Rollei CN Digibase (120, 200 iso) User-Review

12

The Rollei CN Digibase is an un-masked colour negative film with very fine grain and deep blue colours.

This film is some kind of special as it is an un-masked one (to be honest, I didn’t really understand the technical aspects of this particularity…) which has a very fine grain and great sharpness. The colors are very deep and the blue ones come out very strong. I tested it with my Holga along the sea, and I was really well surprised to see how the pictures of the seascape came out. The blue colours, the fine grain and the contrast were really impressing.

But as the film seems very sensitive to light, I noticed that the 2 first shots suffered a bit from the light when I put the film in the camera, so I think it is better to load it in very reduced light conditions. But once the camera is closed, no more problem! And for the very sunny conditions at the sea, the 200 ASA value of the film managed it very well.

Really a film worth to be used, especially when you want to have deep blue colours of the sky and/or the sea on your shots!

written by vicuna on 2009-04-10 in #reviews #holga #colors #beach #sharpness #120 #sea #digibase #200-asa #rollei #sky #blue #fine-grain

12 Comments

  1. yoharryo
    yoharryo ·

    Hmmm...does it do blue better than other films due to the lack of orange mask?
    It doesn't look drastically different to any other color negative film, but seems to produce blue pretty nicely.

  2. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Yes, seems that the blue colors come out really deep, I think it's the main aspect of this film. The 2nd film I made with Diana+ (beta.lomography.com/homes/vicuna/albums/diana-plus-in-the-m…) confirms that this film likes the blue colors! And it's very sensitive to light as well, it's better to load in very reduced light conditions....

  3. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Wow ! The blue is so deep ! Thanks vicuna for sharing this !

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Yeah ! Thanks a lot Vicuna ! I have to test it underwater obviously !!!

  5. babo
    babo ·

    Have you tested the B&W development? I`m curious about it! It looks great on colour, and the blues come out great!

  6. mattydk
    mattydk ·

    I just shot a roll of this film in 35mm. Will post my results in the next few days.

  7. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    wundervoll und so farbintensiv.. sehr schön!

  8. jaguarwomon
    jaguarwomon ·

    Beautiful!

  9. reiga
    reiga ·

    one more thing..this film are very-very sensitive to light..and make sure you keep it in the fridge..otherwise what you will get is is only orange color

  10. sarah-addison-dobard
    sarah-addison-dobard ·

    Very nice. Did you cross process this? @vicuna

  11. sarah-addison-dobard
    sarah-addison-dobard ·

    Oh, nevermind. I didn't realize this was the color negative. I just shot a roll of the Rollei crossbird slide ISO 200 and was wondering if I should x-pro or not.

  12. redfactor
    redfactor ·

    Perhaps the anti UV layer in the emulsion cuts through haze and fog making for very clear skies?

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    written by simonesavo on 2014-12-27 in #reviews
    My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    A bright day requires a film that highlights every color. The Lomography Color Negative 100 has fine grain and crazy tones that give your photos stunning color and exceptional sharpness.

    2
  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • LC-A 120 LomoAmigo: Michael Sullivan

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-05-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    LC-A 120 LomoAmigo: Michael Sullivan

    Gloucestershire-based photographer Michael Sullivan loves to shoot film. Recently Michael shot with the Lomo LC-A 120 loaded with color negative and Lomography Xpro Slide Film, and the results were quite fabulous. Meet the man behind the camera here.

    5
  • Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    The shoutbox is always open for the community's honest opinions, surprising suggestions, and sweetest greetings. It is also an avenue for members from across different countries to dicuss and interact with one another. We'd like to commend these lomographers for keeping this humble space booming with entertaining conversations all year long. Congratulations to our top shoutbox users of 2014.

    5
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Going Turquoise with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-05-03 in #gear #news #lifestyle
    Going Turquoise with the LC-A 120

    There's nothing better than chromatic blue worlds on vintage square shots! The LC-A 120 and LomoChrome Turquoise XR 100-400 form an unbeatable pair with these brilliant photographs.

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Shooting with the LC-A 120 in the UK

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Shooting with the LC-A 120 in the UK

    Lomography UK was lucky enough to test an LC-A 120 prototype in store and it was glorious! We used colour and black and white film to capture the camera at its finest. It was everything you would expect from the LC-A but in full frame 38mm f/4.5 120 film. It's LOVE.

    1