sollmer on 2014-10-20 in #news
    The Analogue Quiz: What B&W Film are you?

    Did you ever think about the myth that we actually dream in Black & White? No colors, maybe no truth behind it anyways. But we know for a fact that you can create the most dreamy photographs with an analogue camera. And for that you need the right film. Scroll down and find out which B&W film is the film of your dreams!

    5
  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Shop News

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ and Diana+ 75mm Premium Glass Lens are now ready to give you the best shots with vignetting effects, crisp quality shots together with the signature dreamy appeal of the Diana! Save 15% on the Glass Lens in this Bundle!

  • Fresh from the Lab: One Roll of Film and the Lubitel 166U

    written by fadjaradiputra on 2014-11-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: One Roll of Film and the Lubitel 166U

    Adi, Ekeu, and I did a lomowalk around downtown Bandung last Saturday, the beginning of November. We planned to use our Lubitel cameras with only one roll of film each. We were inspired by the One Roll of Film Project by four Tokyo-based photographers with their Hasselblad cameras. This is about the one roll of film I shot with the Lubitel 166U, which made me love shooting in medium format even more.

    8
  • LomoChrome Turquoise Film: Transform Ordinary Photos Into Magical Scenes

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-04-07 in #gear #lifestyle
    LomoChrome Turquoise Film: Transform Ordinary Photos Into Magical Scenes

    LomoChrome Turquoise XR 100-400 is a regular color negative film which gives fantastic results. Color tones transform from one color spectrum to the next, and in turn, create wild and wonderful outcomes! Let this colorful gallery inspire you to try out our limited-edition film!

  • Shooting Analogue with the New Petzval Lens

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2014-10-07 in #people #lifestyle
    Shooting Analogue with the New Petzval Lens

    The New Lomography Petzval Lens is, without a doubt, a striking innovation that has impressed analogue and digital shooters alike. The Petzval works seamlessly with both platforms, producing exceptional and oftentimes dreamy, bokeh-rich images. There are, however, photographers who prefer to shoot analogue and are oblivious to the lure of digital imagery. Here are a few photographers who have chosen film as their go-to medium, and and the Petzval as their ally.