Truprint (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

9

Some friends of mine were clearing out some stuff at their house and found in the bottom of a drawer a bag of assorted films, an APS camera and lots of other bits and bobs. Knowing I am a photography addict, they decided to feed my addiction with the offer of these miscellaneous photo items. I obviously accepted their offer, and later that day I had finished my first choice of the films they had given me in my beloved LC-A +.

This film I had chosen was a Truprint 35mm film that had caught my attention, because it was 9 years out of date. Being a 200 ISO film, it was perfect for the shooting conditions as it was a sunny day at the beach. I was eager to see the results so I took the roll to the lab the next day.

When I received the film back and started to scan it, I was refreshed at the contrast of the shots. Previous attempts at shooting with expired film have resulted in dull grainy shots that are enough to put you off photography, however these shots seemed to give new life and new hope to expired film (in my opinion). Whether I was just lucky with the lighting or whether this film does mature with age, I don’t know, but I fell in love with the colours this film produced. The contrast was perfect as well giving beautiful highlights of colour here and there.

With the sun setting over the sea, I could tell this would be a film I would love to use again, however with this film being so old, if I managed to get some more, I would have to wait 9 years for it to be in its prime like this. Thankfully I have one more roll of this film at my disposal, so I’m waiting for the perfect occasion to strike.

I would advise anyone who finds this film to buy it and use it on a bright day. It will not disappoint.

written by oldskool_rider on 2009-03-04 in #reviews #35mm #contrast #sky #truprint #beach #bright #lc-a #color-negative

9 Comments

  1. hhjm
    hhjm ·

    Great!!!!! I love it.

  2. sumlom
    sumlom ·

    wow! the colours are really lovely from this film! great gallery btw, i like #11 and #12 :)

  3. stouf
    stouf ·

    Excellent ! My fav is N°4 !

  4. zulupt
    zulupt ·

    Awesome review and gallery, congrats!!!

  5. larslau
    larslau ·

    As I said before. The colors of this film is amazing!

  6. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    Wow - great colors!

  7. maddyoulook
    maddyoulook ·

    wonderful

  8. sibu_sen
    sibu_sen ·

    Hmmm… Found a batch on ebay (not very expired though), might just bid for them now that I've read your great review!!!

  9. jourdanlynch
    jourdanlynch ·

    I have two rolls of this that I was given for free by a guy at a car boot sale.
    I'm not sure how expired it is though as it doesn't seem to have a expiry date on it... just says use within 24 months so for all I know it could be any age lol.
    I'm going to test it out in my LC-A ones I finish off this roll of slide.

    I will put the link on here when I eventually get it done. :)

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    written by Wessel de Haas on 2015-02-13 in #gear #reviews
    Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    Some time ago, my parents-in-law gave me an old Polaroid camera that they used during my wife's childhood. After some investigation, I found out that Polaroid had stopped making instant film. But the factory in Enschedé, the Netherlands had been taken over by The Impossible Project, so I bought a package of fresh film and gave it a try!

  • LomoAmigos Yougofirst Shoot With The LomoKino In Their New Snowboard Movie

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-09 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigos Yougofirst Shoot With The LomoKino In Their New Snowboard Movie

    Are you ready for an adrenaline rush? A little while ago, we teamed up with the snowboard and film-making collective Yougofirst and gave them a LomoKino and some film rolls to play with. After a season of crazy riding, jumps and tricks, they have finished their latest movie HETEROTOPIA which features footage shot with our 35mm movie-maker. We had the chance to catch up with Vid and Matic from the collective about the new movie and their experiences shooting analogue on the slopes. It's also our pleasure to showcase the movie here!

  • New York Fashion Week, Menswear As Seen Through the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Lens by Christopher Logan

    written by Samantha Norman on 2015-07-22 in #world #events #lomoamigos
    New York Fashion Week, Menswear As Seen Through the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Lens by Christopher Logan

    Christopher Logan has covered New York Fashion Week extensively with Lomography. He's had individual publication and drawn in crowds to our NYC Gallery Store. When he took the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens to the first weekend Men's exhibition of New York Fashion Week shows, the results were astounding. His photos had their own takeover on the @AmericanPhotoMag Instagram feed and he was given a feature in GQ Brazil. Read on to get a glimpse of what he and the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens can create.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10
  • My Best LC-A Photos Ever by alienmeatsack

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-06-25 in #gear #reviews
    My Best LC-A Photos Ever by alienmeatsack

    I love my Lomo LC-A series cameras. They are so easy to use and take such amazing photos. I don’t ever go shooting without at least one of them in my bag. Here are some of my favorite shots.

    13
  • Fresh from the Lab: Hari Raya Portraits

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-10 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Hari Raya Portraits

    A couple of weeks ago, my family and I celebrated Hari Raya after a month of fasting during the holy month of Ramadan. Since the first day I laid my hands on the Lubitel 166+, I've always had the thought of taking portraits of my family. So this year, I finally took them. Here they are: Hari Raya Portraits!

    8
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Welcome to 365 Days of Lomography!

    written by Derek Woods on 2015-02-05 in #people #lifestyle
    Welcome to 365 Days of Lomography!

    Throughout this project I will be shooting with a variety of Lomography cameras to explore how they render the world in their own unique ways, as well as some tips and tricks I learn along the way.

    2
  • Object of My Affection: Subbuteo

    written by sirio174 on 2015-03-30 in #world #lifestyle
    Object of My Affection: Subbuteo

    In my early adolescence, I liked to play table football. For my 12th birthday, my parents gifted me with a wonderful Subbuteo table soccer game set that I had wished for many months! This was my favorite toy until I discovered other interesting hobbies, like ham radio and electronics. So after some years, I gave away this game to other kids. I always remembered this game with pleasure and a hint of nostalgia.

  • From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    written by zonderbar on 2014-08-04 in #people #lomoamigos
    From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    I don't know many bands from Russia but one that I've been admiring for years is Motorama from Rostov-on-Don. With catchy tunes and adorable videos, they took my heart by storm and that of fans from all over the world. Because of their Russian origin, Motorama is of course familiar with Lomo products. Reason enough to let them become our latest LomoAmigos! Enjoy the interview with singer Vlad and check out their B&W photos, taken with a La Sardina Splendour.

  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Travel Stories: Yongma Land, Abandoned Park by singleelderly

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-07-28 in #world #locations
    Travel Stories: Yongma Land, Abandoned Park by singleelderly

    Seoul is a modern city. Everything looks new and shiny. Even traditional architecture are renovated to look very neat and tidy! It's enjoyable. Yet... are there any abandoned places there?

    1
  • Happenings on Film: Photographia Project

    written by Hugo Pereira on 2015-07-27 in #world #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: Photographia Project

    Last year I took part in Photographia, a project that encouraged the use of cameras from the volt of Museu da Imagem em Movimento (M|i|mo). The gear collection used to belong to a well-known Portuguese TV channel (RTP) and some professional photographers. The cameras hadn’t been used since they were donated to the museum—until the launch of Photographia.

    3
  • Thomas Campbell's Surf Cruise Around Morocco

    written by kenaz on 2015-07-27 in #world #lifestyle
    Thomas Campbell's Surf Cruise Around Morocco

    A new photo essay presents Morocco as a haven for surfing, joy and energy.