Fast and Vibrant: Lomography Color Negative 400 (120 mm) Film Review

ISO 400 is relatively fast (for most lighting conditions) and it's versatile for use without worrying too much about all the grains. Armed with 2 rolls of the Lomography Color Negative 400 films, I embarked on an exploration walk with my friends to the last Kampung (village) on mainland Singapore.

Credits: awesomesther

The balance of the colors that Lomography Colour Negative 400 (120) yields are just right for my eyes, and they look very smooth in the resulting photos. And when used together with my Lubitel 166B, the bokeh is smooth, with all that colors seamlessly woven into the picture, and I feel it great for nature shots.

Credits: awesomesther

It also makes a great film when you need to shoot in varying light conditions. In slightly over-exposed or bright areas (like the part near the sky/sun), it does not lose the colors totally. Also, in slightly darker areas of the photos, the contrast and the saturation is still great!!

Credits: awesomesther

Furthermore, the skin tones are nature and nice, I am sure it would make a great portraiture film!

Credits: awesomesther

The film characteristic adds a bit of the rustic feel to the photos, which is great for my shots of a Kampung, as it gave an “antique” and “nostalgic” feel to the photos. However, I’m not sure about how it would look on shiny new metallic buildings. If you have some shots of those, do share!

Overall, it’s a great film, and I would definitely try them again after I get my hands on them!

Credits: awesomesther

The Lomography Color Negative 120 400 film delivers vibrant colours and superb saturation and contrast. You don’t have to worry while you’re shooting, even under low lighting conditions. See our selection of Lomography films here.

written by awesomesther on 2011-09-29 in #reviews #120-film #color-negative #versatile #lomography #requested #400-iso #vibrant #review #user-review

More Interesting Articles

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • August 2014 Workshops and Events in Lomography Embassy Singapore

    written by lomographysg on 2014-07-30 in #events
    August 2014 Workshops and Events in Lomography Embassy Singapore

    This August, we bring you back to your roots and explore the wonders of nature! First, we cook up a storm with a film soup experiment. Followed by nature photowalks at beautiful scenic parks in Singapore to unearth the tips & tricks of trouble exposure, as well as the unique methods to perfect our macro shots. To cap off the learning month, we'll gather on a cozy Friday night for a new special sharing series by the Lomography Community -- with Sharing Session #1: Nature.

  • Shop News

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ and Diana+ 75mm Premium Glass Lens are now ready to give you the best shots with vignetting effects, crisp quality shots together with the signature dreamy appeal of the Diana! Save 15% on the Glass Lens in this Bundle!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Menrea is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-23 in #world #news
    Menrea is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to menrea for winning Home of the Day!

    4
  • Shop News

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    Enjoy a truly analogue moviemaking experience with Lomography's 35mm movie camera and an accompanying accessory to watch your films with. View your masterpieces in the most analogue way possible with the LomoKinoscope. Get it now 20% off the regular price!

  • Derek Woods' 365 Days of Lomography Recap - March 8-21

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-23 in #people #news
    Derek Woods' 365 Days of Lomography Recap - March 8-21

    Tasteful nudes, candid portraits, and landscapes comprise today's update. Please note that a couple of images in this post are NSFW.

  • Views from Above and Beyond

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-23 in #people #lifestyle
    Views from Above and Beyond

    Hanging from a paraglider, Kacper Kowalski photographed man-made and natural panoramas. His aerial shots are on display at The Curator until the end of May 2015.

  • Photo of the Day by antiox

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-23 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by antiox

    Standing firmly by the shore, she looked at the crashing waves and sunk deep in her own thoughts.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-23 in #gear #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    Sonja started her analog adventures during her teenage years. She took her first film photographs when she was 13 and has been in love with the magic of the process since. Her idea of a perfect day involves developing film rolls while listening to jazz and having a cup of tea in between. In this interview, she recalls about her experience with her first Lomography camera, a Holga 120 CFN.

  • Capturing Faces with the New Petzval Lens

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-05-23 in #gear #lifestyle
    Capturing Faces with the New Petzval Lens

    The New Petzval Lens is no simple portrait lens. This ingenious invention snaps up faces and all the character, emotions, quirks and nuances they carry.

  • A Salute to the Masters: Paestum (A Tribute to Serge Moulinier)

    written by sirio174 on 2015-05-23 in #world #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Paestum (A Tribute to Serge Moulinier)

    This article is dedicated to Serge Moulinier, a largely unknown French photographer who won one of the most important prizes in France with a book on Greek architecture. Strangely, few information can be found on the Internet about this great photographer whose work had also been published in an important essay written by the famous John Szarkowski, former Director of Photography at the Museum of Modern Art in New York.