Review: Agfa CT Precisa

4

A review on one of the most popular films in Lomography: Agfa CT Precisa. My very first experience with this film was nothing short of pleasant surprises!

Whenever I stumbled upon some really nice lomographs on this website, chances are it could be taken with a CT Precisa. The film is tied as the most popular in the website alongside Lomography's Color Negative 400 and the Redscale film; hence when I got it for the first time, I couldn’t wait to test and see what this little red wonder can produce.

I brought this film to Macau on a holiday in August. The weather was amazingly sunny, not to mention it was quite hot as well, although it would be a great condition to shoot lomographs! Having done some “preliminary research”, I predicted that the film would turn out blueish and greenish — but after having my photos back from the lab, I was quite surprised to see the end results!

Generally all were in the cool spectrum, but the prominent colors are turquoise and purple. The sky was especially rendered in a comfortable turquoise blue, while some images shot under the shade turned purplish. I wasn’t sure if anyone got the same results too, but I loved that color so no complains!

Perhaps this could be an alternative to the rare Fuji Astia, which produces reddish-purple hues when cross processed. It is a great film, and not surprisingly one of the most popular ones at lomography’s website – the film itself is capable of packing nice surprises!

written by shuttersentinel17 on 2011-10-31 in #reviews #precisa #review #ct #agfa-ct-precisa #unpredictable #lomography #agfa #turquoise #user-review #blue #macau #purple

4 Comments

  1. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Great film! As it looks more satured in the blue and whites, you got perhaps an "old" one, as the newest CT Precisa are more likely saturating the green and yellows, a bit like the Elitechrome... I prefer the original blue/white precisa! :)

  2. blablabla-anab
    blablabla-anab ·

    What vicuna said or then the lab that developed it has the right kind of scanner. Some people tested the same new Precisa film with different scanners and the result was very pronounced, from blue to green and vice versa. Nice review, nice shots. I did a review on this one recently too, and I fell in love with it :)

  3. niko_fuzzy
    niko_fuzzy ·

    wow! blues! my ct precise green. :(

  4. whizzkidd
    whizzkidd ·

    I use this film once and I love it... :)

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    written by Rafaello Palandri on 2015-07-09 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    Where do I begin talking about film cameras on the Lomography Magazine? Yes, you guessed right. I will begin with a LOMO, of course, a very special one: the Lubitel 166 Universal (Lubitel 166U). It’s a camera that has almost everything you might need from a camera. Plus, it’s a LOMO!

  • Most Popular LomoHomes of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Most Popular LomoHomes of 2014

    We are a community of talented and passionate photographers. There's no doubt about that but there are those who raised the bar high this year and continuously put everyone in awe with their amazing photographs and artistic experiments. We proudly present the most popular LomoHomes of 2014.

    15
  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.

  • Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    With its surreal, psychedelic results that easily remind one of fairy tale-like wonderlands, the LomoChrome Purple has quickly grown to become one of the most popular emulsions in the community. We're giving you that extra push in the form of more community-penned reviews to finally try this film yourself, if you haven't.

  • LomoKino LomoAmigo: sirapocovi

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-15 in #people #videos
    LomoKino LomoAmigo: sirapocovi

    Sira Pocovi, better known in the Lomography community as sirapocovi, is a London-based camera trainee who assists camera crews on film sets. It's no surprise, then, that she's so smitten with the LomoKino! Here, Pocovi opens up on her experiences filming with this camera as well as her project, Lomokovi Films.

    2
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news #videos
    Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    Aside from the Magazine, going through the User Blogs is another way to keep tabs on the latest happening in the community. Throughout the year, it was filled with articles on new discoveries, thought-provoking opinions, and exciting exhibits that surely entertained, challenged, and inspired everyone. Let's take a look back at the fruitful year through the most popular user blogs of 2014.

    3
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-23 in #gear #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    Sonja started her analog adventures during her teenage years. She took her first film photographs when she was 13 and has been in love with the magic of the process since. Her idea of a perfect day involves developing film rolls while listening to jazz and having a cup of tea in between. In this interview, she recalls about her experience with her first Lomography camera, a Holga 120 CFN.

    2
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Skate Photographer Joe Brook Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-02-06 in #people #lomoamigos
    Skate Photographer Joe Brook Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    Joe Brook is one of the most popular photographers in the West Coast skate scene, shooting for magazines like Trasher, Juxtapoz, Rolling Stone, and different outlets such as PDN and Kodak. Having previous experience with an old Petzval lens mounted on a 4x5 camera, it was but natural for him to try the new one. Brook talks about finding himself, his work, and shooting with the Lomograhy Petzval Lens in this exclusive interview.

    2
  • Most Popular Newcomers of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Most Popular Newcomers of 2014

    Thousands of budding lomographers from all over the world joined the community in the past year. Beginner's luck or inherent talent, these newbies placed their best foot forward and filled their LomoHomes with nothing but amazing snapshots. We proudly present the most popular newcomers of 2014.

    17