Kodak T-max (120, 100 iso) User-Review

7

Creamy and enjoyable: This is a great inexpensive B&W film that can be used in all purposes.

I first bought this film in a local film shop because that was all they had left for 120 film type and it was considerably cheaper than other films at other shops. I was under the general impression that Kodak usually makes a rather low quality product because of low end cameras they make, but my opinion drastically changed when I started using their films.

Like many others Kodak films, T-Max 100 has a very fine grain and retains this pretty well in the ISO 400 version of this film also. It has some nice results when the film is slightly overexposed and then processed by the one pull method. This gives the film a very nice contrast and sometimes a nice washed out look. This film also gives great results when processed normally in B&W developer.

This is an all around very good film. It can be used for multiple pruposes like portraits and landscapes. This film really gives you a bang for your buck! (or pound, euro, or yen for all you international viewers).

written by fivedayforecast on 2009-05-17 in #reviews #kodak #contrast #pull-process #35mm #100-iso #120 #b-w

7 Comments

  1. oldskool_rider
    oldskool_rider ·

    i love shot 11
    great film!!

  2. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Great shots!!

  3. stouf
    stouf ·

    Very cool gallery !

  4. dogma
    dogma ·

    super gallerie!

  5. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    nice gallery!

  6. mikailus
    mikailus ·

    What camera did you use?

  7. fivedayforecast
    fivedayforecast ·

    I used a Yashica Mat for all of these shots.

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • The Analogue Quiz: What B&W Film are you?

    written by andie_sollmer on 2014-10-20 in #news
    The Analogue Quiz: What B&W Film are you?

    Did you ever think about the myth that we actually dream in Black & White? No colors, maybe no truth behind it anyways. But we know for a fact that you can create the most dreamy photographs with an analogue camera. And for that you need the right film. Scroll down and find out which B&W film is the film of your dreams!

    5
  • My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    written by raypg on 2014-09-05 in #lifestyle
    My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    I love the different styles of cameras that Lomography has, but I also like to create my own cardboard cameras that use pinholes to be able to take pictures using traditional film. This time I created the Pinhole F, a camera inspired by the Diana F+ and shoots 12 pinhole photos using 120 film.

    3
  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-05 in #reviews
    Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    Lubitel for lovers+. You're probably wondering, "Why is there a '+'?" It's to describe and expand a whole new definition of the Lubitel - in this case, this camera is not only for lovers literally, but also for anyone who loves to shoot portraits, street scenes, objects, and the skies. Do you love to take photos of your lover, your dear friend, your lovely family, your pet, or at the streets? This camera can be used in ALL situations. You can shoot everything that you love with it!

  • Finding Humanity in the Streets with Soomin Yim

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-12 in #lifestyle
    Finding Humanity in the Streets with Soomin Yim

    Stop bath is a type of chemical used in the darkroom for processing black and white film, aptly named as such because it halts the development of the images. In this case, stop bath is also part of the title that Korean analogue street photographer <b><a href="http://instagram.com/sooeatsyourstreetforbreakfast">Soomin Yim</a></b> has given her body of work, "Stop Bath the City," to represent the forgotten faces of people in the city amid rapid modernization, captured and immortalized on black and white film.

  • Trent Parke on the Beauty of Film Photography

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-04 in #world #lifestyle #videos
    Trent Parke on the Beauty of Film Photography

    How can so many good things be revealed in one interview? In this fifteen-minute video, Trent Parke gives his eloquent take on why film photography matters. His stories about drying films on clotheslines and "walking the streets everyday capturing light" also remind us that Film Photography Day is just eight days away!

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • How to Change Lenses with the Diana Baby 110

    written by chooolss on 2014-12-14 in #lifestyle #videos
    How to Change Lenses with the Diana Baby 110

    It might not look like it, but the Diana Baby 110 is definitely more than it lets on. For example, did you know that you can alternate using 12mm and 24mm lenses with it? Find out how in this tutorial!

  • Press Call Out: Scandinavia, Australia and New Zealand

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-25 in #world #lifestyle #locations
    Press Call Out: Scandinavia, Australia and New Zealand

    Ladies and gentlemen, it's no secret that without you, our website would never be possible. With that in mind, we're calling on all Lomographers (that's you) for a helping hand by giving us your expert opinions. In return, we're passing out Piggy Points to spend in our Online Shop. Kiwis, Aussies and Scandinavians, whether you're residents, dreamers or just big fans of these great places — everybody can contribute and everybody can win!

  • Climbing to the Top of South Korea

    written by Maaike van Stratum on 2015-02-21 in #world #locations
    Climbing to the Top of South Korea

    Climbing a mountain is always fun. Climbing a volcano is even better. And climbing the highest mountain in a country, well, that tops it all. So you can just imagine how much I enjoyed climbing Mount Hallasan, the highest mountain in South Korea.

    1