Mega-Rare Camera Find: Cosina CX7

1

A short review on the Cosina CX7, a really rare camera I got on eBay a few months back. There is hardly any information on this anywhere! I haven't seen this camera before so I though I should get it and see what it can do!

I got this mega-rare camera on eBay a few months back. I haven’t seen one before so I had to have it and see what it can do. It is a rather chunky thing with red and cream graphics on the front. It states that it has automatic focus and is flash loading! The lens is hidden (as with the earlier CX models) by a push down plastic front. Always a good idea to help protect your precious lens! The lens itself is a Cosinon 1:3:5 33mm.

Another bonus on from this camera which you never got from the older CX cameras is that it has an integrated pop up flash! The flash is a bit slow at warming up, but it is around 30+ years old, so I will let it off as it does still work! It also has an ASA range of only 64-400.

So, what can it do?

It does seem to work quite well but the closest it focuses is something like 1.2 meters so not that close, but not too bad for everything else. It gets confused sometimes about what I want to take a photo of and does some crazy focusing on some pictures!

Here are some examples of the colour shots I took with it.

And here are some of the pictures it created with Agfa APX 100 ASA black and white film. I do think it prefers black and white more that colour as the lens is super sharp and makes the black and white shots look awesome!

It isn’t a bad camera, but I have played with more sane cameras that obey all of your commands… But if you want a semi temperamental compact camera what will give you some very weird focusing skills have a go at this; if you can find one, that is!

written by explorette on 2011-11-28 in #reviews #cx7 #cx #rare #camera #review #lomography #cosina #cosina-cx7 #user-review #explorette

One Comment

  1. gvelasco
    gvelasco ·

    Interesting camera. Interesting results. Thanks for the detailed review.

More Interesting Articles

  • Sprocket Rocket: a Great Camera for Your Beach Life!

    written by sirio174 on 2014-07-09 in #reviews
    Sprocket Rocket: a Great Camera for Your Beach Life!

    If you are looking for a panoramic camera to document your adventures on the beach, you should try the Sprocket Rocket. It's easy to use, cheap, and can get you amazing results! In this article, you can see how I used this camera to document a short vacation in Liguria, from Varazze to Alassio. Take a look after the jump!

    1
  • LC-A Goes To: Saint Petersburg, Russia

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-05 in #world #locations
    LC-A Goes To: Saint Petersburg, Russia

    As the iconic LC-A celebrates its 30th birthday this month, we think it's only timely that we look back to Lomography's roots and shine the spotlight on the camera's birthplace, Saint Petersburg. If you haven't been there yourself, or if you have and simply wanted to be reminded of the beauty of the place, we've compiled a few select lomographs taken using no less than the LC-A by our community members!

  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    6
  • Shop News

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    Enjoy a truly analogue moviemaking experience with Lomography's 35mm movie camera and an accompanying accessory to watch your films with. View your masterpieces in the most analogue way possible with the LomoKinoscope. Get it now 20% off the regular price!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Meet our LomoGuru Roger Lean

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-06-13 in #news
    Meet our LomoGuru Roger Lean

    Roger Lean is the master of the LC-A. If you have a faulty LC-A, he is the man who can fix it for you. We gave him a bunch of cameras a few months ago; he worked his magic and fixed them all! As part of the LC-A's 30th Anniversary celebrations, were are offering these refurbished cameras with an incredible discount. Read on for more information.

    1
  • LomoChrome Purple 120 and 35mm: Expect the Radical!

    written by myahcat on 2014-08-01 in #reviews
    LomoChrome Purple 120 and 35mm: Expect the Radical!

    I was given a roll of LomoChrome Purple 120 by a friend who was keen for me to try it out since he didn't have a medium format camera. I really didn't expect the results I got when I took it out for a test run on a bright winter's day in London.

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Free Express Shipping Deals for a Very Limited Time

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-19 in #news
    Free Express Shipping Deals for a Very Limited Time

    Are you a procrastinator when it comes to holiday shopping? Perhaps you just now realized we have the perfect gifts for your loved ones? Whatever the case, we've got you covered with our incredible free express shipping deals across the world! Depending on what country you order from, any order over €150/£150/$200 may qualify for free express shipping before the cut off dates. Scroll down to see the details of this super offer!

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    written by Maaike van Stratum on 2015-04-12 in #world #lifestyle
    12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    My list of resolutions for 2015 consists of 12 projects, one for every month. March was for caffenol. You have probably heard of the amazing fact that you can develop black and white photos with coffee, sodium, and vitamin C. I had tried this before but with less than stellar results. Somehow, there's always something going wrong. Time to devote a few rolls to caffenol to finally get the hang of it.

    1
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Fresh From the Lab: Take Off Your Socks and Shoes - It's Summertime!

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-20 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: Take Off Your Socks and Shoes - It's Summertime!

    Every year, just a few weeks before summer, I dedicate a series of photos to the joy of living outdoors in this good season. One of the most common pleasures is taking one's socks and shoes off to feel the first warm rays of sun on our pale feet, which were prisoners inside shoes throughout the long winter season. So, it's time to take off your socks and shoes and relax barefoot! Where? Of course, on the walls surrounding the beautiful lake! Take a look!

  • Derek Woods' 365 Days of Lomography Recap - March 8-21

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-23 in #people #news
    Derek Woods' 365 Days of Lomography Recap - March 8-21

    Tasteful nudes, candid portraits, and landscapes comprise today's update. Please note that a couple of images in this post are NSFW.

  • A Salute to the Masters: Paestum (A Tribute to Serge Moulinier)

    written by sirio174 on 2015-05-23 in #world #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Paestum (A Tribute to Serge Moulinier)

    This article is dedicated to Serge Moulinier, a largely unknown French photographer who won one of the most important prizes in France with a book on Greek architecture. Strangely, few information can be found on the Internet about this great photographer whose work had also been published in an important essay written by the famous John Szarkowski, former Director of Photography at the Museum of Modern Art in New York.