Mega-Rare Camera Find: Cosina CX7

1

A short review on the Cosina CX7, a really rare camera I got on eBay a few months back. There is hardly any information on this anywhere! I haven't seen this camera before so I though I should get it and see what it can do!

I got this mega-rare camera on eBay a few months back. I haven’t seen one before so I had to have it and see what it can do. It is a rather chunky thing with red and cream graphics on the front. It states that it has automatic focus and is flash loading! The lens is hidden (as with the earlier CX models) by a push down plastic front. Always a good idea to help protect your precious lens! The lens itself is a Cosinon 1:3:5 33mm.

Another bonus on from this camera which you never got from the older CX cameras is that it has an integrated pop up flash! The flash is a bit slow at warming up, but it is around 30+ years old, so I will let it off as it does still work! It also has an ASA range of only 64-400.

So, what can it do?

It does seem to work quite well but the closest it focuses is something like 1.2 meters so not that close, but not too bad for everything else. It gets confused sometimes about what I want to take a photo of and does some crazy focusing on some pictures!

Here are some examples of the colour shots I took with it.

And here are some of the pictures it created with Agfa APX 100 ASA black and white film. I do think it prefers black and white more that colour as the lens is super sharp and makes the black and white shots look awesome!

It isn’t a bad camera, but I have played with more sane cameras that obey all of your commands… But if you want a semi temperamental compact camera what will give you some very weird focusing skills have a go at this; if you can find one, that is!

written by explorette on 2011-11-28 in #reviews #explorette #cx #camera #cx7 #review #cosina-cx7 #lomography #rare #user-review #cosina

One Comment

  1. gvelasco
    gvelasco ·

    Interesting camera. Interesting results. Thanks for the detailed review.

More Interesting Articles

  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    9
  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • LomoChrome Purple 120 and 35mm: Expect the Radical!

    written by myahcat on 2014-08-01 in #reviews
    LomoChrome Purple 120 and 35mm: Expect the Radical!

    I was given a roll of LomoChrome Purple 120 by a friend who was keen for me to try it out since he didn't have a medium format camera. I really didn't expect the results I got when I took it out for a test run on a bright winter's day in London.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Free Express Shipping Deals for a Very Limited Time

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-19 in #news
    Free Express Shipping Deals for a Very Limited Time

    Are you a procrastinator when it comes to holiday shopping? Perhaps you just now realized we have the perfect gifts for your loved ones? Whatever the case, we've got you covered with our incredible free express shipping deals across the world! Depending on what country you order from, any order over €150/£150/$200 may qualify for free express shipping before the cut off dates. Scroll down to see the details of this super offer!

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    written by Maaike van Stratum on 2015-04-12 in #world #lifestyle
    12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    My list of resolutions for 2015 consists of 12 projects, one for every month. March was for caffenol. You have probably heard of the amazing fact that you can develop black and white photos with coffee, sodium, and vitamin C. I had tried this before but with less than stellar results. Somehow, there's always something going wrong. Time to devote a few rolls to caffenol to finally get the hang of it.

    1
  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Uwe Mimoun: the Man Behind KONO! Reanimated Film

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-07-31 in #people #lifestyle
    Uwe Mimoun: the Man Behind KONO! Reanimated Film

    Branded as "The Reanimated Film," KONO! Film is hand-rolled and made of special materials which are rarely (or never) produced for "normal“ photography. Rather, the materials were intended for the motion picture industry and the results can vary depending on how the film is used. Learn more in this interview with the founder of KONO! Film, Uwe Mimoun.

    1
  • Photo Stories: Street Photography in Riga by pogl

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-07-31 in #world #lifestyle
    Photo Stories: Street Photography in Riga by pogl

    On the streets you see all sorts of sights and people going about their respective businesses. It's exactly this reason why pogl has a particular fondness for street photography.

  • Rancliffhasenza is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-07-31 in #world #news
    Rancliffhasenza is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to rancliffhasenza for winning Home of the Day!

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Lomography X Crispy Wallet Lightness Competition

    written by petit_loir on 2015-07-31 in #world #news #competitions
    Lomography X Crispy Wallet Lightness Competition

    Whether it embodies something that's light as a feather or dreaming on cloud nine, show us your best analog shots in relation to the theme "lightness" and be rewarded with great products from the creative start-up Crispy Wallet as well as prizes from Lomography.

  • 10 Sky-High Castle Views

    written by kenaz on 2015-07-31 in #world #lifestyle
    10 Sky-High Castle Views

    For the finest example of a grand entrance, look no further than the castles of Europe and Japan.

  • Say Hello to the New Lomo'Instant Kyoto!

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-07-31 in #gear #news
    Say Hello to the New Lomo'Instant Kyoto!

    Lomography proudly introduces the latest member of the Lomo'Instant family, which evokes the feel of summertime in the scenic, beautiful city of Kyoto.