LomoKino Review: The Kino is in the House

1

There is a new member in the great Lomographic family – It’s called the LomoKino and it’s absolutely amazing. This camera is a super innovation that brings action to our lives - 100% analogue motion has come to Lomography!

Now that you’ve seen how beautiful she is, the most important thing is to get to know her on the inside too. This box is able to record movies of half minute on a 35mm film of 36 exposures. “Hoooooow???” – That’s what I thought when I had it in my hands; but when the Lomo-experts explained to me how it works, I understood it perfectly and it was very easy to use.

The film passes through the lens in a “vertical” way and splits each “normal” frame in 4 (like a vertical Supersampler shot). Therefore, in a 36-exposure roll we actually have 144 frames to create our movie. What’s that mean? It’s actually very easy, look at this:

Once the film is loaded, all you have to do is turn the crank, fast – Don’t be lazy! The volume display will tell you how much film is left – when it’s all red, our film is over.

While shooting, make sure the rewind wheel is spinning – It means that everything is OK and that you are making a movie! When the rewind wheel stops, the film is over.

The LomoKino is for the sun, for light, for outdoors. On a sunny day, use ISO 100. On a cloudy day, go for ISO 400. And if you are risky and want to shoot indoors, I recommend a very high ISO and a very powerful source of light. You can play with the aperture (f: 5.6, f:8, f:11). The focus on the LomoKino is from one meter to infinity, but there is also a close-up mode (0.6 m) – This works by pressing the button you’ll find on the front.

There is hot-shoe flash in LomoKino – But remember to use a high-end flash which recharges very quickly, otherwise it will be useless. I tried with Fritz the Blitz Flash and Lomography CN 100 film, it’s amazing! Maybe I have to turn the crank slower next time, but I love it anyhow.

If you get black frames like me, you can always cut them – watch it again:

Don’t be afraid to experiment with your LomoKino! Look at the beautiful colors you can get shooting with Lomography Redscale XR. Try different films, the results are incredible.

To purists of analogue, the LomKino is accompanied by the wonderful LomoKinoScope, a viewer that lets you watch your movies without digitizing. If you want to see positive, I recommend you to shoot with slide film and E6 develop. If you introduce negatives in the LomoKinoScope, you will see negative colors. I haven’t been able to try this. What I’ve done is to scan the frames and edit my movies on the computer. I’m not an expert in film editing, there are many things to improve – but hey, this shows that anyone can have fun and shoot analogue films without being Spielberg, right? We learn little by little.

The LomoKino brings a whole new world of possibilities to all Lomographers. Beware Hollywood!!! Lomo On!

More about the LomoKino

Bringing analogue back to the movies with a bang in the 21st century, the LomoKino is a Lomography movie camera that shoots spectacular, creative movies on all kinds of 35mm film. Head to the Microsite, watch some Movies and begin your analogue movie-making journey today!

written by susielomovitz on 2011-11-05 in #reviews #susielomovitz #lomokino #review

One Comment

  1. blu132
    blu132 ·

    Well i would love to own one but to get the real effect of movement i would need at least 16 fps and with 144 Pictures the Film would be over before it started :/ And the developing of the Films would cost me very much so I am going to build my own camera with smaller frames and half film (17.5 mm)
    If developing wont be so freakin' expensive these days i would have bought it the first day it was out.
    Nice movies btw, but whats up with this horsehead its kinda creepy?!

More Interesting Articles

  • Kino Stories: Cannes Edition

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-13 in #world #lifestyle #videos
    Kino Stories: Cannes Edition

    With the 68th Cannes Film Festival kicking off today we thought we'd hold our very own film screening right here featuring, in no particular order, some of the best, well-crafted LomoKino videos by our fellow lomographers in the community. From documentary-like shorts to horror, comedy, romance, action, the surreal, and everything in between, we've got you covered. Bring out the popcorn!

    3
  • In Pursuit of Kyoto with the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-08-01 in #gear #lifestyle
    In Pursuit of Kyoto with the Lomo'Instant

    Ladies and gentlemen, it is with great pride that we bring you the newest member of Lomo'Instant family: the stunningly beautiful Lomo'Instant Kyoto Edition! To give it a warm welcome to our brand new jewel, sneaked out from our HQ in Vienna and went in search of a truly enlightening adventure.

