Kodak Elitechrome EBX (35mm, 100 iso) User-Review

10

Be bold with Kodak Elite Chrome Extra Colour 100. This 35mm slide film will brighten up your day and night!

I found this one by accident when searching for a photolab that could develop my exposed rolls of 120’s. I was at the counter when the girl returned my films and politely rejected me but I soon got distracted by a box I was unfamiliar of. Thing is, at that time I never shot on slides or did x-pro. I knew about it but the lack of film choice where I live makes it hard for me to experiment. So I straight away bought two packs (they weren’t as cheap as normal films!) and that same day I loaded one in my fish eye. I didn’t know what to do or expect – I thought I should just give it a go!

I shot my first frame of the sunset on the beach near my house and that night I took it out along with my colorsplash flash to a cross dressing party.

When I finished my first roll, I brought it to the photolab and told the girl to process it with C-41 and she looked at me weirdly and justified that it’s a slide film and that’s not the right chemical for it so it might damage the results. I said just do it, and waited in anticipation. As it turns out, my first x-pro roll really pleased me! Who knew cross dressing and cross processing would be such a yummy combination!

I love the colours that this film produces. It generally has a blue and green tone to it and the colours are very saturated, the shadows are very darkened. To test out its ability further, I took my second roll out to the beach and around town with my Diana on the 35mm back. And again, it works! The yellows are as bright as the sunny day! This one is always full of bold surprises!

written by vstephanie on 2009-04-02 in #reviews

10 Comments

  1. abcdefuck
    abcdefuck ·

    very nice gallery. i like picture 3and12.

  2. thaiseb
    thaiseb ·

    For me the best film with x-pro.

  3. 3lla
    3lla ·

    I absolutely love picture 3. Very ethereal!

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    And I love 4 and especially 11 !

  5. -a-l-b-e-r-t-o-
    -a-l-b-e-r-t-o- ·

    great great great

  6. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    love it!!!! it;s a wonderful series. i love this film too!

  7. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    i really like the against the light shots. cool colors and gallery

  8. philipcs
    philipcs ·

    so far we have shoot 3 rolls of EBX and we love the result. havent try other yet

  9. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    One of my favorite films! Awesome colors! and love your gallery too!

  10. redfactor
    redfactor ·

    wonderful!!!!!

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Surreal Travel Photos in Kodak Aerochrome EIR by Jordan Janisse

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-20 in #lifestyle
    Surreal Travel Photos in Kodak Aerochrome EIR by Jordan Janisse

    Every photographer seeks to make his or her travel photos extra special or memorable, and for those who still shoot film, slide films are often reserved for these occasions. If you happen to have a few rolls of infrared films left, the photos of a Canadian photographer will surely make you want to save them for your next adventure!

    2
  • Shop News

    Build your own analog SLR Camera!

    Build your own analog SLR Camera!

    With a list of fine accessories it´s not only fun to build but also great to shoot with! Check out the enhanced, flash compatible version now!

  • Playing with grain, shadows, and light with the Lomography B&W Orca 100 ISO 110 film!

    written by cheeo on 2014-04-30 in #lifestyle
    Playing with grain, shadows, and light with the Lomography B&W Orca 100 ISO 110 film!

    110 film photography can be as fun as 35mm and 120 film photography! Need a little more convincing? Take a look at these monochrome shots that play with shadows and light taken with the B&W Orca 110 film!

  • Agfa CT Precisa 100: The Fabulous 35mm Slide Film

    written by kikifrenger on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Agfa CT Precisa 100: The Fabulous 35mm Slide Film

    This film has fine grain, especially when cross-processed in C41. And if you use a Lomo camera, maybe the LC-A or the LC-Wide, the results will be more interesting with strong vignettes in your pictures!

    4
  • April Workshops and Events @ The Lomography Gallery Store NYC

    written by lomographynyc on 2014-03-22 in #events
    April Workshops and Events @ The Lomography Gallery Store NYC

    Spring has officially arrived in New York City! Shed those extra layers and bust out your favorite cameras. We've got a great line up for April and with Film Photography Day and World Wide Pinhole day both coming up this month you won't want to miss out.

  • Shop News

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Shooting with the Lubitel 166+ is an experience on it´s own. The waist level finder will help you to compose your frames perfectly.With the possibility to use 120 and 35mm Film It offers unlimited creative possibilities deemed to be an analogue masterpiece. Get your legendary Lubitel 166+ in our Online Shop!

  • Workshop: Lomography NYC Bike Trip

    written by lomographynyc on 2014-04-29 in #events
    Workshop: Lomography NYC Bike Trip

    Witness the Fitness! After mounting cameras to your bikes we will bike up to Fort Washington Park on the Hudson River. Its going to be a fun day of film and exercise!

  • October Walks and Workshops

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-22 in #events
    October Walks and Workshops

    Lomography Gallery Store Soho has all the workshops you could ever want this October. Learn the basics of the Diana F+, shoot autumn colours with the Lubitel 166+, make your own redscale film, shoot creepy portraits with the Petzval lens and visit our One Must Dash Pop up store. Read on for a full line- up of events and details.

  • December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-09 in #news
    December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today!  (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    We've got another great opportunity for you to load up on all your favorite films! Today's Advent deal is 10% off of all our films! Keep your holidays classy with one of our awesome black and white films or get creative with one of our Redscale films. Whatever you choose will be a great way to document all the upcoming fesitivities!

  • Shop News

    A quick guide to Inkodye

    A quick guide to Inkodye

    Shake well and apply to fabric. Blot out excess using a paper towel. Create your design using Inkofilm or anything that casts a shadow. Expose to sunlight or bright UV light for 10-20 minutes or until color reaches full saturation. Machine wash using Inkowash to remove unexposed dye. Double your exposure time in overcast weather. Enjoy the "wow" result!

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    12
  • #Filmphotographyday Mega Film Deals

    written by shhquiet on 2014-03-17 in #news
    #Filmphotographyday Mega Film Deals

    April 12th is Film Photography Day, a celebration of analogue experimentation and getting out there with your camera, unplugged, wild and free! In the run up to this great annual occasion we are giving you 30% off all Lomography film when you buy any camera and 3 for 2 deals on 100 ISO color negative 35mm, Lobster 110 film and 100 ISO color negative 120 film in our Online Shop and Gallery Stores!* But hurry because these deals only last until Sunday 23rd March!

  • Roundup: Film Photography Day 2014

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-03 in #news
    Roundup: Film Photography Day 2014

    Did you miss this year's Film Photography Day celebration? Here's a recap of all the events that happened in April, in honor of our love for analogue photography. Of course, remember that you can always make any day a Film Photography Day if you wish; just gather your friends and organize a LomoMatrix in your area! For inspiration, check out what Lomography Gallery Stores and Lomography Embassy Stores from all over the world came up with.

    3