Kodak Portra 160VC (120, 160 iso) User-Review

16

My favourite film for landscapes! I know that landscapes always look good with slide, but with Portra VC, the result is always perfect!

I have to confess, though Portra is a professionnal Kodak film made for portraits (and studio), I still love its vivid colors(VC) and I often load my square boxes (Holga and Diana) with it, and shoot landscapes.
It is known that landscapes are for slide films, but with Portra VC, the colours are always right on. Its is fine grain and the sharpness are unique.

Compared to Fuji 160 PRO, Kodak Portra VC’s tones are warm. It maybe an expensive film but it is so worth the price and I recommend it to all Lomographers who want beautiful pics!

written by azurblue on 2009-04-19 in #reviews

16 Comments

  1. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    Wow these are amazing shots.

  2. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    spectacular images
    N2 is Wadi Ram in Jordan? :)

  3. xpunklovex
    xpunklovex ·

    Sublimes tes photos !

  4. -a-l-b-e-r-t-o-
    -a-l-b-e-r-t-o- ·

    great, great shots...

  5. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Beautiful shots and a great film for sure!

  6. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    these shots are incredible... these colors... WOW

  7. lomodirk
    lomodirk ·

    great shots, well done :)

  8. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    i love your shots! its clarity is awesome!

  9. stouf
    stouf ·

    C'est tellement beau... I'm convinced I will get some !

  10. grenoouille
    grenoouille ·

    Magnifique!

  11. momac
    momac ·

    beautiful beautiful shots

  12. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Wow ! Thank you very much for the comments !

  13. pantsuitugggh
    pantsuitugggh ·

    These are shit.

  14. susieleelou
    susieleelou ·

    Sweet!

  15. trw
    trw ·

    Amazing photos!

  16. redfactor
    redfactor ·

    beautiful!!!!

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Film Manipulation: Kodak Slides and Bleach

    written by neonlights on 2014-07-30 in #gear #tipster
    Film Manipulation: Kodak Slides and Bleach

    I want to share with you my experience with some slides when I was in Russia. I'm very sorry for them because I messed them up. They're just ruined and they'll never be the same! But hey, I have thousands of them, so I guess it's not a big deal after all.

    4
  • My Day in Analogue: Lazy Summer Days at Home

    written by jokelangens on 2014-08-27 in #lifestyle
    My Day in Analogue: Lazy Summer Days at Home

    Every summer, my soul screams for a lazy, hot day back at my parents' home, for some good food, relaxation, and catching up with childhood friends. This year is no different, so I went back down to my small hometown in the very northeast of Belgium to enjoy a perfect laid back day doing nothing and everything. And of course, I brought my analogue cameras along to eternalize all of these small but grand moments in life.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    12
  • My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    written by murdoc_niccals on 2014-12-15 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    Hi, everyone! I'd like to share with you my 2014 summary on analogue photography. Some things I did were completely new, while some were my good old habits. This year I learned how to develop black and white film, which I consider my greatest milestone. But the most important thing is that in 2014, I remain in love with Lomography! And the rest? Well, let's see...

    3
  • Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-20 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    Recently, I used my trusty Fuji Silvi. It may not be my all-time favorite camera, but I just wanted to use it because I kind of missed shooting with it. So I decided to look through my film stash to see what I could use with the Fuji Silvi. After much consideration, I ended up picking the old Agfa CT Precisa ISO 100 to get that classic blue tone. Silvia Precisa!

    2
  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • My First Lomo Affair: Wesco and his La Sardina

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-17 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Wesco and his La Sardina

    It may take a while for some lomographers to figure out the perfect combination of camera, film, and accessory that suit their needs. But, Wessel de Haas, aka wesco, has been extremely lucky to find his early on his journey to Lomography. Find out what film and accessory he likes pairing his La Sardina 8Ball with in this edition of My First Lomo Affair!

    2
  • From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    written by zonderbar on 2014-08-04 in #people #lomoamigos
    From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    I don't know many bands from Russia but one that I've been admiring for years is Motorama from Rostov-on-Don. With catchy tunes and adorable videos, they took my heart by storm and that of fans from all over the world. Because of their Russian origin, Motorama is of course familiar with Lomo products. Reason enough to let them become our latest LomoAmigos! Enjoy the interview with singer Vlad and check out their B&W photos, taken with a La Sardina Splendour.

  • To Russia with Love (Part 3)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-03 in #people #lifestyle #locations
    To Russia with Love (Part 3)

    In the third and final installment of his Russian love story, Herr Willie recalls some of the most memorable experiences from his trips to post-Soviet Russia, including traveling aboard the Trans-Siberian Railway and shooting with the La Sardina for Lomography on assignment, and waxes nostalgic about all the amazing people he had met.

    5
  • Shop News

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Build vivid hanging LomoCurtains, robust free-standing LomoCastles, and dazzling mounted LomoMosaics! Just click them together with the Lomography Photoclips!

  • Snap Up This Brand New Instant Grand Slam Package - Lomo’Instant Boston Edition

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-03 in #gear #news
    Snap Up This Brand New Instant Grand Slam Package - Lomo’Instant Boston Edition

    We are very excited to introduce the latest addition to the Lomo’Instant family, the Lomo’Instant Boston Edition. The Boston only made it to first base when it appeared in our Kickstarter campaign but by the raucous applause we got from you guys, it’s in it for the homerun!

    1
  • Sizer77 is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-03 in #world #news
    Sizer77 is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to sizer77 for winning Home of the Day!

  • Photo of the Day by zorki

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-03 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by zorki

    With its vivid colors and dramatic lighting, this photograph of a lone deer is definitely one for the books.