Review: Fuji Velvia 100F

7

Under the right condition, this slide film sure is one heck of a crazy film to cross process!

I remember seeing a Lomograph on this website a while ago — it was taken with a camera that I don’t really remember, but the film used was Fuji Velvia 100F. The image stuck on me until now; it displayed an amazing hue of reddish purple tone, with intense contrast and it just oozes brilliance. A shot that would make everyone proud, it was the Photo of the Day.

When I finally got my hands on Velvia for the first time, I didn’t want to use it until the trip to Macau. Thankfully, the weather is really sunny and bright, and I hoped the best for my photos to turn out good.

The results were amazing, with a little of mixed emotions thrown in. Scenes outdoors are near perfect, with the expected reddish purple hues across the image. However, in scenes under the shade or indoors, the red tint tends to be overwhelming, sometimes just too powerful to be handled. I think this film still works best under bright outdoor conditions where natural lighting is sufficient.

I can see this film as the perfect choice if you are spending your day outdoors hiking or shooting landscapes; either way the photos are going to be amazing!

written by shuttersentinel17 on 2011-10-11 in #reviews #red #purple #fuji #35mm #lomography #fuji-velvia-100f #vivid #100f #lomo #warm #velvia #macao #review #intense #slide-film #user-review

7 Comments

  1. fiend
    fiend ·

    Are these on an expired or new roll?

  2. houda21
    houda21 ·

    These are great photos! Quick question, do you know what the results would be like if you processed these photos normally? Thanks :)

  3. shuttersentinel17
    shuttersentinel17 ·

    @fiend I think new, can't really remember haha.

    @houda21 Thanks!,Erm u meant in E-6? I don't know either, all the while I only cross process slides haha. I googled velvia E6 in flickr and these seemed to be good examples. www.flickr.com/groups/velvia/pool/tags/e6/page8/

  4. shuttersentinel17
    shuttersentinel17 ·

    @fiend I think new, can't really remember haha.

    @houda21 Thanks!,Erm u meant in E-6? I don't know either, all the while I only cross process slides haha. I googled velvia E6 in flickr and these seemed to be good examples. www.flickr.com/groups/velvia/pool/tags/e6/page8/

  5. kittyo
    kittyo ·

    Hey, these are lovely. Have they been cross processed or did you get them developed normally?

  6. shuttersentinel17
    shuttersentinel17 ·

    @kittyo Thanks! They're cross processed :)

  7. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    great colors! I love velvia too. my next fav after ebx :D

More Interesting Articles

  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 in #gear #tipster
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

    10
  • Meet our LomoGuru: ihave2pillows

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-04-18 in #people #lifestyle
    Meet our LomoGuru: ihave2pillows

    Ed Choi regards Lomography as one of the best things that happened to him. In this interview, the latest member to join the roster of LomoGurus talks about how cross processing slide films sparked a great friendship, taking instant photos in Himalayas, and creating the perfect double exposure photograph.

    4
  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.

  • Shop News

    Start to Get Wide with Horizon Kompakt

    Start to Get Wide with Horizon Kompakt

    Prepare your overwhelming panoramic views and capture them with this ultra-wide panoramic 35mm gear. Start sharing your great memories with family and friends the analog way!

  • Serendipity Exhibition by Toby Mason

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2015-09-10 in #world #events
    Serendipity Exhibition by Toby Mason

    Toby Mason (aka fotobes) is a Brighton-based photographer who embraces the aesthetics of film photography. He mostly shoots with the LC-A+ using a range of slide films, cross processing them to create rich, highly saturated colours. His work has been featured on the BBC website and Hungry Eye Magazine. Join us for the opening night on Thursday, September 17 from 6 p.m.

    2
  • Cross Processed to a T: Agfa CT Precisa

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2016-02-01 in #gear #lifestyle
    Cross Processed to a T: Agfa CT Precisa

    With the right composition and the perfect subject, cross processing the Agfa CT Precisa guarantees spectacular, awe-inspiring results. From the delicate and scenic to the intimate and mundane, here are some views captured on cross-processed Agfa CT Precisa slide film.

  • Five Films for Low Light Conditions

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-25 in #gear #tipster
    Five Films for Low Light Conditions

    As many of you would already know, shooting under low light conditions requires more than a steady grip (or a tripod) if you're aiming for outstanding results. You must also have the proper gear, and that, of course, includes film. In this post, we list down five fast films that work their best under such conditions.

    4
  • Shop News

    Pixelstick

    Pixelstick

    The most incredible lightpainting tool is here! Consists of 200 full color RGB LEDs in a lightweight aluminium housing will color your analogue world in different way! Create and animate different shades and shapes with the Pixelstick!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    written by Rafaello Palandri on 2015-07-09 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    Where do I begin talking about film cameras on the Lomography Magazine? Yes, you guessed right. I will begin with a LOMO, of course, a very special one: the Lubitel 166 Universal (Lubitel 166U). It’s a camera that has almost everything you might need from a camera. Plus, it’s a LOMO!

  • Black and White Photography: The Forms of the World

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-19 in #world #lifestyle
    Black and White Photography: The Forms of the World

    Colors may be amped to look unreal, like nothing of this world. Shots may be doubled, cross-processed, post-processed, mixed up into collages. The possibilities are infinite, yet some photographers still prefer black and white. Even in 2016, it is an ode to classic values of precision and balance. Light and shadow must be one pleasing dance. And just like in a well-choreographed piece, forms are obvious or playing coy. It all depends on how you're looking.

  • Shop News

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    The ultra-lightweight, low-maintenance 35mm camera that fits perfectly in your hand for some wild and spontaneous shooting!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    With its surreal, psychedelic results that easily remind one of fairy tale-like wonderlands, the LomoChrome Purple has quickly grown to become one of the most popular emulsions in the community. We're giving you that extra push in the form of more community-penned reviews to finally try this film yourself, if you haven't.

  • Marcus DeSieno's 'Cosmos'

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-02-18 in #people #lifestyle
    Marcus DeSieno's 'Cosmos'

    In this aptly-titled series, one photographer attempts to comprehend the vastness of the universe through a rather unusual process.

    5