Mega-Rare Camera Find: Cosina CX7

1

A short review on the Cosina CX7, a really rare camera I got on eBay a few months back. There is hardly any information on this anywhere! I haven't seen this camera before so I though I should get it and see what it can do!

I got this mega-rare camera on eBay a few months back. I haven’t seen one before so I had to have it and see what it can do. It is a rather chunky thing with red and cream graphics on the front. It states that it has automatic focus and is flash loading! The lens is hidden (as with the earlier CX models) by a push down plastic front. Always a good idea to help protect your precious lens! The lens itself is a Cosinon 1:3:5 33mm.

Another bonus on from this camera which you never got from the older CX cameras is that it has an integrated pop up flash! The flash is a bit slow at warming up, but it is around 30+ years old, so I will let it off as it does still work! It also has an ASA range of only 64-400.

So, what can it do?

It does seem to work quite well but the closest it focuses is something like 1.2 meters so not that close, but not too bad for everything else. It gets confused sometimes about what I want to take a photo of and does some crazy focusing on some pictures!

Here are some examples of the colour shots I took with it.

And here are some of the pictures it created with Agfa APX 100 ASA black and white film. I do think it prefers black and white more that colour as the lens is super sharp and makes the black and white shots look awesome!

It isn’t a bad camera, but I have played with more sane cameras that obey all of your commands… But if you want a semi temperamental compact camera what will give you some very weird focusing skills have a go at this; if you can find one, that is!

written by explorette on 2011-11-28 in #reviews

One Comment

  1. gvelasco
    gvelasco ·

    Interesting camera. Interesting results. Thanks for the detailed review.

More Interesting Articles

  • Sprocket Rocket: a Great Camera for Your Beach Life!

    written by sirio174 on 2014-07-09 in #reviews
    Sprocket Rocket: a Great Camera for Your Beach Life!

    If you are looking for a panoramic camera to document your adventures on the beach, you should try the Sprocket Rocket. It's easy to use, cheap, and can get you amazing results! In this article, you can see how I used this camera to document a short vacation in Liguria, from Varazze to Alassio. Take a look after the jump!

  • LC-A Goes To: Saint Petersburg, Russia

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-05 in #world #locations
    LC-A Goes To: Saint Petersburg, Russia

    As the iconic LC-A celebrates its 30th birthday this month, we think it's only timely that we look back to Lomography's roots and shine the spotlight on the camera's birthplace, Saint Petersburg. If you haven't been there yourself, or if you have and simply wanted to be reminded of the beauty of the place, we've compiled a few select lomographs taken using no less than the LC-A by our community members!

  • Meet our LomoGuru Roger Lean

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-06-13 in #news
    Meet our LomoGuru Roger Lean

    Roger Lean is the master of the LC-A. If you have a faulty LC-A, he is the man who can fix it for you. We gave him a bunch of cameras a few months ago; he worked his magic and fixed them all! As part of the LC-A's 30th Anniversary celebrations, were are offering these refurbished cameras with an incredible discount. Read on for more information.

    1
  • Shop News

    Get all the Filters you need to tickle out the most of your shots!

    Get all the Filters you need to tickle out the most of your shots!

    We have prepared a special set of filters to boost up your creative possibilities with the Petzval or any other lens with a 58mm filter mount. Get all in one set or pick your favourite and step up your game!

  • LomoChrome Purple 120 and 35mm: Expect the Radical!

    written by myahcat on 2014-08-01 in #reviews
    LomoChrome Purple 120 and 35mm: Expect the Radical!

    I was given a roll of LomoChrome Purple 120 by a friend who was keen for me to try it out since he didn't have a medium format camera. I really didn't expect the results I got when I took it out for a test run on a bright winter's day in London.

  • Free Express Shipping Deals for a Very Limited Time

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-19 in #news
    Free Express Shipping Deals for a Very Limited Time

    Are you a procrastinator when it comes to holiday shopping? Perhaps you just now realized we have the perfect gifts for your loved ones? Whatever the case, we've got you covered with our incredible free express shipping deals across the world! Depending on what country you order from, any order over €150/£150/$200 may qualify for free express shipping before the cut off dates. Scroll down to see the details of this super offer!

  • Fresh From the Lab: Take Off Your Socks and Shoes - It's Summertime!

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-20 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: Take Off Your Socks and Shoes - It's Summertime!

    Every year, just a few weeks before summer, I dedicate a series of photos to the joy of living outdoors in this good season. One of the most common pleasures is taking one's socks and shoes off to feel the first warm rays of sun on our pale feet, which were prisoners inside shoes throughout the long winter season. So, it's time to take off your socks and shoes and relax barefoot! Where? Of course, on the walls surrounding the beautiful lake! Take a look!

  • Shop News

    Instant Scanning, Instant Sharing

    Instant Scanning, Instant Sharing

    The Smartphone Film Scanner offers Lomographers and analog lovers a quick, easy and portable way to scan 35mm films. Simply turn on the Smartphone Film Scanner back-light, insert your film, take a photo of it using your Smartphone and use your phone's camera or the specially-developed App (iPhone and Android versions available) to edit and share.

  • Testing the ONDU Pinhole Camera Around Germany

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-03-01 in #world #reviews
    Testing the ONDU Pinhole Camera Around Germany

    A few months ago, Lomography made available a whole range of pinhole cameras made out of premium wood. Interested on knowing how good they are, I brought the medium format one on my last trip to Germany.

  • Ponzi is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-03-01 in #world #news
    Ponzi is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to ponzi for winning Home of the Day!

    2
  • Photo of the Day by freerangechicken

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-01 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by freerangechicken

    Do you think you can beat this kid at doing handstand?

  • Shop News

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Fly over to our 30% Discount Section to discover previously unavailable Editions & Clones! Be quick and make one yours before they are all gone again!

  • Newcomer of the Week: fmonteiro

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-01 in #people #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: fmonteiro

    As a professional photography graduate, Fernando never goes out without carrying at least one camera and treats it as an integral part of his body. Although he uses both digital and analog gears, he still regards using film as a more intimate way of creating images. Let's all welcome our newcomer from Brazil, Fernando Monteiro.

    1
  • Tate Holds First Exhibit in Britain Dedicated to Salted Paper Prints

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-01 in #world #news #events
    Tate Holds First Exhibit in Britain Dedicated to Salted Paper Prints

    The show puts the spotlight on rare photographs created through this early photographic technique.

  • Meet the Innovators: Cat Ong

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-02-28 in #people #lifestyle
    Meet the Innovators: Cat Ong

    Coinciding with the relaunch of the Lomography community website is the debut of one of the Magazine's newest series, Meet the Innovators. Here, we'll be talking to some of the game changers in the field of photography to get a closer look on what they do as well as find out their personal insights. For our opening salvo we proudly introduce Cat Ong, Lomography's very own Head of Optic Product Development who counts the research and development of the LC-A family, Russar and Petzval Art Lenses, Diana F+, and Lomo'Instant, among many others, as some of his projects.

    11