La Sardina Review: 5 Rules for La Sardina Wonders

16

Are you ready to go out and get your best catch? Take this 35mm compact camera with you, and prepare for the La Sardina wonders!

I knew I would love La Sardina the moment Lomography introduced this camera to the world. I fell in love with it at first sight for its cute, sardine can-inspired design and of course, its mind-blowing 21mm wide angle lens. It even comes with Multiple Exposure(MX) and Bulb mode features. I like the Marathon design most. So I saved up my pocket money for months to have this camera.

It was an extreme satisfaction the moment I finally got my hands on a La Sardina. I cannot wait to shoot and experience the camera myself. So I loaded a roll of film and went out for a whole day of action.

Once I had my film developed, I almost cried in amazement with the results. It brings me much more than what I’ve expected. The whole roll of film is properly exposed and comes out as pictures (no blank pictures, YAY!). I got a total of 37 exposures from my first roll. Personally, I suggest you to use slide films and I think this camera is good for beginners. I even comes up with my own rules to make full use of La Sardina. Check them out:

Rule #1 : Don’t waste the Multiple Exposures (MX) feature. Go doubles!

Rule #2 : Get as close as you could to your subject!

(even though there’s some possibility you could get kicked by your subject LOL)

Rule #3 : Shoot self-portraits. Don’t be shy.

It’s about the 21mm wide-lens angle we’re talking about.

Rule #4 : Shoot whatever you passed by.

Rule #5 : Don’t follow the rules above. Have fun exploring your La Sardina in your own unique way!

It’s worth every penny, trust me. Have fun!

Get ready to sail the high seas with our new La Sardina collection! These 35mm cameras are equipped with spectacular wide-angle lens, multiple exposure capabilities, and a rewind dial—everything you need for fun-filled and thrill-soaked escapades. Get your own La Sardina camera now!

written by syira690 on 2011-11-09 in #reviews #videos #chrome-100 #xpro #multi-exposure #35mm #syira690 #malaysia #chrome #marathon #cross-process #lomography-la-sardina

16 Comments

  1. noe_arteaga
    noe_arteaga ·

    I also really love the La Sardina! =D

  2. zindzee
    zindzee ·

    The La Sardina was my first Lomography camera and I must admit it was love at first click!

  3. syira690
    syira690 ·

    @noe_arteaga @zindzee totally love at first click!

  4. madedarmajunaedi
    madedarmajunaedi ·

    the rules are great and the pictures are wonderful!

  5. superlighter
    superlighter ·

    wow! great works with La Sardina!

  6. knipsomat
    knipsomat ·

    Great feeling of enthusiasm transported throuhg your words!

  7. heycarly
    heycarly ·

    wow, looks cool

  8. arifrodriguez
    arifrodriguez ·

    nice article

  9. hoseun
    hoseun ·

    love it! :)

  10. haruma_127
    haruma_127 ·

    hi thanks for invite me to read these review..good picts and review..

  11. tashpointoh
    tashpointoh ·

    i just bought this camera and have one roll of film to develop. its my first ever and im terribly excited! especially after seeing these (:

  12. syira690
    syira690 ·

    @tashpointoh. don't worry. they'll turn out great. don't forget to share with us the results ya! :)

  13. guinastrapazi
    guinastrapazi ·

    and THAT finally convinced me of buying one! :)

  14. zekalinova
    zekalinova ·

    really nice! :)

  15. ucinz
    ucinz ·

    aahh.. great! what a fantastic article! ;))

  16. planomania
    planomania ·

    The La Sardina is going to be my first camera. Saving up my pocket money, too! :)

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • 10 Steps to Better Photography with the LC-A+

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-08 in #gear #tipster
    10 Steps to Better Photography with the LC-A+

    With features that allow one to be as creative as possible and a size compact enough to bring it anytime, anywhere, the LC-A+ is indeed an embodiment of our 10 Golden Rules. In this week's feature, we list down some of the ways you could up your photography game with this wonderful camera.

    1
  • 10 Steps to Better Photography with the La Sardina

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-24 in #gear #tipster
    10 Steps to Better Photography with the La Sardina

    Set sail to your next adventure with the La Sardina! Here are some ways to make your analog experience with this camera even more creative and exciting.

    2
  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.

  • Total Eclipse of the Sun Competition

    written by jacobs on 2015-03-20 in #gear #news #competitions
    Total Eclipse of the Sun Competition

    Did you catch the solar eclipse that happened recently? Word on the street is that it even resulted in a total eclipse in some areas of Europe, making it a pretty rare occasion for the folks that got to see it! We're guessing that some of you even had your cameras to catch the whole shebang on film — which is why we're throwing a competition for the best eclipse and sun inspired shots out there. Come on in and check out the details!

  • Shop News

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    The ultra-lightweight, low-maintenance 35mm camera that fits perfectly in your hand for some wild and spontaneous shooting!

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-04-10 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

    2
  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-14 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

  • Shop News

    Pixelstick

    Pixelstick

    The most incredible lightpainting tool is here! Consists of 200 full color RGB LEDs in a lightweight aluminium housing will color your analogue world in different way! Create and animate different shades and shapes with the Pixelstick!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • 10 Golden Rules of Film Photography Day

    written by shhquiet on 2015-04-10 in #world #lifestyle
    10 Golden Rules of Film Photography Day

    Film Photography Day is the perfect time to disconnect from the fast-paced pressures of the daily grind, and reconnect with the pure joys, unpredictability, and excitement of analogue photography. Maybe you're wondering how to get started, so here are a few rules to guide you!

    2
  • December 16th Advent Offer: Stock Up On Film With Our Festive 3 For 2 Deal! (Online Code: THREE4TWO)

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-16 in #gear #news
    December 16th Advent Offer: Stock Up On Film With Our Festive 3 For 2 Deal! (Online Code: THREE4TWO)

    What better way to spread holiday cheer than by capturing it with your trusty camera? We're making it a little bit easier today, because today you can load up on all your favorite Lomography films for less! So stock up and get ready to snap the winter away!