LomoKino Review: The Kino is in the House

1

There is a new member in the great Lomographic family – It’s called the LomoKino and it’s absolutely amazing. This camera is a super innovation that brings action to our lives - 100% analogue motion has come to Lomography!

Now that you’ve seen how beautiful she is, the most important thing is to get to know her on the inside too. This box is able to record movies of half minute on a 35mm film of 36 exposures. “Hoooooow???” – That’s what I thought when I had it in my hands; but when the Lomo-experts explained to me how it works, I understood it perfectly and it was very easy to use.

The film passes through the lens in a “vertical” way and splits each “normal” frame in 4 (like a vertical Supersampler shot). Therefore, in a 36-exposure roll we actually have 144 frames to create our movie. What’s that mean? It’s actually very easy, look at this:

Once the film is loaded, all you have to do is turn the crank, fast – Don’t be lazy! The volume display will tell you how much film is left – when it’s all red, our film is over.

While shooting, make sure the rewind wheel is spinning – It means that everything is OK and that you are making a movie! When the rewind wheel stops, the film is over.

The LomoKino is for the sun, for light, for outdoors. On a sunny day, use ISO 100. On a cloudy day, go for ISO 400. And if you are risky and want to shoot indoors, I recommend a very high ISO and a very powerful source of light. You can play with the aperture (f: 5.6, f:8, f:11). The focus on the LomoKino is from one meter to infinity, but there is also a close-up mode (0.6 m) – This works by pressing the button you’ll find on the front.

There is hot-shoe flash in LomoKino – But remember to use a high-end flash which recharges very quickly, otherwise it will be useless. I tried with Fritz the Blitz Flash and Lomography CN 100 film, it’s amazing! Maybe I have to turn the crank slower next time, but I love it anyhow.

If you get black frames like me, you can always cut them – watch it again:

Don’t be afraid to experiment with your LomoKino! Look at the beautiful colors you can get shooting with Lomography Redscale XR. Try different films, the results are incredible.

To purists of analogue, the LomKino is accompanied by the wonderful LomoKinoScope, a viewer that lets you watch your movies without digitizing. If you want to see positive, I recommend you to shoot with slide film and E6 develop. If you introduce negatives in the LomoKinoScope, you will see negative colors. I haven’t been able to try this. What I’ve done is to scan the frames and edit my movies on the computer. I’m not an expert in film editing, there are many things to improve – but hey, this shows that anyone can have fun and shoot analogue films without being Spielberg, right? We learn little by little.

The LomoKino brings a whole new world of possibilities to all Lomographers. Beware Hollywood!!! Lomo On!

More about the LomoKino

Bringing analogue back to the movies with a bang in the 21st century, the LomoKino is a Lomography movie camera that shoots spectacular, creative movies on all kinds of 35mm film. Head to the Microsite, watch some Movies and begin your analogue movie-making journey today!

written by susielomovitz on 2011-11-05 in #reviews #susielomovitz #review #lomokino

One Comment

  1. blu132
    blu132 ·

    Well i would love to own one but to get the real effect of movement i would need at least 16 fps and with 144 Pictures the Film would be over before it started :/ And the developing of the Films would cost me very much so I am going to build my own camera with smaller frames and half film (17.5 mm)
    If developing wont be so freakin' expensive these days i would have bought it the first day it was out.
    Nice movies btw, but whats up with this horsehead its kinda creepy?!

More Interesting Articles

  • Kino Stories: 'Better Together' by nostalgina

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-24 in #lifestyle
    Kino Stories: 'Better Together' by nostalgina

    Spending a day at the beach is a great summer activity, and it's exactly what one of our fellow lomographers did! See what LomoKino movie she has filmed in this week's installment!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Three Cheers for the LC-A+!

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-07 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Three Cheers for the LC-A+!

    The LC-A+ is a fan favorite among Lomographers and with good reason! See how the LC-A+ fares along with its other family members in this quick roundup of reviews by our own community members.

  • The Lomo LC-A Goes to Berlin

    written by petit_loir on 2015-03-10 in #world #locations
    The Lomo LC-A Goes to Berlin

    Berlin is the capital and largest city of Germany. With its 3.5 million residents, it is also the second largest city in the European Union. Berlin has a lot to offer when it comes to culture as there are so many people from many different countries living and working together. Of course, Berlin is also home of Lomography Germany!