  • First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-02 in #gear #news
    First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    In case you missed it, Lomography has just unveiled the latest member of its Art Lens family: the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens, which boasts of the same optics that the legendary LC-A camera has and brings the classic Lomographic style not only to analog but also to the digital platform. Over the next few days we'll be sharing with you the first impressions of and photographs taken by members of the Lomography team, who had gone out and put the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 to the test. First up is graphic designer Andrea Cislaghi, who coupled this lens with the Bessa R2 and Sony Alpha 7.

    5
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • The Lomo LC-A Goes to Berlin

    written by petit_loir on 2015-03-10 in #world #locations
    The Lomo LC-A Goes to Berlin

    Berlin is the capital and largest city of Germany. With its 3.5 million residents, it is also the second largest city in the European Union. Berlin has a lot to offer when it comes to culture as there are so many people from many different countries living and working together. Of course, Berlin is also home of Lomography Germany!

    9
  • Lomography x Looper Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-05-11 in #world #competitions #videos
    Lomography x Looper Rumble

    Looper is a Scottish Indie/Electronic band fronted by former Belle and Sebastian bassist Stuart David. Lomography has teamed up with Looper and Mute, a UK-based record label, to bring you this special rumble where you can win a LomoKino, a Looper bundle which includes a 5-CD Box Set signed by the band, live cassette and badge. On top of this Looper will be selecting their favourite photos to be featured in their latest music video which is aptly called “I’m a Photograph”! You’d be mad not to enter! Read on for details.

  • Transient Living: Getting to Know the Neighborhood in Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2014-11-12 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: Getting to Know the Neighborhood in Denver, Colorado

    <i>Editor's Note: The past several years saw <b><a href="http://www.lomography.com/homes/maliha">Maliha</a></b> frequently moving from one place to another, a sort of nomad who likes the thrill of starting anew and finding her place in every city she stays at. In the last decade she has spent in the USA, Maliha has stayed at six different cities in five different states. Currently, Maliha is based in Denver, Colorado, and "Transient Living," a new series in the Lomography magazine, documents her experiences and the ways that she has come to call this city her home.</i>

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • The Role of Film: Is It Still Relevant Today?

    written by hans-koepsell on 2015-07-08 in #world #lifestyle
    The Role of Film: Is It Still Relevant Today?

    We live in what many term the digital age. And yet, why has there been a recent growth in the popularity of film as a photographic medium? I asked three experts to weigh in on its relevance.

    7
  • Creative Vision, Personified:The Community's Most Creative Lomographers

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-02-03 in #world #lifestyle
    Creative Vision, Personified:The Community's Most Creative Lomographers

    As Steve Jobs puts it, "creativity is just connecting things." It's all about tracing one's experiences and pushing the boundaries of what's already known to establish new things. The Lomography community is no stranger to these instances. In fact, the community is filled with brilliant minds who are always ready to refine existing techniques and look for innovative ways to express their visions and ideas. Here are just a few of the creative lomographers we've come to love over the years.

    9
  • Happenings on Film: We The Fest 2014 - The Ultimate Summer Music Festival!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-01 in #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: We The Fest 2014 - The Ultimate Summer Music Festival!

    August 24, 2014 was a great day because of the We The Fest 2014! Maybe it's too early to call it the biggest summer music festival in Jakarta because this has just been its first edition. Nevertheless, my girl and I enjoyed every moment of it!

    2
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Where The Hell is Lomography In The Baltics?

    written by shhquiet on 2015-07-20 in #world #news
    Where The Hell is Lomography In The Baltics?

    Here at Lomography we believe that everyone should be able to live an experimental, interactive, vivid and sometimes even blurred and crazy way of life. And we also believe that it is important to make the analogue lifestyle more accessible to everyone! This is why we're calling out to Lomographers in the Baltic region to help spread the Lomography love in your area!

    6
  • Double Exposure Snaps with the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-07-10 in #gear
    Double Exposure Snaps with the Lomo'Instant

    One of the great things about the Lomo'Instant Camera is how versatile and creative it is, yet super easy to play with. Want to create beautiful unexpected multiple exposure shots? No problem — hit the MX switch and a ta-da! Your analogue experience instantly has a brand new world of possibilities!

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.