Rollei CN Digibase (120, 200 iso) User-Review

12

The Rollei CN Digibase is an un-masked colour negative film with very fine grain and deep blue colours.

This film is some kind of special as it is an un-masked one (to be honest, I didn’t really understand the technical aspects of this particularity…) which has a very fine grain and great sharpness. The colors are very deep and the blue ones come out very strong. I tested it with my Holga along the sea, and I was really well surprised to see how the pictures of the seascape came out. The blue colours, the fine grain and the contrast were really impressing.

But as the film seems very sensitive to light, I noticed that the 2 first shots suffered a bit from the light when I put the film in the camera, so I think it is better to load it in very reduced light conditions. But once the camera is closed, no more problem! And for the very sunny conditions at the sea, the 200 ASA value of the film managed it very well.

Really a film worth to be used, especially when you want to have deep blue colours of the sky and/or the sea on your shots!

written by vicuna on 2009-04-10 in #reviews

12 Comments

  1. yoharryo
    yoharryo ·

    Hmmm...does it do blue better than other films due to the lack of orange mask?
    It doesn't look drastically different to any other color negative film, but seems to produce blue pretty nicely.

  2. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Yes, seems that the blue colors come out really deep, I think it's the main aspect of this film. The 2nd film I made with Diana+ (beta.lomography.com/homes/vicuna/albums/diana-plus-in-the-m…) confirms that this film likes the blue colors! And it's very sensitive to light as well, it's better to load in very reduced light conditions....

  3. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Wow ! The blue is so deep ! Thanks vicuna for sharing this !

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Yeah ! Thanks a lot Vicuna ! I have to test it underwater obviously !!!

  5. babo
    babo ·

    Have you tested the B&W development? I`m curious about it! It looks great on colour, and the blues come out great!

  6. mattydk
    mattydk ·

    I just shot a roll of this film in 35mm. Will post my results in the next few days.

  7. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    wundervoll und so farbintensiv.. sehr schön!

  8. jaguarwomon
    jaguarwomon ·

    Beautiful!

  9. reiga
    reiga ·

    one more thing..this film are very-very sensitive to light..and make sure you keep it in the fridge..otherwise what you will get is is only orange color

  10. sarah-addison-dobard
    sarah-addison-dobard ·

    Very nice. Did you cross process this? @vicuna

  11. sarah-addison-dobard
    sarah-addison-dobard ·

    Oh, nevermind. I didn't realize this was the color negative. I just shot a roll of the Rollei crossbird slide ISO 200 and was wondering if I should x-pro or not.

  12. redfactor
    redfactor ·

    Perhaps the anti UV layer in the emulsion cuts through haze and fog making for very clear skies?

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    written by simonesavo on 2014-12-27 in #reviews
    My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    A bright day requires a film that highlights every color. The Lomography Color Negative 100 has fine grain and crazy tones that give your photos stunning color and exceptional sharpness.

    2
  • Playing with Light: Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120 Film

    written by myahcat on 2014-08-21 in #reviews
    Playing with Light: Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120 Film

    It could be a risky combination: a film with an ISO range between 50 and 200, the Diana F+, and the British weather. But play carefully with the light and you can achieve some intense results.

    2
  • Shop News

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Shooting with the Lubitel 166+ is an experience on it´s own. The waist level finder will help you to compose your frames perfectly.With the possibility to use 120 and 35mm Film It offers unlimited creative possibilities deemed to be an analogue masterpiece. Get your legendary Lubitel 166+ in our Online Shop!

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Perfect Combination: Yashica Electro 35 GSN & Kodak BW400 CN

    written by roxyvonschlotterstein on 2014-03-17 in #lifestyle
    Perfect Combination: Yashica Electro 35 GSN & Kodak BW400 CN

    Let it be known: this pairing has to do with love at first click, at the first roll of film, at the first prints. My newest toy, the Yashica Electro 35 GSN, combined with my favorite black and white film, Kodak BW400 CN: this is definitely going to be a long-lasting love.

    2
  • Shop News

    Change the View in an Instant

    Change the View in an Instant

    Extend the Borders of Instant Photography with the World’s Most Creative Instant Camera System Packed With Fun Features and say hello to the Lomo'Instant Camera! The Lomo'Instant is the perfectly sized Instant Camera to take wherever you go! It’s the most creative way to shoot fantastic photos which you can share anywhere and with everyone in an instant.

  • Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    The shoutbox is always open for the community's honest opinions, surprising suggestions, and sweetest greetings. It is also an avenue for members from across different countries to dicuss and interact with one another. We'd like to commend these lomographers for keeping this humble space booming with entertaining conversations all year long. Congratulations to our top shoutbox users of 2014.

    5
  • Agfa CT Precisa 100: The Fabulous 35mm Slide Film

    written by kikifrenger on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Agfa CT Precisa 100: The Fabulous 35mm Slide Film

    This film has fine grain, especially when cross-processed in C41. And if you use a Lomo camera, maybe the LC-A or the LC-Wide, the results will be more interesting with strong vignettes in your pictures!

    4
  • Shooting with the LC-A 120 in the UK

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Shooting with the LC-A 120 in the UK

    Lomography UK was lucky enough to test an LC-A 120 prototype in store and it was glorious! We used colour and black and white film to capture the camera at its finest. It was everything you would expect from the LC-A but in full frame 38mm f/4.5 120 film. It's LOVE.

    1
  • Shop News

    Carry your Cameras with Style

    Carry your Cameras with Style

    No matter what size or cut - the ZKIN bags will always securely hold your cameras, accessories and personal things. Find the right one for you still today and never hustle with digging out photo gear from the deep, dark and dangerous corners of your regular bags!

  • Negative Burning – Film Manipulation

    written by akula on 2014-06-11 in #gear #tipster
    Negative Burning – Film Manipulation

    This is an introduction to using a candle flame to manipulate and distort your negatives. This process results in melted, stretched, and twisted images with colour shifts. Proceed with caution there is no going back.

    6
  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • Our Surprise LC-A 120 Photo Discovery – Dopic’s Fantastic Japan Snapshots

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-16 in #news
    Our Surprise LC-A 120 Photo Discovery – Dopic’s Fantastic Japan Snapshots

    Recently, we’ve been digging through all our LC-A 120 negatives from when we first started testing the new camera. During this search, we had our very own finding Vivian Maier moment when we unearthed a bunch of photos shot by the super-talented dopic whilst he was on vacation in Japan last year. We totally love these shots and couldn’t resist sharing them with you!

    2