Kodak Elitechrome EBX (35mm, 100 iso) User-Review

10

Be bold with Kodak Elite Chrome Extra Colour 100. This 35mm slide film will brighten up your day and night!

I found this one by accident when searching for a photolab that could develop my exposed rolls of 120’s. I was at the counter when the girl returned my films and politely rejected me but I soon got distracted by a box I was unfamiliar of. Thing is, at that time I never shot on slides or did x-pro. I knew about it but the lack of film choice where I live makes it hard for me to experiment. So I straight away bought two packs (they weren’t as cheap as normal films!) and that same day I loaded one in my fish eye. I didn’t know what to do or expect – I thought I should just give it a go!

I shot my first frame of the sunset on the beach near my house and that night I took it out along with my colorsplash flash to a cross dressing party.

When I finished my first roll, I brought it to the photolab and told the girl to process it with C-41 and she looked at me weirdly and justified that it’s a slide film and that’s not the right chemical for it so it might damage the results. I said just do it, and waited in anticipation. As it turns out, my first x-pro roll really pleased me! Who knew cross dressing and cross processing would be such a yummy combination!

I love the colours that this film produces. It generally has a blue and green tone to it and the colours are very saturated, the shadows are very darkened. To test out its ability further, I took my second roll out to the beach and around town with my Diana on the 35mm back. And again, it works! The yellows are as bright as the sunny day! This one is always full of bold surprises!

written by vstephanie on 2009-04-02 in #reviews #fisheye-2 #indonesia #vstephanie #diana #35mm #elite-chrome #100-iso #party #slide #bali #jakarta #kodak #x-pro

10 Comments

  1. abcdefuck
    abcdefuck ·

    very nice gallery. i like picture 3and12.

  2. thaiseb
    thaiseb ·

    For me the best film with x-pro.

  3. 3lla
    3lla ·

    I absolutely love picture 3. Very ethereal!

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    And I love 4 and especially 11 !

  5. -a-l-b-e-r-t-o-
    -a-l-b-e-r-t-o- ·

    great great great

  6. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    love it!!!! it;s a wonderful series. i love this film too!

  7. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    i really like the against the light shots. cool colors and gallery

  8. philipcs
    philipcs ·

    so far we have shoot 3 rolls of EBX and we love the result. havent try other yet

  9. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    One of my favorite films! Awesome colors! and love your gallery too!

  10. redfactor
    redfactor ·

    wonderful!!!!!

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Playing with grain, shadows, and light with the Lomography B&W Orca 100 ISO 110 film!

    written by cheeo on 2014-04-30 in #lifestyle
    Playing with grain, shadows, and light with the Lomography B&W Orca 100 ISO 110 film!

    110 film photography can be as fun as 35mm and 120 film photography! Need a little more convincing? Take a look at these monochrome shots that play with shadows and light taken with the B&W Orca 110 film!

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Agfa CT Precisa 100: The Fabulous 35mm Slide Film

    written by kikifrenger on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Agfa CT Precisa 100: The Fabulous 35mm Slide Film

    This film has fine grain, especially when cross-processed in C41. And if you use a Lomo camera, maybe the LC-A or the LC-Wide, the results will be more interesting with strong vignettes in your pictures!

    4
  • Workshop: Lomography NYC Bike Trip

    written by lomographynyc on 2014-04-29 in #events
    Workshop: Lomography NYC Bike Trip

    Witness the Fitness! After mounting cameras to your bikes we will bike up to Fort Washington Park on the Hudson River. Its going to be a fun day of film and exercise!

  • October Walks and Workshops

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-22 in #events
    October Walks and Workshops

    Lomography Gallery Store Soho has all the workshops you could ever want this October. Learn the basics of the Diana F+, shoot autumn colours with the Lubitel 166+, make your own redscale film, shoot creepy portraits with the Petzval lens and visit our One Must Dash Pop up store. Read on for a full line- up of events and details.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-09 in #news
    December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today!  (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    We've got another great opportunity for you to load up on all your favorite films! Today's Advent deal is 10% off of all our films! Keep your holidays classy with one of our awesome black and white films or get creative with one of our Redscale films. Whatever you choose will be a great way to document all the upcoming fesitivities!

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Roundup: Film Photography Day 2014

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-03 in #news
    Roundup: Film Photography Day 2014

    Did you miss this year's Film Photography Day celebration? Here's a recap of all the events that happened in April, in honor of our love for analogue photography. Of course, remember that you can always make any day a Film Photography Day if you wish; just gather your friends and organize a LomoMatrix in your area! For inspiration, check out what Lomography Gallery Stores and Lomography Embassy Stores from all over the world came up with.

    3
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Get Ready For a New Cine Film On Monday October 13th! Sign-Up to Hear about the Launch as Soon as it Happens

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-09 in #news
    Get Ready For a New Cine Film On Monday October 13th! Sign-Up to Hear about the Launch as Soon as it Happens

    Did you enjoy shooting with Cine200 Tungsten Film when it launched? Or were you one of the unlucky many who missed out on this ultra-limited edition emulsion? Well, we’re thrilled to say we have an exciting follow-up to Cine200 which will launch in just a few days! And as the other film sold out so fast, we wanted to give you the opportunity to sign-up to our list to get the news as soon as it happens.

    1
  • August 2014 Workshops and Events in Lomography Embassy Singapore

    written by lomographysg on 2014-07-30 in #events
    August 2014 Workshops and Events in Lomography Embassy Singapore

    This August, we bring you back to your roots and explore the wonders of nature! First, we cook up a storm with a film soup experiment. Followed by nature photowalks at beautiful scenic parks in Singapore to unearth the tips & tricks of trouble exposure, as well as the unique methods to perfect our macro shots. To cap off the learning month, we'll gather on a cozy Friday night for a new special sharing series by the Lomography Community -- with Sharing Session #1: Nature.

  • Unlock Your Creativity with Skillshare and Lomography Rumble

    written by givesmehell on 2015-04-02 in #people #competitions
    Unlock Your Creativity with Skillshare and Lomography Rumble

    Film Photography Day 2015 is an exciting event happening on Sunday, April 12. To celebrate this day, Lomography has teamed up with Skillshare to launch a series of FREE classes to help you make the most of your Lomo cameras. To throw in a little more fun, we're also hosting a competition to win a Diana Deluxe Kit and a full year of premium membership to Skillshare to take tons of awesome photography classes. Read on to find out more!

    2