Kodak Ektar (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

5

Ektar film seems to be all the rage these days. Every time I hear someone mention the name (or see it typed) I automatically think it's a misspelling or mispronunciation of inspirational teacher Eckhart Tolle. Then I realize they are talking about Kodak's new 35mm color negative film, the film claiming to be so fine grain and producing such vivid colors that you've gotta see it yourself. Once and for all, I decided I wanted to stop confusing this film with my favorite self-help guru and gain some personal experience with it. I ordered 3 rolls online.

At Jacksonville’s Chinese New Year celebration, I decided this would be the perfect time to try it out. It was the perfect day: lots of action and people, colorful decorations, bright & sunny weather, and I had my then empty Canon AE-1 on me; everything was exact for trying out this new stuff, except for the fact that I loaded the film so quickly out of excitement that I forgot to lower the ASA setting from 400 down to 100. I realized this AFTER I’d gone through the roll and was rewinding it. I was sooo nervous that I’d just wasted my first roll of Ektar, causing all my shots to be underexposed and possibly too dark all together. Even combined with my forgetfulness, however, this film did not disappoint. My festival shots expressed a pleasing color, nice grain, and overall pop that I don’t always notice in other color negative films. They weren’t what I expected, but all things considered I think the film handled my mistake quite well!

My next 2 rolls were definitely ran with the correct ASA setting, and what a perfect way to build up the anticipation for what this film can really do. Another roll through my Canon (these photos are the bulk of my cat shots in this review gallery, excluding only 3) as well as a roll through my LCA+ thinking ahead to my next diary album. My cat’s orange fur glowed with bright beauty even with only indoor lighting in our kitchen, which doesn’t get much outdoor light as it is! The complete lack of grain in some of the close up shots of Boots was really impressive. Then there’s Maika, our new black cat who is actually more of a “smoke” cat with this beautiful black-on-top-of-white fur. He tends to look just plain ol’ black but with this film more of his smoky good looks are visible (as well as his funny expressions). My LCA+ diary roll was my most exciting one yet! The Springtime weather here in Oregon has been winning the battle over Winter, but unfortunately during the days I was using this film, it was on vacation elsewhere. Even still, we had some gorgeous, smooth and vibrant shots taken outside during our various activities. This film captured the rainbow of colors in the sushi dinner my boyfriend made us one night, and it gave us some great doubles despite the obvious gloomy weather that was present the day we took them.

At this point in my Lomographic career, I’ve tried quite a big selection of films. There are certain ones I find myself going back to, and others I can more easily part with. I am already prepping my wallet for my next purchase of Ektar film. Not only is it a great everyday film to have on hand, but it makes those everyday situations extraordinary. Don’t be surprised if a good portion of the rest of my diary is shot with this film. In ending this review, I am reminded of the wise words of Eckhart Tolle: “Whenever you are present, you become ‘transparent’ to some extent to the light, the pure consciousness that emanates from [the] Source.” With Ektar film, it has never been so easy to let the light come through you and be here, now.

written by strangelilgirl on 2009-03-13 in #reviews #kodak #35mm #color-negative #chinese-new-year #ektar #cats

5 Comments

  1. stouf
    stouf ·

    Well, it's perfect because I was curious about this film... Great review. Your clearly proving the absence of grain on shot 12. So sharp ! Great shot ! Sometimes there like a blue tint, no ?

  2. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Great review! I just had my first roll of Ektar back from the lab and can't wait to see the results! :))

  3. oldskool_rider
    oldskool_rider ·

    great review...i love shot 12

  4. superlighter
    superlighter ·

    great review! great film!

  5. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    this film is so great! and cool review!

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomography LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400: My Take on Colors

    written by guanatos on 2014-11-14 in #reviews
    Lomography LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400: My Take on Colors

    The beauty of this film is in how it changes the colors we see. We all know that the big changes happen to the color green, but what about the other colors? Read on to see what I found out!

    2
  • Agfa Precisa CT 35mm: The Blues!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-12 in #reviews
    Agfa Precisa CT 35mm: The Blues!

    I don't care if this film has been reviewed a zillion times, that it has already been discontinued, or that there might be a Japanese version of it. The Agfa CT Precisa that I know gives me the blues. Oh, yes - not a Chelsea FC fan, but this film is all about the color blue. Say hello to the blues!

    7
  • Lomography Day Trips: Ubud, Bali (Part 3)

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-04 in #world #locations
    Lomography Day Trips: Ubud, Bali (Part 3)

    Here's the third and final part of my Lomography Day Trip features about Ubud. To be honest, there are a lot of places there that are worth visiting, but I just picked some of them to help you make the best of your trip. So prepare your notes or travel books and take note of the must-see places that I'll mention below. Maybe one day you'll visit Ubud.

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-20 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    Recently, I used my trusty Fuji Silvi. It may not be my all-time favorite camera, but I just wanted to use it because I kind of missed shooting with it. So I decided to look through my film stash to see what I could use with the Fuji Silvi. After much consideration, I ended up picking the old Agfa CT Precisa ISO 100 to get that classic blue tone. Silvia Precisa!

    2
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Kelly Angood and the Exciting World of Pinhole Photography

    written by jacobs on 2015-04-03 in #people #news #lifestyle
    Kelly Angood and the Exciting World of Pinhole Photography

    The founder of The Pop-Up Pinhole Co., Kelly Angood, has been handcrafting pinhole cameras from scratch since 2010. After developing a huge online following from one of her early pinhole designs, she embarked on a mission to design an affordable, functional pinhole camera that could be constructed all in the comfort of your own home — and it had to look great too! Following an incredibly successful Kickstarter campaign, her mission was realized. Read on to see how it happened and what's next for Kelly and The Pop-Up Pinhole Company!

    2
  • Fun Times Trying Out Lomochrome Purple with Color Filters

    written by alienmeatsack on 2014-08-13 in #gear #tipster
    Fun Times Trying Out Lomochrome Purple with Color Filters

    Do you love Lomography's Lomochrome Purple XR 100-400 film? Me too! So let's see what it does when we shoot it through an assortment of color filters. I tried to document everything well enough that others could replicate and experiment on their own. I hope you find it useful.

    9
  • Strange Beauty Show and Lomography Chicago Present: Lima to Chicago: A Lomo Film Swap with peru

    written by lomographychicago on 2014-09-19 in #events
    Strange Beauty Show and Lomography Chicago Present: Lima to Chicago: A Lomo Film Swap with peru

    We've been working all summer on a film swap with Lomography Peru and we want you to join us on Thursday September 25, from 7 to 10 pm at Strange Beauty Show for our gallery opening! It's going to be a great time and we hope to see you there!

    1
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Fresh from the Lab: 1990

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-08 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: 1990

    A weekend without a lomowalk seems bad, at least for me. One Saturday morning, I decided to join my friends in their lomowalk. It was all cloudy at first but it didn't stop me from going out and walking. I brought my new Nikon FM2 and some expired rolls, just to test my camera. Was it just me being sleepy, or was my Nikon FM2 acting up? My photos turned out grainy, pale, and, in my opinion, looking so 1990s?

    1
  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1