    9
  • Shop News

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval lens are designed for a Canon or Nikon SLR mounts and a selection of brass or black for each camera brand is available in our stores. And start shooting with images full of sharpness, crispness and bokeh effects!

  • Summer Hot Spots: Platja D'Aro

    written by guanatos on 2014-08-06 in #world #locations
    Summer Hot Spots: Platja D'Aro

    Only an hour and a half away, Platja D'Aro is a very nice alternative to the crowded beaches in Barcelona. If you get there early, you'll get a very nice spot. It's great to go there with kids and the whole family

  • Petzval Lens Launch Party Soho

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-08-12 in #events
    Petzval Lens Launch Party Soho

    The time has come to launch our amazing new Lomography Art Lens - the Petzval lens. What better way to celebrate than by throwing a party on August 21 at the Lomography Gallery Store Soho? There will be live music from London-based folk singer Denai Moore, lots of bubbly and the chance to meet the lens face-to-face! Read on for full details.

  • Transient Living: Getting to Know the Neighborhood in Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2014-11-12 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: Getting to Know the Neighborhood in Denver, Colorado

    <i>Editor's Note: The past several years saw <b><a href="http://www.lomography.com/homes/maliha">Maliha</a></b> frequently moving from one place to another, a sort of nomad who likes the thrill of starting anew and finding her place in every city she stays at. In the last decade she has spent in the USA, Maliha has stayed at six different cities in five different states. Currently, Maliha is based in Denver, Colorado, and "Transient Living," a new series in the Lomography magazine, documents her experiences and the ways that she has come to call this city her home.</i>

  • Shop News

    LC-A Instant Back+ at Lesser Price!

    LC-A Instant Back+ at Lesser Price!

    Grab this lovely accessory at discounted price! LC-A instant Back is iideal for your summer getaways to capture memories instantly with your LC-A cameras in hand!

  • LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-21 in #reviews
    LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    I bought the LomoKino years ago, and since then I've been having great times with it. I will continue documenting my daily life with the LomoKino, which is Lomography in motion! You can see the movements and facial expressions of people - it’s priceless! Documenting life in moving pictures, the Lomokino can be used as a camera that not only shoots moving pictures but also works like the multi-frame wonder camera, Supersampler!

  • Creative Vision, Personified:The Community's Most Creative Lomographers

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-02-03 in #world #lifestyle
    Creative Vision, Personified:The Community's Most Creative Lomographers

    As Steve Jobs puts it, "creativity is just connecting things." It's all about tracing one's experiences and pushing the boundaries of what's already known to establish new things. The Lomography community is no stranger to these instances. In fact, the community is filled with brilliant minds who are always ready to refine existing techniques and look for innovative ways to express their visions and ideas. Here are just a few of the creative lomographers we've come to love over the years.

    6
  • Watch: The New Russar+ Lens Time Lapse Video

    written by shhquiet on 2014-08-10 in #news
    Watch: The New Russar+ Lens Time Lapse Video

    Just how amazing is the New Russar+ Lens? Recently, our friends took it out for a ride and we were captivated with what they came up with - a super-cool time lapse video with eye-popping colors and crystal-clear details, they come to life! See for yourself; check out the video after the cut!

    1
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Happenings on Film: We The Fest 2014 - The Ultimate Summer Music Festival!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-01 in #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: We The Fest 2014 - The Ultimate Summer Music Festival!

    August 24, 2014 was a great day because of the We The Fest 2014! Maybe it's too early to call it the biggest summer music festival in Jakarta because this has just been its first edition. Nevertheless, my girl and I enjoyed every moment of it!

    2
  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Loving the Lomo'instant!

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-01-16 in #news
    Loving the Lomo'instant!

    It's only been a few months since the lovely Lomo'instant camera was officially launched online and in the Lomography stores. Since then this Instant compact camera has been flying off the shelves. You've all been busy experimenting and uploading your amazing shots so we've decided show you some of the best shots out there to inspire you to get creative!