Kodak Ektar (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

5

Ektar film seems to be all the rage these days. Every time I hear someone mention the name (or see it typed) I automatically think it's a misspelling or mispronunciation of inspirational teacher Eckhart Tolle. Then I realize they are talking about Kodak's new 35mm color negative film, the film claiming to be so fine grain and producing such vivid colors that you've gotta see it yourself. Once and for all, I decided I wanted to stop confusing this film with my favorite self-help guru and gain some personal experience with it. I ordered 3 rolls online.

At Jacksonville’s Chinese New Year celebration, I decided this would be the perfect time to try it out. It was the perfect day: lots of action and people, colorful decorations, bright & sunny weather, and I had my then empty Canon AE-1 on me; everything was exact for trying out this new stuff, except for the fact that I loaded the film so quickly out of excitement that I forgot to lower the ASA setting from 400 down to 100. I realized this AFTER I’d gone through the roll and was rewinding it. I was sooo nervous that I’d just wasted my first roll of Ektar, causing all my shots to be underexposed and possibly too dark all together. Even combined with my forgetfulness, however, this film did not disappoint. My festival shots expressed a pleasing color, nice grain, and overall pop that I don’t always notice in other color negative films. They weren’t what I expected, but all things considered I think the film handled my mistake quite well!

My next 2 rolls were definitely ran with the correct ASA setting, and what a perfect way to build up the anticipation for what this film can really do. Another roll through my Canon (these photos are the bulk of my cat shots in this review gallery, excluding only 3) as well as a roll through my LCA+ thinking ahead to my next diary album. My cat’s orange fur glowed with bright beauty even with only indoor lighting in our kitchen, which doesn’t get much outdoor light as it is! The complete lack of grain in some of the close up shots of Boots was really impressive. Then there’s Maika, our new black cat who is actually more of a “smoke” cat with this beautiful black-on-top-of-white fur. He tends to look just plain ol’ black but with this film more of his smoky good looks are visible (as well as his funny expressions). My LCA+ diary roll was my most exciting one yet! The Springtime weather here in Oregon has been winning the battle over Winter, but unfortunately during the days I was using this film, it was on vacation elsewhere. Even still, we had some gorgeous, smooth and vibrant shots taken outside during our various activities. This film captured the rainbow of colors in the sushi dinner my boyfriend made us one night, and it gave us some great doubles despite the obvious gloomy weather that was present the day we took them.

At this point in my Lomographic career, I’ve tried quite a big selection of films. There are certain ones I find myself going back to, and others I can more easily part with. I am already prepping my wallet for my next purchase of Ektar film. Not only is it a great everyday film to have on hand, but it makes those everyday situations extraordinary. Don’t be surprised if a good portion of the rest of my diary is shot with this film. In ending this review, I am reminded of the wise words of Eckhart Tolle: “Whenever you are present, you become ‘transparent’ to some extent to the light, the pure consciousness that emanates from [the] Source.” With Ektar film, it has never been so easy to let the light come through you and be here, now.

written by strangelilgirl on 2009-03-13 in #reviews

5 Comments

  1. stouf
    stouf ·

    Well, it's perfect because I was curious about this film... Great review. Your clearly proving the absence of grain on shot 12. So sharp ! Great shot ! Sometimes there like a blue tint, no ?

  2. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Great review! I just had my first roll of Ektar back from the lab and can't wait to see the results! :))

  3. oldskool_rider
    oldskool_rider ·

    great review...i love shot 12

  4. superlighter
    superlighter ·

    great review! great film!

  5. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    this film is so great! and cool review!

More Interesting Articles

  • Film Manipulation: Kodak Slides and Bleach

    written by neonlights on 2014-07-30 in #gear #tipster
    Film Manipulation: Kodak Slides and Bleach

    I want to share with you my experience with some slides when I was in Russia. I'm very sorry for them because I messed them up. They're just ruined and they'll never be the same! But hey, I have thousands of them, so I guess it's not a big deal after all.

    4
  • Lomography LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400: My Take on Colors

    written by guanatos on 2014-11-14 in #reviews
    Lomography LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400: My Take on Colors

    The beauty of this film is in how it changes the colors we see. We all know that the big changes happen to the color green, but what about the other colors? Read on to see what I found out!

  • Agfa Precisa CT 35mm: The Blues!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-12 in #reviews
    Agfa Precisa CT 35mm: The Blues!

    I don't care if this film has been reviewed a zillion times, that it has already been discontinued, or that there might be a Japanese version of it. The Agfa CT Precisa that I know gives me the blues. Oh, yes - not a Chelsea FC fan, but this film is all about the color blue. Say hello to the blues!

    7
  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    About two years ago or so, I purchased the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200. I saved just one roll of this film and waited for the right moment to shoot with it. In April this year, I just wasn't able to take it anymore! I loaded this film into my Lubitel 166+, which I realized I hadn't used for maybe about six months. One idea came to mind: taking crazy multiple exposures!

    3
  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Lomography Day Trips: Ubud, Bali (Part 3)

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-04 in #world #locations
    Lomography Day Trips: Ubud, Bali (Part 3)

    Here's the third and final part of my Lomography Day Trip features about Ubud. To be honest, there are a lot of places there that are worth visiting, but I just picked some of them to help you make the best of your trip. So prepare your notes or travel books and take note of the must-see places that I'll mention below. Maybe one day you'll visit Ubud.

  • Shop News

    Get all the Filters you need to tickle out the most of your shots!

    Get all the Filters you need to tickle out the most of your shots!

    We have prepared a special set of filters to boost up your creative possibilities with the Petzval or any other lens with a 58mm filter mount. Get all in one set or pick your favourite and step up your game!

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-20 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    Recently, I used my trusty Fuji Silvi. It may not be my all-time favorite camera, but I just wanted to use it because I kind of missed shooting with it. So I decided to look through my film stash to see what I could use with the Fuji Silvi. After much consideration, I ended up picking the old Agfa CT Precisa ISO 100 to get that classic blue tone. Silvia Precisa!

    2
  • Shop News

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Shooting with the Lubitel 166+ is an experience on it´s own. The waist level finder will help you to compose your frames perfectly.With the possibility to use 120 and 35mm Film It offers unlimited creative possibilities deemed to be an analogue masterpiece. Get your legendary Lubitel 166+ in our Online Shop!

  • Konstruktor In Color Competition

    written by shhquiet on 2014-04-23 in #competitions
    Konstruktor In Color Competition

    We're calling out to all Konstruktor fans in the community! If you've got some amazing color negative or slide film shots taken with the Konstruktor Camera, it's time to show them off. We're giving away Piggy Point bonuses to the brightest and most colorful photos!

  • Fun Times Trying Out Lomochrome Purple with Color Filters

    written by alienmeatsack on 2014-08-13 in #gear #tipster
    Fun Times Trying Out Lomochrome Purple with Color Filters

    Do you love Lomography's Lomochrome Purple XR 100-400 film? Me too! So let's see what it does when we shoot it through an assortment of color filters. I tried to document everything well enough that others could replicate and experiment on their own. I hope you find it useful.

    10
  • Strange Beauty Show and Lomography Chicago Present: Lima to Chicago: A Lomo Film Swap with peru

    written by lomographychicago on 2014-09-19 in #events
    Strange Beauty Show and Lomography Chicago Present: Lima to Chicago: A Lomo Film Swap with peru

    We've been working all summer on a film swap with Lomography Peru and we want you to join us on Thursday September 25, from 7 to 10 pm at Strange Beauty Show for our gallery opening! It's going to be a great time and we hope to see you there!

    1