Kodak Ektar (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

5

Ektar film seems to be all the rage these days. Every time I hear someone mention the name (or see it typed) I automatically think it's a misspelling or mispronunciation of inspirational teacher Eckhart Tolle. Then I realize they are talking about Kodak's new 35mm color negative film, the film claiming to be so fine grain and producing such vivid colors that you've gotta see it yourself. Once and for all, I decided I wanted to stop confusing this film with my favorite self-help guru and gain some personal experience with it. I ordered 3 rolls online.

At Jacksonville’s Chinese New Year celebration, I decided this would be the perfect time to try it out. It was the perfect day: lots of action and people, colorful decorations, bright & sunny weather, and I had my then empty Canon AE-1 on me; everything was exact for trying out this new stuff, except for the fact that I loaded the film so quickly out of excitement that I forgot to lower the ASA setting from 400 down to 100. I realized this AFTER I’d gone through the roll and was rewinding it. I was sooo nervous that I’d just wasted my first roll of Ektar, causing all my shots to be underexposed and possibly too dark all together. Even combined with my forgetfulness, however, this film did not disappoint. My festival shots expressed a pleasing color, nice grain, and overall pop that I don’t always notice in other color negative films. They weren’t what I expected, but all things considered I think the film handled my mistake quite well!

My next 2 rolls were definitely ran with the correct ASA setting, and what a perfect way to build up the anticipation for what this film can really do. Another roll through my Canon (these photos are the bulk of my cat shots in this review gallery, excluding only 3) as well as a roll through my LCA+ thinking ahead to my next diary album. My cat’s orange fur glowed with bright beauty even with only indoor lighting in our kitchen, which doesn’t get much outdoor light as it is! The complete lack of grain in some of the close up shots of Boots was really impressive. Then there’s Maika, our new black cat who is actually more of a “smoke” cat with this beautiful black-on-top-of-white fur. He tends to look just plain ol’ black but with this film more of his smoky good looks are visible (as well as his funny expressions). My LCA+ diary roll was my most exciting one yet! The Springtime weather here in Oregon has been winning the battle over Winter, but unfortunately during the days I was using this film, it was on vacation elsewhere. Even still, we had some gorgeous, smooth and vibrant shots taken outside during our various activities. This film captured the rainbow of colors in the sushi dinner my boyfriend made us one night, and it gave us some great doubles despite the obvious gloomy weather that was present the day we took them.

At this point in my Lomographic career, I’ve tried quite a big selection of films. There are certain ones I find myself going back to, and others I can more easily part with. I am already prepping my wallet for my next purchase of Ektar film. Not only is it a great everyday film to have on hand, but it makes those everyday situations extraordinary. Don’t be surprised if a good portion of the rest of my diary is shot with this film. In ending this review, I am reminded of the wise words of Eckhart Tolle: “Whenever you are present, you become ‘transparent’ to some extent to the light, the pure consciousness that emanates from [the] Source.” With Ektar film, it has never been so easy to let the light come through you and be here, now.

written by strangelilgirl on 2009-03-13 in #reviews #color-negative #ektar #cats #kodak #35mm #chinese-new-year

5 Comments

  1. stouf
    stouf ·

    Well, it's perfect because I was curious about this film... Great review. Your clearly proving the absence of grain on shot 12. So sharp ! Great shot ! Sometimes there like a blue tint, no ?

  2. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Great review! I just had my first roll of Ektar back from the lab and can't wait to see the results! :))

  3. oldskool_rider
    oldskool_rider ·

    great review...i love shot 12

  4. superlighter
    superlighter ·

    great review! great film!

  5. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    this film is so great! and cool review!

More Interesting Articles

  • Select Holiday Shipping Deals for Last Minute Shoppers!

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-17 in #gear #news
    Select Holiday Shipping Deals for Last Minute Shoppers!

    Have you been searching for the perfect gift for your loved ones and have yet to find it? Or maybe all of your shopping is done and it's time to treat yourself? Whatever the case may be, you're in luck — we've got awesome holiday shipping deals available around the globe! Depending on what country you order from, any order over €150/£150/$200 may qualify for free express shipping before the cut off dates. Scroll down to see more details!

  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 in #gear #tipster
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

    10
  • Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-19 in #gear #news
    Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    Not all photographs are meant to be seen in vibrant, saturated colors, and neither are they always suitable for in black and white. Lomography welcomes yet another innovation from KONO! The Reanimated Film. Without diminishing the aesthetic value of images, KONO! Donau 35mm Film casts a distinct blue tone to photos. It is ultra-low ISO film that is best used for long exposure shots. Check out this fine selection of uniquely tinted images.

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Landei and her Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    written by lomography on 2016-02-06 in #world
    Landei and her Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    Lomographer Carina, or landei in the community, regards the Sprocket Rocket as a "versatile plastic camera." For her, it doesn't only take great travel snapshots but makes an interesting conversation starter as well. In this interview, Carina expounds more on what makes the Sprocket Rocket her go-to camera.

  • Robertofiuza is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by lomography on 2016-02-05 in #world
    Robertofiuza is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulation to robertofiuza for winning Home of the Day!

    5
  • Shop News

    Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens

    Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens

    A true Lomographic gem, the Lomo LC-A+ RL is blessed with good looks and bursting with experimental potential. Get ready to shoot amazing Lomographic photos by experimenting with MX shots, long exposures and a whole range of accessories!

  • Lomography Online Shop Introduces Category Filters for Easier Film Shopping

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-05 in #gear #news
    Lomography Online Shop Introduces Category Filters for Easier Film Shopping

    Sure, it takes effort to source films these days, but the Lomography Shop has just made the online part more convenient.

    1
  • Just In: Get Camera Discounts via Lomography's Early Bird Valentine's Day Deal

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-05 in #gear #news
    Just In: Get Camera Discounts via Lomography's Early Bird Valentine's Day Deal

    In the name of analogue love, the Lomography Shop is now offering great discounts on handy cameras.

  • Photo of the Day by jborras

    written by lomography on 2016-02-05 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by jborras

    A fun-filled carnival is the perfect spot for those who want to step up their skills at night photography.

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Memories and Mementos With the Smartphone Film Scanner

    written by Lomography on 2016-02-05 in #world #news
    Memories and Mementos With the Smartphone Film Scanner

    Riffle through those embarrassing baby photos, search through snaps of grandma and grandpa, and revisit your parents' hilarious old haircuts! Round up your best family photographs and scan them with the Lomography Smartphone Film Scanner. To put you in a nostalgic mood, check out these photographs from the past 100 years that we found in our online community!

  • 'A'r' - a New Series by Armin Amirian

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2016-02-04 in #people
    'A'r' - a New Series by Armin Amirian

    Last year, Armin Amirian talked to Lomography about his motivations as an artist, his inspiration for his work and the difficulty of pursuing his passion in the society he belongs to. With that came a collection of images that reflected the concerns he and his fellow countrymen are faced with every day. The Iran-based photographer returns with insight on his new body of work.

    3
  • A Hunt for Curios and Wonderful Patterns

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-04 in #world #lifestyle
    A Hunt for Curios and Wonderful Patterns

    Some photographers have an instinct for the unique. Whereas others aim to fashion the ordinary into a singular picture, these hunters are obsessed with what cannot be found elsewhere. They prize an exclusive scoop on architectural patterns, artisan quirks, and objects that stick out of an everyday scene. And when the photographers find them, they will twist and turn to get the most flattering angle. Only right for curiosities that beg to be shared.

    2