La Sardina Review: 5 Rules for La Sardina Wonders

16

Are you ready to go out and get your best catch? Take this 35mm compact camera with you, and prepare for the La Sardina wonders!

I knew I would love La Sardina the moment Lomography introduced this camera to the world. I fell in love with it at first sight for its cute, sardine can-inspired design and of course, its mind-blowing 21mm wide angle lens. It even comes with Multiple Exposure(MX) and Bulb mode features. I like the Marathon design most. So I saved up my pocket money for months to have this camera.

It was an extreme satisfaction the moment I finally got my hands on a La Sardina. I cannot wait to shoot and experience the camera myself. So I loaded a roll of film and went out for a whole day of action.

Once I had my film developed, I almost cried in amazement with the results. It brings me much more than what I’ve expected. The whole roll of film is properly exposed and comes out as pictures (no blank pictures, YAY!). I got a total of 37 exposures from my first roll. Personally, I suggest you to use slide films and I think this camera is good for beginners. I even comes up with my own rules to make full use of La Sardina. Check them out:

Rule #1 : Don’t waste the Multiple Exposures (MX) feature. Go doubles!

Rule #2 : Get as close as you could to your subject!

(even though there’s some possibility you could get kicked by your subject LOL)

Rule #3 : Shoot self-portraits. Don’t be shy.

It’s about the 21mm wide-lens angle we’re talking about.

Rule #4 : Shoot whatever you passed by.

Rule #5 : Don’t follow the rules above. Have fun exploring your La Sardina in your own unique way!

It’s worth every penny, trust me. Have fun!

Get ready to sail the high seas with our new La Sardina collection! These 35mm cameras are equipped with spectacular wide-angle lens, multiple exposure capabilities, and a rewind dial—everything you need for fun-filled and thrill-soaked escapades. Get your own La Sardina camera now!

written by syira690 on 2011-11-09 in #reviews #marathon #multi-exposure #chrome #chrome-100 #lomography-la-sardina #malaysia #35mm #syira690 #xpro #cross-process

16 Comments

  1. noe_arteaga
    noe_arteaga ·

    I also really love the La Sardina! =D

  2. zindzee
    zindzee ·

    The La Sardina was my first Lomography camera and I must admit it was love at first click!

  3. syira690
    syira690 ·

    @noe_arteaga @zindzee totally love at first click!

  4. madedarmajunaedi
    madedarmajunaedi ·

    the rules are great and the pictures are wonderful!

  5. superlighter
    superlighter ·

    wow! great works with La Sardina!

  6. knipsomat
    knipsomat ·

    Great feeling of enthusiasm transported throuhg your words!

  7. heycarly
    heycarly ·

    wow, looks cool

  8. arifrodriguez
    arifrodriguez ·

    nice article

  9. hoseun
    hoseun ·

    love it! :)

  10. haruma_127
    haruma_127 ·

    hi thanks for invite me to read these review..good picts and review..

  11. tashpointoh
    tashpointoh ·

    i just bought this camera and have one roll of film to develop. its my first ever and im terribly excited! especially after seeing these (:

  12. syira690
    syira690 ·

    @tashpointoh. don't worry. they'll turn out great. don't forget to share with us the results ya! :)

  13. guinastrapazi
    guinastrapazi ·

    and THAT finally convinced me of buying one! :)

  14. zekalinova
    zekalinova ·

    really nice! :)

  15. ucinz
    ucinz ·

    aahh.. great! what a fantastic article! ;))

  16. planomania
    planomania ·

    The La Sardina is going to be my first camera. Saving up my pocket money, too! :)

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomography & The Red Bulletin: Your Moment. Beyond the Ordinary

    written by analogeanstalten on 2014-08-20 in #competitions
    Lomography & The Red Bulletin: Your Moment. Beyond the Ordinary

