Kodak bw400 CN (120, 400 iso) User-Review

10

This is a medium format 400-speed B&W chromogenic film that produces amazing results!

I only use B&W film on rainy/dark days, but I live in Portugal, so although I love this kind film, I rarely use it, as you can imagine!

A few weeks ago, me and my friend went to an abandoned factory. We were going to shoot mostly indoors and it was a very cloudy day, so I thought it was better to take B&W film along with my trusty Holga. I also used it later to take a couple of shots in a screen-printing workshop (very little light in the room, so I had to use the flash). The pictures came out great, some even better than I expected!

This medium format film is perfect to use in any situation, but it works indoors much better. Another great thing about it is that it’s processed in colour negative chemistry (C-41) and printed on colour negative paper, so it’s very cheap and fast! I also love the grain and the smooth tones, they give a sweet vintage touch.

Some people might say that this film is not B&W (not the “real thing”), but I think the results beg to differ! I loved them and I will definitely use this film again!

written by paper_doll on 2009-04-15 in #reviews #400-iso #b-w #120 #medium-format #kodak #holga #c-41 #bw #bw-400-cn

10 Comments

  1. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    You are right - the results turned out awesome!

  2. paper_doll
    paper_doll ·

    thanks!

  3. stouf
    stouf ·

    Great review and gallery !!!

  4. babo
    babo ·

    Adorei! Tb gosto muito do portra BW, mas ainda so o usei em 35mm

  5. paper_doll
    paper_doll ·

    mas este não é portra! percebeste isso, certo? :) thanks

  6. irbypace
    irbypace ·

    how did you do the slideshow? can you tell me on my home?

  7. zulupt
    zulupt ·

    Grande review e fotos, parabens!!!
    Great review!

  8. afd_lsi
    afd_lsi ·

    Nice review!

  9. altprocess
    altprocess ·

    Good review that should help anyone that wants black and white images but cannot find a place to process them. It is certainly cheaper to get them processed than traditional black and white. However, I still prefer traditional black and white film. I do not like the tonal range of this film and depending where you get it processed the negatives can turn out with a purplish hue and often print that way. Again, the review is well done but this is not a film I'll buy again.

  10. paper_doll
    paper_doll ·

    thanks everyone!

More Interesting Articles

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 in #world #news #competitions
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2
  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Photo of the Day by gauthierdumonde

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-25 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by gauthierdumonde

    One of things lomographers love about shooting on film is its unpredictability, an inherent trait of the medium that never fails to produce astonishing results.

    10
  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120) Rumble Winners

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-08-10 in #people
    Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120) Rumble Winners

    Looking for a versatile film that's suitable for all lighting condition? A roll of Lomography CN 400 (120) is all you need!

    6
  • Shop News

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Never go wrong with amount of light entering your lenses. Perfect for any photo shoots, very handy, lightweight and extremely versatile!

  • Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-10-05 in #people #lomoamigos
    Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    Robin Rimbaud is a UK based artist, record producer, and composer who works under the name "Scanner" in reference to his use of mobile phone signals and police scanners in his early performances. He has worked on soundtracks for films, sound installations, radio, dance and theater. Robin also has a passion for medium format photography, owns a Holga camera and has a unique photographic style. Get to know him in this interview, where he talks about his personal work as well as his experience with the Lomo LC-A 120.

  • Scenes from Istanbul: Stephen Dowling and the LC-A 120

    written by Lomography London on 2015-12-03 in #world #lomoamigos
    Scenes from Istanbul: Stephen Dowling and the LC-A 120

    Stephen Dowling is no stranger to the LC-A 120 camera; he has brought it on trips to Brighton, Malta and most recently, on a holiday in Istanbul. In this feature, Stephen talks about his experience shooting with this medium format camera around the markets and mosques of one of Turkey's most colourful and vibrant cities.

    1
  • Shooting Parades with a Sprocket Rocket and a Bunch of Holgas

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-07-20 in #world #lifestyle
    Shooting Parades with a Sprocket Rocket and a Bunch of Holgas

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form on Amazon.com. In this article, Healy shares two recent photo outings where she used 35mm and medium format films.

  • Shop News

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    The ultra-lightweight, low-maintenance 35mm camera that fits perfectly in your hand for some wild and spontaneous shooting!

  • Going Monochrome with the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-06-26 in #gear
    Going Monochrome with the Lomo'Instant

    If you've ever used the Lomo'Instant camera, you know that the Fujifilm Instax Mini film ensures amazing and sharp results with vivid colors and natural skin tones. And although we love it the way it is, we also love to experiment. This time we ventured out with monochrome on our minds and got some pretty crazy results — check it out!

    1
  • Lomography x LIFE Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-09-25 in #world #competitions
    Lomography x LIFE Rumble

    ‘LIFE’ is a film that tells the story of photographer Dennis Stock who was assigned to photograph James Dean and inadvertently produced some of the most iconic photographs of the star. The film is released this week and we are offering some lucky people the chance to win a DVD, a book of photographs by Dennis Stock, signed posters and a LomoKino.

  • LomoChrome Turquoise Film: Transform Ordinary Photos Into Magical Scenes

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-04-07 in #gear #lifestyle
    LomoChrome Turquoise Film: Transform Ordinary Photos Into Magical Scenes

    LomoChrome Turquoise XR 100-400 is a regular color negative film which gives fantastic results. Color tones transform from one color spectrum to the next, and in turn, create wild and wonderful outcomes! Let this colorful gallery inspire you to try out our limited-edition film!