Lca_120_september_2014_header
Have an account? Login | New to Lomography? Register | Lab | Current Site:
Olympic Stadium Amsterdam

Olympic Stadium Amsterdam

The Olympic Stadium (Dutch: Olympisch Stadion) was built as the main stadium for the 1928 Summer Olympics in Amsterdam. The first event at the stadium was the start of the 1928 Olympic hockey tournament on 17 May 1928. The Olympic Stadium was designed by architect Jan Wils, and is one of the finest examples of Amsterdamse School architecture. When completed, the stadium had a capacity of 31,600. Following the completion of the rival De Kuip stadium in Rotterdam in 1937, the Amsterdam authorities increased the capacity of the Olympic Stadium to 64,000 by adding a second ring to the stadium. AFC Ajax used the Olympic Stadium for international games until 1996, when the Amsterdam Arena was completed. In 1987 the stadium was listed as a national monument. Renovation started in 1996, and the stadium was refurbished into the original construction of 1928. The second ring of 1937 was removed, reducing capacity to 22,288, and the stadium was made suitable for track and field competitions again. Since 2005, the stadium is home to a sports museum, the Olympic Experience Amsterdam. It is no longer used as a football stadium.

gepo1303 This photo was shot on film. Taken by gepo1303 with a Lomo LC-A loaded with Fuji Superia film in Amsterdam, Netherlands. These tags describe this photo: statue, olympisch, olympia, ajax, stadium, and stadion. Date: 2013-06. This photo can also be found in the album Olympisch Stadion Amsterdam.

No comments yet, be the first