    Have you ever experienced feeling goosebumps all over your body, that your heart seems to jump out of your ribcage, your common sense is set on pause and you just breathe and enjoy the moment? Together with The Red Bulletin, we want to see YOUR moment beyond everyday life. Are you ready for the photographic #yourmoment #beyondtheordinary challenge? Take part in our photo competition! The two best shots will be awarded with a camera, and the first 500 to register will get a one-year free subscription of The Red Bulletin!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Scare Us with Your Spookiest Petzval Halloween Photos Rumble

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-10-29 in #competitions
    Scare Us with Your Spookiest Petzval Halloween Photos Rumble

    Got scary ideas for Halloween? It's almost here and most of you are probably ready with the spookiest costumes ever! You can't let your spookiest best go by without capturing them, so load up those cameras, snap the terror away and turn it into Halloween fun. While you're at it, pick your best Petzval Halloween photos and join this rumble!

    2
  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Mini Neo & 10x Fuji Instax Mini Film

    Fuji Instax Mini Neo & 10x Fuji Instax Mini Film

    Save 20% on Fuji Instax Mini Film with this bundle and get 100 sheets for pure Instant fun! Plus, get to choose which Fuji Instax Mini Camera fits your personality!

  • The Lomo'Instant Does Halloween!

    written by camilla_illa on 2014-10-30 in #gear #tipster
    The Lomo'Instant Does Halloween!

    Halloween is fast approaching and we are getting ready to celebrate till dawn with our favorite cameras. I had the lucky chance to try the Lomo'Instant in preparation for this scary night!

  • Photo of the Day by tsingtao

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-17 in #news
    Photo of the Day by tsingtao

    Ready for your underwater dancing lesson? Then, take your cameras out and get ready to plunge deep into our surreal Photo of the Day by tsingtao!

    2
  • Art Hunter Sardinas x STEEN

    written by mindofmyra on 2014-09-12 in #people #lomoamigos
    Art Hunter Sardinas x STEEN

    We asked some of New York’s hottest designers to lend their talent in designing some of our La Sardina DIY cameras, and we are very excited to share with you Steen of Steen Drawings. Steen is a New York based illustrator who likes to create her own fantasy world and creates stories from her wild imagination. Take a look at Steen's wonderful work and get inspired to do your own DIY project.

  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300 & 10x Fuji Instax Wide Film

    Fuji Instax Wide 300 & 10x Fuji Instax Wide Film

    With this bundle you are ready to shoot with the Fuji Instax Wide 300 and dig in to the instax world – on top you save 20% on Fuji Wide film!

  • Loving the Lomo'instant!

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-01-16 in #news
    Loving the Lomo'instant!

    It's only been a few months since the lovely Lomo'instant camera was officially launched online and in the Lomography stores. Since then this Instant compact camera has been flying off the shelves. You've all been busy experimenting and uploading your amazing shots so we've decided show you some of the best shots out there to inspire you to get creative!

  • The Analogue Quiz: What Camera are you?

    written by andie_sollmer on 2014-09-09 in #news
    The Analogue Quiz: What Camera are you?

    Ever looked at your camera shelf and asked yourself the existential question: What Lomography Camera best fits my style? Well, here is a quick test to help you find the answer! Just go with your gut and note down the letter for each answer you pick. And try to go with one single answer for each question. So, let's get started!

    9
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Shoot more with LC-A 120 without breaking your budget! The Phoblographer Editor’s Choice Award Winner now comes in a Bundle with 120 format film at 15% off!

  • Photo of the Day by dogma

    written by cheeo on 2014-08-29 in #news
    Photo of the Day by dogma

    Going for a vacation at a picturesque place? Better get your lovely dress ready to match the view. Don't forget to take killer outfit shots while you are it!

    1
  • Lomo'instant Party Recap UK

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-11-18 in #news
    Lomo'instant Party Recap UK

    Last week we celebrated the arrival of the Lomo'Instant camera at the Lomography Soho Store with a huge launch party. We opened our doors late to showcase this exciting new compact instant camera! We gave you the chance to hold this beauty in your hands and have your photo taken in our instant photobooth. Read on to catch the event highlights.

  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!